Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Must love hardship

He played 50 minutes and made 7 tackles missing 1.

Ross played for half an hour and only made 1 tackle. Does Ross need to make more tackles too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,605 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Joe McCarthy makes letting Jenkins exit fairly easy. I'd hold onto Jenkins at the right price. It would make sense to me. Would a French side pay Jenkins a big salary? I don't think he's worth top $. In saying that the other locks we have available are more workman type players, Molony and Deeny are similar in type and Soroka looks to be a typical Irish lock/blindside. O'Tighernaigh while good at 20's level, strikes me as a similar type as the aforementioned. He doesn't seem to be a big lump of power. Although he's just 20.

Spending big on a lock doesn't make sense, unless it's Ethzebeth or Skelton.

VDF probably needs to bench at least next week. Getting him up to speed is critical.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭letsbefair

Gas people judging VDF, he was a nuisance for the whole game. A wee bit rusty maybe but will start against Munster

• Registered Users Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Don’t think anyone is judging him, we all know how good a player he is. He made a few uncharacteristic errors for his own high standards yesterday. I think it’s fair say that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,697 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

He's a world player of the year. That's his standard.

I think its fair to say he was poor by his standards last night. Undoubtedly he will improve but he did fall off one or 2 uncharacteristic tackles and had 2 very basic handing errors. Something that is extremely unusual to see from him.

No one is saying he's past it or anything like that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,697 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

I can see things building nicely and most of the internationals are reintegrating very quickly. Promising to see.

I was concerned earlier in the season about the general cohesion in the team. Especially in the backs. The Munster pre season game and the Glasgow game especially were devoid of any real continuity in general backline play.

This has vastly improved and was our best (but still needs improving) performance in that facet last night. I do think Goodman being away affected us quite badly and we can see his influence now that he is back.

Shrewd selection from Leo last night giving 2 players who probably needed the strongest team around them starts. Clarkson and Prendergast thrived in the circumstances of having some top quality around them to help them along.

Clarkson has had 2 weeks in a row now of good solid outings which will stand to him.

Prendergast got that extra half second he still probably needs while he develops and it stood to him. He pulled the strings nicely and was ably assisted by Ringrose, Osborne and Keenan all of whom are happy in that first receiver position too. A great showing from the young man.

I liked the look of Big Joe last night. No silly penalities given and he even adapted on the fly when he was caught in a 50/50. He jumped the gun for a box kick charge down and got out of the way for no effect on play. And he came around for a ball out call but checked with Davidson before making the move. Both glimpses to a player who is learning and gaining great experience. He's a phenomenal athlete who possesses a unique ability to break the first tackle. His footwork is just so good. Even threw a beautiful side step to beat the rushing first man.

Great to see Tadgh back looking refreshed. I think the days of barnstorming carries and highlight reel steps might be a rarer sight but he had a real impact in the tackle last night. Thunderous impacts there.

The Intergating lads must be difficult. Both weekends worked out nicely. Still looking to get minutes into Lowe and Henshaw. Next weekend is another chance to try to bed in the lads and our new coach?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,578 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

I'd say Cullen is afeard the IRFU will take one of their NIQ slots off them if they demonstrate an ability to thrive without Ngatai with Henshaw out. Or at least it'd be a small factor in the back of his head. So if it's a 50/50 call between Osborne and Ngatai at 12 they'll go for the latter. To get selected Osborne might have to in the selectors' heads be that much better than Ngatai that it actually sways a big match like LAR in Leinster's favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

I watched the game back again and I'm fairly convinced a different ref might have penalised Joe at least 3 times. I dont think the calls were necessarily wrong, but they were borderline and they all went in his favour.

He is a serious talent though.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

The one where he ran around and stole it shouldn't have been allowed, for me. He ran around when the ball was still in the ruck into an offside position, hesitated and then the referee told him it was out before it was (I think it might have actually been out when he put hands on it).

