Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harry and Meghan - OP updated with Threadbanned Users 4/5/21

• Registered Users Posts: 17,047 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Well Netflix will hardly be thrilled with their upcoming documentary after that news, Haz and Meg are quickly becoming unmarketable.

I doubt that the British Legion would allow cameras follow Harry around for multi million dollar documentaries.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Juran

I don't know who funds the Invictus Games, or how much funding it gets from countries, sponsors, etc. You'd have to question if the funds were better spent on their involement in the para olympics ie. Training support for these veterns, travel costs, equipment, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,148 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Huh? The Paralympics is an elite sporting event for athletes with disabilities which takes place every 4 years.

The Invictus games is an adaptive annual sporting event exclusively for people injured in the armed forces.

The are 2 completely separate things. 😕

Ah, is that the implication for Harry? I was trying to figure it out- yep that would hurt

• Registered Users Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭valoren

They're so protective of their privacy that they're apparently doing a reality show (or "docu series"). Four years ago (minus three days) these two married and pretty much had the world at their feet. They were famous, connected, privileged. A listers lined up to meet and greet them. They had the platform to do good via charities, patronages etc. They had a want for nothing with teams catering to their whims and doing the work for them for the next few decades. They even had good press. In general, they were liked. And they gave it all up because it was like living in a fishbowl. It was like living in the Truman Show and when the press inevitably turned critical they bailed. The ultimate irony is that they are now infamous, they are pariahs in terms of connections with no A listers giving them the time of day. The likes of the Top Gun premiere with Cruise escorting them in was the kind of gig they'd have been doing if they stayed the course.

I'd say Netflix were sold a pup in so far as they thought they'd be getting exclusive access to intermittent engagement with the senior Royal family. Like Prince Philip embracing television back in the day. It was done to modernise and to promote the family via PR. This exclusivity would be the streaming age version. However the pair of them subsequently did the Oprah interview and the wagons were circled, the shutters came down and now Netflix, to their annoyance, are left with a pair of pariahs. In order to make anything, they want their pound of flesh by having to resort to the most basic form of show i.e. streaming of their lives in a reality show to recoup their busted flush investment. Like those godawful TLC shows (e.g. Outdaughtered, Little People/Big World). Here's a prediction. At this rate, they will be on "Hollywood Medium" Tyler Henry's show and (unsurprisingly) Henry will be able to make contact with the spirit of Diana and she'll have words of comfort for Harry to validate him e.g. your mother tells me that she is proud of you for going your own way, for protecting those you love etc.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

@valoren spot on.

I really love the minus three days bit 😁. I imagine tantrums being thrown over yonder when they see coverage of W&K especially at the film premieres. 🤣

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Coming soon to Netflix The Only Way Is Sussex 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 6,178 ✭✭✭Be right back

And yesterday was their wedding anniversary too! Not a mention of it.

Was it though 😉? Didn't they get married in secret three days before... 😂

Saw this on another forum. 😂

You're right. The church wedding was just a huge spectacle. Forgot that they were actually married by the Archbishop in their garden. My bad.😀

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Juran

• Registered Users Posts: 13,177 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

To thine own self be true

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

The most very basic grasp of aristocracy norms would have shown that throughout history, fellow titled folk were quick to turn their back on the people that fell out of favour with the monarch. And that's not even just for royals - you fall out with a big hitter in Hollywood, they have the means to make sure your opportunities dry up if they feel like it. So both of them with their respective backgrounds and experience, had this information to hand. And at first with the Oprah interview I thought that they really meant it about giving it all up for the quiet life and thought 'good on them if that's what they want' because it was clear there was no way back from that but now as time's gone on and you see how much they planned to depend on their connections for future income, you'd just have to wonder were they so blinded by spite at being thwarted in their hybid-royal plans that they just didn't see they were setting fire to the bridge they were literally standing on.

If anyone needs a laugh, have a look for the video clip of her presenting a trophy to the winning Polo team, in Santa Barbara. She shoves her way forward to be centre stage. It's so awkward and cringe.

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

She's even got the Diana monochrome polka dot outfit! 😄

Ah lads.

She tries way too hard. Embarrassing. No sign of their children again.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Gorgeous woman. Amazing figure.

She never looks well put together.

Her clothes never fit her right or something.

Exactly 😁 @Neyite

And even he realises for once how ridiculous it looks with them foostering to hold the trophy above her... And the attempts they both make to grab the prize out of one guy's hands. Fair play, he holds tight. 😁 Must be a comedy they are making for Netflix, who knew 😂😂😂

• Registered Users Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭valoren

Documentaries have used footage of Charles receiving a medal and then giving Diana a quick kiss after a Polo match during the early days of their marriage. This was Meghan choosing to cosplay as "Lady Di at the Polo". The difference was that Diana was formally presenting the medals and a trophy. There was some semblance of procedure to it all whereas Meg, with zero tact, is just trying too hard, is forcing herself into a presentation situation she doesn't belong in and looks like an absolute numpty embarrassing herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,047 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It would have been hilarious if they'd dropped the trophy.

She certainly seems to want to channel his mother.

Kate presented William with a Polo trophy in that same place, I think it was the year that they got married. Needless to say, there were no hilarious moments like that farce. The guy who won't let her take back his prize must not have got the memo either - that what Meghan wants, Meghan gets. 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 13,177 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'm scarleh for Harry. His mammy..I mean missus.. wiping her lipstick off his mouth.

And the way she pulled in his face for the kiss screams look at me.

I wonder what the polo boys thought. Imagine a GAA wife here rubbing lipstick off her fella as he climbs the steps of the Hogan stand to lift Sam.

He'd be roasted in the changing room. 🤣

To thine own self be true

The other guys looked so pissed off 😂and I don't blame them.

And covered his face with her hand. She's so patronising towards him.

The face of the young guy beside them there, says it all. 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 40,148 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Sorry did you just equate elite rich people riding around expensive horses pretending it is sport with the GAA?

They stop for afternoon tea FFS!! 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭tara73

here we have it again. The mammy-touching Harry whenever there are cameras around. We discussed it here before. It's the deeply narcissist in her, she's stirring the attention towards her with it, she wouldn't survive only standing beside him and the attention only on him. Funny thing, I don't think it would be like that at all, she would get a lot of attention and pictures taken without this BS acting, but seems she can't live without it. And Harry, the twat, playing along..😂