Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conspiracy Theorists

Iv done quite well out of it bar the odd spelling mistake,
    Surely you can forgive me, also typing from a phone doesn't help the matter

You never get that right though.

I have a conspiracy theory about conspiracy theories. The stupid ones are designed to make the other ones look stupid, by association. However while the pizza gate and the Hollywood stories are nonsense, the Epstein story has some heft to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

buried wrote: »
    This has resulted into a heavily indoctrinated and insular mindset where the vast majority of people feel 'targeted', precisely because the last 100 years of heavy advertising has brainwashed people into behaving this way because advertising did literally target them. This is a major
    factor concerning the growth of this culture IMO.

Yeah I don't disagree. If you compare the performance of the collectivist eastern cultures versus the individualist western cultures as regards the pandemic it lends weight to what you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Zebra3 wrote: »
    That is untrue.

Exactly, it’s a ludicrous fantasy dreamed up by morons and swallowed whole by dullards who long to be back in their local “watering hole” getting called “The Professor” by some of the other bar flies after they get a basic general knowledge question right on some, daytime, quiz show.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Yeah I don't disagree. If you compare the performance of the collectivist eastern cultures versus the individualist western cultures as regards the pandemic it lends weight to what you say.

Yeah its very true I think Tom, especially looking at the events within the last year, there is a definite lack of a collective effort in the west. I really think that before the heavy influence of advertising and the insular mindset that has created in the west, the collective effort and mindset was far far more greater.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,103 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

Whats the crack with the amount of grown adults who believe absolute nonsense

Yesterday I see an Irish Instagram influencer who has about 30 thousand followers (because she is very good looking) Posting story after story of some of the most outlandish stuff iv ever seen,

Celebrities eat children , there all in on it ye know , what is the reason because its good for your skin or something ,

McDonalds have parts of humans as ingredients (don't they source there food form local farmers )

Adrenochrome is the world most expensive drug and is taking from live peoples brains ( the writer of fear and loathing in Las Vegas made this up for the movie )

There just the ones I remember

The best part of this all is the person has done there RESEARCH which means they looked at YouTube video's made by some loon in there mam's box room .,

Anyone know anyone who goes on like this ,

pics of said influencer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

Exactly, it’s a ludicrous fantasy dreamed up by morons and swallowed whole by dullards who long to be back in their local “watering hole” getting called “The Professor” by some of the other bar flies after they get a basic general knowledge question right on some, daytime, quiz show.

The kind of people who think getting a six letter word in Countdown makes them an intellectual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

A guy sat down to my brother in 1995, in a pub. He had a conspiracy theory about the Catholic Church raping children and the hierarchy knowing about it and transferring pedos between dioceses. And that the pope knew! And the police and journalists, or some of them. And nuns! Rapist nuns! Child killing nuns! They were all involved. He said thousands knew about it but it was all hushed hushed.

Quite the conspiracy nut, that guy.

Wasn't so much a conspiracy by then, more so an uncomfortable truth that *everyone knew but wasn't willing to face

That is untrue.

If you think Dr Tony is keeping the pubs closed in order to keep people from drinking rather than contain the virus, then I have some magic beans I think you may be interested in buying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭HBC08

Akrasia wrote: »
    Its not just the fact that they're dumb, it's the fact that they get plenty of positive re-inforcement of their dumb ideas

There's a thing called the Availability Heuristic, where you make your decisions based on how easily you can think of an example of something from your recent experience

If you are surrounded by messaging that constantly talks about alleged scientific fraud and corruption, and someone asks you 'should we trust established science' and all you can think of are the dozens of facebook messages you've seen about 'big pharma' doing shady things and can't easily think of any examples where science has shown it's self to be trustworthy, then when you're faced with a choice, to take a vaccine, or to not take a vaccine, then you're going to give more weight to the concept that the vaccine is not to be trusted.