The officiating at the ruck (and in general) was very lax. Both teams were allowed do all sorts of silly stuff beyond the ruck and interfering with opposition ball/players. Offside line wasn't really policed either.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭jonok28

Big Joe coming through is brilliant for Ireland and for Leinster, my major concern is always that if James Ryan or Joe McCarthy were to pick up injuries that sideline them for a prolonged period of time that we have only one international caliber lock on the team. Yes Ryan Baird is still a lock but seems to be preferred at flanker for club and country.

I can see Jenkins getting a nice contract elsewhere next season and Leinster not being in a rush to pay him but I think it is of the utmost importance for Leinster to bring in another lock who can make the impact they wanted Jenkins to make.

Do I think its going to be someone like Lood De Jager or Maro Itoje? realistically no. Would it be nice? absolutely! I think Leinster do end up signing a lock, the mischievous part of me would love to steal RG Snyman from Munster but his injury history the past number of years makes that a very difficult and expensive.

I think Leinster can afford to splash the cash a little bit and go for a experienced international lock who is a step above Jenkins.

It would depend on who is available and the cost. We could end up with Jack Dunne who is not getting a look in at Exeter. That would be a poor return. Snyman wouldn't be worth the bill.

It would probably be Ngati. His experience would sway it. Henshaw hasn't played and Ngati is playing well. I'd like to see Osborne.

On Henshaw, he needs a run. If Osborne does make a good showing at 12, Henshaw could find himself playing catch up

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,484 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Itoje might be available on the cheap if Saracens declare Farrell as their marquee player.

I don't think he's the right type of lock but you wouldn't turn up your nose at him.

Itoje on the cheap would still be c. €450k based on the numbers being proposed (he's supposedly being offered £400k to stay at Sarries).

There is absolutely no way I could see the IRFU or Leinster sanctioning that sort of cash for that sort of signing, and nor should they.

Jack Dunne and Ultan Dillane spring to mind due to being Irish and contracts ending at the end of the season. I think Dunne would be a lot more likely than Dillane but have heard that Dunne doesn't want to come back to Ireland if it meant he didn't get to play some games which is fair.

I just really hope Leinster are aggressive in the market when they do plan to sign some players. Yes the emphasis 100% should be on producing and promoting Irish talent and developing them to the highest standard and I of course don't want to see Joe McCarthy's development stunted by a big money signing but I also look at Leinsters second row outside of James Ryan and Joe McCarthy and see some very decent players but none who fill me with too much confidence when it comes to the Champions cup or another player pushing for Ireland consideration in the next 2 years.

Well, Baird did start the Grand Slam game against England in the 6N at lock, as well as featuring off the bench against Italy and Scotland, also as a second rower.

And Molony was favoured ahead of McCarthy to start the last two European Cup Finals.

Deeny is at an age where he really needs some games, and O'Tighearnaigh has excellent pedigree in terms of his U20 profile.

Baird seems to be favored at blindside flanker a lot more these days for both Leinster and Ireland meaning that it wouldn't be any harm to bring in an additional lock to add extra depth. I do like the younger prospects at lock on the team but I still don't think they are ready to make a serious impact currently.

At Loosehead, Tighthead and lock, I would love to see Leinster bring in some additional veteran depth. Leinster are going to be absolutely clinical in attack and with Nienaber now coming in, I think the defense improves even further. I just have concerns about the scrum and line out at times. An additional experienced line out operator would welcomed. A loosehead and tighthead next season to replace the potential retirement of Cian Healy and Michael Ala'alatoa leaving would be a big help.

Yes we have the likes of Jack Boyle, Paddy McCarthy and Rory McGuire coming through at prop but even a year contract next season at both prop positions and lock would be hugely beneficial for Leinster and for the development of the young prospects across the squad.

Yeah. I'd like to see Martin Moore signed for tighthead. He's a quality operator and would fit the South African approach of having scrum specialists coming off the bench to help sway big games.

Loosehead, I can't see it. Signing someone would be a good way to make Milne look for a move away. The Union would take some convincing to allow it too with Kitshoff at Ulster.

