Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Dublin for good

• 19-03-2021 1:27am

I've been living exclusively in the family home, in Tipp, since late last year and still paying a Dublin mortgage. I'm increasingly asking myself why I'm paying the latter (or, more's the point, how long will the tenant keep paying his rent?). If he is willing to enter another lease, I am happy to stay out of Dublin forever.

Just curious about how many of you have decided to leave Dublin.? Especially those of you not originally from Dublin, but I'm sure some Dubs must also be getting itchy feet.

I can't see any point of staying in Dublin, and it's making me concerned about the future demand for rental property.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Dublin is a kip....

I've been out 4 years maybe more

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭Greenlights16

Kip. Can’t wait to get out of it in next few weeks

Apart from the restaurant / pub buzz it had and a bit of craic on nights out it’s really been shown up for what it is since last March .

Will never happen but the more people that leave it and the more money spent in making local hubs and centres away from Dublin the better

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I know quite a few people who have left and dont plan on coming back. Mainly people who were from overseas and moved back home and can work remotely. I would probably have done the same if I didn't have a mortgage, nothing really keeping me here.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,329 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Left several years ago, but went abroad.

I find that Dublin does the pub/craic thing very well, but that's all it does. It lacks variety. You have to 'fit in' to a very specific mould for Dublin to look good, and if you don't, it's pretty... meh.

I do miss the breakfast rolls though.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

Keeping the kip analogy going, I left and will never be back, it has all the worst parts of city living with very few benefits that a larger city bring

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭tastyt

I’m getting out too , but I will say this , Dublin is brilliant on a warm summer Friday evening after work having a few pints , great buzz. And good hard working dubs are great too.

The trouble is that the government have little by little ****ed Dublin up . They have made it almost impossible for people on average wage to live somewhere that isn’t a **** hole.

Add to this the ridiculous situation of lazy ****s that live in apartments and houses right in the middle of the city that will never work a day in their life and we have everything upside down in our capital.

And the cherry on top is the decision of our courts and Gardai not to bother tackling anti social behaviour, and worse , properly and you have the unfortunate situation of the city being absolutely full of young scrotes that want nothing but trouble

Anyway , we don’t need another Dublin is a kip thread so I will say that I will miss certain things but it’s not a place I’d like to raise a family

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭thefridge2006

Overpriced kip with no atmosphere now. If i could i'd be down the country in a heartbeat.

Was in town the other day and it was like something from the walking dead. More Zombies than regular folk unfortunately. Have a feeling town as we know it is gone for good

• Registered Users Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭PommieBast

I came to Dublin in 2013 and have decided that post-Covid I will be moving to London. Some of this is due to wanting to a fresh start post-Covid but even before the pandemic I felt that Dublin had lost the vibrant feel it had 2014-2017. The screwed-up accommodation situation that messes over landlords and tenants alike bears a lot of responsibility..

Persuading herself to move down the sticks. Not to the arse end of nowhere, but somewhere close to Galway or Cork. Within taxi range after a night out. I have a job that can be carried out anywhere, but she would have to leave her job in Dublin. It's a conversation worth having though.

Dublin is a great little city in fairness, but you reach a stage where you realise that you won't be necking yokes at a house party in Clongriffin no more.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

It is a kip but just to note from a housing perspective it is a kip with a massive supply issue. I don't think you will have issues finding renters in Dublin anytime soon. And particularly when the post-pandemic boom happens.

That being said. If you're not going to live in the place yourself, I would probably sell it and run. To me it's just not worth the hassle but others would disagree.

I like it. But then I live close to the sea in north city. I don’t really care about the city centre but then I didn’t care about London when I lived there either.

pauliebdub wrote: »
    I know quite a few people who have left and dont plan on coming back. Mainly people who were from overseas and moved back home and can work remotely. I would probably have done the same if I didn't have a mortgage, nothing really keeping me here.

I fairly dubious about the tax implications of that. Immigrants tend to like Dublin but they are more likely to avail of the other things to do besides the pub.

Judging Dublin by the last year seems odd, everywhere is a morgue in Europe right now.

TP_CM wrote: »
    It is a kip but just to note from a housing perspective it is a kip with a massive supply issue. I don't think you will have issues finding renters in Dublin anytime soon. And particularly when the post-pandemic boom happens.

Post-pandemic boom?

I'm expecting a recession akin to 2009. Are we all not? Jobs are currently being held in suspended animation, until reality strikes. Approx 10%-20% of the workforce isn't going to have a job to return to. I thought that was generally accepted.

God, I hope you are right. But the idea of a boom seems other-worldly. Even the businesses I know are only in business to avail of state support. Once that folds, so will they.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Some parts of Dublin are absolute holes, and the city centre has become an unpoliced zombie no go zone - especially after dark out of the very centre. That being said some parts are fabulous places to grow up and live in - unfortunately you’d have needed to have bought long ago or now have two good salaries to buy there or have inherited or grown up there. Unless you have a handy 6 or 700k to spare.

That being said people renting can chose their spot, rent what they couldn’t afford to buy, have a great lifestyle with job that may not be available elsewhere and move if the area goes down/ better house elsewhere appears or job location changes - they have options.

Not everybody relishes a life of landlocked county, grass & small towns, the smell of sileage in the morning or the cliquey living of the country or GAA lifestyle. I know a few Dubs who moved to their OH’s and were never accepted or welcomed by their ‘communities’ and are living harrowing, lonely lives in big beautiful houses in the arsehole of nowhere that they can’t afford to hear, with nothing closeby and no amenities and are going slowly mad.

