Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIV-249,437 ROI(4,906 deaths) 120,195 NI (2,145 deaths)(01/05)Read OP

funnydoggy wrote: »
    I agree with your last sentence but the first part is a non issue. Any vaccination is a good vaccination and currently, all variants are grand vaccine wise. Over time if and only if one of them becomes particularly problematic, the vaccines will be tweaked to suit, and the mRNA tech will make this super simple. They're also developing a variant proof vaccine too which is going through trials currently.

Encouraging to learn. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Encouraging to learn. :)

I'm a layman so don't take my voice as authority but I'm parroting stuff I've learned. Hope it helps though :D

• Registered Users Posts: 25,494 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

theballz wrote: »
    This entire covid thing is a complete pisstake at this stage.

The economy needs to crack on and young peoples mental health needs to come into consideration moreso than it already is.

Ring fence the at risk and vulnerable. The world needs to get on with things now. It’s abit much at this stage

young people and their mental health ? right they haven’t or a lot of them haven’t given a rats about anybody else’s wellbeing going by their behaviors... so lock other up or ‘ring fence ‘ and let them get on with it ? NO.

simply sanction them with fines and or jail time. Make them play their part, teach them responsibility and what it means to be a ‘team player’... it might be of value to them and indeed society later in life when they settle down and learn a bit of cop on, understanding, that it’s not ALL about them.

I'm a layman so don't take my voice as authority but I'm parroting stuff I've learned. Hope it helps though :D

It's the hope being pulled away like a rug from under my feet that gets me every time. I am a realist, but I always need hope too.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Quite frankly the emerging more powerful variants which seem less responsive to current vaccines are causing me concern. I hate to think about it, but I believe it will a couple of years before we are back to near normal, as vaccines and vaccination system are tweaked. I imagine foreign travel and indoor pubs are something which will be last to return to default.

Nobody can predict how the future will go. All evidence we have so far suggests the vaccines prevent death and severe illness for all the known variants. Vaccines are our way out but we will have to be vigilant.

Here's a decent summary read
    https://www.newscientist.com/article/mg24933283-600-as-coronavirus-variants-evolve-how-much-more-dangerous-can-they-get/

Relevant quote :
    While it is often said that viruses evolve to become less deadly, there is no reason to think this will be the case with SARS-CoV-2...

The good news is that the vaccines work even better than hoped and that the coronavirus is unlikely to be able to completely evade vaccine protection any time soon. As more people acquire immunity, many experts still believe that the virus could turn into just another cold virus, like the existing human coronaviruses.

But with most people on the planet yet to be vaccinated, we are a long way from that point and the vaccines may require tweaking more than once to remain effective. “This game of evolutionary to and fro with the virus is going to go a few more rounds yet,” says Grove.

Read more: https://www.newscientist.com/article/mg24933283-600-as-coronavirus-variants-evolve-how-much-more-dangerous-can-they-get/#ixzz6qygNscF9

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭Qrt

I have a feeling it’ll be like measles, outbreaks in places but most people will have been vaccinated to stop death. Obviously I doubt there’ll be a vaccine for infants to last years any time soon but one can hope.

Also, does the above poster know that you can have cars with different counties on the reg plates? Easily half of my estate have different counties on their cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

An assistant professor of virology at UCD has said there are now Covid-19 variants being detected in Ireland through community transmission, unrelated to travel.

Speaking on RTÉ's Saturday with Katie Hannon, Dr Gerald Barry said that at present 32 cases of the variant first identified in South African have been confirmed in Ireland, while 12 cases of P1 and 14 cases of P2 – both of which were first identified in Brazil – have also been confirmed.

Dr Barry said that while "some" of these cases are as a result of travel, others were as a result of community transmission.

"That suggests that these variants are circulating in the community," he said.

Dr Barry added that given only a small fraction of cases are being sequenced every week, these numbers were "probably not even a full reflection", and were lower than the actual number in circulation.

"It is concerning that these are now beginning to spread, and we can’t really, or don’t seem to be able to, track where they’re coming from," he said.

Dr Barry said the worry with the variants was twofold, in that the efficacy of current vaccines in use "might not be as good" with other variants. He said the variants in future "could pose a challenge".

He said data coming from Brazil showed the P1 variant spreads faster than the B117 variant, first identified in the UK, and showed that the P1 was three-times more virulent.

There are thousands of variants and none of them pose a threat yet. Our vaccines are amazing and have high efficacy. We'll be grand. These health experts need to stop scaring people.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

There are thousands of variants and none of them pose a threat yet. Our vaccines are amazing and have high efficacy. We'll be grand. These health experts need to stop scaring people.
    I suppose none of what they say is wrong, but RTE are giving too much prominence to it I think. If I'm a professor of dangerous viruses I'm going to naturally worry about dangerous viruses, and if anyone asks me what could happen I'll tell them about dangerous viruses and how dangerous those viruses could be.

What's missing is the Fauci type person over here who explains that it is the job of professors of dangerous viruses to worry about dangerous viruses, but it's the job of people like him to find that balance between worrying about dangerous viruses and how we can go about our normal lives.