Overall, I think your perception might have been coloured somewhat by there being weaker squads for the first few games of the season due to the World Cup. That won't be the case every season, and with few to no games during international windows there's less gametime for squad players compared to when it was the Pro 12/Pro 14.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

I don't think there are many locks in world rugby capable of stunting McCarty's development. He will be starting the 6 nations games for Ireland I reckon. If he stays fit, he is going to come on a serious chunk this season.

All true. But I find Deeny to be similar to Molony. Not at Molony's level, yet! A little bigger than Molony though. While he is still developing and is not the finished product, I believe he will a good player but not international standard. No harm in that.

C.O.T did not strike me as a power player. Infact, I thought he's a similar type to Molony but, with a scope to being better.

I still think Dillane would be a good signing. Munster may make a bid for him as he's from Munster. Connacht too!

Boyle will be on a senior deal next year. I'd sign McCarthy too, no doubt another province will be looking to poach him. With Milne, Boyle and McCarthy it leaves Byrne probably not getting a deal. It would be devastating for Leinster to have a repeat of the tighthead exodus a few years ago. I expect one of these 3 lads to be regular international players.

I would lose my mind if we lost anyone of them.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,794 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Ultan Dillane has featured very rarely in the second row for LAR, he generally starts and comes on at blindside.

Only 4 out of 22 starts were in the row, all the rest were at 6.

and Scott Fardy he is not.

Moore was my first thought when thinking of who to replace Ala'alatoa, not from a like for like in terms of ability where I think Ala'alatoa is a far better player from top to bottom. It was more so about bringing a former Leinster man home. I think his injury history might be a reason to not make the deal for him, I'm also not fully convinced he would be a hand in glove fit.

Someone who I think solves two problems next year (LH and TH prop) with one signing would be Trevor Nyakane. He is a free agent in December, he is older and experienced meaning he would only sign on a short term deal maybe a year or two, he plays both sides of the scrum, he has worked with Nienaber for years and he is a monster in the scrum. He doesn't stop the growth of Milne,Boyle,McCarthy or McGuire.

Yeah I'd be very disappointed myself if we were to lose any of the props to the other provinces, I don't see them endangering that but it would be prudent to bring in someone on a short term one year deal next season to replace the likes of Ed Byrne and potentially Cian Healy and Michael Ala'alatoa, thats alot of experience going out the door.

True but, he could go into the 2nd row easily.

Alternatively, these young lads need to grow. It's likely that Healy retires but there's replacement players ready. Boyle is growing with his exposure and Milne was assering himself very nicely last season, despite missing the entire previous season. I fancy that both of these lads will be on the cusp of the international side within a couple of years.

Bear in mind another Leinster prospect went to Limerick. Hadden is another player that I believe will be a top level loose head. Getting minutes into Milne and Boyle is very important this year, imo. Both lads are really good in the loose. McCarthy looks to me that he could get to the higher level of all 3 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Thrashssacre

See they've finally opened the west stand upper for the weekend and are selling tickets for 10 euro even in decent spots, should be close to a sell out but I'd be a bit pissed if I spent nearly 50 for a similar seat.

Nyakane would be good, but where do you see that he's leaving Racing?

Realistically, The Players heading out the door at the seasons end are:

Cian Healy - retirement - Replaced by Michael Milne

Ed Byrne - finds new club and game time - Replaced by Jack Boyle

Michael Ala'alatoa - Going to France - Replaced by NIQ signing

Jason Jenkins- More than likely going abroad for payday - Replaced by NIQ signing

Charlie Ngatai - More than likely being let leave - Replaced by Jamie Osborne

Leinster will probably lose one of their NIQ designation spots as it isn't currently necessary.

Leinster end up bringing in at least one South African who Nienaber knows, trusts and is able to execute his game plan, my guess, Trevor Nyakane.

I think they will go for another veteran lock who doesn't get in the way of McCarthy's development, I sneakily think they actually might try and snag RG Snyman and hope he stays injury free, maybe keep him on a year to year deal.