Post-pandemic boom?

I'm expecting a recession akin to 2009. Are we all not? Jobs are currently being held in suspended animation, until reality strikes. Approx 10%-20% of the workforce isn't going to have a job to return to. I thought that was generally accepted.

God, I hope you are right. But the idea of a boom seems other-worldly. Even the businesses I know are only in business to avail of state support. Once that folds, so will they.

There’s a lot of savings out there. And the economy grew last year, particularly at the last quarter. Most economists expect a strong recovery. Unlike normal recessions where there are imbalances in the economy, overlending or overproduction or whatever, this recession was caused by government action, and ending the lockdown will end the recession, if people play down the savings then a boom is likely.

Not everybody relishes a life of grass & small towns, or the cliquey living of the country or GAA lifestyle. I know a few Dubs who moved to their OH’s and were never accepted or welcomed by their ‘communities’ and are living harrowing, lonely lives in big beautiful houses in the arsehole of nowhere with nothing closeby and no amenities.

Ah lets not do the townie vs culchie thing, shall we?

I am from a very small town with a big Dublin population nearby (Cloughjordan eco village, actually) , and the only thing that demarcates the outsiders from the Dubs is their ability to mix.

Most people get along like a thatch on fire.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭PetitPois89

I love Dublin, compared to other capital cities it’s most definitely not a kip

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

There’s also a lot of people eating their way through their savings with a boom in the take away business industries and online boredom shopping has pushed retail sales through the roof.

There’s a lot of savings out there. And the economy grew last year, particularly at the last quarter. Most economists expect a strong recovery. Unlike normal recessions where there are imbalances in the economy, overlending or overproduction or whatever, this recession was caused by government action, and ending the lockdown will end the recession, if people play down the savings then a boom is likely.

Almost everything you say has a rational basis, I don't believe it will happen, but it definitely could.

I only strongly disagree with the statement "most economists expect a strong recovery". I work for a financial institution. It would be fair to say that optimism isn't strongly-held.

There’s also a lot of people eating their way through their savings with a boom in the take away business industries and online boredom shopping has pushed retail sales through the roof.

There’s a shift to online shopping, and obviously people can’t spend in many shops or all restaurants, it’s inevitable that there will be a shift. This doesn’t mean people are spending more in general. I have spent next to nothing on alcohol in the last year, we just don’t drink at home except for Christmas, and my wife doesn’t drink much at all. I used to go to pubs most weekends. I haven’t taken a major holiday. We have not eaten in Restaurants. All of this is anecdotal, I know, but it is also backed up by the facts.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/pandemic-triggers-surge-in-saving-with-12-6bn-more-on-deposit-this-year-1.4423488?mode=amp

Almost everything you say has a rational basis, I don't believe it will happen, but it definitely could.

I only strongly disagree with the statement "most economists expect a strong recovery". I work for a financial institution. It would be fair to say that optimism isn't strongly-held.

I am kinda dragging the thread off topic, but EU economists expect a close to 4% growth this and next year, which is way above average for the EU.

https://ec.europa.eu/commission/presscorner/detail/en/ip_21_504

• Registered Users Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Talk of a strong recovery is mostly from people who would be a screwed if that is not what happens. Politicians are top of that list.

For better or worse what is clear is that the economy of 2022+ will be very different from 2019, and within that the winners/losers will also change.

• Registered Users Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Musefan

Non Dubliner here. Left a year and a bit ago. We came to the realisation that things were less convenient, not easier in Dublin. This was from living in a nice part of it, but in a shoebox for nearly 2k a month. Popping to the shops was a hassle- 20 mins sitting in traffic to get there on a Saturday, driving around for parking and paying loads. Recreation always involved paying lots or driving outside the city. Parks were packed in good weather.

We chose to move home & buy for almost 1k a month less than rent. We now have .75 of an acre, cinema & shopping centre within 30 mins, restaurants nearby, forest parks within 10 min drive, lots of choice with local schools. Yes it’s harder to socialise with Dublin based friends but pre Covid, it meant that we had lots more space up here to entertain & have visitors over weekends.

I don’t miss it at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Made the move 14 year's ago. Best move ever. Hate the thought every time I have to go back to the unadulterated kip.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Some parts of Dublin are absolute holes, and the city centre has become an unpoliced zombie no go zone - especially after dark out of the very centre.

Had to pleasure of staying in Bachelors Walk again recently enough for 5 weeks (work related).
    Would never want to be in or around the city center in the evening ever again after that last experience.

It never seemed that bad a few years back. Sad to see. Feel sorry for people who live there permanently and have to deal with that scum on a daily basis outside their door.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Dublin is like a different country to the rest of Ireland. If I had free rent in Dublin I'd not want to be there. I guess people in Dublin don't know any different.

Yeah it's brilliant, smell of pee, sh1t and drugs.....

• Registered Users Posts: 22,291 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Dublin is a kip....
    Kip.
    Snotty wrote: »
    Keeping the kip analogy going
    tastyt wrote: »

Anyway , we don’t need another Dublin is a kip thread
    TP_CM wrote: »
    It is a kip
    it’s most definitely not a kip
    unadulterated kip.

So, just to summarize. Almost, but not entirely a kip?

:P

endacl wrote: »
    So, just to summarize. Almost, but not entirely a kip?

:P

KIP

Skip