Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Difference between People before Profit and Solidarity

• 28-02-2021 4:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 833 ✭✭✭2lazytogetup

Anyone know what the difference is between these 2 fringe parties in Ireland.

Paul Murphy has moved to PBP recently.

I checked their websites and I can't see any critical differences between the two parties.

Please no sarcastic responses such as critising the left

There is no difference

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe one is more pro-Palestine than the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

None really. Just fronts for unemployable, left wing fascist scum.

Poor Paulie is getting plenty of stick for his latest move! RISE with PBP? I wonder how long will this marriage last?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,925 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

It's hard to keep up

There will be a falling out soon and names will change again

• Registered Users Posts: 40,032 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Paul Murphy is now in PBP ? Didn’t know that had happened. The assortment of these parties on the left are like a real life version of the life of Brian scene involving the judean peoples front.

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭Smegging hell

One difference would be that PBP support a border poll while the Socialist Party don't because they're worried it will alienate the Protestant working class. The fact the SP have next to no support in Protestant areas of the north doesn't make much difference.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

It's not a difference but both have a firm believe there is a magic money tree and it will pay for everything.

They both think ACAB until Garda blocks anti-lock-downers.
    Sorry :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Paul Murphy is now in PBP ? Didn’t know that had happened. The assortment of these parties on the left are like a real life version of the life of Brian scene involving the judean peoples front.

Paul has probably noticed he can get more votes by playing the PBP violin rather than Solidarity one.

Whether or not himself and RBB - the "Champagne Socialists" really believes what they are peddling, only they know.

If you want to avoid 'sarcastic responses such as critising the left', boards probably isn't the best place to ask haha

• Registered Users Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Honestly, not a whole pile. In fact they are the same party for election purposes (Solidarity-People Before Profit).

Like most of these things it has to do with history. PBP was a rebranding of the Socialist Worker's Party.

Solidary was a rebranding of the Anti-Austerity Alliance which itself was an offshoot of the Socialist Party.

The Socialist Party were an offshoot of the Labour party whereas the Socialist Worker's Party was a rebranding of the Socilaist Worker's Network which seemed to have been formed independently in the early '70.

To make matters even more complicated Independents 4 Change, which has 1 TD in the Dail (Joan Collins) was created when Clare Daly left the Socialist Party over her support for Mick Wallace over his VAT scandal.

Paul Murphy then formed RISE 18 months ago when he left PBP.

The whole thing is an ungodly mess and a classic example of the famous saying "the left seeks traitors and the right converts"

The hard-left aren't the only ones at it either. The Soc Dems were formed after Roisín Shorthall had a row with the Labour Party. We could quite well have a schism in the Green Party as well before the end of this Government.

I have no time for Paul Murphy but he's correct in saying that it's time that some of these parties consolidated. I doubt he'll have any luck but ditching RISE and joining PBP is a good first step.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

The same difference as between the Judean People's Front and the People's Front of Judea.

Splitters!!..

None really. Just fronts for unemployable, left wing fascist scum.

Things you can be;

- Left wing
    - Fascist
    - Scum
    - Left wing scum
    - Fascist scum

Things you cannot be;

- A left wing fascist

Please learn the meaning of words before you use them.

he's correct in saying that it's time that some of these parties consolidated. I doubt he'll have any luck but ditching RISE and joining PBP is a good first step.
    Indeed, the many fractions of the left is good for conservative parties like Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael.
    The left fights amongst themselves and gets more and more splintered.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

As an aside, there seems to be a trend of politicians and Councillors getting elected as Social Democrats and then "jumping ship" within two years.

Social Democrats are a great springboard to election, but get dumped shortly afterwards.

The Socialist Party were an offshoot of the Labour party whereas the Socialist Worker's Party was a rebranding of the Socilaist Worker's Network which seemed to have been formed independently in the early '70.

A reasonable summary but you have this the wrong way round, the SWP rebranded itself as the SWN a few years ago. Also, Murphy is ex-SP

It's like they can't agree on if they should be Stalinists or Maoists.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Where is the socialist party gone? Joe Higgins seemed a decent TD.

🙈🙉🙊

biko wrote: »
    Indeed, the many fractions of the left is good for conservative parties like Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael.
    The left fights amongst themselves and gets more and more splintered.

The left has never been closer in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Things you can be;

- Left wing
    - Fascist
    - Scum
    - Left wing scum
    - Fascist scum

Things you cannot be;

- A left wing fascist

Please learn the meaning of words before you use them.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Bolshevism

🙈🙉🙊

Where is the socialist party gone? Joe Higgins seemed a decent TD.

Solidarity is the relabelled Socialist Party, essentially, used to be the Anti-Austerity Alliance but the ugly acronym never caught on. Mick Barry in Cork is their only TD now. Clare Daly left to go independent, Paul Murphy left to set up RISE which is now joining PBP, and Coppinger lost her seat last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Paul Murphy has moved to PBP recently.

I checked their websites and I can't see any critical differences between the two parties.

I thought he setup and moved to ‘RISE’?

Apologies, hadn’t seen the latest on this.

Murphy left Solidarity to setup RISE, now RISE is becoming part of PBP which is part of ‘Solidarity-PBP’ which was previously AAA.

Makes sense.

Maybe we need a thread on the differences between the National Party and Síol na hÉireann?

Is something stopping you creating one?

Read the core principles of National Bolshevism, and don't respond to me with something so stupid again.

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭Normal One

Looking forward to seeing them squeeze "PBP-RISE-SOLIDARITY-AAA-SOCIALIST PARTY" onto their posters come election time.