Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIV-249,437 ROI(4,906 deaths) 120,195 NI (2,145 deaths)(01/05)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Incidentally I believe it was recently proven less then 0.1% of cases are due to outdoor transmission
    How did they prove that?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Ficheall wrote: »
    But the at-risk groups aren't done yet..
    In 2-3 weeks time a whole lot of them will have had one or both doses and one dose offers a level of protection. The PR around vaccinations is the same as everywhere else, it's all about the numbers of first shots. As I said it'll be a lot harder to convince people if the under 60s are being invited to register in a couple of weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Can anyone advise on travel to the UK via the ferry, have an invite / appointment to get a vaccine and not sure if I can travel or not..

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭Derek Zoolander

gozunda wrote: »
    So all the other points are correct. Fine so.

India rate of vaccination is running at approx 50% of ours as a proportion of their total population (That's not a 'fraction" btw)

But scenes like that in Galway have nothing to do with the current rate of vaccination.

Its got to do with those who think they know better than everyone else.

We know that even world leaders in vaccinations such as Israel - didn't start to remove social distancing restrictions until they had approx 50% of people vaccinated.

People can already go out and enjoy themselves with our current restrictions. But some have decided they know better and fuq the consequences

They are also using different vaccines - some of which have lower efficacy.

It’s simply not a valid comparison nor is comparing to December where nobody was vaccinated and interactions were indoors.

Cases will go up likely until 50% of population / approx 70% of adults have got first dose - based on Israel and U.K. that’s the cutover point where cases drop dramatically...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,112 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Can anyone advise on travel to the UK via the ferry, have an invite / appointment to get a vaccine and not sure if I can travel or not..

I’m sure that would be considered an allowable medical reason. Can’t imagine you’d get fined for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭Derek Zoolander

LarryBird wrote: »
    Those idiots in Galway and their ilk will be the reason the government and NPHET keep restrictions that bit longer.

Let’s see if there is a noticeable difference in positive cases in Galway - I’m doubtful we’ll see any massive differences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

The whole "people are going to find it hard to be normal again" is the biggest load of sh!te argument .

You are saying that people won't just go back to normal? Therefore we should all start socialising now no matter the consequence?

Complete nonsense. I'd argue we'll be even more social and dare I say more caring.

I know people who've come from war torn countries and lost relatives etc.
    They always have the best parties because you they don't take anything for granted. Less bull**** family bickering also. Life is too short for them and they know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Boggerman12

Some amount of finger wagging and lecturing on Brendan O’Connors show on Pravda.this **** is never going to end.saint Tony good,general public bad

Those idiots in Galway and their ilk will be the reason the government and NPHET keep restrictions that bit longer.
    They are not you and you are not them! Just part of a very long list of people who needed to be blamed throughout this. I still think it was the Bulgarians who started all of this anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Yeah grand it isn't ideal, but the alternative is so much worse.

People will keep doing this and the safest thing to do is keep them outdoors. You can't prohibit or prevent something like this from happening. It's better them be outdoors than crammed into a house.

The whole "people are going to find it hard to be normal again" is the biggest load of sh!te argument .

You are saying that people won't just go back to normal? Therefore we should all start socialising now no matter the consequence?

Complete nonsense. I'd argue we'll be even more social and dare I say more caring.

I know people who've come from war torn countries and lost relatives etc.
    They always have the best parties because you they don't take anything for granted. Less bull**** family bickering also. Life is too short for them and they know it.
    It very much depends on the individual and how they are mentally. Some will slot back into it but others could take quite a bit of time, especially in crowds and with how they view others.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

is_that_so wrote: »
    It very much depends on the individual and how they are mentally. Some will slot back into it but others could take quite a bit of time, especially in crowds and with how they view others.

Most definitely . I think it won't last too long though . People adapt quickly

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Agree about prolonged prohibition of social outlets, we must remember this is of negligible risk to young people

Restrictions have already been eased. People can go out and enjoy themselves without acting the maggot.

