Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIV-249,437 ROI(4,906 deaths) 120,195 NI (2,145 deaths)(01/05)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Stheno wrote: »

Bonus week of restrictions for the government

Very nice of them

• Registered Users Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

​do you not think it is reasonable to expect the government to come up with more than a "give it a few more weeks and we will review again" type plan after over a year?

Would that not be the vaccine rollout?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Four weeks from now, eight weeks from now, vaccination numbers will have significantly increased and our world will transition back to pre covid normality. Though I have an underlying condition, I empathise for those who don’t and Who are suffering under the current lockdown regime. Hold on a little bit longer, we are almost there. Two or three months is very little in the grand scheme of things, especially when you consider the fact that six months ago we didn’t even know if there would be a viable vaccine produced let alone six or seven. We’ve waited this long, we can wait a little longer. The world will look a lot brighter after April, and again brighter still after May. Keep the faith.

So after May a bit brighter? But still '2-3 months should be completely fine to 'hold on' for? I understand the good meaning of your post, but arbitrary long, lengths of time are what drive people mad. No clear sign of this 'hope' in a constructive, organised way from the law makers. If the vaccine rollout stutters, a lot of the same people will be saying 'Just hold on until October etc' and expect this to be just fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭noplacehere

8 weeks, 12 weeks, do they realise those are really 2 and 3 months. MONTHS! Like seriously, I made it to April by the skin of my teeth. I’m very high risk but even I’m losing it at this stage. I want to be able to pick up a birthday present. Even click and collect ffs. I want to see my parents even if it’s in the garden. But inter county restrictions have been around for so so long the last year we haven’t been able to even do that for large periods of time

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The government responded before Christmas to the polls showing people wanted a relaxation of restrictions, and that cost us months in lockdown as a consequence and a large number of deaths from Covid.

Hopefully whatever approach they take this time will be cautious, and they ask the decent people in the country to wait until vaccinations are more fully rolled out before a large relaxation of measures. I think people will understand this, and sure if they don't they won't get to blame the government this time if case numbers take off.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Cases are being spread in the community by people socialising, in some cases by people who have very large numbers of contacts, not by travel. Not sure what you have in mind with better methods but most of the best practice approaches would not get past GDPR.

Talking to wrong person about travel, I've been very disappointed with their finger pointing towards blaming travel. Better methods was not about travel, but if they wanted to hone in on travel it should have been done long time ago, just pointing out their blaming it now holds no water when weren't bothered about it last year. Regarding testing and tracing there's a huge amount more they could have done, especially in the downtime at end of last summer, but it was categorically wasted.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

MarkY91 wrote: »
    I've been hearing "hold on a little longer" for over a year now.

Nothing is stopping you from looking up the projected vaccination numbers over the next two to three months. It’s disingenuous to insinuate that our “flatten the curve” phase is anything like this, or that our second lockdown pre-vaccine distribution is anything like this either. We are really very close to getting out of this mess for the first time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭Azatadine

If things were done properly there would have been an extra week holidays when schools were closed and a shorter Easter break. The idea of sending kids back for a week and then taking them out for two weeks was farcical.

Now the whole country is on hold because teachers and students are on two weeks holidays...

Yeah, agree 100 percent on this.

hmmm wrote: »
    The government responded before Christmas to the polls showing people wanted a relaxation of restrictions, and that cost us months in lockdown as a consequence and a large number of deaths from Covid.

Hopefully whatever approach they take this time will be cautious, and they ask the decent people in the country to wait until vaccinations are more fully rolled out before a large relaxation of measures. I think people will understand this, and sure if they don't they won't get to blame the government this time if case numbers take off.

So we are still blaming people for taking advantage of the 8 days of inter county travel we were permitted to have a Turkey sambo with their ma at Christmas...

is_that_so wrote: »
    And yet that faith depends on vaccine suppliers not shafting us again. On top of that the numbers of cases are exclusively driving all our decisions and any uptick will see this extended. Some countries are already adjusting their dates out and now we're back to talking about September. Gotta be a mix of things here, including the social effects but there seems little evidence that the government are inclined to do that.

