Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Govt to replace Direct Provision with protection system

• Registered Users Posts: 8,538 ✭✭✭jmreire

statesaver wrote: »
    Brits out, everyone else in.

Cannot understand how anyone votes Sinn Fein.

I'll tell you why, when you have only a choice between two main partys, and you ( and the voters) are sick and tired of their antics, and want change, and Sinn Fein is the only option, then they will vote Sinn Fein. It does not mean that everyone who voted for them ( and in fairness, the Nr of 1st preference votes they got was remarkable, ) was in favour of their policys.

God, Sinn Fein would make you sick, they'll continue to get votes though because their on the ground activists will still be out waving tri-colours and singing trad songs and people will swallow it 100%

• Registered Users Posts: 25,494 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

God, Sinn Fein would make you sick, they'll continue to get votes though because their on the ground activists will still be out waving tri-colours and singing trad songs and people will swallow it 100%

Yes, simply trying to get support within the new minority communities to augment whatever support base exists...

in the mean time, if they would gain power....

hospital waiting lists for the average Irish person will grow ever longer as less of us will have medical cards yet they’ll be given out like confetti to ‘new irish’ as they are already... if we don’t have medical insurance ourselves we are going to be fûcked...

never mind the fact that we are actually Irish people who’ve been paying tax here all our lives... funding, financing and supporting the health services... but we need treatment, consultation, scan... nahhhh we are now in the long line.... the slow moving line... and guess what ? We’ll have to pay twice... via tax and health insurance if we want to stay well, healthy and alive...... sounds fair ? No ? That’s because it isn’t...

The country will grow in terms on population....

Less :

- housing / accommodation for Irish taxpayers.

- Gardai per area / household , a less safe country, money won’t be there to pay for them.

- a vastly increased population but only the same number of prison places... only the most serious criminals will get appropriate custodial sentences making the law no sort of deterrent or even less of one than already exists.

- wages will be driven down as once naturalized they have access to the employment market and with less overheads can and will do the job for a smaller percentage of what an Irish person needs and demands in terms of wages. Employers don’t care, it’s about €£$.

We are being walked into an absolute shîtshow shîtstorm...of biblical proportions.... the country is just too small to cope with it. We don’t have the resources..

What’s coming is grim, this is just the start... we can kick back now or we’ll be kicked to the kerb..

Just listened to Michael Mcdowell on Classic hits where he discussed the 2004 referendum, have to say I've huge respect for him and what he did for this country.

Also thanks to Niall Boylan for once again being one of the only media people to ever address the issue. I get the feeling Niall reads this thread, keep up the good work :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,448 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Just listened to Michael Mcdowell on Classic hits where he discussed the 2004 referendum, have to say I've huge respect for him and what he did for this country.

Also thanks to Niall Boylan for once again being one of the only media people to ever address the issue. I get the feeling Niall reads this thread, keep up the good work :)

Niall Boylan is very good at discussing issues noone else has the balls too.

Labour are pushing to change the result of that referendum that 80% voted for.

So that's the greens and Labour changing and bringing in stuff without any consultation.

How much % of the votes did they actually get????

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Part of the solution here is educating the lower income part of society who vote for these lefties by highlighting that the policies they are pushing through are in direct opposition to their (the low paid electorate) interests. That by giving them your vote, you are permitting them to introduce policies that are going to make yours or your loved ones lives harder, not better.

This was highly effective in the UK, their equivalents have been doing terrible in elections, but that's likely due to a more balanced media, where there's a national avenue to expose the left. The left never get exposed in this country, they have too many outlets and institutions on their side, who are quick to try and sell insanity as sanity, and so far they've been effective.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Niall Boylan is very good at discussing issues noone else has the balls too.

Labour are pushing to change the result of that referendum that 80% voted for.

So that's the greens and Labour changing and bringing in stuff without any consultation.

How much % of the votes did they actually get????

They try that it might be the biggest mistake the party has made..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Strumms wrote: »
    They try that it might be the biggest mistake the party has made..

