Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harry and Meghan - OP updated with Threadbanned Users 4/5/21

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Karppi

And I look forward to your explanation why it was unfair to photograph Harry playing strip billiards in Las Vegas. IIRC he was a serving member (no pun intended) in the Army at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

It was an invasion of privacy for the tabloids to publish those photos without his permission. As for being in the army - wasn't his comments something like ''he should have been more prince and less army''. Think that might be an indication that that kind of behaviour would be common enough when military personnel headed off for a blow out after a tour of duty in Afghanistan/Iraq.

I don't get all the outrage for that bearing in mind the tabloids history of page 3 girls up to fairly recently.

It should have been well within the capabilities of the PR / spokespersons to stop those photos being published. Why didn't they do their job? Why would Harry miss their so called 'protection' bearing in mind they never lifted a finger to protect him.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Just how many times exactly does a spoilt entitled royal prince get to call the “protection” card?

He was a so called adult when these photos were taken and they were taken by passing acquaintances who obviously wanted to make a fast buck - it was America after all .

If you’re going to behave like a coked up playboy there’s only so much even a royal PR can do for you.

My point is that it is completely hypocritical of the tabloids to publish the photos. They have created this demand by paying for photos of people (famous or not) in compromising positions. I don't blame the Royal Family for those photos appearing. I feel for all the royals who have to behave in a certain way, never let their hair down, or they will be mocked and ridiculed in the tabloids (thats of course if you are not Prince William who seems to have done some deal with the devil to protect himself from them at the expense of his relationship with his brother).

I don't think those photos should have been published in the first place and I don't think the Royal Family should be allowing themselves to be bullied by the tabloid press.

As for Harry being 'coked' up in Vegas? You know this or are you just making it up again. Link please.

As for the playboy part - he was just back from a tour in Afghanistan. Hardly a playboy lifestyle of drinking martinis on the Riveria. I'd imagine even ordinary working class lads and lassies head off to Vegas for a bit of a blowout every now and then.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭valoren

I would argue that his drinking/clubbing, nude pics, Nazi costume and laddish personality was something which actually endeared him to the general public in a way. It all normalized him. The tabloids played their part in cultivating this popularity as such as well as championing him when he did his service. As bad as the papers can be they are also a vessel for enhancing a public image. It all culminated with him, for example, beating the Queen in a YouGov popularity poll in 2018. His past behavior not actually doing him no lasting harm with the public as such.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

thats of course if you are not Prince William who seems to have done some deal with the devil to protect himself from them at the expense of his relationship with his brother).

This has to be a pi55 take, the only one who banjaxed that relationship is H.

He needed therapy after an altercation with his brother yet he couldn't organise such help for his wife. He's a 24 carat one that lad.

The therapy was to call off the tabloids. The RF wouldn't do that. Moving to the US seems to have worked for Meghan's sanity.

For someone so incapable, it doesn't add up that he would up sticks with his family and move to another country. Or maybe it signifies the problems trying to survive as a Spare within the Royal Family.

In Robert Lacey's book, William threw H&M out of Kensington Palace in a rage over the allegations of staff bullying by Meghan. Seemingly Harry was very upset that William believed the allegations without due process. The allegations were brought by Jason Knauf (Williams right hand man who also testified against Meghan in the Daily Mail copyright case). Knauf is Dan Wootton's friend (both went to university together in New Zealand).

The two people who claimed to have been bullied were Meghan's PAs (one was sacked because she was soliciting gifts on behalf of Meghan and keeping them herself. The other was the former nanny to Robbie Williams children who seemingly was completely out of her depth and has now returned to nannying. From what I understand she was a friend of Dan Wootton.

As I've said before William and Kate would do well to steer clear of H&M.

If they have to be in the same room make sure you have other reliable people present.

Basically avoid at all costs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭valoren

Trying to survive? Ffs, the man had a life of incredible privilege, access to the very best of everything be it education or simply the luxury of having time to figure out what he wanted to do with his life unencumbered by being an heir and dealing with all the scrutiny, responsibilty and expectations that entails. It could be argued that being the "spare" was a stroke of luck for Harry and these social hierarchy machinations are the norm between such classes i.e. he doesn't inherit the farm and devote his life to farming it, he can travel the world and come and go as he pleases. He never had to do the working role and it wasn't expected of him to do it up to the point where when he wanted out he got to build a life for himself overseas with his family. When you consider that he has a character make up where he complained that his brother got an extra sausage, got a bigger room in a palace, was still cribbing when that bedroom in that palace was repurposed as a dressing room years later then you begin to glean that maybe the problem is him quite frankly.

Post edited by valoren on

What do you think H&M would do if they were in the same room as them, physically attack W&K? LOL.

We all know who physically attacks the other when in the same room together. The only reason its not safe for W&K to be in the same room as H&M is that William is bound to lose the rag. He has a rotten temper. And Kate seems to have one 2 since they seemingly throw stuff at each other when having a row.

He actually wanted to stay in the army, but he couldn't. He wanted to live in the Canada/Africa and be a Commonwealth Ambassador. He wasn't allowed. He wanted to get involved in wildlife charities in Africa, he wasn't allowed. William wanted that one. I don't see any privilege in that.

Everyone that seems to have close connection with the RF seems to fail and have money problems because they are so restricted in what they can do. Even the Middletons have become bankrupt since their connection to the RF. Kate's brother has gone bankrupt once or twice. The connection is no benefit to anyone closely connected. Look at Andrew - not going well for him. Edward's business didn't work out either.