In a normal society, the fringe beliefs held by paranoid delusional people tend to be isolated from the general public, but now we have 'social media' where the biggest companies in the world use their technology to force feed the most provocative 'media' directly to people's eyes, using algorithms that know what would be most likely to hold each persons attention and delivering them that content regardless of how accurate or politically charged it is.

It happens subconsciously, and this 'curated feed' social media model that we have fallen into over the past decade is patently harmful and is destroying the ability of people to distinguish truth from fiction

Interesting post.
    In the past when you had lunatics spouting nonsense you would just laugh at them and maybe entertain them for a few mins in the pub.
    Now the same person gets a few likes or thanks on here ( I'm looking at you restrictions thread) and it validates their view and themselves and the whole sh1tshow continues.

I do think the issue is magnified on social
    media.If you had no idea of how things were and only had social media for reference then you would think the people of ireland are are war with themselves over Covid. Then you go out in the real world and find that the vast majority are in the middle and on the same page more or less.

Wasn't so much a conspiracy by then, more so an uncomfortable truth that *everyone knew but wasn't willing to face

It was always a conspiracy. The term conspiracy theory doesn’t mean false belief. It means believing in a conspiracy. And the church, state and society conspired to ignore this problem.

The problem with most conspiracy theorists is that they can’t discriminate between the possible to be true and the false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

It was always a conspiracy. The term conspiracy theory doesn’t mean false belief. It means believing in a conspiracy. And the church, state and society conspired to ignore this problem.

The problem with most conspiracy theorists is that they can’t discriminate between the possible to be true and the false.

Of course, you are correct.

I think being humble about your own level of knowledge goes a long way too. It's not all that long ago we had to chase down our food. Language/text allowed us humans to perpetuate knowledge and be swept along on a tsunami of technological advancement, let's face it 99.9% of us are along for the ride, we're bald apes trying to make sense of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I have come to the conclusion that the people who wear the mask under their nose and chin are the ones who believe the stupid conspiracy theories.

A guy sat down to my brother in 1995, in a pub. He had a conspiracy theory about the Catholic Church raping children and the hierarchy knowing about it and transferring pedos between dioceses. And that the pope knew! And the police and journalists, or some of them. And nuns! Rapist nuns! Child killing nuns! They were all involved. He said thousands knew about it but it was all hushed hushed.

Quite the conspiracy nut, that guy.

Therefore all conspiracy theories are true.

I think you might have jumped the gun logically there. Now go back and think again about what I said.

I think being humble about your own level of knowledge goes a long way too. It's not all that long ago we had to chase down our food. Language/text allowed us humans to perpetuate knowledge and be swept along on a tsunami of technological advancement, let's face it 99.9% of us are along for the ride, we're bald apes trying to make sense of the world.

This sounds like the kind of muck that bonehead Joe Rogan would come out with.

Joe Rogan who literally once believed that the moon landings were faked. The fact that a moron like that is a person with one of the largest audiences in the world has mainstreamed this idea that you can take conspiracy muck seriously.

His idiotic assertion that everybody’s view is equal in the name of “open mindedness” means that he had given a platform to disgusting filthmongers like Ben Shapiro and Jordan Peterson. “I’m just trying to have a conversation” is the slogan for the easily influenced gobsheens.

I think you might have jumped the gun logically there. Now go back and think again about what I said.

I know what you said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

This sounds like the kind of muck that bonehead Joe Rogan would come out with.

Joe Rogan who literally once believed that the moon landings were faked. The fact that a moron like that is a person with one of the largest audiences in the world has mainstreamed this idea that you can take conspiracy muck seriously.

His idiotic assertion that everybody’s view is equal in the name of “open mindedness” means that he had given a platform to disgusting filthmongers like Ben Shapiro and Jordan Peterson. “I’m just trying to have a conversation” is the slogan for the easily influenced gobsheens.

