Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread XII (The Byrne Supremacy)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,586 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Osborn played really well for the u20's. Big fast and physical lad. The wing, O'Connor also looks like a good prospect. The props are massive units! Great potential and could also be future stars. Soroka was quite good too. I think he may become a top level player.
    I thought Corkery was better than Humphreys. I assume Corkery will be in the academy. Jack Boyle really threw himself about. I reckon he is destined for great things.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,206 ✭✭✭crisco10

Osborne looked super comfortable at 15. was impressed.

Osborn is a big unit too! Looks very comfortable. Soroka looked very industrious and I hope he didn't pick up an iinjury. Overall, while very rusty the team showed a lot of potential. Leinster will be happy with the props. Some good talent there.

• Registered Users Posts: 740 ✭✭✭damianmcr

What's the craic with your boys season ticket prices with less games? Ulster dropped the price freeze line.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

damianmcr wrote: »
    What's the craic with your boys season ticket prices with less games? Ulster dropped the price freeze line.

Same craic

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Josh Murphy banned for 2 games

• Registered Users Posts: 20,389 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Josh Murphy banned for 2 games

Made contact with the eye area in the 53rd minute against Glasgow, Apparently. I don't remember it.

https://www.leinsterrugby.ie/disciplinary-decision-josh-murphy/

It says 2 meaningful games. Does that mean he won't be allowed to play any of they're season warm up games or the first 2 rounds of the URC?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,497 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Made contact with the eye area in the 53rd minute against Glasgow, Apparently. I don't remember it.

It says 2 meaningful games. Does that mean he won't be allowed to play any of they're season warm up games or the first 2 rounds of the URC?

Did the Glasgow player get anything for putting Porter in a rear naked choke?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

https://twitter.com/gharkness23/status/1400925892835254272

• Registered Users Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Lsdrugbyfan

Possible Leinster academy additions this summer:

LH Prop: Temi Lasisi(19/Lansdowne)
    LH Prop: Jack Boyle(18/UCD)
    TH Prop: Sam Illo(20/Old Wesley)
    Hooker: Lee Barron(20/DUFC)
    Outhalf: Tim Corkery(19/UCD)
    Wing: Josh O'Connor(20/UCD)
    Fullback: Chris Cosgrave(20/UCD)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭TRC10

Possible Leinster academy additions this summer:

LH Prop: Temi Lasisi(19/Lansdowne)
    LH Prop: Jack Boyle(18/UCD)
    TH Prop: Sam Illo(20/Old Wesley)
    Hooker: Lee Barron(20/DUFC)
    Outhalf: Tim Corkery(19/UCD)
    Wing: Josh O'Connor(20/UCD)
    Fullback: Chris Cosgrave(20/UCD)

Is Jamie Osborne already in the academy?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,701 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

TRC10 wrote: »

Was sub academy the start of the season but I'd be absolutely shocked if he wasn't bumped up and given a contract as part of his appearances during the season.

TRC10 wrote: »

Yep got an academy contract in January along with Marcus Hanan.

Noel McNamara leaving Leinster to join the Sharks

• Registered Users Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

South African franchise not Sale in case people (like me) were wondering

Huge loss I think. He's been honing his skills excellently with underage and academy set ups in recent years.

But moving abroad for a different coaching view isn't a bad thing.

Hopefully he comes back in a few years with some valuable skills to benefit Irish Rugby

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Richie_Rich89

Which Sharks?

The ones based in Durban?

The Shawks

South African franchise not Sale in case people (like me) were wondering

Huge loss I think. He's been honing his skills excellently with underage and academy set ups in recent years.

But moving abroad for a different coaching view isn't a bad thing.

Hopefully he comes back in a few years with some valuable skills to benefit Irish Rugby

There wasn't really a place for him to keep moving up at Leinster once Contepomi stayed on.

He's already an excellent coach and has the potential to be outstanding.

IMO I'd have moved Felipe on.. i'm really not sure how good a coach he is.

Plus a new voice in the senior setup might have helped.

Who takes over the academy?

Leamy? Hurrell? Hogan?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,172 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Losing McNamara is a blow. He has done great work with the Ireland U20's and with Leinsters academy players. A lot of them have been polished to the point where they don't look out if place in their pro debut.

Clegg wrote: »
    Losing McNamara is a blow. He has done great work with the Ireland U20's and with Leinsters academy players. A lot of them have been polished to the point where they don't look out if place in their pro debut.

Was always leaving once he wasn't included with coaches who had extended their contracts.

IMO I'd have moved Felipe on.. i'm really not sure how good a coach he is.

Plus a new voice in the senior setup might have helped.

Who takes over the academy?

Leamy? Hurrell? Hogan?

I'm inclined to agree with that.

But maybe this'll be a good move for McNamara. He could ultimately be Lancaster's successor.

Would they bring back Dempsey? He could take over the academy! I think he's done at Bath.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Iompair

Dubinusa wrote: »
    Would they bring back Dempsey? He could take over the academy! I think he's done at Bath.

He's taken on a head coach role at a school in Bristol, not sure that's a great sign for returning to Ireland in the near future.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭FrannoFan

Dubinusa wrote: »

No thanks.
    Had a run in the role already with development of young players and made some dubious calls.
    Was never overly impressed by him as a coach.

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭TCPIP

Jack Dunne has come out. Delighted for him and the support he's received. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p09mmk12

• Registered Users Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

TCPIP wrote: »
    Jack Dunne has come out. Delighted for him and the support he's received. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p09mmk12

Actually thought the other day when I saw he was on some Leinster inclusivity committee that it was odd that it wasn’t a more senior player. Fair play to him it must still be tough to do in the sports world

TCPIP wrote: »

I thought he was gay when I read that. But it turns out he's just bi.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭jacothelad

I thought he was gay when I read that. But it turns out he's just bi.
    Playing both ends against the middle in a manner of speaking.;)

jacothelad wrote: »
    Playing both ends against the middle in a manner of speaking.;)

What happened with your dog in the end, Jaco?