Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Linda Hayden - Social Democrats

• Registered Users Posts: 13,504 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

was her going to Paddy Jackson's teams sponsors too much, protesting outside his games too much and going on radio trashing him and cant accept a court ruling (despite being not in the same jurisdiction)...and wasn't she whipping up a fuss about Carlow Uniform gate too and the claiming a copyright issue on Only fans was like revenge porn....absolutely no sympathy for her,,,,

I was not aware of her involvement in that , appears she has gotten a taste of her own medicine and that might be justice served but its time to stop bashing her now IMO

hopefully she is not as zealous herself in future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    social media is an awful cruel place when someone gets piled on

I agree. But she is the one who set the standard of hounding somebody out of their job and ensuring that any potential future employers are made aware of previous perceived wrong-doings. If this is the fate that she herself deemed appropriate for Paddy Jackson, then surely it would only be right and proper that somebody follow her around and ensure that any potential employer of hers be made aware of her racist and anti-Traveller tweets?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Northernlily

I was not aware of her involvement in that , appears she has gotten a taste of her own medicine and that might be justice served but its time to stop bashing her now IMO

hopefully she is not as zealous herself in future

Absolutely and FAO people piling on Linda Hayden with public accounts it will catch up you too and you will be tomorrow's pile on.

People are plains stupid to post some of the attacks they do on Twitter.

I agree. But she is the one who set the standard of hounding somebody out of their job and ensuring that any potential future employers are made aware of previous perceived wrong-doings. If this is the fate that she herself deemed appropriate for Paddy Jackson, then surely it would only be right and proper that somebody follow her around and ensure that any potential employer of hers be made aware of her racist and anti-Traveller tweets?

i dont think the tweet about the BJ was racist , just tacky , everyone with any cop on has a beef with travellers so i wouldnt weigh on her for that either

• Registered Users Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

i dont think the tweet about the BJ was racist , just tacky , everyone with any cop on has a beef with travellers so i wouldnt weigh on her for that either

I don't think most people actually care about the tweets themselves, it's a step removed from that.

There's just a joy to behold in seeing someone who gets their kicks from pontificating and attacking others for not meeting her standards, get hit with the full force of the culture she perpetuated.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

I was reading some tweets that mentioned her name. There's an awful lot of woke types associated with her and her causes (it sounds like they won't be anymore)

Anyway, going by the tweets, they all seem to be in their 20's and over the top woke. Lots of Irish women complaining about white people. They all use the same language and see people who are white as oppressors and non whites as victims. They are talking about race because of Linda Heydon's comments.

I don't have much contact with people in their twenties so I am wondering is this a common view among people in their 20's? Do a lot of people this age believe in this stuff or is it just a vocal minority?

At the risk of sounding like an old person going on about the good old days :D when I was that age we used to have a laugh, people didnt take themselves so seriously and no one was in to causes.

It feels bizarre to me that these people classify and judge others by their skin colour. Is everyone at this and am I just out of touch? Are people like Linda Heydon well known among normal people or is it just an activist thing?

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭dontmindme

i dont think the tweet about the BJ was racist , just tacky...

Nice choice of words there.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Walking_Wolf

Mules wrote: »
    Anyway, going by the tweets, they all seem to be in their 20's and over the top woke. Lots of Irish women complaining about white people. They all use the same language and see people who are white as oppressors and non whites as victims. They are talking about race because of Linda Heydon's comments.

I don't have much contact with people in their twenties so I am wondering is this a common view among people in their 20's? Do a lot of people this age believe in this stuff or is it just a vocal minority?

They're a tiny minority. Twitter is not real life.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I was reading some tweets that mentioned her name. There's an awful lot of woke types associated with her and her causes (it sounds like they won't be anymore)

At the risk of sounding like an old person going on about the good old days :D when I was that age we used to have a laugh, people didnt take themselves so seriously and no one was in to causes.

It feels bizarre to me that these people classify and judge others by their skin colour. Is everyone at this and am I just out of touch? Are people like Linda Heydon well known among normal people or is it just an activist thing?

