Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Werewolf: Stranger Things

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Eva WW

Brendan WW wrote: »
    Agree (he says with his 100th meaningless post :p)
    Just, for example, I don't think Clodagh being offline means she's a wolf (or that she isn't. In isolation the number of posts means nothing).

Meta as in talking about the fact we're playing a game, rather than playing the game. But I think we're all saying the same thing in different ways

I'd very much agree, not being online does not equal wolf. Particularly when certain times of today and yesterday have been off limits for some people. It's possible that these times would have suited some to post but they couldn't and so missed a window to post.

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭Brendan WW

Conor WW wrote: »
    If there is little else to go on, a good play is peek high, lynch low. End game with potatoes makes for a rubbish end where as end game with peeked active players is preferred. I nkow i'd much prefer someone who has been active all game making the game winning call at final 3, and not somebody who has not even read the thread.
    So, if not wolf, its still in village interest to remove flotsam. Even better if you score a wolf in the low posters.
    Just to keep agreeing with everyone :p
    I agree that culling low posters makes for a better game. Just saying it doesn't improve the chances of catching wolves
    Wendy WW wrote: »
    A shot at taking out the demi - it might fail, and if it does, that's it, she is a NRV I think. That's my reading of it anyway.
    Not quite an NRV - can't be killed by humans, so would survive a lynch. Surely though, that reveals their identity and the wolves munch her the following morning?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Brendan WW wrote:
    Not quite an NRV - can't be killed by humans, so would survive a lynch. Surely though, that reveals their identity and the wolves munch her the following morning?

Wolves are humans too in this game would be my reading of it.

I suspect Eleven dies if Demi tries to convert them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Agree (he says with his 100th meaningless post :p)
    Just, for example, I don't think Clodagh being offline means she's a wolf (or that she isn't. In isolation the number of posts means nothing).

Meta as in talking about the fact we're playing a game, rather than playing the game. But I think we're all saying the same thing in different ways

Sorry, I don't think I am I am a stupid person but I don't get what this means.:o

Necro wrote: »
    Wolves are humans too in this game would be my reading of it.

I suspect Eleven dies if Demi tries to convert them.
    Really? Not what I'd have thought but OK.
    So if the Demi dies, Eleven is immortal

duffman13 wrote:
    Eleven – Cannot be killed by human teams only the Demogorgon, has one time power to eliminate the Demogorgon if she correctly identifies him

So the mention of teams makes me think Eleven is safe from wolves and villagers, but not Demi Lovato

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Eva WW

Fiona also a low poster, and has posted most about the competitions compared to anything else. But whilst there aren't a huge amount of reads on people it is this which I sort of like.

Only thought on Katie was that they might be a newbie, which may turn out to be exactly what happened.

On Angus I get voting for them because of the kerfuffle it just would have been nice to see that reasoning at some point before the lynch.

Then in response to Steve say they were thinking of voting for them. The views on Angus and Steve weren't clear until after the fact. Voted for Angus without saying why until the next day, and then says they were considering voting for Steve but that doesn't show at all from their posts. I actually like this from them because I think that a wolf would want to show a reason for voting for someone.
    Fiona WW wrote: »
    Evening all, how ye doing? Hope ye had a good weekend. Fiona here looking forward to a good game
    I can post around 1115 if that helps
    Morning all

SPACE INVADERS please
    how do i send a screenshot
    DIfferent to the version I had as a kid which was black and white and each level got faster and started lower the higher you went. These all stayed the same pace could have got hooked nice to play it again
    SHe could be a newbie and need backroom for help
    Voted Angus am rereading thread and having dinner back in a while.
    :D up before school to play space invaders or ping pong the one with 2 rectangles and a circle for the ball, when I think how competitive we were moviing a rectange up and down lolol
    I voted Angus earlier tofday, mentioned it on thread earlier
    Yup I did 8290
    No not yet
    Thank Kathleen,

I dont know if it worked but scored 8920 and committed suicide as I was watching clock and knew I would have hassle uploading it. Played on laptop, photo on phone
    Id prefer not to post tomorrow as will be busy till at least two anyways. Might be able to post before 12 but busy from 1115 onwards
    When I read through the thread he was causing an unnecessary kerfuffle. I was thinking of voting for you as you were questioning a lot of people but answering few and this was also remarked on by a couple of other people.

But it was Day 1 so its hard to find who to vote for.