Labour ? What have they got to lose ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭irishproduce

The UK are set to announce their new plans today to try to get a handle on the scourge of illegal immigrants masquerading as genuine asylum seekers fleeing for their lives.

thejournal.ie: Priti Patel defends overhaul of UK asylum seeker rules amid allegations plan is 'inhumane'.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/priti-patel-defends-asylum-seeker-overhaul-5390090-Mar2021/

While I wish them well, I'm very worried that their actions are going to drive the illegals over here instead and we are wide open with dangerous Roderic's ideology.
    I really hope some politicians will sit up and take notice what is going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Feadog999 wrote: »
    Not a bad idea. What way do you think the newspapers should be contacted? In a letters to the editor style approach or something else?
    A letter to the editor might be the way to go for newspapers.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The UK are set to announce their new plans today to try to get a handle on the scourge of illegal immigrants masquerading as genuine asylum seekers fleeing for their lives.

thejournal.ie: Priti Patel defends overhaul of UK asylum seeker rules amid allegations plan is 'inhumane'.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/priti-patel-defends-asylum-seeker-overhaul-5390090-Mar2021/

While I wish them well, I'm very worried that their actions are going to drive the illegals over here instead and we are wide open with dangerous Roderic's ideology.

I'm actually very surprised that so many see the UK as the best option, here they'd never have to work again.

And Denmark announced this a few days ago.
    Seems like Alot of the leaders of Europe are becoming more aware of the problems and strain economic ''asylum seekers'' have on our society. and are planting the seeds of change.
    Imagine a country where the leaders you elect, and the taxes you pay actually do the right thing by you and your fellow citizens.
    I love Ireland and think its a great place to rear kids with great opportunities if you look for them. But lately I've been thinking about getting us out of here. It's a shame.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Feadog999

I'm sure submitting freedom of information requests into various departments would yield some interesting results. Might be one for the future if anyone feels so inclined.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭SFC1895

Feadog999 wrote: »
    I'm sure submitting freedom of information requests into various departments would yield some interesting results. Might be one for the future if anyone feels so inclined.

In what way? Revealing attitudes from minutes of meetings? Or stats and data?

SFC1895 wrote: »
    In what way? Revealing attitudes from minutes of meetings? Or stats and data?

Both really. If you look at the recently FOI'd email from DPER regarding their displeasure with the Housing Minister's shared equity scheme you would get a good feel for what it is like behind close doors. Also is there any costings for it etc

And Denmark announced this a few days ago.
    Seems like Alot of the leaders of Europe are becoming more aware of the problems and strain economic ''asylum seekers'' have on our society. and are planting the seeds of change.
    Imagine a country where the leaders you elect, and the taxes you pay actually do the right thing by you and your fellow citizens.
    I love Ireland and think its a great place to rear kids with great opportunities if you look for them. But lately I've been thinking about getting us out of here. It's a shame.

And in Denmark it's the Social Democrats in charge. I'd say the similarly Irish named political party equivalent absolutely despise them.

WrenBoy wrote: »
    Labour ? What have they got to lose ?

They’d loose more votes that they seriously can’t afford to.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,570 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Not sure what equal pay or the gender pay gap has to do with Direct Provision but it's not relevant to this thread in any case. Off topic posts deleted

Sorry to quote my own post. I just realised that the journal chose a headline of "Patel defends..." Rather than a headline like "Patel announces..."
    Do they always do this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Sorry to quote my own post. I just realised that the journal chose a headline of "Patel defends..." Rather than a headline like "Patel announces..."
    Do they always do this?

Either way, with a British clampdown on their asylum process, it will only result with an increased focus by those asylum seekers currently in Europe looking at the UK, to focus on Ireland instead. It will be a win-win situation for them. By getting free homes within 4 months of arrival in Ireland, and Irish citizenship relatively promptly after that, it will allow them to venture into the UK as Irish citizens if they so wish.

