Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread XII (The Byrne Supremacy)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,169 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Great finish from Russell.

Thought we'd knocked it on earlier.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

watch them concede within 2 minutes

Try bonus point is potentially on.

Need another score within the next ten minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

Good. Two bonus points is on now.

That's a lovely strike play off the scrum. Set Brownlee through the gap and then some lovely offloading ekes a yellow card out of Stormers when they illegally slow the ball.

Jaysus.

Why did we choose a scrum off of penalty advantage?

McErlean's not afraid to try things. I've been impressed with him. He's played big.

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭bingobango12

Was just about to say. He’s probably the one who can come out with head held highest. Liked him on his debut a few months back too.

Malherbe utterly ruined Leinster's 10 minute player advantage. We were terrified of losing scrum put in so hit early twice and were penalised.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭Rugbyf565

yeah real pity about thr disallowed try he setup, he showed real skill

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Which makes it all the more mind boggling why we scrummed down a penalty.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭degsie

Hope Leo is suitably embarrassed

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

McErlean, Turner and Prendergast have been decent high points.

Everything else an utter farce.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,589 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

We're going to finish this game with seven academy players on the pitch…

For perspective

• Registered Users Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

What drives me mad is Leo's post match interviews after games like this . Cliché after cliche , we learned a lot, SA is not an easy place to come blah blah.

If we win nothing again this year he should go.

Also what is McBryde actually doing with the forwards?

I'd like to have seen Gunne get longer than he's being given.

The younger lads have kept trying, which is a big plus from all this. Prendergast and McErlean put on very creditable performances.

But we didn't generate enough consistent go forward ball or secure our set piece well enough to get anything from either game.

We were better coached as an entire squad last season. Lancaster's greatest ability was distilling his ideas down the entire senior and academy structure. Everyone knew the game plan and had the technical ability to pull it off. It's why we were so successful integrating new players into the side.

This season there's been a drop off in cohesion the further down the depth chart we go. Players are more hesitant in making decisions and the attacking shape less defined.

I think we're seeing a trade off where the first choice squad might be primed to go further than last season's. But there are fewer players in the wider squad that are excelling and putting their hands up for selection.

It's a shame how poorly we've played the last two weeks. I'm sure the coaching set up expected to get a few points from the fixtures. It's something for them to analyse and critique themselves over. The players weren't prepared well enough for this tour.

But ultimately we've prioritised the Champions Cup. We'll see if it was the right decision next week and at the end of May.

Post edited by Clegg on

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭letsbefair

Great learning experience for the youngsters, we are focused on bigger things. We do not fear an away game in the business end. Great management by Leo, we are primed for Europe

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭LostArt

Feck it. The season starts on Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭letsbefair

Trophies are the only goal this season

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Must love hardship

The Bulls put 62 points on Leinster in the same round last year.

Sure. That'll happen especially when you play a huge side like the Bulls away. But we definitely played more cohesive, structured rugby last season and the seasons before that under Lancaster.

I don't have an opinion on whether our style of play last season is better, or more conducive to success than this season's. We were more consistent as a squad, but failed to win trophies despite being favourites for the league and Champions Cup.

Post edited by Clegg on

• Registered Users Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭long_b

Guess our "rhino" and "tiger"plays weren't fooling em

• Registered Users Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Yeah but this time we mean it.

Agree with others on here, Prendergast had some lovely touches as did McErlean. Lineout cost us on numerous occasions which was disappointing.

Not a great performance from Foley. Behind a beaten pack but tends to take a step when passing. Touch of Tomas O’Leary in the sense he’s a good player but ultimately has a limiting factor which will stop him being a top scrum half. Would have liked to see Gunne get a few more minutes. You could see the difference in his pass when he came on.

I don't like that we sacrificed two games, but it was probably the logical decision

There are two high profile examples of teams playing in South Africa then putting in a tired, losing performance the next week; La Rochelle and The Bulls. The latter didn't even send a full strength side to England the following week for a mixture of travel and performance worries.

I would have preferred Leinster to have played a mix and match 23 for two weeks, making sure the senior players get enough preparation. But it's just not worth the risk of fatiguing them in South Africa. I worry that we might be going into the Northampton game undercooked, but we didn't have much choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Dubinusa