Twitter isnt real life, especially when you go down a rabbit hole. Remember that one really self righteous person in school? Or the crazy lad who was into nazis? Or whatever kind of person that was a bit out there? They get to congregate online - generally not a reflection of real life in my experience

I have cousins in their 20s and their biggest issues are how to get back partying, getting a driving license, how to get an extension on college assignments, if they will get to do j1 next year etc, so life for them at least is nothing like the hivemind of twitter

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

Twitter isnt real life, especially when you go down a rabbit hole. Remember that one really self righteous person in school? Or the crazy lad who was into nazis? Or whatever kind of person that was a bit out there? They get to congregate online - generally not a reflection of real life in my experience

I have cousins in their 20s and their biggest issues are how to get back partying, getting a driving license, how to get an extension on college assignments, if they will get to do j1 next year etc, so life for them at least is nothing like the hivemind of twitter

That's good, I was afraid everyone was going a bit odd

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭BensMixed

Yeah there's plenty of people on twitter that seem like grand normal people though. Same on boards, you can tell that theres plenty here who are normal joe soaps. It's funny when the types who have thousands of posts on how much they are against multiculturalism etc seem to not realize that it's quite strange.

That may be, but the vocal extremists on twitter are the ones who go on to become lobbyists, academics, equality officers, NGO workers, "charity" workers, "journalists" etc. and end up having an enormous influence on public discourse and politics. We've been moving more and more in a direction of Government by NGO in recent years no matter what party is in power. So the normal 95% you reference get far less say than the vocal 5%.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭coinop

At the risk of sounding like an old person going on about the good old days :D when I was that age we used to have a laugh, people didn't take themselves so seriously and no one was in to causes.

We could have another entire thread on this topic but I agree with you. Generation Z who spend their entire lives championing fringe causes online are just plain weird. You see it all the time with these "Free Palestine" types standing in the rain waving their petition around while being ignored. When I was in my teens and early twenties, life was about college, parties, girls, drinking, travelling and having fun. Trump was right when he told Greta Thunberg to chill out, make some friends and watch a movie. Are these people so delusional that they believe they alone can make a difference? "Get a life" has never been more apt advice for these losers.

coinop wrote: »
    We could have another entire thread on this topic but I agree with you. Generation Z who spend their entire lives championing fringe causes online are just plain weird. You see it all the time with these "Free Palestine" types standing in the rain waving their petition around while being ignored. When I was in my teens and early twenties, life was about college, parties, girls, drinking, travelling and having fun. Trump was right when he told Greta Thunberg to chill out, make some friends and watch a movie. Are these people so delusional that they believe they alone can make a difference? "Get a life" has never been more apt advice for these losers.

What planet have you been living on that you think young people taking up causes started with Generation Z? Free Palestine is a strange example to use as well considering it's been a running campaign since the 1960s.....

• Registered Users Posts: 29,319 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

coinop wrote:

Sounds like time stopped for you!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭McGiver

coinop wrote:
    Whilst I may not agree with many of the causes, enthusiasm of the youth to go and fight for causes or protest is welcome. Without it we would be very Conservative, stagnant society. The youth provide fuel and enthusiasm to campaigns.
    I would even say that current youth are actually politically or otherwise not active ENOUGH. Stuck with partying, gaming etc and not caring about the world around them. Compared with the 60s or even 90s. Poll tax riots in the UK etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,711 ✭✭✭✭banie01

The naked lad pictures, thats a perfect example of her own actions coming back to bite her on the arse IMO.

This grifter is one of the founders of the Victims alliance.
    Which in and of itself is laudable, but she is also one of the cheerleaders for equating the sharing of onlyfans and similarly published content without a fee.
    With sexual image abuse.

By the standard she wishes to impose, she is now an abuser.
    Worthy of prosecution and the shunning that comes with it.
    Unless she paid for a rights package for the image she shared that included the right to share?
    Or has a signed release from the model giving those rights?

Or maybe, the lad should have thought of what those photos could be used for before he shared them.
    His own fault, clearly he should have known better.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,319 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

McGiver wrote:
    Whilst I may not agree with many of the causes, enthusiasm of the youth to go and fight for causes or protest is welcome. Without it we would be very Conservative, stagnant society. The youth provide fuel and enthusiasm to campaigns. I would even say that current youth are actually politically or otherwise not active ENOUGH. Stuck with partying, gaming etc and not caring about the world around them. Compared with the 60s or even 90s. Poll tax riots in the UK etc.