The social effects are negligible if we are talking about a period of four to eight to twelve weeks. The case numbers will cease to mean anything as more and more vulnerable are vaccinated so hospitalisation rates will dramatically decrease even if case numbers go up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,643 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

So we are still blaming people for taking advantage of the 8 days of inter county travel we were permitted to have a Turkey sambo with their ma at Christmas...

We're also still acting as if lifting the 5km and opening click and collect is comparable to the near total opening we had over Christmas too apparently.

People are getting sick of this wait and see policy

Just hold on for another 4,6,8 weeks with no targets

Then after that period just another 4,6,8 weeks more

Ah sure we'll outline the things that possibly could happen but with no dates

Great plan

They may as well include world peace in their plans for May, June or July as that's as much of a plan as the government has

Their approach has always been cautious

Even at Christmas we onky had 8 days of intercounty travel alone

Also if they follow the template of pushing easing restrictions out over the course of a month like this time then we're on course for an even more painfully slow reopening than last year where we were probably the most Conservative in Europe

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Corholio wrote: »
    Testing and tracing should have been ramped up a good while ago, a real shame it hasn't. I'm not one of the strong 'open it up' people for sure, another month will probably bring good benefits, although now saying 2 months is stretching it.

There is no country in Europe (or the US, UK) which has put in place a successful track and trace system. It's one of those ideas which sounds great in theory, but is really really hard to do in practice. The only democratic country which has done it well is South Korea but it did things which would be completely unacceptable and illegal here - accessing all of person's private date, mobile phone data, credit card data etc etc - and isolating people with covid away from their families in containment centres.

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    People are getting sick of this wait and see policy

Just hold on for another 4,6,8 weeks with no targets

Then after that period just another 4,6,8 weeks more

Ah sure we'll outline the things that possibly could happen but with no dates

Great plan

They may as well include world peace in their plans for May, June or July as that's as much of a plan as the government has

Their approach has always been cautious

Even at Christmas we onky had 8 days of intercounty travel alone

Also if they follow the template of pushing easing restrictions out over the course of a month like this time then we're on course for an even more painfully slow reopening than last year where we were probably the most Conservative in Europe

This time it’s not the same because of the vaccine rollout. It may seem like history is repeating itself but it looks to me like society will have to reopen around July based on projected vaccination numbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭robbiezero

What evidence is there of that?
    The only way we would have avoided that "wave" was to stay in lockdown since October.
    It was coming regardless only our lot compressed it all into the space of about 3 weeks with a very smart Level 5 lockdown in November and the promise of another one in January.

The social effects are negligible if we are talking about a period of four to eight to twelve weeks. The case numbers will cease to mean anything as more and more vulnerable are vaccinated so hospitalisation rates will dramatically decrease even if case numbers go up.

A little bit disingenuous to say they are negligible when you aren't counting the months already passed. I agree that staying a bit longer will have great effect hopefully, but not painting any difference between four weeks and twelve weeks just because things will happen is unfair in reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,770 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

How many people at this stage would have had Covid and not have know ?
    It must be an absolutely massive number ,

This time it’s not the same because of the vaccine rollout. It may seem like history is repeating itself but it looks to me like society will have to reopen around July based on projected vaccination numbers.

I'd like to have your optimism but that's predicated on the vaccine rollout being on schedule

Also the goalposts have a way of shifting

They'll be some new worry from NPHET and the government even if the vaccines are on schedule

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I think you have an overly rosy perspective about this. You are overlooking the effect of the current 12 weeks on top of a further 12 weeks. You may be able to happily skip through this but not everyone can. Many need to see the ship looking like it's being steered out of the storm and there is no sign whatsoever of that.

I do agree on vaccines but predictions and promises at this stage are really not worth the paper they are written on. I'd like to believe the 1m+ from April but evidence to date makes that look tenuous. Shots in arms are the only definitive evidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

You know full well how differnet everything is now compared to December.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

The lack of a plan is the real problem.

Last summer NPHET had a plan.

