Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIV-249,437 ROI(4,906 deaths) 120,195 NI (2,145 deaths)(01/05)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

368 cases today.
    RTE (a few days ago): "Surge of cases".
    Bunch of liars and hypocrites.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

zebastein wrote: »
    I really enjoy how the news from other countries are filtered in the way that interest Irish media.

The health service is not pulverised. Parts of the country have an incidence rate between 50 and 150. There are 101 counties ("departements") in France and only 19 have a lockdown, which is less severe than here in Ireland.

But more interestingly: though the number of people in hospital and ICU has increased in France, the daily deaths have decreased by 1/3 since the beginning of February.

They have managed to avoid a lockdown, they did not see a massive spike of cases, but more a slow increase that can be controlled by reactive restrictions and that does not translate into spike of deaths.

Eh do you?

The link provided was not from the " Irish media" That is the situation as described by the French and international media.

https://www.mail.com/int/scitech/health/10658028-paris-doctors-warn-catastrophic-overload-virus-cas.html#.1272-stage-mostviewed1-4

https://www.france24.com/en/europe/20210329-france-eyes-stricter-lockdown-as-covid-19-patients-in-intensive-care-near-5-000

I'm well aware of the fact that France has different departments. And from what is being said by French medical staff including doctors - who are saying about health services in certain areas being pulverised as in they are facing an inevitable rise in hospital admissions - which they say will be very difficult to manage. I did not mention deaths at all btw.

This is the current situation in France up to and including the 29th of March. Case numbers are rising without any indication of a decline despite the country being at approx 15% vaccination.

53rgwa.jpg

I hope they are able to get some control on that situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,413 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Kivaro wrote: »
    368 cases today.
    RTE (a few days ago): "Surge of cases".
    Bunch of liars and hypocrites.
    hows george lee going to depress this ?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

He has loads more he can talk about!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

“There are 310 people being treated in hospital with the disease - an increase of 29 patients in the last 24 hours.”

RTÉ.ie

Well that’s not true

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Benimar

Kiith wrote: »
    Regardless of if you are for or against needing a continued lockdown, I assume everyone agrees that its absolutely pathetic that these are always leaked to the press before bring officially announcements? Surely the amount of leaks are something that should be a concern?

I’ve been saying it since the beginning. We should be hearing this first from the Taoiseach of the day, not journalists.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Michael will make his statement some poem lines and then blame NEPHT for the reasons and then run for the hills why he sends on others to get all the grief

• Registered Users Posts: 38,529 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Kivaro wrote:
    368 cases today. RTE (a few days ago): "Surge of cases". Bunch of liars and hypocrites.
    You are getting a bit excited about figures from one day. It's a bit hypocritical to get excited over a lower number and then be all over anybody who gets a bit anxious by a higher daily figure.

Exactly...90% of matches I play I go home, the other 10% it's to the pub. It's absolutly shocking if that's the reason they are banned.
    The matches in question were county finals so folks would be a bit more exuberant and there would be lots more of them. Ratoath became the COVID capital of Ireland for a bit!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,269 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

To follow up on the Examiners no inter county until July stuff.

It's amazing what different sources say

https://twitter.com/MaryERegan/status/1376940839516172291?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭titan18

If vaccinations are going grand, inter county should be ok by June bank holiday imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,643 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

titan18 wrote: »
    If vaccinations are going grand, inter county should be ok by June bank holiday imo.

That's in breach of the no easing restrictions ahead of a bank holiday rule though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,096 ✭✭✭Rosita

titan18 wrote: »
    No gyms or ability to exercise outside of 5k also adds to it

There's talk of extending it across the county by 12 April. That should nearly be enough of a run for most people if a 10k round-trip circuit won't do.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Is this not the same speech he made last time?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Who had "essentially a new virus" on their bingo card?

• Registered Users Posts: 82,818 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

"Essentially a new virus", eh no it's not, will any media fact check MM?

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭Normal One

This mawfaka been asleep for the last 3 months

• Registered Users Posts: 7,643 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Is this not the same speech he made last time?

He's added a bit about the UK variant surging across Europe.

Completely ignoring the fact we already had that surge of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

He is going to depress it by depressing anyone who listens to him.

M

• Registered Users Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Who had "essentially a new virus" on their bingo card?

And tonight’s snowball is..

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users Posts: 21,933 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Would be nice if he told us something we didn't already know. ..

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Messi19

Look at the very little we've done, not the awful lot we haven't...

M

So August bank holiday the pubs will be open?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭mcburns07

Seagulls letting him know what they think of his guff

• Registered Users Posts: 12,375 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Jaysus lads, will ye look on the bright side.
    It's the start of our way out of this.

Ye are as bad as George Lee :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭Normal One

There's the "meaningful summer " carrot dangling in front of us if we behave

• Registered Users Posts: 24,189 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Would be nice if he told us something we didn't already know. ..

Like what? What do you expect? What crystal ball do you think he has to the case levels in 4 weeks or 8 or 12 or 24?

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Messi19

Gonna go down like a lead balloon