Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traveller couple con two old ladies

Someone earlier mentioned politicians wouldn't introduce tougher sentencing or build a new prison in case they are seen as "far-right".

If any of the political parties backed policies like this, they would gain support. Unfortunately, Twitter is seen as the barometer to measure public opinion. But people don't live on Twitter where every Tom, Dick and Harry has an opinion. People living in the real world would support it.

Alas, law is not so simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,396 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Own fault

• Registered Users Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Graces7 wrote: »
    Hard to express this properly - I am old now but would never give money away like that - even if I had any. Who is looking out for these dear but misguided ladies please? Sorry; badly expressed as I am so upset about this.

Not sure if it was the case here, but most of the time these “cons” are pure intimidation

A filthy thug coming to your doorstep, knowing your name and where you live - worse if you are rural - and often a joke of a police force and courts who like to imply it is your own fault -who they themselves are more afraid of the travellers I.e. the classic “civil matter” Garda excuse

That said, a hundred grand would have been more than enough to put these scum out of business if you knew the right people

Always thought, the A-Team would be billionaires in Ireland with all the itinerants, feral youth and junkies around

• Registered Users Posts: 33,081 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Jequ0n wrote: »
    Own fault
    I am guessing you have never had an elderly, confused or senile relative.
    They were exploited, they don't deserve any blame imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

ive decided to email my local politicians to express my disappointment with criminals and previous convictions

Id suggest we all do the same

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Own fault

Hows the sulky racing going.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

ive decided to email my local politicians to express my disappointment with criminals and previous convictions

I’m just going to vote the government out

This has been going on for decades, same parties involved - linked with judges, Gardaí and establishment media

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Dreadful dreadful human beings.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Remorseful, my arse. Feeling sorry for himself that he got caught is not to be confused with being remorseful.

gmisk wrote: »

Correct

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

Here is a link to an excel file that contains every Td's email address currently in power

https://data.oireachtas.ie/ie/oireachtas/communications/other/2020/2020-07-10_contact-details-tds_en.csv

Email them, they want to hear from you!

Thats why they ran!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Yeah I'll bang one off to Gino "baked" Kenny right away.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

How very wrong you are.

Losing freebies ie benefits is what these people fear.
    Having to work to live would have them terrified.

That would just make them rob more people.

Because there is no incentive not to do it
    I have never come across such pandering to a minority that chooses to be contrary

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

gmisk wrote: »

If they're confused etc they shouldn't have had such easy access to €100,000 to hand over

gctest50 wrote: »
    If they're confused etc they shouldn't have had such easy access to €100,000 to hand over

You must be the devil himself

gctest50 wrote: »

So being confused makes you fair game for scumbags.
    These two are scum and if are not dealt with will only end up doing the same again.
    No matter how confused they were or were not no decent citizens of this country should have to be treated this way by scum like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Random Account

**** Travellers. 90% of them thieving *****

These two are scum and if are not dealt with will only end up doing the same again.
    No matter how confused they were or were not no decent citizens of this country should have to be treated this way by scum like this.

No, everything makes you fair game, some scum is just more visible than other so you realise the impact with a delay.
    You cannot (and never could) rely on others to keep you safe

• Registered Users Posts: 16,582 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Some elderly people are very trusting and good natured and scumbags like these two take advantage of it.

A relative of mine was the same she would give someone her last euro and do without herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Nally, some man in fairness.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭1874

These people should be serving time already, so, clearly, the law (the system) is broken and does not work.
    You cannot have anyone out and about with 10 convictions, in particular if they are for violent crimes, but where the seriousness is above a certain threshold, it seems there is no threshold, it appears a person who does not give one jot can do almost anything.

