Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we had similar laws to US would you own a gun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,689 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

joeguevara wrote: »
    We have the law to protect your family and to a lesser extent property so that isn't the issue.

If the law, and the consequences for somebody breaking it is not a tangible enough deterrent, what then... ? people have a right to property, safety, peace of mind, wealth etc.. they just DO.

We have ordered CCTV at home. A friend of my cousin works for a company who installs it. It’s HD... absolutely great quality I forget what megapixel but the demos on their website it’s like watching your skybox on HD....you can even make our small branding clearly on peoples jackets....won awards the whole nine yards.

You can view ALL camera angles on your phone, tablet, smart TV or a PC as they have an app that allows you...

It’s going to become more common... people have the right to enjoy the fruits of their hard work or even fruits of an inheritance... without themselves or their property being threatened...

Unfortunately with the courts and judges and our elected representatives performing at an all time low as regards protecting law abiding and peaceful citizens, it’s probably going to become more commonplace that people are going to have to enable themselves with more protection / deterrents of a legal means and possibly otherwise to keep themselves, property and loved ones safe....

If it got xx% worse and the law facilitated it I would not hesitate to legally procure and be trained to use a firearm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,124 ✭✭✭✭cena

100% I would use a gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

I would - and if anyone came in, and tried to rob any of the whistles I have in here, I'd blow his feckin head off his shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

I fired a handgun at a gun range is the states years ago. It was weird how easy it was to walk in off the street and then be on a live range with little to no instruction about 10 mins later.

I found the whole experience a little unnerving, knowing there were people to the left and right of me firing away and, if I wanted to, I could "go postal."

And when that happens, not even Chris "American Sniper" Kyle's skills were enough to save him

On original topic. You CAN own a gun in Ireland and many do. And good luck to them. What you can't do--legally, with only the most extreme exceptions--is shoot anyone with it. If you want to talk about American gun laws, you have to consider what is the basic difference between gun laws in the US and other normal democracies.

In most countries you are not allowed walk around with a loaded firearm; in America you are.

That is the simple essential difference that distinguishes American gun laws and gun culture from other "free" societies. Everything else: concealed carry vs open carry; automatics vs semiautomatics; magazine size limitations, bump stocks yes or no? is minutiae. A rabbit hole of irrelevance down which one can get lost in the dark.

The corollary of this is that if you can carry a gun, by implication for your "personal safety" there is extraordinary legal latitude granted to citizens to use those guns. It seems to me that if you are carrying a gun in the US, and somebody frightens you, you are legally entitled to blow them away. Even if your fear was inadvertent, or a misinterpretation of the real situation or even a figment of your imagination. No matter. It's your word against the dead person's and therefore you get the benefit of the doubt because, Goddamit the Second Amendment is sacred!!!

If people in Ireland want to own guns for hunting purposes, or for controlling vermin on a farm, or even for the fun of clay-pigeon shooting then that is fine by me. A gun is just a tool, after all, as all the great Western heroes are fond of pointing out; as good or as bad as the man (it usually is a man in Westerns) using it.

Fair enough, but it is also an incredibly empowering tool giving its wielder the power to administer death with ease and as such it has to be regulated and used responsibly. So, keep your gun and ammunition separate while driving to the shooting range. Keep your shotgun unloaded or "broken" until you are actually on the hunt. And don't even think of walking around with a pistol in your waist band. Giving granny a Glock so that she can feel safe while going to the shops is false security. Far better if the chances of her meeting a goon with a gun are reduced to the absolute minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Saw a WhatsApp video a few weeks ago where two sets of neighbours in a suburb in America got into an argument while they were out on the road clearing snow off their driveways and in escalated to the point where they started shooting at each other.
    What shocked me most was two of the men and one of the women were carrying handguns under there clothes, in the end a man and a woman were dead.
    If that what its come to over there, they can effing keep it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Anthony soprano is king

There is estimated to be over 200,000 legally registered firearms in Ireland.

The firearm is not the problem it's the person behind the firearm that can be the problem.

There is estimated to be over 200,000 legally registered firearms in Ireland.

The firearm is not the problem it's the person behind the firearm that can be the problem.

That’s why there has to be a proof of competency regarding using the firearm.

