Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St. Patrick's Day Protests

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

uh, we've a live one here

You've literally been one of the biggest COVID authoritarians on this site, so it's beyond ridiculous that you try and mock people for a claim that accurately describes you.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

.anon. wrote: »
    Not only that, but they'll make a point of not following the rules. Not just at the protest, but on the way to and from it also.
    Civil rights protestors, protesting the sacred human-right to get drunk in the middle of the afternoon and endanger people with pre-existing conditions during a pandemic.

rusty cole wrote: »
    I heard on the news that a demonstration in solidarity with the girl who was murdered in London, is to go ahead today in Dublin, not sure if it;s true, dont see how it can either. a crowd is a crowd is a crowd..Like they say, this disease doesn't discriminate nor take sides..

Batons at the ready lads!!!!
    I think you'll find that it does discriminate against people who maintain social distances and who wear masks.

Well they're not.

If people can protest in masks while social distancing then they're not superspreader events, but considering that this is a protest in favour of drinking cans with their mates on a Wednesday I imagine that those measures won't be followed.

A quick Google image search will show you that there was very little distancing at the vigil. You're beyond hypocritical.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

TomTomTim wrote: »

A quick Google image search will show that there was very little distancing at the vigil. You're beyond hypocritical.
    How? I didn't even go. :confused:

Civil rights protestors, protesting the sacred human-right to get drunk in the middle of the afternoon and endanger people with pre-existing conditions during a pandemic.

They have much the same level of risk. The virus doesn't give a damn about your social justice.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,303 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

The traffic today is mental out my way. People are visiting houses etc no one really cares that much any more.
    I'm disappointed as to the disdain that protesters are held in over this carry on. It's been managed terribly and they're giving the people nothing at the moment. I have a wage coming in anyway, I can't imagine how people who have been out of work for a year or so feel, and the government are giving them no hope right now.
    I happened to be near the last Dublin protests and it was mostly just normal people. Some grey tracksuited scumbag shot a rocket at the police but town is full of those types all the time anyway.
    Many people just want a different response as to how they're dealing with things now. Not everyone protesting the current restrictions is a right wing nutter ffs.

TomTomTim wrote: »
    They have much the same level of risk. The virus doesn't give a damn about your social justice.
    No, they don't.

In fact the increase of covid 19 cases after one Black Lives Matter protest was "small in magnitude" and "concluded no impact on COVID-19 rates."

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7717330/

Wash your hands, keep your distance and wear a mask, people. Enjoy the cans at home instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Ahh,

"The stroll of the stupid"

The anti-mask protest that will be heavily attended by mask wearing protesters.

Enjoy your big day out lads, let us know what you hope to achieve.

Not everyone protesting the current restrictions is a right wing nutter ffs.

Maybe not, but that's who's bringing them all together, and that's who will be handing out fliers, who will be directing them through telegram etc. etc. etc. lay down with dogs and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭greasepalm

Get the farmers up with their muck spreaders before the march and line their route with sh1t for the sh1tes

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭loveall

Water cannons with a good bit of that dodgy recalled hand sanitizer mixed in.......2 birds, 1 stone

Ahh,

"The stroll of the stupid"

Enjoy your big day out lads, let us know what you hope to achieve.
    They're going to drink a rake of cans, throw some shapes, and tell the guards that they'll "do nuttin" before scarpering as one idiot takes it too far and launches an attack on our boys in blue.

Our reward for this brave display of civil disobedience will be daily quadruple figures in about a week and a half, and fewer grandparents for our nations' children.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Hmm, its almost as if its not an anti-mask protest at all.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 30,598 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When this is all over we should just have big protest outside Gemma's and Little Dee's house.

They're going to drink a rake of cans, throw some shapes, and tell the guards that they'll "do nuttin" before scarpering as one idiot takes it too far and launches an attack on our boys in blue.