You don't have to agree with either of these people (Shapiro's personality particularly is not to my taste), but there's people out there equally as vehement that people with your political and social convictions, whatever they may be, should be denied a platform wherever possible. Worth thinking about before you label anyone a filthmonger, which is a caustic way to refer to anyone who you have disagreements about values with, and would lead me to believe you have difficulties broaching difficult topics in good faith yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Its also far more comforting to live in the belief that somehow every single aspect of time and events are somehow being managed and controlled by someone or some sort of cabal on this planet.
    Whereas the actual reality is that nobody on this planet is in any sort of total absolute control.
    Our solar systems star, The Sun, tonight, tomorrow, or at any time, could blast out a coronal mass ejection that could wipe out everything on the entire face of the planet. The hundreds of millions of asteroids floating around our solar system could do the same thing once again if one of them big enough hits the planet and nobody, not even the illuminati or Jesus H christ could stop it.

Make America Get Out of Here

There were various theories doing the rounds like 911, moon landings, flat earth etc but Covid has united them to one cause. That's why it's grown so much lately.
    When this Covid ends they will hopefully splinter off again.

I know what you said.

Then you must know that your logical leap was incorrect. Or a strawman. Or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,297 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

The phone calls were coming from INSIDE the house;

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058070977

Yurt! wrote: »
    You don't have to agree with either of these people (Shapiro's personality particularly is not to my taste), but there's people out there equally as vehement that people with your political and social convictions, whatever they may be, should be denied a platform wherever possible. Worth thinking about before you label anyone a filthmonger, which is a caustic way to refer to anyone who you have disagreements about values with, and would lead me to believe you have difficulties broaching difficult topics in good faith yourself.
    This is that “marketplace of ideas” nonsense people tell themselves, the belief that people spreading hate can be debated out of the poison they’re shovelling. It’s a fiction.

I hate Shapiro with a passion but I’d let the little fcuker talk. What’s his conspiracy theory anyway?

I bet a lot of people who claim they oppose conspiracy theories believe some. I remember the Trump being a Russian agent being popular at one stage.

They cant be debated out of their point of view,noone thinks this.....but if their points cant be refuted,are they.wrong?

People.are allowed to think differently to yous,if you cant refute/debate them,who's fault is this??

And what if someone put it to you that you're pedaling poison?

You're going off-the-map here trying to file Shapiro and Peterson with flat-earthers and the like. Peterson in particular has had a genuine cultural impact and moved the needle on how people viewed certain socio-political movements that had the floor to themselves for a long time. And he was extremely skillful at bringing people in the political center with him, which is precisely why proponents of those movements hate his guts, he broke their monopoly and it's still stinging evidently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

You're going off-the-map here trying to file Shapiro and Peterson with flat-earthers and the like. Peterson in particular has had a genuine cultural impact and moved the needle on how people viewed certain socio-political movements that had the floor to themselves for a long time.

He, certainly, got angry young men cleaning their rooms again. And moaning about women, of course.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

You're going off-the-map here trying to file Shapiro and Peterson with flat-earthers and the like. Peterson in particular has had a genuine cultural impact and moved the needle on how people viewed certain socio-political movements that had the floor to themselves for a long time. And he was extremely skillful at bringing people in the political center with him, which is precisely why proponents of those movements hate his guts, he broke their monopoly and it's still stinging evidently.

Jordan peterson is clearly a deeply intelligent individual,who's frustration at variety of subjects is evident in alot of what he says

but something about the fangirl lovein about him,deosnt sit well,or his attempts to cash in on it,i struggle to fully get onboard with

He, certainly, got angry young men cleaning their rooms again. And moaning about women, of course.

We'd certainly never catch you having a whinge about anything or losing your cool would we Emmet? ;)

Peterson had a genuine cultural impact the same way Dr Phil did: Folksy self-help snake-oil, to rudderless incels rather than bored housewives.

Jordan Peterson and Ben Shapiro are to intellectualism what Eric Clapton was to babysitting.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

The phone calls were coming from INSIDE the house;

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058070977

THEN WHO WAS PHONE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

If you think Dr Tony is keeping the pubs closed in order to keep people from drinking rather than contain the virus, then I have some magic beans I think you may be interested in buying.