Also you need to make available your full medical history to the Gardai.

Can’t be sure but I’d imagine that anyone who has had needed to attend a psychologist or seek any sort of psychological/psychiatric interventions would be excluded from being issued a certificate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Anthony soprano is king

Strumms wrote: »
    That’s why there has to be a proof of competency regarding using the firearm.

Also you need to make available your full medical history to the Gardai.

Can’t be sure but I’d imagine that anyone who has had needed to attend a psychologist or seek any sort of psychological/psychiatric interventions would be excluded from being issued a certificate.

Yes I have also heard of a case where gardai have gone to a house of of firearm owner and taken firearm away due to a family dispute.

I don't mean to repeat what an earlier poster has already said, but probably not, no, I wouldn't.

The thing is that if the guards, the courts, and the prison system aren't going to deter someone from robbing you then let's be honest, the problem probably isn't best dealt with by you owning a gun. I do agree that when you find yourself the victim then yes, owning a gun may come across as a viable emergency solution.

But if that's what things have really come to in your life then you have to look elsewhere for serious longer term answers.

Yes I have also heard of a case where gardai have gone to a house of of firearm owner and taken firearm away due to a family dispute.

Yep, that can happen... they also do spot audits unannounced to check that the firearm and it’s ammunition are being stored properly in specifically designed gun safes and in accordance to the law in every aspect... if it’s sitting assembled and loaded in your sock drawer for example you’d be in a bit of strife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Yes. I lived in the states for years and owned a Kel-Tec PMR30. Never had it use it thankfully only at official and unofficial shooting ranges.
    You'd be actually very surprised at the type of people who own guns in America it's really not your stereotypical Trump loving rednecks.

I get the whole race to the bottom gun argument but at the end of the day i felt safer and more importantly i felt i could defend my family in the event of a break in if necessary. Good to have the choice imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭1874

Go ahead punk, make the tae!

I think this works better

Go ahead punk, make my tae!

Phased plasma rifle in the 40 watt range.

Hey! just what you see pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

LeBash wrote: »
    Theres also conscription in Switzerland. They're armed to the teeth cause several of their neighbours have been trying to do the whole world domination thing.

I dont know if they still do it but in Switzerland, every male of military age was required to serve in the militia or do a stint in the Army,which has only a small cadre of full timers but a large proportion of people on national service,so everybody had a military firearm at home,in a secure gun safe; everybody trained on them frequently and shooting is very popular there. Same in Sweden,Finland,Norway and Denmark. Huge amounts of hunting rifles held there and lots of well trained people to handle them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Piollaire wrote: »
    I fancy my odds against an intruder with the crowbar under my mattress rather than a handgun.

- Nice weight
    - length suitable for corridor use
    - no unlocking gun case
    - no loading

But it can't be denied that guns are cool - would love to have one of those World War II soviet submachine guns.

The problem is, the toerag that breaks into your house is probably a hardened street thug who won't be intimidated by a fat guy/girl in his or her pyjamas who's had four cans of beer and a pizza and is befuddled with sleep, working on a hangover and needs to pee. Thug probably has a screwdriver for levering open French doors and will remove the crowbar from you in the blink of an eye and may stick the screwdriver where the sun doesn't shine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭1874

cena wrote: »
    100% I would use a gun

As a what? or for what? a toothpick :)

Stovepipe wrote: »
    I dont know if they still do it but in Switzerland, every male of military age was required to serve in the militia or do a stint in the Army,which has only a small cadre of full timers but a large proportion of people on national service,so everybody had a military firearm at home,in a secure gun safe; everybody trained on them frequently and shooting is very popular there. Same in Sweden,Finland,Norway and Denmark. Huge amounts of hunting rifles held there and lots of well trained people to handle them.

I didnt actually think conscription was still a thing in Switzerland, turns out it is and a referendum to abolish it was overwhelmingly defeated by 73%, fair play to them, they have the right attitude, but it seems a well run militia system exists for citizens in other aspects of Swiss life, Politics it seems, civil defence and fire services too, and the pay for military service is next to nothing, they appear to get paid 80% of their existing wages which looks to be State funded. They look to have a very positive selfless view of their society and participation in it.

The Swedes had phased it out and then back in again also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

ec18 wrote: »
    probably...or at least I'd be a gun club member

For what?