Time for a massive overhaul make it work, identify what is wrong and work it from there, introduce new laws to criminalise criminals.
    Start building a new super prison and lock people up, waiting a hearing and there is reason to have concern of flight or intimidation of witnesses, lock them up in the interim.
    The Gardai need to be overhauled, while the fault may not appear to be in their hands, Ive had Gardai refuse to take a few complaints regarding threats of violence by one person. A solicitor told me that fella needs a good puck and thats what I should do, which is ludicrous as they told me they couldnt take it on, knowing full well it would go nowhere.
    Uniformed Gardai need to be the face of the Gardai, backed by an investigations branch, uniformed Gardai should be in the role of stopping/apprehending suspects of crime and passed onto a professional detective/investigations branch, where there is significant evidence of criminal activity (caught in the act/with certain items/products) a person should be locked away until the Courts can process them, only at that point should that portion of a sentence be cut off a legitimate sentence.
    None of this nonsense, where someone is being dealt with for a crime for a year or two and then have that deducted off the overall sentence as if they were not free to roam at will.

No, everything makes you fair game, some scum is just more visible than other so you realise the impact with a delay.
    You cannot (and never could) rely on others to keep you safe

You see the massive thing that stands out here is people with 2,3 4 5 let alone 100 convictions between them should of been severely dealt with long before this happened.

You should rely on others to make sure justice is dealt out fairly and harshly enough to deter others.
    Also certain members of our population always get an easy ride from prosecution because the powers that be are to feared of being called racist against certain groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Their family should have sorted it with the bank

You see the massive thing that stands out here is people with 2,3 4 5 let alone 100 convictions between them should of been severely dealt with long before this happened.

You should rely on others to make sure justice is dealt out fairly and harshly enough to deter others.
    Also certain members of our population always get an easy ride from prosecution because the powers that be are to feared of being called racist against certain groups.

I agree with you that you should be able to rely on it, but in my (limited) experience you cannot, and never could.

This scheme has been around for a long time so I struggle to have sympathies for people who fall for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

The outer fringes of London probably have more Travellers than the island of Ireland, it's basically a s**tzone that's neither Metropolitan London or England and demographically suits them down to the ground in terms of being a place to flit in and out and around of.

Was walking down the platform at Ealing Broadway station a few years back and got an almighty shove, there were three of them and for a lark and probably hoping to provoke a 3 to 1 scrap, deliberately and forcefully shoved their mate/cousin/brother (whatever the F he was) into me. Probably sussed me as a buffer as I look markedly Irish. ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

dd973 wrote: »
    Was walking down the platform at Ealing Broadway station a few years back and got an almighty shove, there were three of them and for a lark and probably hoping to provoke a 3 to 1 scrap, deliberately and forcefully shoved their mate/cousin/brother (whatever the F he was) into me. Probably sussed me as a buffer as I look markedly Irish. ****.

I've had an awful lot of experience with them over the years. For all the things people say about them and the abuse they're given the one word I'd use to describe them and how they interact with others would be Bullies.

They're obviously not all the same, and I've met some genuinely nice travellers in my time but they seem to be increasingly the exception to the rule.

The intimidation of others is a big issue and I genuinely feel they bully an awful lot of people, the story quoted above is one example of such behaviour.

The idea that anyone would scam an elderly person out of their hard earned money is sickening, we're too lenient on serious crime in this country already but targeting vulnerable people is something that should be severely punished.

Glazers Out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭BensMixed

Definitely two scumbags but just look at the people trying to degrade and tarnish all travellers as a result of a crime committed by two scumbags who happen to be travellers.

BensMixed wrote: »
    Definitely two scumbags but just look at the people trying to degrade and tarnish all travellers as a result of a crime committed by two scumbags who happen to be travellers.

Not all. But how many incidences of this has been bought to light from a certain culture.
    Would you admit this is not a rare offence by alot of the travelling community.
    Also do you think that the offences by the people you mentioned will be dealt with harshly because who they are and there so called culture.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

So what happens in a case like this?
    What happens with the money?
    Does it get paid back, or is it a matter of 'its mine now'?