Some are very politically motivated, but fair point

That may be, but the vocal extremists on twitter are the ones who go on to become lobbyists, academics, equality officers, NGO workers, "charity" workers, "journalists" etc. and end up having an enormous influence on public discourse and politics. We've been moving more and more in a direction of Government by NGO in recent years no matter what party is in power. So the normal 95% you reference get far less say than the vocal 5%.

Bingo

• Registered Users Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Mod: Posts deleted. Any further libelous statements will result in a forum ban.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

JMNolan wrote: »
    Huh, odd, no one along yet to dismiss the story as it's on gript.

Nah they'll just ignore it instead, like how Newstalk edited Ewan McKenna's interview yesterday to remove the 80 seconds he used to talk about the ISAG internal email story.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Whilst I get why its in the title, I do think its somewhat unfair for the SDs name to be dragged into all this when it had nothing to do with them. Yes, they may have failed in the vetting process, but they were a small and growing party and oversights will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭a very cool kid

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Whilst I get why its in the title, I do think its somewhat unfair for the SDs name to be dragged into all this when it had nothing to do with them. Yes, they may have failed in the vetting process, but they were a small and growing party and oversights will happen.

I get where you are coming from on this but if it was a Fianna Fáil or Sinn Féin candidate I think the party name would be pulled into it a bit too so the same standard should apply.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I would like to emphasise that I have no Dog in this fight. In fact I never even heard of the this woman since I read this thread. But the story seems really bizarre and Lisa Hayden’s behavior seems very odd.

But doing a small bit of research really tells you how mixed up the woman has become, and what her mindset is,.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/ireland-has-a-rape-culture-woman-who-was-assaulted-calls-for-more-victim-protection-1.4033034

According to the article above (2019 Irish Times) Lisa was allegedly raped about 20 years ago. In the article she states that she was drugged and her drink was spiked when she attended a wedding at a hotel.
    ‘Writing on Twitter this week to mark the anniversary of what happened to her,
    Linda Hayden said she never reported it to gardaí then,
    or since, saying she refused to give her attackers “power over me”.’

I found the above statement telling. In that she did not report the rape because she did not want the perpetrators to have ‘power over her’.
    Yet in the title and the whole tenet of the article is her calling for more victim protection!? Surely the ultimate victim protection is the court of law and the legal system? At least attempt to get some sort of recourse for what she said happened to her?
    “Having told no one, six months later, she went to a sexual health clinic where she was diagnosed with gonorrhoea
    and genital warts that she believes have left her infertile.”

The above maybe explains an added layer to her anger viciousness and lashing out?

But another odd statement appeared in the Irish Times 2019 article.
    “Ms Hayden’s marriage a few years later to “the first guy that asked me” lasted only five years before collapsing,
    and she still suffers, she says, from depression and anxiety."

Hayden apparently suffers from depression and anxiety. But as I said, I found a part of statement of her's very bizarre. She said she married the ‘first guy that asked me’. Is it yet another insight to her mindset? That she feels like she wants to be in control? It is implied she was annoyed that she gave up 'control' to another person so easily. Married the first man who asked her'?. More specifically it seemed giving up control to 'a man' also got at her. By the simple fact of marriage which is supposed to be a partnership.

It was notable there was no mention why the marriage collapsed after five years, and what/who was the contributory factor?

Later, she apparently forgave her attackers :
    “My dad – he’s a survivor of clerical child sex abuse – said, in order to move on you have to forgive
    or you’ll be stuck with that anger forever.
    So I forgave them; they had no power over me anymore.’

This is the second time Lisa mentions ‘power’ in the Irish Times interview of 2019. Apparently she forgave her attackers. Seeming in control and in position of power in her mind.

Again, wouldn’t going to a court of law (harrowing as it maybe) be the proper course of action? Giving a definitive result? However, it would entail Hayden having to give up control of the process to others. Something I think she is unwilling to do,
    ‘The nine-week long 2018 Belfast rape trial “re-traumatised” her and many other victims, she said.
    I was so angry, I needed to do something.”
    The day after it ended she set up the Action Against Sexual Violence Ireland group.’