And just to answer the I am laying low theory. I am working so it is hard to post during the day. I take the chance when I can, but when I'm asked what is that screen reflected in your glasses, its not the attendance sheet, it is hard to hide it lol, so I try to post around tea breaks.
    I got 351k

(in my dreams, in reality 4070 )

Sorry, I don't think I am I am a stupid person but I don't get what this means.:o
    Ah no, I was explaining it badly but I just meant we agree - not posting doesn't mean wolf (by itself, obviously other things could)

Sorry, I think I confused the issue

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭Wendy WW

Necro wrote: »
    So the mention of teams makes me think Eleven is safe from wolves and villagers, but not Demi Lovato

So immortal if not caught by demi? Teams would imply lynch/munch?
    So does that does mean the syringe or bullets would work or not? Otherwise it is stacked very heavily in village favour?

Ah no, I was explaining it badly but I just meant we agree - not posting doesn't mean wolf (by itself, obviously other things could)

No worries, I don't think you confused the issue, I just need to learn all the terms of the game. Or maybe not just the game, social media shpake :D

• Forum Games Player Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭Abigail WW

Still, until we hear from Will, its arbitrary trying to guess who could be the Demi, which is why that needs to be tabled until we have more data, and now is the time to wolf hunt.

True, Will can provide some info soon hopefully.

But out of curiosity, who would you have concerted? Indulge me

Jake for me would be the obvious choice, but would the Demogod choose the obvious choice?

Wendy WW wrote:
    So immortal if not caught by demi? Teams would imply lynch/munch? So does that does mean the syringe or bullets would work or not? Otherwise it is stacked very heavily in village favour?

That would be my interpretation anyways.

Trigger wrote: »
    Does Eleven have a shot?

Eleven – Cannot be killed by human teams only the Demogorgon, has one time power to eliminate the Demogorgon if she correctly identifies him

Does that not mean that they can only kill the demo and no one else?

Youd imagine that the Demogod has a power that enables them to search for 11.

• Forum Games Player Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Conor WW

As brendan answered this, but didn't really, i'll try add to it.

Meta play is when you use out of game methods to find reasons for wolfy behaviour. for instance, using the boards who's online feature to see who is reading the thread and not contributing anything, or noticing that a player is posting away on after hours and is not posting in the game. You may also go back to reading previous game to see how a player plays as a wolf or as a villager and try to use that to figure out a player in this game.

• Forum Games Player Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Conor WW

Wendy WW wrote: »
    So immortal if not caught by demi? Teams would imply lynch/munch?
    So does that does mean the syringe or bullets would work or not? Otherwise it is stacked very heavily in village favour?

I'd believe syringe and bullets is by human means too, but i don't think having one player who would be immortal after the sk is dead to be heavily stacked in village favor,as she still only counts as one for parity.

Conor WW wrote: »
    As brendan answered this, but didn't really, i'll try add to it.

Meta play is when you use out of game methods to find reasons for wolfy behaviour. for instance, using the boards who's online feature to see who is reading the thread and not contributing anything, or noticing that a player is posting away on after hours and is not posting in the game. You may also go back to reading previous game to see how a player plays as a wolf or as a villager and try to use that to figure out a player in this game.

OH just WOW. Never thought of any of these. Werewolf is some game, never thought of so many layers of gaining info. No wonder all of you are so shockin" brainy (or sneaky, but let's go with brainy for now you shnakes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Abigail WW wrote: »
    True, Will can provide some info soon hopefully.

But out of curiosity, who would you have concerted? Indulge me

Jake for me would be the obvious choice, but would the Demogod choose the obvious choice?

Aside from Katie, the people I was most suspicious/had a gut feeling of being Roled yesterday were Angus and Jake (not sure if thats still the case, when I sit down to work on my FFA shortly, I need to re-assess), so I would've opted for one of them.

NRVs are the least valuable to the Demi, but I think all roled players (be they wolves or village) would be useful to the Demi right?

I suspected Jake was most likely candidate to be a Wolf based on leading the charge against the Demi, were you thinking the same thing (yesterday anyway, like I said need to give it a bit more thought now that another day has passed), that Jake was a wolf?

Steve post this

Findind it hard to nail down and honest to goodness votes. I'd be on Clodagh now, but they have work so they say so might be unfair on them.

On the whole Clodagh work thing, yes that could indeed be a factor. If my work meant I could not post much or at all till late afternoon I would probably pull myself out of the game. But if I didn't I would post something to make me look ok. Her lack of text makes me think she is not a wolf because she doesn't seem to need to prove herself.

On other matters, my second Covid test was clear. (Woo ****ing Hoo.....all of you are safe from my contamination....)
    Still not allowed back to work though. :(

Just on work not allowing posting much - some people only ever post in the evening/overnight. I signed up for this, then realised it was a week where I am on training for 3 days - but still playing, even though I might be curtailed over the next few days. I can still play outside work times and at lunch.

Glad to hear the test is clear. I know its a worrying time waiting for that confirmation from HSE.

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Steve WW

See, I read those Clodagh posts and a player keeping their toe in the game is what I see.