Our reward for this brave display of civil disobedience will be daily quadruple figures in about a week and a half, and fewer grandparents for our nations' children.

It's ok for these lads though, it'll be "wharrabout BLM, wharrabout travellers, wharrabout RTE" you can see it through the thread already sure, it's always someone else's fault, always.

timmyntc wrote: »
    Hmm, its almost as if its not an anti-mask protest at all.. :rolleyes:

Indeed, it's quite obviously an anti intelligence protest.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,844 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Bored losers.

They should just let them at it. Not one garda, not one journalist, no one. No coverage.

Starve them of the attention they pathetically crave and starve the "political" parties who use these events to recruit these thickos.

"While it is better to be loved than hated, it is also far better to be hated than ignored".

The Nal wrote: »
    Bored losers.

They should just let them at it. Not one garda, not one journalist, no one. No coverage.

Starve them of the attention they pathetically crave and starve the "political" parties who use these events to recruit these thickos.

"While it is better to be loved than hated, it is also far better to be hated than ignored".

The type that will be at this are the folk who like & thank their own posts on social media - not sure your plan would work :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭loveall

There'd be a huge turnout if there was a Dublin covid variant....just look at Kent

• Registered Users Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Indeed, it's quite obviously an anti intelligence protest.

Or maybe it is, as they claim, an anti-restrictions protest?

You know that 5km travel rule, that rule that says you cant open your business or earn a living? You can't leave the country, but people are free to come into it? Those restrictions?

The inner city urchins will cause problems as they always do on paddy’s every day

FYP.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭micosoft

vast majority are expressing their right to register their displeasure with undemocratic lockdowns in peaceful fashion. Good luck to those standing up for their civil liberties tomorrow, people have been downtrodden long enough.

How often does it have to be said that no right is unlimited and the state has the right and legal authority to add restrictions. It's fine to disagree with the law without lying about it with invented rights. Your claim that folk are downtrodden in Ireland deserves nothing but contempt for not just being dishonest but offensive for those around the world who actually live under repressive regimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Some are more moronic than others.

ahh theres the usual face.

timmyntc wrote: »
    Or maybe it is, as they claim, an anti-restrictions protest?

You know that 5km travel rule, that rule that says you cant open your business or earn a living? You can't leave the country, but people are free to come into it? Those restrictions?

Yeah, I am well aware of the restrictions. Frustrated with them to the point of depression myself, but I'm smart enough to know that just because I don't like the pandemic - doesn't mean I can wish it away by joining a band of clowns to go marching and shouting around Dublin. Nothing will be gained by this event - nothing.

It's a protest against intelligence, or if you prefer - a demonstration of stupidity.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,781 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

It's ok for these lads though, it'll be "wharrabout BLM, wharrabout travellers, wharrabout RTE" you can see it through the thread already sure, it's always someone else's fault, always.

The ‘Late Late Show’ special on tomorrow will draw a lot of their ire once they shuffle off home.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

micosoft wrote: »
    How often does it have to be said that no right is unlimited and the state has the right and legal authority to add restrictions. It's fine to disagree with the law without lying about it with invented rights. Your claim that folk are downtrodden in Ireland deserves nothing but contempt for not just being dishonest but offensive for those around the world who actually live under repressive regimes.

Can you tell what right is in competition with the right to protest here? If you know the law, which you seem to think you do, then you'd know that two rights need to compete for the other to be less applicable.

The ‘Late Late Show’ special on tomorrow will draw a lot of their ire once they shuffle off home.

They absolutely hate RTE but don't realise that you can just look at other stuff :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Could they combine the lockdown protest with a demo for a progressive cause?

Ninthlife wrote: »
    Can we get odds on the times at which the first 'shame on you' chant will be started by a group of grey tracksuit clad urban athletes..

I'd imagine it will be immediate. Same as the idiots that will shout reclaim our streets and bang on about how #notallmen is misogynistic today.

Arseholes always make tits of themselves.