Kivaro wrote: »
    Either way, with a British clampdown on their asylum process, it will only result with an increased focus by those asylum seekers currently in Europe looking at the UK, to focus on Ireland instead. It will be a win-win situation for them. By getting free homes within 4 months of arrival in Ireland, and Irish citizenship relatively promptly after that, it will allow them to venture into the UK as Irish citizens if they so wish.

Or returning to their home countries for regular stints, while also receiving/retaining many of the benefits given to them. Post Brexit, the UK mightn't be all that desirable with rising costs, and tightening of rules on accessibility for services.

It's not exactly hard to show your residency as being Ireland, while spending time abroad. Considering the attitude of the political parties, and NGOs, there won't be much backlash or investigation of such behavior. Thus resulting in more people who see Ireland as a cashcow to be pumped.

Considering Irish citizens have the right to live and work in UK, I wonder have the UK considered they have a blind spot in us here granting soft citizenship to all and sundry? Those they are seeking to deter can just use Ireland as their access point, all be it slightly longer.
    Or is their plan simply to stop all the sea crossings in dangerous dinghis.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,076 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Considering Irish citizens have the right to live and work in UK, I wonder have the UK considered they have a blind spot in us here granting soft citizenship to all and sundry? Those they are seeking to deter can just use Ireland as their access point, all be it slightly longer.

Same could be said for EU. Already we are a bit of a soft spot for EU citizenship, but if something like the proposed comes in then we will be under big pressure to sort it.

Didnt EU put us under pressure prior to the citizenship referendum?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,209 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

jmreire wrote: »
    But,,but but but,,,,,according to Eoin O' Broin, Quote " We are a wealthy country with the resources to meet the needs of all our citizens and residents. Our problem is not inward migration or asylum applicants but corrupt and inept politicians looking after the interests of the few and not the many."Unquote.

Really? 200+ Billion in the red? Central bank planning on recovering the cash spent on Covid payments, which will be borne mainly by tax payers, but they have not ruled out VAT and Carbon tax increases as well.

Wealthy as in take oney off you to give to whatever ****e they seem fit.
    Meanwhile irish people struggle to pay the bills
    Some thickos in these positions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Doctor Roast

The UK and French governments were complicit in dinghi crossings, escorted by the French navy to a waiting point until a borderfarce boat turned up to pick them up, back to Dover to be processed, then onto waiting coaches and hotels... The people traffickers were even kind enough to provide new dinghies and life jackets.. What a caring bunch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Doctor Roast

The UK and French governments were complicit in dinghi crossings, escorted by the French navy to a waiting point until a borderfarce boat turned up to pick them up, back to Dover to be processed, then onto waiting coaches and hotels... The people traffickers were even kind enough to provide new dinghies and life jackets.. What a caring bunch

Not the first time they've been busted...is it any wonder people have little sympathy for these "refugees" and charities, a scam on an enormous level.

On the topic of housing capacity, the ESRI have released today they expect housing completions to be 15,000 in 2021 and 16,000 in 2022. Worth bearing in mind, in December 2020 the ESRI outlined we need 26,000 homes in a low migration scenario and 33,000 in a high migration scenario.

This puts us back to 2017 housing delivery levels

https://www.esri.ie/news/irish-economy-to-recover-quite-strongly-from-restrictions-but-unemployment-unlikely-to-return

Got another good response back from a FF TD. To be fair, 3 FF reps gave back decent answers compared to the other parties which have been zero.

Many thanks for your email and for the practical points that you raise in relation to the housing situation and other aspects of the government’s attempts to improve the Direct provision system.

I have read the detail of your mail and will raise it when the parliamentary party discusses the provisions as proposed by government – I agree that they will be particularly difficult to achieve, given the specific challenges we face in the context of home building at present.

Many thanks for raising these with me.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Did anyone see or read about the flights coming from Malta to here especially for asylum seekers (migrant's ) who have previously arrived in Malta through various means

• Registered Users Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Gatling wrote: »
    Did anyone see or read about the flights coming from Malta to here especially for asylum seekers (migrant's ) who have previously arrived in Malta through various means

Ah they're grand, They'll have their own gaff and all in 4 months.