Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St. Patrick's Day Protests

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Completely agree. Whatever measures the Guards employ tomorrow to discourage, divert or break up these absolutely nonsensical and vexatious gatherings have my full support.

Did you feel the same about the police response in London the other day?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭buried

Just on the fascism thing...

Fascism as defined is a heavy enforcement of total power by a dictatorial agent/agents who claim to be the saviour's of the nation, combined with total suppression of any opposition and a heavy enforced regimentation of both society and the economy.

Remind any of ye of anything?

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 24,192 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

tommybrees wrote: »
    Will be 100% in attendance.
    Do I think it will change anything, probably not but at least I can say I tried. There's absolutely no justification for level 5 lockdown.
    if it's safe enough to be packed in supermarkets or off-licence then it should be safe enough to do other thing's.

Who's packed in supermarkets and off licences? I had to queue to enter Dunnes at the weekend as it got busy, and masks were being universally worn.

Had it occurred to you that the bus full of our fellow citizens that have died every day on average since early January have not done so spontaneously and that the variant now in circulation keeping our case numbers stubbornly high, is far more dangerous to any person who contracts it and is more likely to contract it in a large gathering of the type of people who have been ignoring rules continuously?

I hope you get neither a covid infection nor the smack of a baton tomorrow, but I won't be shocked if you get either or both.

buried wrote: »

Fascism as defined is a heavy enforcement of total power by a dictatorial agent/agents who claim to be the saviour's of the nation, combined with total suppression of any opposition and a heavy enforced regimentation of both society and the economy.

Shut it you........... Somethingaphobe

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

sabat wrote: »
    This nightmare will affect everybody eventually; some are just a lot better insulated than others right now-that's why they're sneering snobbily at protesters who don't have things as comfortable as they do. I was at the last protest and "rocket man" and about 20 others aside, it was just normal people. I won't be going tomorrow because I can see how the narrative is already written, just like I could see on Grafton St how the garda tactics were designed to be antagonistic long before any trouble started.

Ya you could see it in multiple videos the filthy pigs

standing there soaking up abuse and threats from spineless pieces of scum with out the coherence to string a sentence together before finally reacting to life threatening attacks form cowards like you for fled rather than finish the fight they tried to start

if you were actually there you deserve nothing but distain from any sane person ,

I hope you got a few slaps off a baton as you deserve that and more . hope you enjoy tomorrow, it will cause the death of some more people

Who's packed in supermarkets and off licences? I had to queue to enter Dunnes at the weekend as it got busy, and masks were being universally worn.

Had it occurred to you that the bus full of our fellow citizens that have died every day on average since early January have not done so spontaneously and that the variant now in circulation keeping our case numbers stubbornly high, is far more dangerous to any person who contracts it and is more likely to contract it in a large gathering of the type of people who have been ignoring rules continuously?

I hope you get neither a covid infection nor the smack of a baton tomorrow, but I won't be shocked if you get either or both.

Fine. It's a good position to hold and I hold it myself.

Do you condemn the protest about a murder of a woman in a different country too?

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭tommybrees

Get Real wrote: »
    So you acknowledge yourself it will probably change little, but are going anyway?

The rest of us want to go out too you know, and have things back to normal. You're not some sort of exceptional case.

Yet you're going, will be interacting with others, using state resources, all so you can say "at least I tried". Tried what exactly? So you're going to get some self gratification.

Altbough I disagree with you, fair play for being honest. I'm just unsure how you can't see the countless fallacies in your logic.

Yes going anyway, now imagine if 1 million others did the same thing. I bet there would be a change in narrative. Dunno how I'm using state resources pretty much every citizen in this country uses state resources everyday in one way or another.
    If you wanna get what you want then get off your ass because that's the only way you'll get, you'll be waiting a long time otherwise. I can say I tried because in my circle everybody is sick to the teeth of this but not willing to do anything about the situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,345 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

buried wrote: »

A certain regime delighted in culling those it thought unfit to live, ie not attempting to save lives.

Bit of a difference there.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭buried

A certain regime delighted in culling those it thought unfit to live, ie not attempting to save lives.

Bit of a difference there.

That was one particular regime. Fascism as a definition does not solely ally itself with the filth that was National Socialism. Fascism existed long before those f**kers. It is a way to wield power under any sort of regime that chooses to utilize it. And it exists today under the guise of a new regime and once again, hardly anyone can see it happening.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

Completely agree. Whatever measures the Guards employ tomorrow to discourage, divert or break up these absolutely nonsensical and vexatious gatherings have my full support.

Yee can mind yer own business so and follow restrictions till the day yee die. Let the rest of us who wanna live, live. I'm sure wheel be grand without yee.

Did you feel the same about the police response in London the other day?

Yes.

The people that attended that gathering knew it was unlawful, and despite being allowed time to demonstrate and express solidarity with the victim and the cause, they failed to take the opportunity to disperse and go home. Frankly they can have no complaint about what occurred subsequently.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,487 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

You don’t know anything about our lives or who we might have lost or come close to losing during this pandemic. You have no clue, don’t you dare accuse us of sitting in ivory towers untouched by the realities of life because we won’t endorse your shallow excuse for a piss-up tomorrow.

