Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIV-249,437 ROI(4,906 deaths) 120,195 NI (2,145 deaths)(01/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,699 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Lockdown is over from the looks of things.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

PmMeUrDogs wrote: »
    532 positive swabs, 3.21% positivity on 16,562 tests.
    7 day test positivity is 3.2%.

I'm convincing myself that the numbers are showing a slight decline, and the weather is fine.

Of course, those people one here complaining that the case numbers were going up because we were testing more, will now complain that they are now only going down because we are testing less. ~21k last wednesday vs 16k today, but I guess they will only do that when it suits their agenda.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Nqp15hhu

84 cases Northern Ireland. 7 day Case rate per 100,000 is 41.9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭TanookiMario

carveone wrote: »
    You're damn right. The longer level 5 has dragged on, the more people are ignoring it. I'm a fool keeping to the rules, but then I'm pretty introverted anyway with older parents that I visit.

Kids have ignored it totally for months - they're hanging out in my local park groups of 50 and 60. With parents driving in to pick them up! Right now there's an organised adult football match going on in the same park with a large number of the cars' plates being out of county (not sure why that is). I mean people don't turn up in county colours just by chance.

The 5 km thing is right out the window - there's droves of people driving out to Howth, Malahide and Portmarnock given the weather in the last week. Traffic is mental (ie: back to normal!).

And I'm in an area where almost everyone wears a mask, in the local Dunnes at least. In the local Spar, it's not too bad - I asked the guy behind the counter and he says people without masks usually mumble some sort of stupid excuse, he doesn't even listen any more.

And I'm living in an area which is probably a bit more complaint, law wise. God knows what's going on in other areas.

People are getting all shouty about the Beacon and other incidents; meanwhile the Irish Times points out that there's a massive mismatch between the HSE's 220,000 vaccinated "front line" workers and the number of people who are actually front line workers. That means that while the red tops are screaming about private schools and a few 10s of doses, there could be tens of thousands of people who've skipped the queue.

I feel like a twat even typing any of this. It's just complaining into a void :(

Complaining into a void can be therapeutic, if nothing else. :)

I see people saying things like it'll be years before we are back to normal meanwhile parks are packed with people socialising and drinking and people are having parties and get togethers at home all the time.

I think there is a misunderstanding about how compliant the entire nation actually is and an ignorance about just how little enforcement is going on.

Maybe if people move in circles where friends and family are all very good and compliant they just see that as the norm.

A walk through Dublin round about now would remove that perception. Life IS going on as normal for hundreds of thousands, if not a couple of million, of people. The pubs and the shops are shut but people are just buying online or buying drink to consume outside.

I was watching some rant from an Irish guy today going on about masks and they symbolism and how it's like a veil and how it isolates us from each other. How we are all being forced to wear dehumanising masks against our will. The whole time I am asking myself what planet he is living on. Almost nobody wearing masks outdoors, people not wearing masks on the LUAS, people not wearing masks in the local shops. Compliance is high among those who are scared of the social and medical consequences. There's 100s of thousands out there who just don't care at all.

Lockdown is only bad for the fools who will impotently sit by and watch their business or their job go onto the trash pile while trying to be a good person and take it all for the greater good.

People with safe work from home type stuff will be happy saving a bit of money and avoiding stressful commutes while broadcasting their superiority on social media in the evenings. Then you've got the people who just don't care, never did care and never will care. They are just living as normal. Take the kids to Spar for snacks, no masks. Drinks in the park, over to a mates house to watch the football, bring the kids to see granny on Sunday, get their PUP on Tuesday and repeat.

Its funny to even see the current situation described as a "lockdown". The best efforts at enforcement you'll see is people trying to shame others into compliance. Does anyone think that Mary who takes her 3 kids on the LUAS to granny's house and has visitors over every Friday night for drinks and every Saturday for the kids to play out on the street is going to be shamed into obedience? There is no "lockdown" if people who don't care are allowed to just do whatever and the best response from the government is "don't do that or things will keep going exactly as they are..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,725 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

hmmm wrote: »
    Agreed however if you look at the RTE reports today they're not balanced. If I wasn't following developments with vaccines, which is the case for most people, there'll be a genuine fear that these new variants will somehow evade them. Anyone who has been fully vaccinated by now should not be living in fear in my opinion (but should be taking a bit of extra care to not expose themselves to excessive risk).

