Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gordon Elliott photograph

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

Don't ask. It's sexist or something.

Post of the day.....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Kaybaykwah wrote: »
    No, at the end of the day, it's a big eejit sitting on a dead horse with a big smile on.
    That's his branding.
    He's branded.
    Move on.

Yea if he was looking after an investment of mine and it dropped dead I wouldn't be happy about the stupid smiley head on him. I'd be pulling anything else I had away from him.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,951 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Don't ask. It's sexist or something.

Its sexist to apportion blame for a mans bad behaviour down to a woman being scorned instead of the man himself for sitting on a dead horse and grinning like an idiot.

The inference that if he hadn't have scorned the woman, this would not have happened , when the reality is if he hadn't behaved in that poor manner this would not have happened..

The sexist post was reported and removed.

If you've a problem with sexism / misogyny being reported and actioned, take it up with the mods.

anewme wrote: »
    Its sexist to apportion blame for a mans bad behaviour down to a woman being scorned instead of the man himself for sitting on a dead horse and grinning like an idiot.

The inference that if he hadn't have scorned the woman, this would not have happened , when the reality is if he hadn't behaved in that poor manner this would not have happened..

If you've a problem with sexism / misogyny being reported and actioned, take it up with the mods.

Look at you running off topic again.

Nobody was apportioning any blame or tried to - the closest thing to that ironically is your comments.

Asking who spilled the beans is not sexist - the rumour on social media is that a certain person did it. End of.

Back to the man and someones dead horse. Stop trying to censor conversation here with imagined slights.

This would not be news if a woman hadn’t leaked it. He’d still be a tit for what he done but we wouldn’t know about it.

Look at you running off topic again.

Nobody was apportioning any blame and tried to - the closest thing to that ironically is your comments.

Asking who spilled the beans is not sexist - the rumour on social media is that a certain person did it. End of.

Back to the man and someones dead horse. Stop trying to censor conversation here with imagined slights.

I am responding to the poster who mentioned sexism. I have quoted their post.

If you have a problem with my posts, press report post.

Otherwise, stop telling me who and what I can speak to or about. That's not within your remit here.

That's back seat modding and against the charter, that's the second time you've tried to do it with me.

Feisar wrote: »
    This would not be news if a woman hadn’t leaked it. He’d still be a tit for what he done but we wouldn’t know about it.

I didnt know the source of the photo and the video were confirmed.

I am responding to the poster who mentioned sexism.

If you have a problem with my posts, press report post.

Otherwise, stop telling me who and what I can speak to or about.

That's back seat modding and against the charter, that's the second time you've tried to do it with me.

You are right - we each are allowed to post freely here.

The story I read on social media is:

The ex girlfriend spilled the beans after finding he had cheated with another of his employees, it even goes so far as to say she had a fight with said employee at one of Elliott lockdown rule breaking parties in the bar at his stables.
    During the fight Elliot was supposed to have been having a good laugh and and yelling for them to get their kit off.

And after all this she let the picture out.

Guess we may or may not ever find out the truth.

I didnt know the source of the photo and the video were confirmed.

You got me there, you may chalk that one down in the win column.

I've no real interest in horses (or horse racing) but I can't seem to figure out why this is a story. A fella that would come across dead horses a bit, uses one as a chair to take a phone call. Makes a silly gesture when someone points a camera at him.

If it was a farmer sitting on a dead cow, taking a call, would anyone care?

Do you reckon that when someone dies, the lads in the funeral home are actually bothered? The embalmer couldn't give a sh/te that your dearly beloved is in front of him. It's just another day at work. No matter what difficult situation you put someone in, if they're facing it on a regular basis you view it differently.

I really can't get my head around this being drummed up the way it is.

If it was a picture of him stabbing a live horse or keeping a hundred horses crushed into a tiny space or whatever, I'd agree it's disgusting animal cruelty.. but sitting on a dead horse is surely no worse than whipping the bollocks off them to go faster when they're alive..?

I'm genuinely stumped on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

The person who changed the direction of the thread was the person who introduced the sexism.

Have a cuppa yourself. Looks like you've had the aul fig rolls already.

It's not his dead horse either. Catch up.

I can't grasp this logic. I read that initial post and thought to myself, good for her, this guy sounds like a cheating scumbag. The way this Elliott character acts could be accused as being sexist if anything, but I can't explain on boards unless it's in a publication.

But saying for that guy to keep it in his trousers? How is that a sexist point?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,340 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

You are right - we each are allowed to post freely here.

