Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIV-249,437 ROI(4,906 deaths) 120,195 NI (2,145 deaths)(01/05)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭crossman47

Klonker wrote: »
    You're probably right but the schools closing the next 2 weeks should help. Easter weekend might negate this though!

I don't think schools closing helps at all. Children will now meet up in unsupervised groups. In school, teachers do their best to abide by protocols (which go out the window once children go outside the gates).

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

NPHET taking the most negative view or projection. I'm shocked!

The letter will be published next week. We'll know then what the ranges were (if there were any) . I'm actually struggling to think of a time they went with the most pessimistic projections. Or even the second most.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

Be much better if they just went with shur it’ll be grand...

Actually I think it would be better if they explained what they mean when they say elderly and vulnerable, wouldn't you? Would be very easy to do using the vaccine groupings as the measurement of people they are talking about.

The strange thing is currently less than 3% of under 65s are being hospitalised. But by NPHETs calculations when we vaccinate the vulnerable under 65s somehow out hospitalisation rate will increase to 3.5% :confused:
    Surely you think that needs a bit more further scrutiny or are you just happy to take everything they say as gospel?

Turtwig wrote: »
    The letter will be published next week. We'll know then what the ranges were (if there were any) . I'm actually struggling to think of a time they went with the most pessimistic projections. Or even the second most.

Would longest lockdown in EU with one of youngest populations not be seen as a pessimistic projection?

That wouldn't be a projection.
    Don't understand your question at all really.
    A projection is an estimate using current data to predict a future outcome or likelihood.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭bb1234567

jhegarty wrote: »
    Brazil is currently sitting at 1,422 deaths per 1m population.

That's better than France (1,428) , Spain (1,591) , USA (1,684) , Italy (1,768) , UK (1,855) and a whole heap of other counteries.

Yes but on trajectory of Brazil's current death rate it will far surpass all of those countries

• Registered Users Posts: 24,398 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

crossman47 wrote: »
    I don't think schools closing helps at all. Children will now meet up in unsupervised groups. In school, teachers do their best to abide by protocols (which go out the window once children go outside the gates).

jaysus - let's lock them into cages altogether

children in school - oh it's a breeding ground
    children not in school - oh it's a breeding ground

That wouldn't be a projection.
    Don't understand your question at all really.
    A projection is an estimate using current data to predict a future outcome or likelihood.

It's not directly a projection but indirectly I think it is a projection but I can see how someone might disagree.

My argument is that from looking at the data they believed that it was necessary to have the longest lockdown in Europe over the last year. They believed it was necessary due their projections if we did not have this level of lockdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭boardise

For a little comparison -just heard that cases in France yesterday were the equivalent of c. 3,500 in Ireland.
    Interestingly the lockdown travel limit is set at 10km.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,854 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Amirani wrote: »
    Definitely a better day of numbers than last Friday looking at those.

The swabs and cases are yoyo-ing up and down far too much to take a single day and compare it to the previous week. Especially with Paddy's day filtering in with presumably extra swabs on the Friday etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,793 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Did Brazil not stop reporting figures last summer for a time or am I thinking of somewhere else? I would have my doubts about the accuracy of their numbers. The size of the country, pressure from govt and conditions that large swathes of the population live in must make it a near impossible task for the health officials to provide a full picture

• Registered Users Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭Polar101

jhegarty wrote: »
    Brazil is currently sitting at 1,422 deaths per 1m population.

That's better than France (1,428) , Spain (1,591) , USA (1,684) , Italy (1,768) , UK (1,855) and a whole heap of other counteries.

And guess which of these has the youngest population?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Ms2011 wrote: »
    Collected my kids from school at 12, they came out with all their books and copies in their bags like before Christmas, hope that's not a sign that they won't be going back after Easter :confused:

Same happened with my daughter. I think most schools are doing the same. Confident that it's just precautionary and that they'll be going back as planned... was also confident that they'd be going back on time after Christmas so my track-record is pretty, pretty good.