Todate approx 50% of those in hospital with Covid have been under 65.
    The vulnerable are vaccinated as are HCW’s Even one dose has massive efficacy if Luke o Neill is to be believed

Wrong. Those designated vulnerable are still being vaccinated. Medical advice shows we have nowhere enough people vaccinated overall to do away with the need for social distancing
    The danger has passed in Ireland but MM believes there might be a chance we can have a pint at the end of the year

Oh no it hasn't. "But "pints" eh?
    It’s now at a point where the only chance of normality before Summer 2022 is for people to actually socialise of their own accord and ignore the public health advice(which isn’t a good thing but it’s much to cautious right now)

Daddy or chips / Socialise or stay at home?

Not even close to the current situation and no its not black or white atm. People can socialise albeit in smaller numbers, they can also go out and enjoy themselves without breaking public health advice for social distancing and close contact.
    Incidentally I believe it was recently proven less then 0.1% of cases are due to outdoor transmission, we’ll just ignore that though

We know outdoor transmission is not the big issue - it the activities around outdoor socialising involving close contact etc and lack of social distancing as seen in scenes like that in Galway and elsewhere which are an issue. But I guess we'll just ignore that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,430 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I know of people fully vaccinated that don’t have confidence to walk into crowded areas like shops etc

When the last restriction lifts its not going to be one big party with life better than ever before and no family fighting :rolleyes:

An incredible amount of people of certain ages have no confidence to be around other people

Human beings are extremely resilient. When restrictions were eased during the summer people were way more sociable albeit in a covid safe way.

Of course we can only imagine what'll be like but with the scenes in the U.K it's probably going to be happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

niallo27 wrote: »
    Well this cheered me up this morning, comparing us to India now. Ya sure we are identical alright.

Didn't say we were ...

But hey another who didn't bother reading the comment. :rolleyes:

It's not comparable I feel, the war is over for them, they are away from it, they are safe. Covid will always be around and case numbers will always be a think so I feel some people will always be afraid.

That's a very negative outlook. Very negative.
    For someone who is usually so focused on the positive and complaining about people being negative it's a bit hard to think it's a genuine sentiment.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,430 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Human beings are extremely resilient. When restrictions were eased during the summer people were way more sociable albeit in a covid safe way.

Of course we can only imagine what'll be like but with the scenes in the U.K it's probably going to be happy.

Human beings are incredibly resilient????

Eh they’ve literally just locked themselves away for 13 months and plan to for many more due to a virus with a 99.7% survival rate and a median age of death of 83, that they now have a successful vaccine for and the vulnerable vaccinated

Human beings were incredibly resilient, they are now a risk averse species with no coping skills

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Glenomra

While we worry about modest gatherings at our beaches over 78,000 people attended an Aussie rules game yesterday.

Glenomra wrote: »
    While we worry about modest gatherings at our beaches over 78,000 people attended an Aussie rules game yesterday.
    46,000 Australians can't get home!

Human beings are incredibly resilient????

Eh they’ve literally just locked themselves away for 13 months and plan to for many more due to a virus with a 99.7% survival rate and a median age of death of 83

Human beings were incredibly resilient, they are now a risk averse species with no coping skills

You think we won't be the dominant species anymore because of this?

People understand why non Pharma interventions were needed to control the spread of this communicable disease.

People also understand the way out of this.

Have some faith in your species and don't be so negative :pac:

Keep sticking your head in the sand so, everything will be wonderful.

I thought it was just a cold now we won't be able to go outside ever because it'll be around for ever.

Whatever is on the auld facebook feed I'd suggest stop reading it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Glenomra wrote: »

And they locked down a city because of one case.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Don't want to waste the time of doctors etc but suspect I might have it

Headache for five days straight
    Incredible fatigue ( could sleep all day )
    Sore throat though not an especially bad one and seems to come and go
    Cough but getting up plenty of phlegm

No loss of appetite or smell though

• Registered Users Posts: 15,377 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Mad_maxx wrote: »

No harm in getting checked out, even if you dont have it the peace of mind is worth it.

