Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    If a person had never had sex, used intravenous drugs or been exposed to any of the other methods of transmission for HIV, it would be a bit silly of them to be getting tested for it wouldn't it?

Similarly, a person with absolutely zero symptoms and no contact history has no reason to be tested for covid.

To add, there is no convincing evidence for true asymptomatic spread of covid and for it being a major transmission vector. In fact, studies suggest the opposite. For example, china contact traced millions of people and found no evidence of it. At all.

On the first point I agree. If a person has had zero human interaction of late, there's probably zero chance of them having covid.
    If they have had some though, a test is of absolutely no harm.

I don't know of any studies off hand that proves the risk of asymptomatic spread, but I do know that everyone is asymptomatic during the incubation phase of the virus, so your point I'm afraid is utterly redundant.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭arctictree

badger54 wrote: »
    Got tested at one of the centres today. No symptoms, no close contacts but I'd like to know and I believe that the more testing, the more data the better.

Centre was well organised. The nasal swab itself wasn't even mildly uncomfortable. I literally felt nothing.

Slow day at the office?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

paw patrol wrote: »
    I have this feeling - pure conjuncture on my part - the current situation pleases Leo. He becomes Taoiseach soon enough and opens up everything.

Then while basking in our adulation - as this centuries Michael Collins - he tells us it was all Mehole and he saved us from ruin.

Anybody who thinks that sounds far fetched? You havent paid attention cos that's Varadkar to T.

Yeah but Martin stupidly lapped it all up, grinning like a fúckin schoolboy that's been made boy of the year or prefect or whatever. He cared so much about running home to tell mammy he got Taoiseach, he didn't realise the poison chalice. Serves the git right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 146 ✭✭Neagra

Antares35 wrote: »
    Yeah but Martin stupidly lapped it all up, grinning like a fúckin schoolboy that's been made boy of the year or prefect or whatever. He cared so much about running home to tell mammy he got Taoiseach, he didn't realise the poison chalice. Serves the git right.

i think martin, like david cameron, hates his own party.
    he wanted to be taoiseach and now thats done expect him soon to slip off into the night leaving his party destroyed.
    i despise the man

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9401151/Boris-Johnson-faces-Tory-revolt-crunch-vote-TODAY-extending-Covid-powers-SEPTEMBER.html

that link is a warning to all normal thinking people
    this is what posters like me and many on here have been trying to warn people about.

we are sleep walking into a totalitarian state
    wake the fcuk up

• Registered Users Posts: 23,710 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Neagra wrote: »
    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9401151/Boris-Johnson-faces-Tory-revolt-crunch-vote-TODAY-extending-Covid-powers-SEPTEMBER.html

that link is a warning to all normal thinking people
    this is what posters like me and many on here have been trying to warn people about.

we are sleep walking into a totalitarian state
    wake the fcuk up
    I thought posters here were wanting us to follow the UK?

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

Neagra wrote: »
    anyone who thinks this lockdown is doing anything but damaging our children and our economy

Everyone knows this is the case. No one denies it. Covid brought bad stuff sadly. But there it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

People on the news there going to get covid tests for the craic basically

Everyone knows this is the case. No one denies it. Covid brought bad stuff sadly. But there it is.

the politicians brought the bad stuff sadly.
    limp wristed weak minded power hungry politicians

• Registered Users Posts: 13,692 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Renault 5 wrote: »
    It’s gotten to the stage where I despise the Government.

In my 40 years I never thought I would feel this way about the people in charge of looking after the country.

2008 didn’t even match up to the feelings I have towards them.

I totally dislike how control of the country is now in the hands of NPHET , but the reality is the opposition in Ireland , are in favour of even harsher restictions - Ther seams no desire to get Ireland out of lockdown level 5 , the longest in the world , we are driven by case numbers , and are now increasing testing , which will undoubtly increase numbers - People are confused , frightened and apathetic to what is going on , with no real leadership / no real opposition and no dynamic vaccination plan - Just propagating Fear Fear Fear , and no plan to wrest control from NPHET , the longer this is going on the more I despise Glynn and his never ending doom, with no solution except extending lockdown (level 5).