Drive the cases down.
    1. Slowly reopen.
    2. Find R1
    3. Pause reopen and find a steady state where we won't need to lockdown again.

Government agreed but continued to reopen after when had passed a R of 1 guaranteeing a future lockdown. If they weren't going to follow the plan there was no point in figuring out the level of restrictions where r is 1.

Government need to take ownership of planning. We keep having NPHET plans the government follow until they don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Harpon

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    I'd like to have your optimism but that's predicated on the vaccine rollout being on schedule

Also the goalposts have a way of shifting

They'll be some new worry from NPHET and the government even if the vaccines are on schedule

There will be a new variant then that they are very concerned about. There will be delays in vaccines. There will be a shortage of syringes or people to give the vaccines. There will be problems with the IT system.

Time to open up everything now as the hospitals have zero chance of being overwhelmed anymore given that those most likely to be hospitalised have now been vaccinated. For those who are scared, they can continue to stay in their homes until they feel it’s safe to come out again. For the rest of us it’s time to get on with life again.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,466 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Gardai under fire for check point delays on the m7 yesterday.

Once again, Irish people given stricter enforcement which they asked for and then they criticise it.

2021 is turning out to be worse than 2020.

At least in 2020 there was a real sense that you couldn’t just expect people to lockdown for months on end. We came out of lockdown briefly and government were reluctant to go back in to lockdown.

2021 is just a complete write off. We’ll be almost half way through before even Construction is open. I imagine restrictions in some form will last all year with our ultra ultra ultra terrified to do anything conservative approach.

People have being conditioned at this point to think that a 20km travel restriction is great news...

We deserve all the hell we face in the years ahead. No doubt we’ll try to blame Covid instead of our inept response.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭h2005

8 weeks, 12 weeks, do they realise those are really 2 and 3 months. MONTHS! Like seriously, I made it to April by the skin of my teeth. I’m very high risk but even I’m losing it at this stage. I want to be able to pick up a birthday present. Even click and collect ffs. I want to see my parents even if it’s in the garden. But inter county restrictions have been around for so so long the last year we haven’t been able to even do that for large periods of time

I thought that going to see your parents is allowed? I never had any issue with the Guards when I said I was doing that.

Gardai under fire for check point delays on the m7 yesterday.

Once again, Irish people given stricter enforcement which they asked for and then they criticise it.

Who asked for that?

Everyone I know wants to know why we are the only country in the world imposing travel restrictions on its people for over half a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

There’s a massive difference though between Christmas when no one was vaccinated, 30,000 plus flew home without so much as the need for a negative PCR test, restaurants and pubs opened and it was Christmas....vs what people are rightly seeking as rational now to just expand to in-county travel, opening of click/collect and construction as well as golf and tennis courts.

What’s so special about Ireland that means we keep all of these closed for much longer compared to many European countries? (Aside from a completely rudderless and incompetent government!)....with the exception of construction can any rational and sane person really argue that the others are likely to cause a surge in cases?!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,466 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Who asked for that?

Everyone I know wants to know why we are the only country in the world imposing travel restrictions on its people for over half a year.

Boards and the twitter influencers seemed to want stricter rules. The opinion polls also suggest support for lockdown measures.

Yet, they then complain about them. A lot of the influencers are staying quiet this week I notice. Ready to moan with whatever decision is made today.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,770 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Remember when learning to live with Covid was a thing , Such positive times

The lack of a plan is the real problem.

Last summer NPHET had a plan.

Drive the cases down.
    1. Slowly reopen.
    2. Find R1
    3. Pause reopen and find a steady state where we won't need to lockdown again.

Government agreed but continued to reopen after when had passed a R of 1 guaranteeing a future lockdown.

Government need to take ownership of planning. We keep having NPHET plans the government follow until they don't.

NPHET's plan was painfully slow even them

3 weeks inbetween opening of homeward and hardware stores was a joke

NPHET wanted 4 weeks inbetween reopening too

Our painfully slow reopening would have been worse if NPHET got their way

When it comes to it reopening things like hairdressers, intercounty travel, hospitality latervon in the year NPHET will be over cautious again I'm predicting