Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This week's classic tractor I'm not buying

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭gk5000

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Herbie Griffith, yard is in Crossdoney, Co. Cavan

They seem to have some arrangement with a large NI tractor dealer, in that machines seem to move around a variety of dealerships, sometimes re-appearing 12 months later.
    His number is 086 8288491
    Thanks again,

Went to see that 50B today...but it may be sitting a while longer.
    Bit naive looking for a diamond behind the rough exterior.
    Starts, stops (on one wheel at least), works....some leaks, not sure bout pump when hot,.. but major killer for me is back actor is stuck in the middle...even while the rams for it are released.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Any ideas on a kuhn 240 mulcher lads are they any good wat to watch for

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭jaginsligo

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagemachinery-for-sale/tractor/27787543

Surely for that price with a loader for someone handy it would be worth a gamble

• Registered Users Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭amacca

jaginsligo wrote: »

Surely for that price with a loader for someone handy it would be worth a gamble

I agree ... would make a decent back up for a small operation...especially with loader attached.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭amacca

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/massey-ferguson-2725/27717540?campaign=14

What about this? If I had the time to spruce it up and storage space id be interested

• Registered Users Posts: 18,545 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

amacca wrote: »
    I agree ... would make a decent back up for a small operation...especially with loader attached.

And as well there is a grab on it. As long as it was generally fairy ok and you were handy for 2-3K you could surly turn it into a decent back up tractor. it would lift a bale at the back and the grab would break them uo if you needed. It would work as a second tractor for drawing bales

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 19,538 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

And as well there is a grab on it. As long as it was generally fairy ok and you were handy for 2-3K you could surly turn it into a decent back up tractor. it would lift a bale at the back and the grab would break them uo if you needed. It would work as a second tractor for drawing bales

84 numberplate. Either an import or a late registration? Well not that it would make too much difference

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

must have been some amount of those Quicke loaders sold back in the day. still plenty on different yokes on donedeal

• Registered Users Posts: 8,392 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

must have been some amount of those Quicke loaders sold back in the day. still plenty on different yokes on donedeal

Was there any other options produced in the same numbers at the time?

tanco??

• Registered Users Posts: 8,392 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

tanco??

Did they get exported in the same numbers as Quicke?

That DB was likely imported from the UK judging by the reg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

amacca wrote: »

What was it.......this thread is making a lot of sales on DD.

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/mf-4245-4wd/27767148

Seen this today. Got me thinking 🀔
    I've a 4255 2 wheel drive with a loader. Wonder would I need to back it much to upgrade to 4 wheel drive and switch over the loader.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭endainoz

I've a 4255 2 wheel drive with a loader. Wonder would I need to back it much to upgrade to 4 wheel drive and switch over the loader.

Bit odd it's being sold with no warranty no?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭DBK1

endainoz wrote: »
    Bit odd it's being sold with no warranty no?
    That’s far too expensive for a tractor of its age being sold with no warranty. I’d be running as far away from it as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭endainoz

DBK1 wrote: »
    That’s far too expensive for a tractor of its age being sold with no warranty. I’d be running as far away from it as possible.

Immaculate tractor to be fair, but yeah I'd be asking questions alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Legally a dealer can't sell something without some backup/warranty. They can't just wave at you going out the gate.
    Some car dealers will sell a chancey car from a house for that reason

endainoz wrote: »
    Immaculate tractor to be fair, but yeah I'd be asking questions alright.

You see it where a dealer allows too much for a tractor where it is in vgc or a load of rubbish to do a deal to sell another tractor it will dctrafed in against

I looked at his other tractors and he has a few 15-25 year old and he is trying to sell all sold as seen. None are cheap tractors. That Massey would not be cheap even with a loader without a loader, a warranty and getting checked over in the workshop it is over 5k too dear

Slava Ukrainii

Db 1490 with loader for less than €4k

I know where I'm going to post my 135 (don't worry, never going to sell it) if I'm ever selling it on dd, best advertising ever

Db 1490 with loader for less than €4k

I know where I'm going to post my 135 (don't worry, never going to sell it) if I'm ever selling it on dd, best advertising ever

The biggest trick about selling on DD is realistic pricing. Something selling for 50-100 euro( run 1k value) at or below real value will sell in no time, something where an seller is looking for 50-100 more will burst sellers chops. I have sold about 1k worth of stuff last year and expect to offload the same this year. Last year I sold two old fertlizer spreaders for 650 and 200 euro and got 150 for a 2nd hand freezer.