Looking at the above it appears Hayden has not really forgiven her attackers. As she mentioned that the Belfast Rape trial involving Paddy Jackson re-traumatised her. And made her angry. The whole reason she ended up setting up her advocacy group.

Again, to me it seemed like Hayden was trying to control and dominate. But this time used the word ‘trauma’. So I looked up ‘rape trauma’.

Basic information was easily accessed on wikipedia

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rape_trauma_syndrome#Common_stages

The following really stood out for me.

Rape trauma and narcissism
    Rape trauma among women often results in intense narcissistic rage,which the rape victim may direct at herself or at others’

The above seems to tick all the boxes in relation to Hayden’s behaviour. The sending of explicit pictures to another rape victim. The attacks on Ciara Kelly. The racist tweets etc. The setting up a rape victims group to vent and rant. Are all examples of Lisa lashing out looking for control and power.

I also noticed the joy Hayden showed at been ‘supported’ and loved in the twitter bubble with the #istandwithlinda . Which was set up by her twitter followers. It seems to have fed into her narcissistic tendencies as well.

It seems to me the woman is not in the right state of mind, nor has she been for a long time.

I wonder has she sought professional help? Which might stop all this lashing out and narcissism? The constant search for control and power seems like a veneer. Any person in a normal state of mind would have had gone to court many years ago. If Hayden was in the right state of mind, she would not be coming out with so many contradictory statements, and exhibiting odd behaviour.

It is very sad to see someone who is clearly suffering mentally. Who seems to feel that her only ‘joy’ and show of control/power is to make others suffer as well.
    I hope the woman gets the help she clearly needs, and eventually manages to function like a reasonable member of society should. Plus afterwards she is eventually able to step back, and see how wrong and odd her behaviour has been.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

She will surely have to step down from that victim's group that she runs, has anything been said about that?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

She will surely have to step down from that victim's group that she runs, has anything been said about that?

Their website and social media channels are gone already

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

They should be critiqued for their onboarding practices though.

Hayden was picked by the social democrats because she had a good online following, she was on the right side of social issues and had decent experience with public speaking and otherwise politiking.

As someone who orbits the Irish Twitter mob, this is a constant issue that keeps happening to them. They are good-intentioned, but they believe that grifters and spoofers only infiltrate conservative groups. That anyone who talks about being liberal must be.

And when someone gets exposed like this, they end up circiling the wagons, then in-fighting a lot before pretending that the individual never existed.

My spidey sense twigged about Hayden when the victims' alliance thing kicked off. She was too much of a victim. For every discussion of assault, she knew five or six people who had been victim of that specific type of assault. She herself said she'd been attacked & raped a number of times over the years.

At one point a high-profile government-supporting Twitter user in Ireland was being piled on over allegations of sending sexually explicit messages, and asking people for money over DM. Hayden popped up with a dossier on him, saying that she had matched with him on Tindr and been subject to his lies and abuse years previously.

That's kind of convenient that of all the people he had matched with in the past, she was there.

That's what I mean by "too much" of a victim. I don't doubt the veracity of any of her claims, but she always seemed too eager to have a story to tell in every situation.

I'm sorry now I didn't say it at the time, but obviously if I had said it on Twitter, I too would have been persona non grata.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Their website and social media channels are gone already

A good few people are concerned about the donations also and accountability for those funds now that the internet presence has been wiped.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Curse These Metal Hands

A good few people are concerned about the donations also and accountability for those funds now that the internet presence has been wiped.

There is also the issue of her collecting "evidence" on behalf of victims via DMs. It was alleged before that she had deleted important information as well as engaged with police without victim's consent. Not sure if it has been shared in this thread but an alleged victim of a well known person recently stated that Linda Hayden became annoyed with her when she had no interest in engaging with her services, then went to the Gardai against her wishes.

Hopefully any women that were victims of sexual assault can seek out help elsewhere now because this woman is nothing but a con artist.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Nope, the deafening silence continues

Any comment in the tweets from Soc-Dems head honcho Mick Caul?

He's usually a great man for calling out the bull**** and reminding people just how bad things are in the country.