According to a former bodyguard of William and Harry (in Robert Lacey's book), William was for some reason always jealous of Harry. There is a video of William as a child and Diana is trying to do something and he was throwing a bit of a tantrum. Diana says, ''ok, then. You stay here. Harry and I will go and have fun''. At the mention of Harry having fun, he runs after them immediately. He couldn't bear that Harry would have fun without him.

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

None of the royal social media accounts wished the Duchess of Sussex a happy birthday on Friday. Not one. All other years since she joined the family they posted birthday messages for her.

Nothing the palace do in terms of PR isn't calculated and well planned out. They know what will be inferred from what they do, or don't do on their socials.

This is lending more and more credence to them having been separated for a while now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

"There is a video of William as a child and Diana is trying to do something and he was throwing a bit of a tantrum. Diana says, ''ok, then. You stay here. Harry and I will go and have fun''. At the mention of Harry having fun, he runs after them immediately. He couldn't bear that Harry would have fun without him."

Do you know any children? That is completely normal behaviour for a child lol. The lengths some people go to make William look bad is just weird. Dressing as a Nazi = A youthful mistake. Child having a tantrum and fomo = Psychopath. 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 17,031 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

The Middleton's business was affected by the pandemic, a party business isn't going to thrive when people can't socialise. I'm not a fan of the RF, but you can't blame them for that! 🤣

James Middleton seems to be doing ok too.

And as for the sibling rivalry and William sulking? They were kids ffs! I can see William being envious of Harry as a child though when he knew that his future was mapped out, but sure Harry is envious of William too and unhappy at being the spare. Princess Margaret was reported to be jealous of the late Queen too. Sibling compete, it's hardly unique.

What the former boys bodyguard said in Robert Lacey's book was that William, the golden boy and future king, was always jealous of Harry, when you would think it should be the other way around. Thats what I'm going on about William's jealousy of the far more popular Harry, not just one tandrum videoed William tantrum.

You would think the connection to the RF would have elevated their business (it is often the claim here that Harry & Meghan would be nothing without the connection to the Royal Family). The Middletons were given extra credit because of the relationship (one former refugee was down £20,000). He gave them credit because of who they were and they still went bankrupt. Prince Edward's business failed as well.

Two businesses of James Middleton have gone out of business - he is on his third business now. The Middleton were doing fine until they got tangled up with the Royal Family.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I wonder how the bankrupt Middleton's who sold their business managed to hold on to a 5 mil home?

It's hardly usual for businesses to have suffered during a pandemic or for business people to move from one business to the next. You'd think they were all living on the streets. 🤣

The point your were trying to make was pathetic about a little boy FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Karppi

And in breaking news, two brothers aged under 10 are having a dust up.

Oh, apparently it's finished. Now, where was I?

The point I was making was that his bodyguard thought William was jealous of Harry when growing up. He wanted and got everything that Harry wanted (such as wildlife patronages in Africa). And comments on William's temper tandrums - i.e., Kate treats him like a 4th child or this; https://www.insider.com/young-prince-william-said-punish-nanny-when-king-book-reports-2022-4

He said he would punish the nanny when he was king.

WHEN HE WAS 4!!!!!

That's like a child telling their parents they hate them when they get into trouble. They don't actually mean it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,754 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

'Suits' is smashing all sorts of records on Netflix. Many are saying the reason for that is that it is a good show and Meghan Markle is a big draw. Why would Netflix want to drop her?

You’re being disingenuous there really. You had to have known the poster was referring to the content deals that H&M had with Netflix, not the content deals for shows like Suits which are an entirely separate content deal. The main reason Suits is smashing all sorts of records on Netflix right now is because of what’s called ‘the Netflix effect’ - shows which have already been released on other platforms which enjoy enormous popularity because of the popularity of Netflix over those other platforms.

Suits on its own is cracking stuff, which explains its popularity far better than the idea of Megan being on the show. By that rationale Fringe should be more popular than it is, because Megan appears in the first two episodes of Season 2 (I’m rewatching it again on Sci-Fi channel on Sky). It’s not though, because it’s not on Netflix.

Why would Netflix want to drop H&M? Because they’re a dead franchise is why. Netflix has more than enough stinkers and flotsam on their platform already without having to carry the deadweight of H&M. Unfortunately for Netflix they’re stuck with them until their contract expires in 2025:

https://nymag.com/intelligencer/2023/06/netflixs-ultimatum-for-harry-and-meghan-no-work-no-pay.html

• Registered Users Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Weird how a person who wants privacy feels the need to have their people inform page 6 that they attended last night's Taylor swift show. She wasn't papped there so what was the point? I was also there last night but can't say I noticed Meghan Markle. Obviously my section wasnt suitable for royalty lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭maebee

• Registered Users Posts: 23,631 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

No it isn't. It says that even at the age of 4, William thought he could do what he liked and get his own way with everything. And what 4 year old child actually says they hate their parents. Thats more teenage behaviour.

You do know that Page Six is a Murdock publication? I'd be pretty sure that Page Six would be telling everyone that Meghan Markle/her representatives had sent in a press release that she was at a TS concert if they had done so! And why no photo of her at the concert? Maybe its because Paps were not allowed into the concert?

Page Six tried to make the story that Harry & Meghan must be divorcing because she was at a concert without him. Similar stories about her hiring a theatre and inviting her female friends to watch Barbie (keeping paps out). Trying to make out that she was celebrating her birthday without Harry (when in fact they all stayed at home for her birthday).

Or that the tabloids have told the RF to distance themselves from Harry by removing his RH title from him or else. The fact that in the court case where he identified himself as HRH Prince Harry must really have got up their noses.

By the way, from what I understand, Harry & Meghan are still RHs, they just don't use them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

You’ve got serious issues if you’re using what a child (not even of junior infants age) said 30+ years ago to back up your side of the debate.