Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Serbia v Republic of Ireland Match Thread - K.O 19.45 24/03/21 - Mod Note in OP

Fair play to Serbia, they deserve this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,159 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Serbia hopefully calling it a day by hooking Tadić.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,123 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Mitrovic is a machine

2 excellent one touch goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

A good keeper catches that, Travers running after the ball like a puppy.

Also, Tadic just given all the time in the world to pick his cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Traversty again.
    It was a loose ball from Cullen that opened us up.

Travers not great, but let's not scapegoat the kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭The White Feather

I think bringing on Hendrick was a bad move. I thought Molumby was doing okay. We lost our way for a bit after that sub.

Just took a while to settle back into things and we gave the second goal away then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,640 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Absolutely disgraceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Irish_rat wrote: »
    Keeper cost us all 3 goals

Howd he cost us the first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,024 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Bring back Stan, all is forgiven.
    We are now proudly League One standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

mzungu wrote: »
    It was two against one for that header. We need to do better there.

Our central defenders are too small.

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭athlone99

Keeper has had a poor game but its his 3rd start for Ireland, not playing alot at club level and buckled up the pressure it happens. Id only blame him for the 2nd.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

pjohnson wrote: »
    Christ we'll probably be looking at League of Ireland. Our first 2 keepers are only back ups.

I don't care keeping is a funny trade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Go to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,369 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Bit depressing that all 3 of Serbia's forward options would walk into our team and be our best player.

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Clark has been not very good. Mistakes for all 3 goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,116 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

1 shot on target in 80 minutes against an average Serbia team, not good enough.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

We have been poor for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Mitrovic is a machine
    Second goal was a typical goal from him, contrast to the first one.Ireland’s heads dropped now. More goals for Serbia if they want them is my feeling.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

TheCitizen wrote: »
    Keeper totally out of his depth, but what was the options?

I know, not his fault we have no-one more experienced

• Registered Users Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

Ah well, we won't be going to Qatar 2022, joke of a team
    Fcuk Kenny, he's useless, he should go now, resign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,786 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Oat23 wrote: »
    If I were to guess it might be because in some confederations they cannot/have not implemented VAR yet so to have a level playing field it cannot be used anywhere.

Yeah good point.
    I wonder would we have got that peno if VAR was in though. Ah well doesn’t matter now.

O'Hara should start the next game anyway. Can't do worse anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm trying to find a few positives here but am legit struggling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Keeper's an easy scapegoat. Problems run deeper than that.

Bazunu's had a few clangers at Rochdale as well. We're very short on options when Randolph isn't around.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Isn't it past your bedtime? School tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,508 ✭✭✭✭noodler

So to get second now, we need to be perfect (except Vs Portugal) and also beat Serbia by two goals at home?

(Assuming Serbia also lose both games to Portugal).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Surely Kenny will go now?

What does then even mean? I don’t think even one of our starting 11 is in League 1? We’ve been undone by an individual error and top notch finishing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,295 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

It was a loose ball from Cullen that opened us up.

Travers not great, but let's not scapegoat the kid.

Keeper is the last line though, I'd still want him better positioned and saving that. He was too far out again to allow it loop over him.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭sheroman01

Never take anything too seriously on these threads - lads blaming Travers for all 3 goals. Jaysus. Shows the level of knowledge of the posters on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

Fecking Mitrovic can't score a goal for Fulham. Not even getting a start he's been so poor. Comes on here, two touches, two goals.

Poor keeping. I really feel for the lad. Real thrown in at the deep end stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

If they're average than what the hell is the standard of our team?

Most of Serbia's team play for clubs that are in the top divisions in Europe.

Not a chance of it. Who wants the job rn do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,024 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

ScummyMan wrote: »
    Isn't it past your bedtime? School tomorrow
    Joke already cracked. Get original.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Disagree, we played well enough away to a good Serbia team outside of the defensive/keeping errors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,116 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Hard to see us qualifying from this group now.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

This is possibly the worst Ireland team in years, we will struggle big time in this group, can't see us at the next world Cup

I think Dara O'Shea has done well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

sheroman01 wrote: »
    Never take anything too seriously on these threads - lads blaming Travers for all 3 goals. Jaysus. Shows the level of knowledge of the posters on here.

He was definitely to blame for no. 2 and the performance feel apart from that.

Have to say, think we were denied a fairly clear pen at 1-1

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

noodler wrote: »
    Nah.

But the second was the heartbreaker and be has to take 100% blame for that.

He wasn't great for the third either. He's out of his depth but we've no one better.

TheCitizen wrote: »
    He wasn't great for the third either. He's out of his depth but we've no one better.

Like the first, he scrambled weirdly position wise - looks weird. But looking at where the header actually went? Nah, I don't see a keeper getting to that tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Underground

They've ex Real Madrid lads coming off the bench, we've James Collins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭spurshero

Go where . Look at what we have to pick from . This is his first full campaign give the guy a chance at least

Jesus christ... can't even put a cross in

Mitrovic has as many league goals for his club (2) this entire season as Shane "very Long odds to score" Long

Bags 2 here against Ireland

2 good goals obviously

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Cullen I think it was gave away the ball for the third goal there. Tried to play it short to Long and undercooked it. Send it over the top FFS..that's what hes there for, to chase things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,786 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Sacking kenny after the first game of a new campaign would be nuts especially when we were denied a stonewall peno and playing well away from home to a team with high quality players.
    I mean look at their subs!

Anyone who thinks sacking the manager will change anything knows nothing about football

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

I am actually staggered that there are posters in here who think thought we had a chance to qualify for the World Cup. Lads it isn't the early 2000s anymore!