I think reporting about how new variants are spreading should be balanced with a comment that people should keep getting vaccinated and get on with their lives.

It’s very frustrating to see someone from NPHET show such a lack of knowledge on the vaccines.

These guys have recommended how far I can and can’t travel from home and what businesses are open for 5 of the last 6 months and are now displaying a staggering lack of ignorance regarding the vaccines and disease itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

How many people died from cancer yesterday?

Heart disease?

Suicide?

Natural causes ( i mean covid)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭landofthetree

funnydoggy wrote: »
    There are thousands of variants and none of them pose a threat yet. Our vaccines are amazing and have high efficacy. We'll be grand. These health experts need to stop scaring people.

30 odd from blood clots is small and "benefits out way the risks" boll'x talk.

Watch someone die from a clot in the lung an come back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Tullamore busiest I've seen it since even before lockdown. Queues at roundabouts leading to shopping centres.

No Garda checkpoints encountered by me in the past fortnight.on major/minor roads but, admittedly, a very good presence in the week of St Patrick's Day. Edit: just spotted unmarked car and did see A Traffic Corps outfit on a minor road last night. No checkpoints though. Likely too busy with rulebreakers.

Quite a few people out and about in town but from my observations over the past year, mask wearing and other procedures have been adhered to, unlike Dublin city centre where shopstaff have constant run-ins with sh1tehwaks.

Mac_Lad71 wrote: »
    'community transmission' = we don't have a clue where it originated because our tracing system is crap.

Exactly. Purposefully vague term that could easily just be described as "unknown origin" or something like that.

Though I suppose there would then be the awkward conversation of where all the confirmed origin cases are coming from. With people coming into the country etc.

You'd like to think with care facilities being identified last March as one of the main at risk areas, especially considering the vulnerability of the residents, that these would now be among the safest places as we have an entire year of knowledge behind us. Right?

Imagine, right, we've known for 12 entire months that certain demographics are at huge risk with this virus. So do we immediately focus in on really trying to protect and save those groups? Or do we just kind of brush it all under the rug and hope that nobody asks too much about why those identified demographics are still at huge risk 12 months later.

Ach, its just "community transmission", really. We haven't learned a goddamn thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,628 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Yeah, but lads..... the variants.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭hellyeah

"Lockdown is only bad for the fools who will impotently sit by and watch their business or their job go onto the trash pile while trying to be a good person and take it all for the greater good."

Charming, I lost my job of 13 years at Christmas. Did I just sit by and take it for the greater good? No entirely out of my hands. Typical irish attitude I'm alright jack fu#k everyone else. Some people's lives have seriously gone down the ****ter with little hope of recovery.
    Looking for work, wages are tumbling but my mortgage and bills still stay the same.

FFVII wrote: »
    How many people died from cancer yesterday?

Heart disease?

Suicide?

Natural causes ( i mean covid)?

Heart disease is about 27 deaths per day in Ireland (on average). 10k per year. Some would be preventable to some extent. Especially if people were given guidance and help.

Suicide is a little over 1 per day on average.

According to the Irish Cancer Society its 1 death every hour on average but I am not sure on what level of prevention could be possible.

I'd imagine a good few of these deaths could be prevented by introducing restrictions. However booze and cigarettes and junk food are on sale as "essentials" during the pandemic so I am not sure what kind of message that is sending.

You can get a feed from the chipper everyday and wash it down with cola and maybe have a bar of chocolate for dessert. Hell, the kids might as well have the same! You can't go to the gym though, that could get people killed!

hellyeah wrote: »
    "Lockdown is only bad for the fools who will impotently sit by and watch their business or their job go onto the trash pile while trying to be a good person and take it all for the greater good."

Charming, I lost my job of 13 years at Christmas. Did I just sit by and take it for the greater good? No entirely out of my hands. Typical irish attitude I'm alright jack fu#k everyone else. Some people's lives have seriously gone down the ****ter with little hope of recovery.
    Looking for work, wages are tumbling but my mortgage and bills still stay the same.

