Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Right wing extremist group behind Dublin Protest say Gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pat D. Almighty

They ran away pretty quickly wasn’t even riot police

They talk the talk online in their little fantasy world, but when the reality of the situation kicks in, they all run like rats.

Parachutes wrote: »
    We live in a free country where people have a right to protest.

We don't live in a free country. You're confusing this for America.

This is not America. We are a police state and thankfully the police state was on the right side this time. S*i* stirring dangerous simpletons have no place in modern society.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

We live in a free country where people have a right to protest.

they do, but they don't have the right to fire rockets at police, preach anti English hate, call for the death of gardai, trap people in a shop and shout anti white racist slurs at them or have a mass gathering during a global pandemic.

theres a difference between say a peaceful protest for pensions or about the cervical check scandal

and then we have the shocking acts of violence we saw yesterday in Dublin or a month ago in blanchardstown.

Every protest held during this pandemic has hurt us all as a nation, everyone from left, right or a-political stance should condemn every protest and every protestor for the last 12 months.

they do, but they don't have the right to fire rockets at police, preach anti English hate, call for the death of gardai, trap people in a shop and shout anti white racist slurs at them or have a mass gathering during a global pandemic.

theres a difference between say a peaceful protest for pensions or about the cervical check scandal

and then we have the shocking acts of violence we saw yesterday in Dublin or a month ago in blanchardstown.

Every protest held during this pandemic has hurt us all as a nation, everyone from left, right or a-political stance should condemn every protest and every protestor for the last 12 months.

100%, Well articulated. Protests can take a virtual seat for the time being or maybe small vigils with restrictions. Sh*t stirrers gonna sh*t stir though.

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

In all fairness what do you expect? Peoples lives have been completely destroyed. The country has been brought to it's knees through these lockdown policies.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,379 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

In all fairness what do you expect? Peoples lives have been completely destroyed. The country has been brought to it's knees through these lockdown policies.

I expect ****heads not to gather in large groups without social distancing or masks and we might get out of the ****ing lockdown quicker.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 FairCityFanboy

I like how thousands of people show up in the city centre to express their disappointment with lockdown laws yet all the media talk about is 'right wing extremists'.

There are legitimate concerns at play here. They need to be discussed.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Have to say, it’s been great to see the overwhelmingly negative reaction, and condemnation, of this far-right “protest” and its rabble.

We’re so close to the end of these dark times, the last thing we need now is a super-spreader “event” delaying any chance of a summer re-opening.

Selfish people ruining it for the rest of us. Shameful carry on. Worrying too, especially when you hear all the “talk” from their anti-RTÉ/Late Late Show wing.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

I like how thousands of people show up in the city centre to express their disappointment with lockdown laws yet all the media talk about is 'right wing extremists'.

Appeasement, is the word you're looking for.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭DelaneysMule

Thousands? It was a few hundred thugs at the most.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭bocaman

A national emergency and far right traitors are out on a protest whinge

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Collie D wrote: »
    I expect ****heads not to gather in large groups without social distancing or masks and we might get out of the ****ing lockdown quicker.

And what about the 100,000 people that travelled in and out of Dublin airport in January

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Not liking the Late Late Show is a ‘right wing’ thing now?

What about those filthy kernts with a “scat” fetish? Is that also ‘right wing’?

Thousands? It was a few hundred thugs at the most.

I'd say it was close to a thousand protestors which is a pretty significant number of people. I think their point is clear; nobody voted for these restrictions. There has been no democratic process to determine these measures.

Who would support the current lockdown? SMBs who are struggling to survive? The thousands who have been left unemployed? The thousands of farmers who can't sell their produce? The thousands of families who have lost a loved one due to lockdown suicide? Families of autistic children who can't receive vital services due to schools remaining under lockdown?

You can choose to imagine that everyone who protests against these lockdowns are lunatics. And you might be right. But there are plenty of people who have legitimate concerns and aren't getting their voices heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,379 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

And what about the 100,000 people that travelled in and out of Dublin airport in January

What about them? Thread is about yesterday’s protest. Two wrongs and all that...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

This is where it was organised; it's clearly not a far-right group no matter what the gardaí say.

https://t.me/bringbacknormal

These people who support lockdowns and restrictions are like turkeys voting for Christmas.

People who support lockdowns and restrictions are the type of people that realise our health system completely collapse without an attempt to restrict the virus from spreading.