Yes there are variants, yes they reduce vaccine effectiveness, yes we could get worse ones in the future, yes we need to keep the restrictions going until we have a mass of people vaccinated, but after that point most of us go back to normality while professors of dangerous viruses go on worrying about the next dangerous virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

The point is if a variant does come along that really is a threat we appear to be very vulnerable. We need to be able to contain their spread. Evidence to date suggests we can't.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

These health experts need to stop scaring people.

They are just stating what they know/are asked
    The country is like a giant creche
    People need to man the f*ck up. This can kill you - be a little bit careful & the vaccines may fail yet

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

They are stating facts.

Maybe people who haven’t a clue what they’re talking about need to listen instead of dismissing it.

hmmm wrote: »
    I suppose none of what they say is wrong, but RTE are giving too much prominence to it I think. If I'm a professor of dangerous viruses I'm going to naturally worry about dangerous viruses, and if anyone asks me what could happen I'll tell them about dangerous viruses and how dangerous those viruses could be.

What's missing is the Fauci type person over here who explains that it is the job of professors of dangerous viruses to worry about dangerous viruses, but it's the job of people like him to find that balance between worrying about dangerous viruses and how we can go about our normal lives.

Yes there are variants, yes they reduce vaccine effectiveness, yes we could get worse ones in the future, yes we need to keep the restrictions going until we have a mass of people vaccinated, but after that point most of us go back to normality while professors of dangerous viruses go on worrying about the next dangerous virus.

100% agreed with you :)

For what it's worth, this stuff doesn't scare me. The majority of people out there aren't on boards and do not take these things as they come. The headlines will probably roll with this and that's what people will read.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

'community transmission' = we don't have a clue where it originated because our tracing system is crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Turtwig wrote: »
    The point is if a variant does come along that really is a threat we appear to be very vulnerable. We need to be able to contain their spread. Evidence to date suggests we can't.
    Agreed however if you look at the RTE reports today they're not balanced. If I wasn't following developments with vaccines, which is the case for most people, there'll be a genuine fear that these new variants will somehow evade them. Anyone who has been fully vaccinated by now should not be living in fear in my opinion (but should be taking a bit of extra care to not expose themselves to excessive risk).

I think reporting about how new variants are spreading should be balanced with a comment that people should keep getting vaccinated and get on with their lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 727 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

532 positive swabs, 3.21% positivity on 16,562 tests.
    7 day test positivity is 3.2%.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭jhegarty

The tide looks to be turning in the correct direction.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Lockdown is over from the looks of things.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

PmMeUrDogs wrote: »
    532 positive swabs, 3.21% positivity on 16,562 tests.
    7 day test positivity is 3.2%.

I'm convincing myself that the numbers are showing a slight decline, and the weather is fine.

Of course, those people one here complaining that the case numbers were going up because we were testing more, will now complain that they are now only going down because we are testing less. ~21k last wednesday vs 16k today, but I guess they will only do that when it suits their agenda.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Nqp15hhu

84 cases Northern Ireland. 7 day Case rate per 100,000 is 41.9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭TanookiMario

carveone wrote: »
    You're damn right. The longer level 5 has dragged on, the more people are ignoring it. I'm a fool keeping to the rules, but then I'm pretty introverted anyway with older parents that I visit.

Kids have ignored it totally for months - they're hanging out in my local park groups of 50 and 60. With parents driving in to pick them up! Right now there's an organised adult football match going on in the same park with a large number of the cars' plates being out of county (not sure why that is). I mean people don't turn up in county colours just by chance.

The 5 km thing is right out the window - there's droves of people driving out to Howth, Malahide and Portmarnock given the weather in the last week. Traffic is mental (ie: back to normal!).

And I'm in an area where almost everyone wears a mask, in the local Dunnes at least. In the local Spar, it's not too bad - I asked the guy behind the counter and he says people without masks usually mumble some sort of stupid excuse, he doesn't even listen any more.

And I'm living in an area which is probably a bit more complaint, law wise. God knows what's going on in other areas.

People are getting all shouty about the Beacon and other incidents; meanwhile the Irish Times points out that there's a massive mismatch between the HSE's 220,000 vaccinated "front line" workers and the number of people who are actually front line workers. That means that while the red tops are screaming about private schools and a few 10s of doses, there could be tens of thousands of people who've skipped the queue.

I feel like a twat even typing any of this. It's just complaining into a void :(

Complaining into a void can be therapeutic, if nothing else. :)

I see people saying things like it'll be years before we are back to normal meanwhile parks are packed with people socialising and drinking and people are having parties and get togethers at home all the time.

I think there is a misunderstanding about how compliant the entire nation actually is and an ignorance about just how little enforcement is going on.

Maybe if people move in circles where friends and family are all very good and compliant they just see that as the norm.

A walk through Dublin round about now would remove that perception. Life IS going on as normal for hundreds of thousands, if not a couple of million, of people. The pubs and the shops are shut but people are just buying online or buying drink to consume outside.

