Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St. Patrick's Day Protests

Response of the Gardai sounds ott.

I'm surprised the chemist bothered opening up today.
    I'm glad they did.

It was the chemist beside the rotunda and because it was specific for IVF pregnancies, it was medication that needed to be kept chilled so isn't available in most local pharmacies.

how was it heavy handed ? did you get a slap ? pushed shoved ? screamed at ? arrested ? from what you have posted it does sound like you were in the city centre unnecessarily

sounds like you were asked politely to move out of a area where a large and potentially violent protest was about to happen which you could well have been apart of. after all why would they believe your assurances ?

your many many other posts here on policing would suggest your generally hostile towards any kind of authority regardless of the situation

It was heavy handed because I was on my own, patiently waiting for a bus, with my headphones on and I was threatened with arrest for doing so.

I was compliant, gave my details, explained my reasoning and was prepared to leave as soon as my bus came.

If you think that is not heavy handed, I assume you also approved of the English police on Clapham common last week?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

ya sure your right they should have flooded a small rural town with police from the entire country t massive expensive on the off chance that travellers would have done what they did. course then they would have to do that with every funeral in Ireland travellers or not

:confused::confused::confused:

What about the massive expense today, a ring of steel around RTE on the off chance that a few protesters turn up.

You seem to think that anything happens outside Dublin is an expense, but no expense spared when it comes to Dublin,

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Get Real

2500 gardai in town today according to some news site I saw

I understand there were 4 working in Carrick on Shannon

2,500 for the country. Not Dublin.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2021/0316/1204237-gardai-st-patricks-day/

"More than 2,500 members from regular and specialist units, including air support, the dog, mounted and public order units, will be on duty at key locations, as well as checkpoints nationwide"

• Registered Users Posts: 33,081 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

mgn wrote: »
    What about the massive expense today, a ring of steel around RTE on the off chance that a few protesters turn up.

You seem to think that anything happens outside Dublin is an expense, but no expense spared when it comes to Dublin,
    There was a pretty big crowd at rte there is footage.
    They needed the gardai and the barriers by looks of it

The pre publicity that this response was happening likely deterred many from even getting out of bed today no less heading in to a protest

• Registered Users Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

buried wrote: »
    5km travel limit

Any other bright ideas covidista?

But if you were leaving to work abroad then it could be essential.

Whats a covidsta

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

It was heavy handed because I was on my own, patiently waiting for a bus, with my headphones on and I was threatened with arrest for doing so.

I was compliant, gave my details, explained my reasoning and was prepared to leave as soon as my bus came.

If you think that is not heavy handed, I assume you also approved of the English police on Clapham common last week?

were you threatened with arrest or was the consequences of refusing to give your details explained to you as per normal policing I wonder ?

your not going to put words in my mouth by comparing you hanging around o Connell street to bring heat sensitive refrigerated medication on the bus with you :pac::pac: and a major event in another country

Or should I break the restrictions and give you the ire, fear and anger you crave?

I have no anger, fear or ire you on the other hand have displayed enough of those in your posts

gmisk wrote: »
    There was a pretty big crowd at rte there is footage.
    They needed the gardai and the barriers by looks of it

The needed gardai in Carrick the other day, but the had none.

Covid spreads whether its in Dublin or Carrick at the end of the day.

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Ah you’re a troll. Give over. You being on a weird tirade to prove a point against the guards today is not even comparable

What? I said I was treated heavy handedly by a couple of guards today.

I have zero issues with the police force. I don't like the hypocrisy of certain posters who are all for heavy handedness in cases they disagree with and call out the police for being heavy handed when it's a situation they are sympathetic with.

Policing of laws should be consistent and the attitude toward policing should also be.

That's my single point and I backed it up with an appropriate anecdote.

That makes me a troll?

simple

the nations capital and national broadcaster regardless what I think of them is far more important that a small town in Leitrim

sorry to burst the bubble :(:(

what don't your write to your local public reps maybe they can get more policing resources flooded into Leitrim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭The Inbetween is mine

I'm glad they did.

It was the chemist beside the rotunda and because it was specific for IVF pregnancies, it was medication that needed to be kept chilled so isn't available in most local pharmacies.