Why do you insinuate that I think that? Where did I imply it?

I was clearly responding to a claim that nobody cares about other people's drinking habits and as we all know Holohan and plenty of others are interested in other people's drinking habits.

Why do you insinuate that I think that? Where did I imply it?

I was clearly responding to a claim that nobody cares about other people's drinking habits and as we all know Holohan and plenty of others are interested in other people's drinking habits.

Well that’s great but maybe consider learning how to think a little bit more abstractly when people are engaging in casual discourse, in other words don’t take everything so literally.

Allow me to rephrase my point just for you: Dr Tony doesn’t care about the barflies’ drinking habits who have to stay home during the pandemic, he is mainly concerned with combating the virus.

--rant--

Not sure how any of that relates to what I wrote tbh.

Jordan Peterson and Ben Shapiro are the types than not very smart people think are intellectuals.

Peterson had a genuine cultural impact the same way Dr Phil did: Folksy self-help snake-oil, to rudderless incels rather than bored housewives.

Jordan Peterson and Ben Shapiro are to intellectualism what Eric Clapton was to babysitting.

You're firmly in the debating in good-faith camp as well I see, and a powerhouse at that.

There is of course a point to feminism and the like, but it surely hasn't escaped your attention that you fly off the handle on occasion when certain aspects of it are criticized or certain actors within the movement get challenged. Incels indeed.

It's also quite amusing when people label Peterson a 'so-called intellectual'. The man is a tenured professor at an elite Canadian university and was (until he poked the bear and annoyed people of a certain political bent) a widely respected clinical practitioner. To say he is not an intellectual is Silly-Billy stuff. Disagree with him all you want and put up an argument undercutting his theses on whatever, but don't be silly.

You're firmly in the debating in good-faith camp as well I see, and a powerhouse at that.

There is of course a point to feminism and the like, but it surely hasn't escaped your attention that you fly off the handle on occasion when certain aspects of it are criticized or certain actors within the movement get challenged. Incels indeed.

It's also quite amusing when people label Peterson a 'so-called intellectual'. The man is a tenured professor at an elite Canadian university and was (until he poked the bear and annoyed people of a certain political bent) a widely respected clinical practitioner. To say he is not an intellectual is Silly-Billy stuff. Disagree with him all you want and put up an argument undercutting his theses on whatever, but don't be silly.

“Feminism?” “Silly-Billy?” What are you on about?

Anyway Peterson is not an intellectual. I’m sure he’s a perfectly fine clinical practitioner but as a public intellectual his observations are very shallow and, frankly, bizarre. I’ve watched a few of his lectures as well and he comes across as particularly uninspiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

HBC08 wrote: »
    Whilst I agree with most of that it wasn't mostly small town country lads at the idiot march in dublin the last week.

Exactly, small town country folk would buy and sell their urban cousins any day of the week and wouldn't fall for that shyte. Anyway I'm off to put the leprechauns to bed!

“Feminism?” “Silly-Billy?” What are you on about?

Anyway Peterson is not an intellectual. I’m sure he’s a perfectly fine clinical practitioner but as a public intellectual his observations are very shallow and, frankly, bizarre. I’ve watched a few of his lectures as well and he comes across as particularly uninspiring.

You're being silly. A tenured professor at a respected university and a recognized clinician in his field can comfortably be described as an intellectual.

By all means don't like him because he clashes with your world-view, but don't be silly.

You're being silly. A tenured professor at a respected university and a recognized clinician in his field can comfortably described as an intellectual.

His political stuff is hilariously bad Professor or not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭nicholasIII

Is it true that more men than women generally follow conspiracy theories?

Agreed. Calling Peterson an intellectual is silly. Look at this silly Tweet from Peterson, he’s so silly.

https://twitter.com/jordanbpeterson/status/913533213301182465?s=20

That's all fine if you want to call it bad. I'm not even going to mount a defense to say he's right all the time, but he got some things quite correct, and made a holy-show of a lot of people who came after him for speaking out. For that, he has my respect. And it's a source of entertainment watching some people with incredibly fixed political and social views have brain aneurysms when his name gets mentioned.

His big crime was taking on some sacred cows on certain precepts in the feminist movement etc when they thought they were on a victory march, and he actually got mainstream traction and center-ground people agreeing with him. That was the real problem, not his 'so-called intellectual' status.

Agreed. Calling Peterson an intellectual is silly. Look at this silly Tweet from Peterson, he’s so silly.

https://twitter.com/jordanbpeterson/status/913533213301182465?s=20

It's a more coherent proposition than saying your spouse revenge cheating on you after an affair is tantamount to rape though isn't it?

Listen don’t get personal with me because I slagged off your heroes Joe Rogan and Jordan Peterson.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=95438977&postcount=154

“An enlightened jock,” well it’s not surprise you lifted his “it’s silly*” shtick wholesale. And I’m not surprised you think Peterson is this towering public intellectual when Joe Rogan is “enlightened.”

I don’t know how old you are but I’m going to presume you’re still in your early teens if you’re still adopting your idols’ personae because you haven’t developed one for yourself, so I will cut you some slack:

Come back to me in about ten years when you’ve actually read a few real books from real intellectuals and finally graduated from pothead potcasts by short-arsed stoners, and we can have a real chat. You still have your Christopher Hitchens phase to hit, and I’m sure you’ll become a huge Blindboy fan any day now. Until then, take care young fella.

*Ref: https://youtu.be/d-babgLc9JQ

Listen don’t get personal with me because I slagged off your heroes Joe Rogan and Jordan Peterson.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=95438977&postcount=154

“An enlightened jock,” well it’s not surprise you lifted his “it’s silly*” shtick wholesale. And I’m not surprised you think Peterson is this towering public intellectual when Joe Rogan is “enlightened.”

I don’t know how old you are but I’m going to presume you’re still in your early teens if you’re still adopting your idols’ personae because you haven’t developed one for yourself, so I will cut you some slack:

Come back to me in about ten years when you’ve actually read a few real books from real intellectuals and finally graduated from pothead potcasts by short-arsed stoners, and we can have a real chat. You still have your Christopher Hitchens phase to hit, and I’m sure you’ll become a huge Blindboy fan any day now. Until then, take care young fella.

*Ref: https://youtu.be/d-babgLc9JQ

Lol. Shook.

You could sum-up Peterson's politics as 'self-help tips for structural problems'. And Shapiro is not much better: if you're struggling financially 'that'd be a you problem' go get a better job.

It's not hugely different to the bullshit minor celebs post on Instagram 'you're stronger than you know', 'your greatest obstacle to success is yourself'.

Total wankology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭rostalof

Wow, trivialising the horrific accidental death of a child and implying his father, who wasn't even present at the time was to blame just to make your point. Now that's a touch of class.

You could sum-up Peterson's politics as 'self-help tips for structural problems'. And Shapiro is not much better: if you're struggling financially 'that'd be a you problem' go get a better job.

It's not hugely different to the bullshit minor celebs post on Instagram 'you're stronger than you know', 'your greatest obstacle to success is yourself'.

Total wankology.

Peterson’s whole truck with “leftist Marxists” or whatever he calls them definitely falls under the conspiracy theory umbrella. He’s seeing Communist transsexuals everywhere trying to smash Christian values.

It's a rehashing of the whole reds-under-the-bed thing from the 50's which, back then, was leveraged to suppress labour unions while empowering capital.

rostalof wrote: »
    Wow, trivialising the horrific accidental death of a child and implying his father, who wasn't even present at the time was to blame just to make your point. Now that's a touch of class.

Pretend I said Charles Lindbergh instead then.