Gruffalux wrote: »
    We are probably among the few people in our remote area that don't have a gun. Rural farmers often have shotguns. Handy neighbours post apocalypse. That and the herds of cows for eating.
    But it is surprising who has guns. Lived outside a seaside village once and was chatting to a neighbour along the remote road and she had a pistol. No fear in her of strangers calling. The same girl would shoot baddies handy enough. Not a bother to her.

How could she possibly own a pistol in Ireland?

AFAIK you can own either a shotgun or a .22 rifle in Ireland and that's it.

If we had a similar amount of crime that they have yes I would have a gun for my own protection.

If a similar amount of crime that we gave in Ireland no.

The crime rate in the US has been falling for years. And they don't have a high crime rate overall just in deprived areas or areas where knobheads are allowed to have guns. Kind of a chicken and egg situation wouldn't you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

Vast areas of the US are too remote to rely on law enforcement, while they can also experience genuine threats from large dangerous animals.
    Coyotes, mountain lions, wolves and bears all pose legitimate threats in many States. Realities and dangers of daily life that we in Ireland can be all too ignorant of. We should keep this in mind when criticising American gun culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,222 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Do a bit of research.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1 Liverpool create your account

Incorrect information as per usual by the anti gun parade.

How can they be so against something but know so little about it.

Yeah I can see why you would have a gun in that situation. It's a different situation from living ten minutes away from a Garda station in the middle of an estate.

If I was living in a remote area I could see the need for one.

Wouldn't a nice big Rottweiler or 2 be better?

Someone comes on your property, let the dogs do the work. Maul the sh1t out of the burglar and then come back all panting for a big bowl of Alpo and steak and fall asleep again by the fireplace.

Yes I would and I'd have no hesitation using it if anyone came at me in my home or was taking my property without my consent.

Big talk.

Would you blast someone trying to steal apples from your tree and then happily serve the multiple year prison sentence?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Possessions make you rich???????

Big talk.

Would you blast someone trying to steal apples from your tree and then happily serve the multiple year prison sentence?

The chances of the poster of having a apple tree on his property are slim I imagine.

oh yes we do. problem is, they’re the two legged kind.

Then learn some quality martial arts. Get fit and strong. Develop some self-defence and fighting techniques. 12 months of boxing and/or karate training and you won't be Bruce Lee or Mike Tyson but you'll have the confidence and reflexes and stamina to easily put 2 or even 3 assholes on the floor if they try to mess with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,360 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Yeah firearm licensing in this State is quite a bit more complex than you might imagine on the face of it, but I'm happy enough that its so restricted in general. Still though, something like 10% of all suicides here are firearm incidents, far too many if you ask me.

I've a brother in Florida, nice community by the beach, well off area, kids in a private school and all that. But those kids still have to do drills in case of armed attack, a disgusting reality for 6 and 7 year olds, I don't care what anyone says.

After resisting for years the brother eventually bought a 9mm pistol for "home defence" after his American wife insisted on it. Its perceived as a bare minimum of protection if you don't live in a gated Community with its own security. An idyllic location but a dreadful existence. I hope we never see anything like it in my lifetime in Ireland.

At the same time I'd have no objection to owning a sporting gun, i very much enjoy target shooting now and then, but I'd rather the firearm be owned off site.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Possessions make you rich???????

Then learn some quality martial arts. Get fit and strong. Develop some self-defence and fighting techniques. 12 months of boxing and/or karate training and you won't be Bruce Lee or Mike Tyson but you'll have the confidence and reflexes and stamina to easily put 2 or even 3 assholes on the floor if they try to mess with you.

How did you know the intruder isn't armed?
    What level of boxing or jiu jitsu do intruders have?
    How many of them are there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

ShyMets wrote: »
    Was that in Ireland. As handguns are banned

Handguns are not banned in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭Heckler

Handguns aren't illegal. I have one as do many more. They can only be licensed to you if you are a member of a gun club and only for target shooting. There are no new centrefire pistol licenses being issued but if you owned one before the centrefire ban you were allowed keep it.

Also thousand of people own rifles of a higher calibre than .22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I'd own 20+ guns if I lived in the States (if I had the money).