The story I read on social media is:

The ex girlfriend spilled the beans after finding he had cheated with another of his employees, it even goes so far as to say she had a fight with said employee at one of Elliott lockdown rule breaking parties in the bar at his stables.
    During the fight Elliot was supposed to have been having a good laugh and and yelling for them to get their kit off.

And after all this she let the picture out.

Guess we may or may not ever find out the truth.

No but feel free to repeat whatever ****e you read on Facebook.

I heard that he's deep undercover working for the CIA and his cover was about to be blown so they released this picture to help take him out of the public eye relocte him back to the secret moonbase he's been operating from.

I guess we'll never know.

No but feel free to repeat whatever ****e you read on Facebook.

I heard that he's deep undercover working for the CIA and his cover was about to be blown so they released this picture to help take him out of the public eye relocte him back to the secret moonbase he's been operating from.

I guess we'll never know.

Could be true, sounds legit to me... :D

I've no real interest in horses (or horse racing) but I can't seem to figure out why this is a story. A fella that would come across dead horses a bit, uses one as a chair to take a phone call. Makes a silly gesture when someone points a camera at him.

If it was a farmer sitting on a dead cow, taking a call, would anyone care?

Do you reckon that when someone dies, the lads in the funeral home are actually bothered? The embalmer couldn't give a sh/te that your dearly beloved is in front of him. It's just another day at work. No matter what difficult situation you put someone in, if they're facing it on a regular basis you view it differently.

I really can't get my head around this being drummed up the way it is.

If it was a picture of him stabbing a live horse or keeping a hundred horses crushed into a tiny space or whatever, I'd agree it's disgusting animal cruelty.. but sitting on a dead horse is surely no worse than whipping the bollocks off them to go faster when they're alive..?

I'm genuinely stumped on this.

The fella who's smiling, and giving the peace salute, on a dead horse? Are you really stumped?

I can't grasp this logic. I read that initial post and thought to myself, good for her, this guy sounds like a cheating scumbag. The way this Elliott character acts could be accused as being sexist if anything, but I can't explain on boards unless it's in a publication.

But saying for that guy to keep it in his trousers? How is that a sexist point?

It was inferring that she leaked the photo because she was scorned. If she was not scorned, then she would not have released the photo. But the photo should have been released anyway.

The people believing what they read in social media and passing it off as gospel are bad enough. It reads like a plot for a 70's porn film with a very basic plot.....And at the end they all had their kit off.

The reality is, it could be anyone.

It's more disappointing if it is revenge, rather than a whistle blower.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭dalyboy

This entire thing has to be a wind up. Seriously!?!?
    A guy on a dead horse ?!?!?
    It’s a pure example of faux outrage culture.

I can’t understand why yer man apologised at all. Don’t feed the trolls is my motto.

I’m still of the opinion that it’s a wind up though. Funniest thing I’ve ever seen since the days of father ted on the tv .

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

This has got to be up there in terms of the biggest mountain out of a mole hill stories i've seen.

The horse was dead. Deceased.

Wait til people see photos of people sitting on alive horses. Whipping them. Forcing them to pull things. Forcing them to run. Forcing them to jump over things.

Wtf.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,297 ✭✭✭✭walshb

This has got to be up there in terms of the biggest mountain out of a mole hill stories i've seen.

The horse was dead. Deceased.

Wait til people see photos of people sitting on alive horses. Whipping them. Forcing them to pull things. Forcing them to run. Forcing them to jump over things.

Wtf.

I’m bewildered by the reaction to this..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Once again there is an OTT reaction but this is not surprising as this is the age of faux outrage and cancel culture. The horse was dead so who gives a hoot after that.

The fella who's smiling, and giving the peace salute, on a dead horse? Are you really stumped?

Why does it matter though? The horse is dead. I presume he sees dead horses on a regular basis. I'd be annoyed if the horse was alive and he was deliberately hurting it by sitting on it.

It was inferring that she leaked the photo because she was scorned. If she was not scorned, then she would not have released the photo. But the photo should have been released anyway.

The reality is, it could be anyone.

It's more disappointing if it is revenge, rather than a whistle blower.
    The timing does seem to be intended to cause maximum impact, so whoever had the photo presumably held onto it for when the timing was right given it's been a couple of years. As I see claims of outright sexual abuse on Twitter, it is possible that any victims may have felt ignored while someone in such a position of power was the best buddy of many in the industry.

To me, both scenarios can be right? Someone can find images of the man acting like a pig, and people might just ignore it as the horse racing industry and respect to dead animals is not on the top of most people's minds. Someone can be put in an extremely vulnerable position or be sexually harassed and feel ignored and powerless as the perpetrator is in a position of power. I wouldn't blame anyone who's a victim from trying to put the accused under a public microscope.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

The message from that OP was ...keep it in your trousers Mr. E, there are some dangerous women out there........instead of have some respect for yourself, your clients and the animals entrusted under your care.