You are in another thread blowing about your "upper middle class background", and how you would just cut a check to pay off your kids debt, yet another example of somebody insulated from the struggles so many people have to endure. How many people out of work this past year could just write a check for a debt do you think?

You don't even see it, all smug about the riff raff who you dismiss as just wanting a "piss up".

Yee can mind yer own business so and follow restrictions till the day yee die. Let the rest of us who wanna live, live. I'm sure wheel be grand without yee.

I'm sure you, umm, wheel.

Any supermarket I go to on a Saturday or Sunday and you'll see packed. People die all the time mate, not just from covid.
    I ain't gonna live life in fear of virus's forever I'm quite sure I'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

You are in another thread blowing about your "upper middle class background", and how you would just cut a check to pay off your kids debt, yet another example of somebody insulated from the struggles so many people have to endure. How many people out of work this past year could just write a check for a debt do you think?

You don't even see it, all smug about the riff raff who you dismiss as just wanting a "piss up".

If you have to make it personal about my background you have lost the argument, in my view. I haven’t once indicated that this a class issue so please don’t insinuate that I have, thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭dontmindme

We saw the country opened up for Christmas and the subsequent resulting several thousand a-day infection rate a week or so later. So for those protesting tomorrow...what's the fcking plan?

Yes.

The people that attended that gathering knew it was unlawful, and despite being allowed time to demonstrate and express solidarity with the victim and the cause, they failed to take the opportunity to disperse and go home. Frankly they can have no complaint about what occurred subsequently.

Constitution right to protest, no government can take that away.

You don't have a brees, do ya?

dontmindme wrote: »
    We saw the country opened up for Christmas and the subsequent resulting several thousand a-day infection rate a week or so later. So for those protesting tomorrow...what's the fcking plan?

The plan is to go down there with a few naggins and a bottle of Bucky and absolutely wreck the gaff, before telling the pigs they’ll “do nothin.” Followed by a Conor McGregor cackle into their mates faces triumphantly and roaring “this is our town” before throwing the empties at the cops and stopping for a kebab on the way home.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

I'll be glued to the social media.

Something to entertain me for the day :D

The plan is to go down there with a few naggins and a bottle of Bucky and absolutely wreck the gaff, before telling the pigs they’ll “do nothin.” Followed by a Conor McGregor cackle into their mates faces triumphantly and roaring “this is our town” before throwing the empties at the cops and stopping for a kebab on the way home.

There'll be some of those people probably yes I'm sure, but what about the other law-abiding citizens exercising their right to protest...what are they protesting against and what do they want?

you cant even construct a legible sentence on your own tommy

• Registered Users Posts: 25,492 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

You honestly think that the people rallying against the government are fascist?

As I've said multiple times, I disagree with the protest. If you call them fascist, then you lose credibility.

I agree, it won't be peaceful. There will be bad actors. Did you hold BLM to the same extent?

You can't stop dickheads usurp a decent movement

I held BLM to the EXACT same standard, I’m on record here actually saying that.

No loss of credibility...

Fascists have a long history of violence and incitement of violence to destabilize Democratic situations and outcomes and achieve their non democratic goals...

Don’t be fooled by t-shirts, slogans all the rest of the bullshît....

• Registered Users Posts: 18,487 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If you have to make it personal about my background you have lost the argument, in my view. I haven’t once indicated that this a class issue so please don’t insinuate that I have, thanks.
    Sure mate. Not a class issue at all. :rolleyes:

You have a disgusting take on what this protest is about. For the record, I'm against it. But people are literally at the end of their ability to look after their families. Yes, there will be dickheads, but the majority will be people who think that if Centra can open, their shop can open. If Dunnes stores can open, their store can open. If you can bring your dog to get groomed, you can get your hair cut. It's not denying there is a pandemic, but shopping for a goodfellas pizza is hardly essential.

You obsession with people having cans is pathetic.

Everyone who disagrees with me is an alcho and a super spreader.

Grow up

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mod hat on

Focus on posts in this thread please.

Advocate breaking the law again and its a ban. Clarify the above was sarcastic in tone and we have no issue however.

Never did read that constitution did you ? :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

You have a disgusting take on what this protest is about. For the record, I'm against it. But people are literally at the end of their ability to look after their families. Yes, there will be dickheads, but the majority will be people who think that if Centra can open, their shop can open. If Dunnes stores can open, their store can open. If you can bring your dog to get groomed, you can get your hair cut. It's not denying there is a pandemic, but shopping for a goodfellas pizza is hardly essential.

You obsession with people having cans is pathetic.

Everyone who disagrees with me is an alcho and a super spreader.

Grow up

Mod

Leave out the personal attacks or dont post again please.

Sure mate. Not a class issue at all. :rolleyes:

That’s all based on the kind of behaviour I saw in videos from the last protest in Dublin a few weeks ago. Yobs throwing shapes, hooting and hollering like Conor McGregor, launching missiles at the Gardaí. Exactly the same, except for the kebab, and I predict it will all happen again tomorrow.

Baggly wrote: »
    Mod hat on

Focus on posts in this thread please.

Advocate breaking the law again and its a ban. Clarify the above was sarcastic in tone and we have no issue however.

I was being very sarcastic.