On a serious note...best of luck....7 attempts here and now have a daughter....the most wonderful people there

were you threatened with arrest or was the consequences of refusing to give your details explained to you as per normal policing I wonder ?

your not going to put words in my mouth by comparing you hanging around o Connell street to bring heat sensitive refrigerated medication on the bus with you :pac::pac: and a major event in another country

Glad you find it funny. You are given a refrigerated bag (probably not the right wordage) and told to get it home within an hour.

I never once refused to give my details. I happily gave it to them along with my bank card to confirm my name. I was told that if I insisted on staying at the bus stop (beside the Gresham) I would be arrested.

At this time there were more guards and journalists than pedestrians or protesters. My bus was in less than 20 mins

The pre publicity that this response was happening likely deterred many from even getting out of bed today no less heading in to a protest

Good to see it worked.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,317 ✭✭✭pgj2015

was just watching the news there. were the "singers" at that gig about mental health allowed sing?

simple

the nations capital and national broadcaster regardless what I think of them is far more important that a small town in Leitrim

sorry to burst the bubble :(:(

what don't your write to your local public reps maybe they can get more policing resources flooded into Leitrim

Far more important to who.

You haven't got a clue do you.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,121 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Glad you find it funny. You are given a refrigerated bag (probably not the right wordage) and told to get it home within an hour.

I never once refused to give my details. I happily gave it to them along with my bank card to confirm my name. I was told that if I insisted on staying at the bus stop (beside the Gresham) I would be arrested.

At this time there were more guards and journalists than pedestrians or protesters. My bus was in less than 20 mins

In fairness to you and your predicament AGS should have closed the bus stop and posted details of where to go to get the bus.

This would have avoided the problem you encountered.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Slew of off topic posts about the civil service, political parties etc deleted.

Folks there are threads here in the forum to discuss those matters, don't derail this thread with them please.

Whats your definition of 'essential'?

My work is 'essential' to me.

How can I rock up to a airport and demand I have to leave for essential work in another country when I can't do it in my own country?

Where does that start making sense and why can't you see that it doesn't

My definition of essential is irrelevant as it doesnt change the list provided by Government

I never agreed that the fact construction being shut was the right decision either. Ive seen alot of tradesmen still working though so maybe theyve tweaked their business description to fit into the list deemed essential

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭buried

Ninthlife wrote: »
    My definition of essential is irrelevant as it doesnt change the list provided by Government

I never agreed that the fact construction being shut was the right decision either. Ive seen alot of tradesmen still working though so maybe theyve tweaked their business description to fit into the list deemed essential

Or maybe its lucky for those lads they don't have a checkpoint stood down the road from their house like I have the last 3 months

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 12,475 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I'm glad they did.

No need to explain....I'm not a Gardai:-)

All the best with the IVF, and I hope you got home within the hour.

Or maybe its lucky for those lads they don't have a checkpoint stood down the road from their house like I have the last 3 months

7 days a week? Same time every day? I've not heard of anything that consistent

On topic: happy there was no trouble similar to what happened on Grafton St

elperello wrote: »
    In fairness to you and your predicament AGS should have closed the bus stop and posted details of where to go to get the bus.

This would have avoided the problem you encountered.

I wholeheartedly agree

No need to explain....I'm not a Gardai:-)

All the best with the IVF, and I hope you got home within the hour.

Cheers chief. I did thankfully and all is going well so far :)

Far more important to who.

You haven't got a clue do you.

the millions of people who live in Dublin I suspect

Carrick on Shannon is not the centre of the world , although it may be for you

Ninthlife wrote: »
    7 days a week? Same time every day? I've not heard of anything that consistent

On topic: happy there was no trouble similar to what happened on Grafton St

There's a checkpoint on my stretch that hasn't moved literally in the last 3 months. It is continuously there. But even if it wasn't sure I would still be in the same boat of restrictions. I have to travel about the place and I no reason to be doing so even though for the 99% of my work I encounter nobody, but if I get stopped somewhere else with my van and trailer of obvious construction equipment, what can I say?

I am also glad there was no trouble today.

the millions of people who live in Dublin I suspect

Carrick on Shannon is not the centre of the world , although it may be for you

Typical Dub, I'm okay, f*ck everyone else.

All the best with your situation D, ye'll get there in the end. Good folk always will.

Typical Dub, I'm okay, f*ck everyone else.

lol im not even from lenister , never mind Dublin

typical letrim Fcuk every one else :pac::pac: