Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harry and Meghan - OP updated with Threadbanned Users 4/5/21

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Megan has done her work, fed him his lines and now watching him hang myself.

No doubt in my my mind, those comments about what he left out were a clear blackmail threat. Also, he didn't just drop in the comments about being open to a role in the Commonwealth. That was also planned and that's how I see it panning out. They both realise now they've nothing else to offer, no one with any credibility will touch them witha bargepole and they need a way back in to enjoy the lifestyle.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,989 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

...Reports in UK papers that Amazon prime won’t continue contract with Jeremy clarkson after current series of The Farm and Grand tour come to an end- about 2024.

Apparently he wrote to them Christmas Day apologising which they haven’t accepted. Surprised it’s taken this long for Clarkson to get in so much trouble with his mouth but ‘Twas inevitable - I’m sure his millions will keep him comfortable in his old age.

Saying all that, money talks and if a media provider thinks they’ll make money from clarkson they won’t let this episode stop them - maybe not Amazon but Netflix might nab him when the whole thing blows over in a few years - I mean just how long can anyone moan about what Clarkson says?

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭squidgainz

Haha Jeremy Clarksons Amazon shows have been dropped , weird it came out on the day of his belated apology. Gas anyway , he's alway been a bolix.

Yeah-Money is one thing but Meaghan wants profile and A list connections - money would never be enough for her at this stage- she’s come to far to just be another Mrs Simpson.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Karppi

Clarkson really is an embarrassment for not just men, but the entire human race.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,657 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

He's a real GB News / Talk TV type. It's interesting how the polarisation of the UK media in recent times has revealed that a lot of these well known auld fellas and auld ones on TV are closet right wingers, very conservative and pro-establishment, almost certainly Tory, anti-woke etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Karppi

He has also produced TV that makes millions and his apology wasn’t all that grovelling - he won’t get cancelled given he’s never made himself out to be anything other than an ignoramus so has nowhere to fall - H&M not accepting his apology is just shows what the RF is in for if they go the same route- they’re definately after something more than apology from Charles etc - I’d bet they want to negotiate their way back to half in half out and maybe work the African. Commonwealth circuit for a few years

• Registered Users Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭valoren

Could have accepted the Clarkson apology with some grace or class instead of clapping back. Harry also wants an apology from his family. If that response to Clarkson is anything to go by then of course any such apology is inevitably futile.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

He emailed Prince Harry on Christmas day. It was marked Private and Confidential. He hasn't apologised to Meghan, who he was offensive to. I wonder why that is?

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

I am listening to his audio book for free. I took a free trial of Amazon prime which allows you a free trial of Audible.

Mailing Harry and not Meghan is a serious gaffe. I don't know how he thought it appropriate to apologise to her husband but not to the lady herself after slagging her off to that degree.

Amazon have dropped him. His two biggest shows.

If Amazon were completely serious, they’d dump him right now, not in 2024 when his contracts end.

Anyway a year is a long time- it’s entirely possible Amazon will continue making series with Clarkson

Still not ideal for him. He ain't too far from being cancelled. Well deserved.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,138 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Amazon haven't dropped him.

The Farm is commissioned for another 2 seasons and the Grand Tour had already been scaled back to just specials.

What was he thinking anyway with that article?

I do like reading his books which are essentially a collection of his weekly newspaper columns - some are actually quite witty and insightful. In the interest of openness, while I’m not a hardened Clarkson fan and hang on his every word, he’s provided me with simple entertainment for many years.

However even I can’t figure his article on Meaghan; even if he had included the reference to Game of Thrones, how can you hate Meaghan at a cellular level, way beyond hating a child killer? It’s neither believable nor funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,688 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Clarkson’s apology was cloaked with excuses and insincerity. Reeked of having to row in and toe the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

This article from Los Angeles Times makes a good point in that the tabloid media have spent the last 30 years trying to dig up dirt about various members of the RF. Harry and Meghan have just handed them everything on a plate and everyone is now complaining that they are sharing too much!

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

Oh come on! Put aside your obvious hated of these people for one second.

If someone said what Clarkson did to your partner and then emailed you, not them, with an “apology” the onus wouldn’t be on you to handle it with “grace or class” and you certainly shouldn’t be criticised for not showing any.

What Clarkson did with that article was absolutely disgusting.

Honestly WTF, get a grip of yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,138 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

You are right, they should have handled Clarksons non apology about his incel torture porn essay with far more grace.

Meghan is evil.

…two wrongs don’t make a right though.

To quote The Jam- the public want what the public get- doesn’t matter if the tabloids or Harry dish it up- the tabloid reading public and indeed non tabloid reading public consume such stories with vigour.

While the LA Times might be taking the high moral ground against the tabloids, ironically it’s still advocating such content in the first place.

If someone sent that to me marked private and confidential then they'd be torn a new one in private. Where are you getting hatred from? I don't think anything I've said about either of them is hateful. Why are we even hearing about this 3 weeks after the fact? Clarkson wrote a ridiculous piece and missed the funny and the hyperbole. His apology was sent as private/confidential and then it is released via a statement going on about hate rhetoric weeks after the fact. He was roundly criticised for being a toxic arsehole for writing what he wrote. What else do they want? Like avocados, tiaras and who made who cry nobody would care if they didn't keep banging on about it. Add the Clarkson piece in with that now. The point I am making is that Harry, without outlining specifically why, is demanding an apology from the royal family to his wife but what would be the point? It would likely be made public via a source and statement at some point. Are they now going to demand an apology from Joe Rogan for recently having a guest on who called Harry a wanker and Meghan a harlot? For Rogan speculating about Meghans days as a yacht girl to millions of listeners? From Jimmy Kimmel for broadcasting to millions a Dr Suess like parody about Harrys knob? Their reach is far greater than Clarksons. All haters spreading rhetoric too I suppose?

Asks where I’m getting hatred from them proceeds to launch into yet another essay slating them…..yeah I’m totally mistaken 😂

This isn't a character limited platform. Any actual contribution to the point I was making?

You made my point for me. Carry on 👍👏👏

Clarkson has handled the affair very badly. His two "apologies" came via tweet (both of which sounded very mealy mouthed) and he hasn't give a single TV interview where he could have taken the opportunity to directly publicly apologise to the couple.

Since statements are being made I wonder will Harry be making one about Joe Rogan. While it is one thing to be deemed a wanker that can be disregarded as someone’s personal opinion. However, the drawing up of Meghan and speculating about her being a yacht girl and associating her with Epstein crosses the line. As much as some think I have this hatred for them I've never been remotely convinced about the conspiracy theories surrounding them (surrogacy rumours, Harry beating up prostitutes etc.) and so long as nothing convincing crops up then they don't need addressing since such rubbish inhabits the peripheries of the internet.. The Rogan show even talking about that is different though. That is prime time. People are gullible and might think what he is saying is true despite no evidence for it. In the what-would-you-do-if-it-was-your-partner charge then Harry might have a few choice words for him going there with such misinformation.

He won’t either. Grand Tour was likely coming to an end and he’ll likely go out with a bang with the Farm .

Offers are already likely to be coming in from other media providers as we speak- he won’t prostrate himself in front of H&M-to me it looks like he’s toying with them rather than apologising, especially sending an email on Christmas Day- like who sends an email to anyone Christmas Day?

He knows he’s fck’ed up but he doesn’t appear to care.

I don't know what possessed him to write that article. He must have felt the media pile on against H & M was so intense that he was free to write just about anything about them, specifically Meghan - that he could compare her to Hitler if he felt like it. It's definitely damaged him - it's made him sound like a misogynist and angry old crank.