Collected my kids from school at 12, they came out with all their books and copies in their bags like before Christmas, hope that's not a sign that they won't be going back after Easter :confused:

same as ours

teachers are well lining up an early summer

• Registered Users Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭prunudo

I'm pretty sure they did the same at the October midterm and likewise there were posts at that time saying they wouldn't go back either.
    Wouldn't read too much into it. Unless we are hitting 4-5k cases a day the schools will be back after Easter break.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,734 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Think lot of schools will do deep clean so makes sense. And as a precaution just in case. Cant see guidance around schools changing drastically over next few weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭covidrelease

Eod100 wrote: »

What exactly can he do though?
    The reasons these private hospitals have done these things is because they know they're not really going to be held accountable.

very important people you know

ehh misleading!!!

I opened the page expecting a bus full of Joyce's and an official i'm "calling out Covid" video!!

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/coronavirus/first-travellers-arrive-at-quarantine-hotel-%e2%80%93-with-one-appearing-to-resist-securitys-escort-efforts/ar-BB1f03uP?li=BBr5KbJ

#dissapointed!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

What a spit in the face to all the front line workers, all the people staying within 5km, all the people who haven't seen loved ones in months.

Same as the golfgate, same as the factories remaining opened, same as the plane load of foreign fruit pickers

The elite everyone...

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭covidrelease

Oranage2 wrote: »
    What a spit in the face to all the front line workers, all the people staying within 5km, all the people who haven't seen loved ones in months.

Same as the golfgate, same as the factories remaining opened, same as the plane load of foreign fruit pickers

The elite everyone...

Don't forget the lad that took thim for $$$millions for useless ventilators.

To be honest at this stage people who blindly follow the rules handed down by these donkeys have only themselves to blame.

He could publicly call for the CEOs resignation. Hard to see how how he could last in his position after that.

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭tiredblondie

Qrt wrote: »
    Went to the Walk-In centre yesterday, have to say it was very well run. It was my first covid test too so it was a decent excuse to get out of the house. They said it would be ~24 hours for a result, hopefully get a result soon.

What made you go for a test??
    I presume you have no symptoms or weren't feeling unwell!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭jackboy

Eod100 wrote: »
    He could publicly call for the CEOs resignation. Hard to see how how he could last in his position after that.

Absolutely. By giving those vaccines to younger healthy people instead of vulnerable groups he put public health at risk. Shouldn’t be involved with any hospitals again.

Oranage2 wrote: »

The elite everyone...

Or.....

he had 20 doses left after working through the HSE prioritisation (doses that were only left because of bad management of the vaccination process by the HSE) and thought “what key workers can I get hold of, right now?”

And what key workers’ numbers is he going to have in his phone other than his kids’ teachers?

Hardly the same as golfgate

• Registered Users Posts: 45,954 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

it is clear the 20 teachers should not have got the vaccines, but I'd say the government are delighted.

While people are frothing at the mouth of 20 teachers getting vaccines out of order they aren't;

1. Asking why there were 170k vaccines available but not yet provided as of Monday morning.
    2. Asking why only 6 second doses were handed out on Sunday, when 170k doses were available.
    3. Asking why vaccinaotrs were only being offered contracts last week - why has this not been in place since early in the year?
    4. Why Mass Vaccination centres were announced, with a number of the centres having no clue they were selected, or even suitable?
    5. Why Teachers are not being vaccinated now in the first place - considering they decided to reopen schools.

on my 5th point there - should the outrage be that 20 teachers got vaccinated or that ONLY 20 teachers got vaccinated. And we are getting outraged at teachers being vaccinated. Teachers. Not CEOs. Not family of Ministers. Teachers.

Can't help but feel people talking with such outrage on this are getting outraged at the low priority problems and not focusing on the much bigger issues with the rollout - which if were not an issue would mean 20 teachers getting vaccinated would be small fecking potatoes.