I was watching some rant from an Irish guy today going on about masks and they symbolism and how it's like a veil and how it isolates us from each other. How we are all being forced to wear dehumanising masks against our will. The whole time I am asking myself what planet he is living on. Almost nobody wearing masks outdoors, people not wearing masks on the LUAS, people not wearing masks in the local shops. Compliance is high among those who are scared of the social and medical consequences. There's 100s of thousands out there who just don't care at all.

Lockdown is only bad for the fools who will impotently sit by and watch their business or their job go onto the trash pile while trying to be a good person and take it all for the greater good.

People with safe work from home type stuff will be happy saving a bit of money and avoiding stressful commutes while broadcasting their superiority on social media in the evenings. Then you've got the people who just don't care, never did care and never will care. They are just living as normal. Take the kids to Spar for snacks, no masks. Drinks in the park, over to a mates house to watch the football, bring the kids to see granny on Sunday, get their PUP on Tuesday and repeat.

Its funny to even see the current situation described as a "lockdown". The best efforts at enforcement you'll see is people trying to shame others into compliance. Does anyone think that Mary who takes her 3 kids on the LUAS to granny's house and has visitors over every Friday night for drinks and every Saturday for the kids to play out on the street is going to be shamed into obedience? There is no "lockdown" if people who don't care are allowed to just do whatever and the best response from the government is "don't do that or things will keep going exactly as they are..."

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

hmmm wrote: »
    Agreed however if you look at the RTE reports today they're not balanced. If I wasn't following developments with vaccines, which is the case for most people, there'll be a genuine fear that these new variants will somehow evade them. Anyone who has been fully vaccinated by now should not be living in fear in my opinion (but should be taking a bit of extra care to not expose themselves to excessive risk).

I think reporting about how new variants are spreading should be balanced with a comment that people should keep getting vaccinated and get on with their lives.

It’s very frustrating to see someone from NPHET show such a lack of knowledge on the vaccines.

These guys have recommended how far I can and can’t travel from home and what businesses are open for 5 of the last 6 months and are now displaying a staggering lack of ignorance regarding the vaccines and disease itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

How many people died from cancer yesterday?

Heart disease?

Suicide?

Natural causes ( i mean covid)?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭landofthetree

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

30 odd from blood clots is small and "benefits out way the risks" boll'x talk.

Watch someone die from a clot in the lung an come back to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Tullamore busiest I've seen it since even before lockdown. Queues at roundabouts leading to shopping centres.

No Garda checkpoints encountered by me in the past fortnight.on major/minor roads but, admittedly, a very good presence in the week of St Patrick's Day. Edit: just spotted unmarked car and did see A Traffic Corps outfit on a minor road last night. No checkpoints though. Likely too busy with rulebreakers.

Quite a few people out and about in town but from my observations over the past year, mask wearing and other procedures have been adhered to, unlike Dublin city centre where shopstaff have constant run-ins with sh1tehwaks.

Mac_Lad71 wrote: »
    'community transmission' = we don't have a clue where it originated because our tracing system is crap.

Exactly. Purposefully vague term that could easily just be described as "unknown origin" or something like that.

Though I suppose there would then be the awkward conversation of where all the confirmed origin cases are coming from. With people coming into the country etc.

You'd like to think with care facilities being identified last March as one of the main at risk areas, especially considering the vulnerability of the residents, that these would now be among the safest places as we have an entire year of knowledge behind us. Right?

Imagine, right, we've known for 12 entire months that certain demographics are at huge risk with this virus. So do we immediately focus in on really trying to protect and save those groups? Or do we just kind of brush it all under the rug and hope that nobody asks too much about why those identified demographics are still at huge risk 12 months later.

Ach, its just "community transmission", really. We haven't learned a goddamn thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,374 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Yeah, but lads..... the variants.....

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭hellyeah

"Lockdown is only bad for the fools who will impotently sit by and watch their business or their job go onto the trash pile while trying to be a good person and take it all for the greater good."

Charming, I lost my job of 13 years at Christmas. Did I just sit by and take it for the greater good? No entirely out of my hands. Typical irish attitude I'm alright jack fu#k everyone else. Some people's lives have seriously gone down the ****ter with little hope of recovery.
    Looking for work, wages are tumbling but my mortgage and bills still stay the same.

FFVII wrote: »
    How many people died from cancer yesterday?

Heart disease?

Suicide?

Natural causes ( i mean covid)?

Heart disease is about 27 deaths per day in Ireland (on average). 10k per year. Some would be preventable to some extent. Especially if people were given guidance and help.

Suicide is a little over 1 per day on average.

According to the Irish Cancer Society its 1 death every hour on average but I am not sure on what level of prevention could be possible.

I'd imagine a good few of these deaths could be prevented by introducing restrictions. However booze and cigarettes and junk food are on sale as "essentials" during the pandemic so I am not sure what kind of message that is sending.

You can get a feed from the chipper everyday and wash it down with cola and maybe have a bar of chocolate for dessert. Hell, the kids might as well have the same! You can't go to the gym though, that could get people killed!