Germany looking like they will be in lock down until June at the earliest as well as other European countries clamping down on travel restrictions unfortunately. Had hoped to make a trip around Europe on the bike this summer but looking increasingly unlikely. The vaccine rollout has been an utter disaster for a supposed first world economic block.
    Vey slow for sure in places but the numbers of vaccines expected in the next two months should really accelerate that. June might be a bit early though but later in the summer could be an option!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Mad_maxx wrote: »

Go get tested

• Registered Users Posts: 31,092 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Vey slow for sure in places but the numbers of vaccines expected in the next two months should really accelerate that. June might be a bit early though but later in the summer could be an option!

The issue is that ICUs take ages to empty out, like 2 months from infection.

So France, for instance, is probably just past the peak of its current wave with lockdown doing the work, and at the end of May is going to have enough people vaccinated to further damp down their cases, but I'd guess it'll be at least early July before the ICU pressure eases.

Of course August is the big summer holiday month so there will be huge pressure to have hospitality fully open for that. I bloody hope so, as I have a house rented for two weeks in mid August, but my medium-worst case is that we'll have to quarantine and eat in. I'm optimistic that travel itself won't be a problem, even without tests, as I expect to be vaccinated by then.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,494 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Delighted to see scenes such as those in Salthill yesterday, I really am, fair play to those kids.

They have been thrown on the scrap heap and perhaps they are finally coming to realise something, that our cowardly government and its secret police of curtain twitchers are not going to help them.

Tony Holohan and Michael Martin do not care about those kids. They will not help them try to get jobs when all this is over, they will not help them to get homes when all this is over, they will not help them with their mental health when all this is over.

They take everything and then make fools of them with their drip drip drip, kicking the can down the road style of leadership. "Hold firm", "another 2 weeks to flatten the curve", its about time that the youth called bull**** on these insidious tactics. How many times are they going to be told "just another few weeks" before they realise its all bull****.

Yesterday on here we had a poster calling a dead kid a scumbag for the heinous crime of dying with covid and so making health care workers have to get a test. That is the warped view that these cowardly loons have of our youth today, my advice to the kids is that they disengage from this society of cowards and start living their lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,845 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

marno21 wrote: »
    ......Public health reasons currently forbid a pint at a table outside a pub yet there are thousands of people enjoying takeaway pints wandering around Cork today. I see little difference between today and the pubs opening for outdoor dining apart from the pub being responsible for cleaning up instead of the Council. I also recall Tony Holohan being a civil servant and not a member of Government making the final decision on how the country gets to live. ...

Exactly.

Most of the conversation this morning appears to be on the outdoor gathering debate. Until recently, I was a tad concerned, not worried, but I'd have joined a small group outside no problem, once there weren't another few hundred around me.

But it seems clear that the experts are saying (EXCEPT NPHET), and continuing to say, that outdoor gatherings, including crowds on the beach and elsewhere, are not really a contributory factor,.

If this is the case, having a meal and a pint outdoor and assisting businesses in their very survival should be permitted, and NOW. Others have mentioned NPHET job being to advise - I haven't seen any decent advice from them in relation to outdoor crowds and outdoor dining/drinks - just the usual 'need to be cautious' etc.

"Professor Mark Woolhouse, professor of infectious disease epidemiology at the University of Edinburgh and an adviser to the government's Scientific Advisory Group for Emergencies- beaches are not a hotbed for coronavirus transmission. “There were no outbreaks linked to crowded beaches. There has never been a COVID-19 outbreak linked to a beach ever anywhere in the world to the best of my knowledge.” He added: “We do have to understand where the risks are or aren’t.”"

OR: “We have known for some time that only about 10% of transmission events are linked to outdoor activities,” said Dr Müge Çevik, a lecturer in infectious diseases and medical virology at the University of St Andrews.

“Even those events generally involve either prolonged close contact or a mixture of indoor and outdoor time. We had a lot of existing knowledge even when the pandemic began about respiratory viruses and how they transmit in general, and everything directs us to the conditions in people’s homes and workplaces.”

To me, this seems very misguided,” Julia Marcus, an infectious disease epidemiologist and professor at Harvard Medical School, told Honolulu Civil Beat. “Based on what we know about superspreader events globally, they’re not happening at the beach. It’s not zero risk, but that’s not where most or even much transmission – if any – is happening"."