You think the people who flushed those lives down the ****ter actually give a damn?

Leo was more interested in getting quotes from Terminator and Lord of the Rings squeezed into his speeches for a laugh as he announced the death of fellow citizens and condemneded others to unemployed or restricted income.

That's OK though. We'll just sit here and take it like good little boys and girls.

I hear the easter bunny is still going to visit so at least there's that, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

PmMeUrDogs wrote: »
    532 positive swabs, 3.21% positivity on 16,562 tests.
    7 day test positivity is 3.2%.

Last week for reference

Less swabs this week but less testing too

https://twitter.com/COVID19DataIE/status/1375832238412169220

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

30 odd from blood clots is small and "benefits out way the risks" boll'x talk.

Watch someone die from a clot in the lung an come back to me.

30 odd what? They weren't deaths, they were 'events'. In the amount being vaccinated it's a very, very, very small number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭hellyeah

You think the people who flushed those lives down the ****ter actually give a damn?

Leo was more interested in getting quotes from Terminator and Lord of the Rings squeezed into his speeches for a laugh as he announced the death of fellow citizens and condemneded others to unemployed or restricted income.

That's OK though. We'll just sit here and take it like good little boys and girls.

I hear the easter bunny is still going to visit so at least there's that, eh?

You made me laugh there, thanks. Just having a bad time at the moment. Not having a go, just venting. What a difference a year can make. Went from a great job last year with good money to 203euro per week.
    Kinda sucks.ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

Corholio wrote: »
    30 odd what? They weren't deaths, they were 'events'. In the amount being vaccinated it's a very, very, very small number.

I find it very ironic that throughout this whole things it's all about protecting the vulnerable and saving lives.

But when people are dying from bloodclots due to the vaccine it's grand because it's only a tiny amount of people the hypocrisy is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

I find it very ironic that throughout this whole things it's all about protecting the vulnerable and saving lives.

But when people are dying from bloodclots due to the vaccine it's grand because it's only a tiny amount of people the hypocrisy is unbelievable.

It's not 'grand', it never would be. You have used products etc that people have had a very rare reaction to and killed them, have you stopped using all them? Just because it's a 'vaccine' it's separated in that context. The vaccine will save an infinitely more amount of lives than it will harm.

probably more with blood clots than covid id say

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Last week for reference

Less swabs this week but less testing too

https://twitter.com/COVID19DataIE/status/1375832238412169220

Ah good. Less plastic waste for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Deaths reported today nice and low

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Deaths reported today nice and low

Yesterday was sunny

hellyeah wrote: »
    You made me laugh there, thanks. Just having a bad time at the moment. Not having a go, just venting. What a difference a year can make. Went from a great job last year with good money to 203euro per week.
    Kinda sucks.ðŸ˜

My own job hangs by a thread to be honest but for me it's just so frustrating for the government to tell my employer "you cannot open for business" while they turn a blind eye to so many other things.

People heading over to the park with their "essential" junk food and ice creams. Meanwhile we are losing more and more money hoping that the restrictions will be lifted some day.

Gotta finish up on a Friday after yet another demoralising week and then navigate the busy streets of Dublin seeing people who just aren't affected by all this is seems. Mobs of kids. People on the LUAS with no masks. People in the shop with no masks. Seems at time like they only person having restrictions enforced on them is me.

Maybe when I lose my job I can finally go to the shop with no mask on and buy some booze to go and drink in the park with my friends. Might as well. Not like anyone would try and stop me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,105 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

511 cases 2 deaths

Gael23 wrote: »
    511 cases 2 deaths

Died from what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Died from what?

The quality of your posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Died from what?
    Is this how poor the glibness has become?
    Cop on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Always_Running

This week compared to last.

319 fewer positive swabs and 372 fewer cases from 3821 more tests carried out. A happy Easter to all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Sono Topolino

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    He has an MSc in Economics. That's about it.

Twitter's resident Covexpert David Higgins has a Bachelor's in Management Science and a Master's in Central Banking. But excel skills is all you need in order to become a Covexpert.