That DB was probably undervalued by 1-2k but at 6 k it would have sat there for a while. Grab alone was worth 300 euro and tractor was about 60hp. It was much better value than a lot of 165's and 135's even without the loader

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Like lads selling everything there are different approaches.

Some are happy to sit and wait for a buyer to get premium prices while others like to turn stock over quicker and take less of a cut, the advantage of the latter is it usually perks more frequent interest from customers checking to see the most recent stock.

Large MF dealership near us puts mad prices on older second hand stock, much of which sits for years and is scrapped. I think he just doesn’t want the name of being a place to come and buy cheap tractors.

The biggest trick about selling on DD is realistic pricing. Something selling for 50-100 euro( run 1k value) at or below real value will sell in no time, something where an seller is looking for 50-100 more will burst sellers chops. I have sold about 1k worth of stuff last year and expect to offload the same this year. Last year I sold two old fertlizer spreaders for 650 and 200 euro and got 150 for a 2nd hand freezer.

That DB was probably undervalued by 1-2k but at 6 k it would have sat there for a while. Grab alone was worth 300 euro and tractor was about 60hp. It was much better value than a lot of 165's and 135's even without the loader

I agree, anytime I'm selling something on dd I usually start with a price based on "what would I paid for this"

• Registered Users Posts: 19,538 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You see it where a dealer allows too much for a tractor where it is in vgc or a load of rubbish to do a deal to sell another tractor it will dctrafed in against

I looked at his other tractors and he has a few 15-25 year old and he is trying to sell all sold as seen. None are cheap tractors. That Massey would not be cheap even with a loader without a loader, a warranty and getting checked over in the workshop it is over 5k too dear

Don't forget that any dealer has mechanics who likely know what issues a particular brand/series/model is likely to run into. And they also would have given the machine at least a quick once over. They might also have been servicing the same machine for the last few years. Maybe local man Johnny has had that yoke in and out of the workshop every couple of weeks for the last year or so and the salesman was able to convince him to buy an upgrade.

If they are not willing to take a risk that nothing goes wrong a month or two after you drive it out the gate, you shouldn't be either!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

I've seen a few adds of his and anything other than Landing or NH seems to have a no warranty policy. Looks clean all the same. Hard to come across one. Might be as well sticking to the devil I know maybe.

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭divillybit

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagemachinery-for-sale/massey-ferguson-35x-multipower/27772722

Some asking price for a MF 35, it's in very original condition to be fair, I'm not sure if the multipower is worth a premium price for it given the safety concerns...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

_Brian wrote: »
    Like lads selling everything there are different approaches.

Some are happy to sit and wait for a buyer to get premium prices while others like to turn stock over quicker and take less of a cut, the advantage of the latter is it usually perks more frequent interest from customers checking to see the most recent stock.

Large MF dealership near us puts mad prices on older second hand stock, much of which sits for years and is scrapped. I think he just doesn’t want the name of being a place to come and buy cheap tractors.

That place begin with an M

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

divillybit wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagemachinery-for-sale/massey-ferguson-35x-multipower/27772722

Some asking price for a MF 35, it's in very original condition to be fair, I'm not sure if the multipower is worth a premium price for it given the safety concerns...
    Holy crap

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Reggie. wrote: »
    That place begin with an M

Yup
    Grand lads but they won’t entertain the notion of selling the older stock as they aim to keep up the reputation of high end sales only. Stuff that could sell hangs around and just goes for scrap or export.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭Robson99

I agree, anytime I'm selling something on dd I usually start with a price based on "what would I paid for this"

Would do likewise. I never put price on ad.But that would be to the first couple of phone calls about it. Then I would up price by 10% if interest in what I'm selling. If one of the first lads come and buy well they get it at that price. If later lad buys it at higher price then happy days

It's not a tractor but I think it's good value & most farms could make us of it
    https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagemachinery-for-sale/jcb-3cx-digger-loader/27782743

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

It's not a tractor but I think it's good value & most farms could make us of it
    https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagemachinery-for-sale/jcb-3cx-digger-loader/27782743

They are very heavy, around 7 tonne from memory