Aside from Katie, the people I was most suspicious/had a gut feeling of being Roled yesterday were Angus and Jake (not sure if thats still the case, when I sit down to work on my FFA shortly, I need to re-assess), so I would've opted for one of them.

NRVs are the least valuable to the Demi, but I think all roled players (be they wolves or village) would be useful to the Demi right?

I suspected Jake was most likely candidate to be a Wolf based on leading the charge against the Demi, were you thinking the same thing (yesterday anyway, like I said need to give it a bit more thought now that another day has passed), that Jake was a wolf?

While all the above is fine, the Demo will not know who is and isnt an NRV.

So you think a wolf would lead the charge, and not an NRV with nothing to lose?

I was not thinking the same yesterday. I thought Jake was less likley to be a demogod. A slight good lean from that. I never suspected him to be anymore a wolf than the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,550 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Steve WW wrote: »
    See, I read those Clodagh posts and a player keeping their toe in the game is what I see.

Thats how i read both Fiona & Clodagh, just posting nothing to have a slight presense on thread but nothing readable at all. I'm sure we will see both of them after work hours if they are available. but even yesterday after work time they didnt exactly post anything that would be of help to catching wolves. just more fluff

Eva WW wrote: »
    There are different forms of low posting though Brendan. I agree when there is essentially nothing to go on from someone's posts. But, there can be more substance in ten posts from one player than fifty in another.

Low posting can swing both ways, but I subscribe to the "if the post nothing of use" then they are as useful as a marzipan dildo at porno shoot.

If you were the Demogod, who would you convert? A low poster skirting by....? A high poster appearing to be doing good village work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

While all the above is fine, the Demo will not know who is and isnt an NRV.

So you think a wolf would lead the charge, and not an NRV with nothing to lose?

I was not thinking the same yesterday. I thought Jake was less likley to be a demogod. A slight good lean from that. I never suspected him to be anymore a wolf than the rest.

Yes, but you were asking me a hypothetical, so hypothetically would I not want to recruit someone I suspect of being roled in an attempt to avoid NRVs? Which yesterday with little to go on were Jake and Angus, hence either of them being the choice I would have made.

Wolves want the Demi gone, so good a reason as any to think a Wolf may lead the charge to weed them out, and hope that by doing so makes them appear to be villagery.

If you were the Demi and thought Jake was an NRV why is he someone you'd chose to convert? He has no powers that can be converted with him?

A couple of people have mentioned that they lean village on Jake, but I'm not really sure where thats coming from. May not be the Demi based on actions to snare the Demi in a trap, but not sure how that clears him as a Wolf exactly?

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Steve WW

A couple of people have mentioned that they lean village on Jake, but I'm not really sure where thats coming from. May not be the Demi based on actions to snare the Demi in a trap, but not sure how that clears him as a Wolf exactly?

For me, Jake had a post tracking people swapping places in the run up to the posting blocks. I don't think a wolf does that, especially after it was mentioned wolves would have to move places if they were blocked together.

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭Jake WW

I sometimes wonder why I give myself such awkward homework but it does lead me down some interesting rabbit holes. This was the groups suggested BEFORE the chopping and changing started. What we now all know is that 3 of the 5 players in group 2 have left us and were all NRV (I've bolded them for those on mobile).
    Jake WW wrote: »
    Group 1
    Abigail WW
    Angus WW
    ASLVB
    Barbara WW
    Brendan WW
    Clodagh WW
    Conor WW
    Eva WW
    Fiona WW

If Group one reveals a positive then the first 5 (Abigail WW,Angus WW,ASLVB,Barbara WW,
    Brendan WW) then post in next time slot.

If Group 1 reveals a negative then the DemoG is in the following players. The first 5 should then post in the next time slot.

Frank WW
    Jake WW
    JP Liz V1
    Kathleen Grant
    Katie WW

Necro
    Steve WW
    Trigger
    Wendy WW

That sound right?

NRV Liz swapped with Angus as he said he wouldn't know if he'd be around. So Liz entered Group 1 and Angus into Group 2 with 2 (now revealed) NRV's. Myself (Jake) and Kathleen are there aswell. I'm a villager and as it stands, I don't get a wolfy vibe off Kathleen. But then myself and Kathleen jumped onto Group 1 leaving Angus in a position where he didn't know who else would be in group.

There's lots of back n forths late in the night between Conor (who moved first to Group 3) and Angus all about 8 or 9 in group. I could see this being a wolf/wolf conversation. 9 in a group won and they both showed a window of time where 9 had posted and were both willing Will the Wise to use that slot.