If you don't like evidence that lockdowns and restrictions, then don't look at countries in Australasia, because those turkeys seem to be having a good christmas so far.

sabat wrote: »
    This is where it was organised; it's clearly not a far-right group no matter what the gardaí say.

https://t.me/bringbacknormal

A group that has to say that its apolitical and law-abiding is something I'd worry about in terms of the type of people it attracts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

How so? Left wingers have atrocious employment rates.

https://metro.co.uk/2017/02/08/most-left-wing-protesters-are-unemployed-men-who-live-with-their-parents-6434458/

33%. 9 times the unemployment rate most fully functioning economies have. And you can bet the other two thirds of them are part timers at best.

So you didn't read this far?
    But before any Trumpers or Brexiteers charge for the comments channel to make jokes about ‘snowflakes’ and so on, this also goes for right-wing protesters, too, according to the report in Germany’s Bild.

So people who are free to protest are more likely to protest...who'd a thunk....

People who support lockdowns and restrictions are the type of people that realise our health system completely collapse without an attempt to restrict the virus from spreading.

If you don't like evidence that lockdowns and restrictions, then don't look at countries in Australasia, because those turkeys seem to be having a good christmas so far.

Don’t feed the Troll

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Collie D wrote: »
    What about them? Thread is about yesterday’s protest. Two wrongs and all that...

What about them ?? you've a hundred thousand people flying in from all over the world in January and yet I can't drive 5 km up the road . That makes a lot of sense. I'm sure all flyers are quarantining for 2 weeks when they get here .... Ye right

Sweden seems to be doing grand. The lockdown lunatics just pretend Sweden doesn't exist.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

https://www.facebook.com/1202370568/posts/10222181538506405/

So apparently this was the ‘peaceful’ element. Wouldnt necissarily believe it though, the guy who posted it thinks mary lou should be taoiseach and won the election.

Not a mask in sight, use of the word sheeple, big sf flag flying in the background, tri colours everywhere. The standard

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

Minister McEntee that some of those who attended the protest in Dublin yesterday were individuals with previous connections to far-left violent groups or organisations.

Earlier, Garda Commissioner Drew Harris issued a statement clarifying remarks he made in relation to those involved in yesterday's protests in Dublin city centre.

Minister McEntee said the clarification from Commissioner Harris was intended to make this clear, as some of those identified were individuals or factions who may have moved to the extreme right from previous allegiances with other organisations on the left.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2021/0228/1199831-dublin-protests/

What a load of bullshit - that's like the idiots who say the National Socialist Party was left-wing.

Don’t feed the Troll

ok

Sweden seems to be doing grand. The lockdown lunatics just pretend Sweden doesn't exist.

What makes you believe Sweden is doing grand?

Swedish politicians have admitted their herd immunity strategy was a huge mistake that led to lots of unnecessary deaths

What exactly do you think lockdowns are doing though?

If you look at a country which hasn't had a lockdown, like Sweden, they've only had a marginally worse first/second wave than we have once you account for population.

If we're doing a lockdown to save a few extra lives, I think we need to also discuss the lives we are losing BECAUSE of the lockdown. I'm talking about suicides. We've seen a 50% increase in calls to suicide prevention helplines. If that's directly proportional to actual suicides, which amounts to hundreds of deaths per year, then we can easily see those adding up pretty fast.

We have young children who aren't going to school and socializing with other children. We KNOW from the SCIENCE that you lot love to reference, that this is going to have long lasting negative affect on their mental health.

We also know from the SCIENCE that wearing masks for prolonged periods of time can result in respiratory issues, especially in children.

We also know that unemployment is bad for mental health. We know that it's bad for a lot of things. Our country is bleeding money. That means less money to invest in the health system.

We've always had an issue with overcrowding in hospitals. Hospitals have been less crowded due to the coronavirus. Every year they're full of elderly people with influenza and other infectious diseases.

Look. I'm not the nutjob that you obviously assume I am. I was all for having lockdowns at the start of the pandemic to prevent the virus ever coming here. I just think that at this point, because of how long it's been going on for, we REALLY need to look at the cost of a lockdown. Is this really saving lives? Or is it actually costing lives.

We need to ask this. We need to do so in a democratic fashion. The discussion needs to be had and it's not happening. I think that's why those protests are receiving so much support on social media, despite clear condemnation against the violence that took place.

What exactly do you think lockdowns are doing though?

You replied to something that contains the answer to your question.