They guy fcked up, but clearly it has to be a woman who brought him down. Could have been anyone and speculating as to who is only idle gossip.

Hazel Chu sees racism everywhere, even when there is none. You are seeing misogny where there was none.

I said nothing nor inferred anything about dangerous women being out there.. Where have I mentioned dangerous women? Where have I inferred that Mr. E's woman is dangerous? My thinking is that Mr E brought it on himself for engaging in extra curricular activity. That's actually blaming Mr. E and not the woman.

But anyway, you'll believe what you want to believe.

Once again there is an OTT reaction but this is not surprising as this is age of faux outrage and cancel culture. The horse was dead so who gives a hoot after that.

Faux outrage and cancel culture are just cliched buzzwords fired out by those who are unwilling to accept that people will speak out about poor behaviour.

The next sentence will be..everyone complaining is a Karen.

The guy had a duty of care to himself, to his family, to his employers and to the animals who have allowed him his position in life.

He abused that position, he has raised questions over his professionalism, respect and integrity its come back to bite him.

That's not cancel culture or faux outrage. That's people standing up to nasty toxic behaviour. In the old days, it would have been said that he f up in his job, he got fired. That's the reality.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Hazel Chu sees racism everywhere, even when there is none. You are seeing misogny where there was none.

I said nothing nor inferred anything about dangerous women being out there.. Where have I mentioned dangerous women? Where have I inferred that Mr. E's woman is dangerous? My thinking is that Mr E brought it on himself for engaging in extra curricular activity. That's actually blaming Mr. E and not the woman.

But anyway, you'll believe what you want to believe.

And the same as yourself. You believe what you want.

Maybe she does see racism, maybe it is there. I dont know much about the lady, so cant comment.

Because you say it's not there does not mean it isn't.

Could be a case of " they were all out if step except Jim'

• Registered Users Posts: 56,297 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Faux outrage and cancel culture are just cliched buzzwords fired out by those who are unwilling to accept that people will speak out about poor behaviour.

The next sentence will be..everyone complaining is a Karen.

The guy had a duty of care to himself, to his family, to his employers and to the animals who have allowed him his position in life.

He abused that position, he has raised questions over his professionalism, respect and integrity its come back to bite him.

That's not cancel culture or faux outrage. That's people standing up to nasty toxic behaviour. In the old days, it would have been said that he f up in his job, he got fired. That's the reality.

Carlsberg don't do standards

I am all for standards and decency and morals and scruples, which are very absent and irrelevant these days, which is a shame

BUT, this incident is being ridiculously blown out of proportion

People falling over themselves to be seen to be so caring and righteous and proper. Bullsh1t insincerity by most

Same people have no issue with horse being whipped whilst running their hearts out for our enjoyment

It's contrived and insincere outrage...

• Registered Users Posts: 32 waterfordwendy

I'm sure it's been mentioned in the thread so far but as bad as this story is why has the hor$e racing community not been outraged by Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al Maktoum locking up two of his daughters against their will? Money really talks, even in cancel culture.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

There's not being bothered about someone etc dying and having respect for yourself, the dead person or the dead animal.
    What in the name of his does it cost to be a decent human these days?

This man, and I've genuinely no idea who is is, is shameful. These people and I include greyhound owners etc use these animals for their talent and ability and to further their bank balance and it seems they are more disposable than toilet paper when their time is up.

Disgusting people and a waste of food.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

This story is all a bit . .I most feel outraged. There was no indication the horse was miss treated before dying. So the horse is dead and he's sitting on it. Would it be worst if he was sitting on a live horse. How many outraged have tucked into a chicken sandwich or burger or any meat for that matter, wore a leather belt , chewed chewing gum, eaten a cake, its just with social media now every little thing gets amplified to within a inch of its life. Can people not reflect and think its a dead animal.. what matter does it make. And if you are that concerned go and act on it in thr real world. Change your buying habits.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I think this is only a story because sports involving animals are probably on the way out and even a photo as innocuous as this has..ehh..scared the horses. The need to be seen as whiter than white has caused this furore within horse racing which ironically will shine more of a spotlight on the sport than if they just ignored it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Anniepowaaa

I'm sure it's been mentioned in the thread so far but as bad as this story is why has the hor$e racing community not been outraged by Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al Maktoum locking up two of his daughters against their will? Money really talks, even in cancel culture.
    Because its the middle east and nothing to do with racing