Fast forward to Monday morning and Angus is online but didn't straight out add himself to No9 slot in group 1 so we could seal the deal. He makes a long post about now needing 9 at 9.27am but still doesn't secure his spot. I see Barbara has posted and check if she will be in Group 1 (she was in original list) and she confirms she will. Angus now gets angry.
    • He wants on the list but not Barbara
    • He wants someone else that's not him or Barbara
    • he wants on the list again
    • Wendy takes control and adds Angus and Barbara and removes Necro
    • Angus still not happy Barbara on list

Abigail posts at 1 minute to 10 saying she sees she is no longer required for Group 1. Could Angus possibly have been waiting for her to take the No9 slot and when Barbara took that coverted position it left him possibly in a group with other wolves?

I know I'm rambling but I'm looking at a spreadsheet with all the revisions to group 1 and if I had a gun to my head right now, I would say there's at least 3 wolves in #FFA2
    Angus
    Conor
    Abigail/Clodagh/Eva

Steve WW wrote: »
    For me, Jake had a post tracking people swapping places in the run up to the posting blocks. I don't think a wolf does that, especially after it was mentioned wolves would have to move places if they were blocked together.

That is a fair point.

However, maybe a Wolf would take the charge and keep track purely to ensure the wolves remain spread out across other groups.

Makes them appear helpful and deflects suspicion, but then if the groups aren't going how they want it to be in terms of spread, in the backroom could be instructing other wolves (via the backroom) to hop in and post in a block that they're not down for, simply to sway the numbers back in their favour.

I just couldn't confidently lean village on anyone, purely because they were tracking the votes.

Abigail posts at 1 minute to 10 saying she sees she is no longer required for Group 1. Could Angus possibly have been waiting for her to take the No9 slot and when Barbara took that coverted position it left him possibly in a group with other wolves?

I know I'm rambling but I'm looking at a spreadsheet with all the revisions to group 1 and if I had a gun to my head right now, I would say there's at least 3 wolves in #FFA2
    Angus
    Conor
    Abigail/Clodagh/Eva

I dont see why Im being lumped in a a wolf here?

I posted what at 959? , check backj and see what i posted. I posted that I was available.

I sometimes wonder why I give myself such awkward homework but it does lead me down some interesting rabbit holes. This was the groups suggested BEFORE the chopping and changing started. What we now all know is that 3 of the 5 players in group 2 have left us and were all NRV (I've bolded them for those on mobile).

NRV Liz swapped with Angus as he said he wouldn't know if he'd be around. So Liz entered Group 1 and Angus into Group 2 with 2 (now revealed) NRV's. Myself (Jake) and Kathleen are there aswell. I'm a villager and as it stands, I don't get a wolfy vibe off Kathleen. But then myself and Kathleen jumped onto Group 1 leaving Angus in a position where he didn't know who else would be in group.

There's lots of back n forths late in the night between Conor (who moved first to Group 3) and Angus all about 8 or 9 in group. I could see this being a wolf/wolf conversation. 9 in a group won and they both showed a window of time where 9 had posted and were both willing Will the Wise to use that slot.

Fast forward to Monday morning and Angus is online but didn't straight out add himself to No9 slot in group 1 so we could seal the deal. He makes a long post about now needing 9 at 9.27am but still doesn't secure his spot. I see Barbara has posted and check if she will be in Group 1 (she was in original list) and she confirms she will. Angus now gets angry.
    • He wants on the list but not Barbara
    • He wants someone else that's not him or Barbara
    • he wants on the list again
    • Wendy takes control and adds Angus and Barbara and removes Necro
    • Angus still not happy Barbara on list

Angus
    Conor
    Abigail/Clodagh/Eva

I think you have articulated much better what I was trying to say earlier about Liz being munched - why Liz... munching someone from your team for the demi hunting is actually exposing yourself to being killed, so I think of the 3 teams, there is the least number of wolves among Brendan, Steve and Fiona - if any at all.
    I agree the Angus/Barbara argument was too OTT - this is why I jumped in and tried to put an end to it. I am not sure on the Abigail link, but the wolf play would definitely be to try spread across the different groups.

Yes, but you were asking me a hypothetical, so hypothetically would I not want to recruit someone I suspect of being roled in an attempt to avoid NRVs? Which yesterday with little to go on were Jake and Angus, hence either of them being the choice I would have made.

Wolves want the Demi gone, so good a reason as any to think a Wolf may lead the charge to weed them out, and hope that by doing so makes them appear to be villagery.

If you were the Demi and thought Jake was an NRV why is he someone you'd chose to convert? He has no powers that can be converted with him?

Jake would take what IMO appears to be a decent villager off the board and into his team.

Who would you convert.... pick a player?

Jake would take what IMO appears to be a decent villager off the board and into his team.

Who would you convert.... pick a player?

If I was Demi, I would try convert a wolf. For me the wolf lean from yesterday would be Angus.