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭darconio

Just wanted to quote this great post from Shelga so it doesn't get lost in the pages of Boards. To be printed and sent to all the electorate
    Shelga wrote: »
    Micheal is a weak, meek and indecisive leader, and we are all paying for it.

Why can't he give us a plan, with preliminary dates attached based on the vaccines expected- ie. "If we have over 70s vaccinated by mid-May, we can have outdoor dining and non-essential retail open." It could be linked to planned vaccine deliveries and makes it clear that we can only reopen to any great degree once X number of people are vaccinated. At the moment, there is ***ing nothing!

Plan B: "If vaccine doses are not delivered to the country in the volumes expected, then we will have a lower level of reopening but will still have all secondary school pupils back to school and will restart property viewings, with safety guidelines in place."

Just give us some ****ing dates, a plan, make it contingent on certain deliverables, but give us something! This April 5th crap is not enough. Go beyond April 5th. What is the plan for hospitality to have some kind of summer? Show some leadership, make the tough choices, commit to SOMETHING, for the love of christ.

The man was Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment from 2004-2008, when the sh*t hit the fan in this country the last time. And somehow he is now our Taoiseach?? It beggars belief.

Fianna Fail could have had a proper clear out of their front bench at that time, thought about not just the next 2 years but the next 20, and how to appeal to people like me- 33 years old. But no. Poor Micheal wants to be Taoiseach, so he gets to be, despite having tepid support at best and not a notion of a plan as to how to get us out of this complete mess. And too timid to tell the EU that they have f**ked up royally with the vaccine rollout.

I was forced to emigrate to England the last time he and his dire party were in power, and it's like nothing has changed in the last 15 years.

I don't know what this rant is meant to achieve, I am just absolutely at the end of my tether and wish we had a real leader at this crucial moment in our country's history.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

To me it looks like preparations for removing the 5k restriction are being put in place. The new tenancy law is being introduced to renew the eviction ban, but only for people affected financially by covid, but not from other financial matters such as rent increases. Hopefully we never see this restriction again..

• Registered Users Posts: 40,228 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

pjohnson wrote: »
    I thought posters here were wanting us to follow the UK?

Typical Daily Mail article, but great pic.

40939026-9401151-image-m-62_1616690366216.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

SnuggyBear wrote: »

Dopes :(

• Registered Users Posts: 10,048 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Some great insights from Nolan tonight. When more kids are in school, more adults go to their workplace.
    How much are we paying this fella?

I suppose there is nothing better to do

• Registered Users Posts: 22 badger54

pueblo wrote: »
    So you are under 12 years of age?

Well done Captain Pedantic, you got me.

I don't see any point in engaging in this type of back and forth. Try to engage positively. Much more interesting and productive for everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

Yup

Thats all part of looking for asymptomatic spreaders in hotspots.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

"just with the numbers in the locality,i said i better wander down and have a test, in case im giving it to others"

MENTALISTS

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

A great opportunity to get out of the house and in turn a great opportunity for the government to ultimately extend lockdowns. Moronic stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 badger54

arctictree wrote: »
    Slow day at the office?

Well, yes actually. Slow year. Bred almost to tears at times truth be told :)

Not sure why availing of a free test is an issue though.

Do you realise, lads, that if the people you're calling idiots get a test and it returns negative it will improve our numbers, right?

So if you think there's no reason for them to be getting tested, then you should be encouraging them to do it.

In fact you should do your part for ending restrictions by all going to get tested

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Do you realise, lads, that if the people you're calling idiots get a test and it returns negative it will improve our numbers, right?

So if you think there's no reason for them to be getting tested, then you should be encouraging them to do it.

In fact you should do your part for ending restrictions by all going to get tested

Which numbers? Case numbers or positivity rate? Are we not aiming for 0-200 cases a day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

It's very clear that the draconian approach by NPHET has completely backfired. Instead of easing restrictions, NPHET and the Government opted to keep us at the highest level of restrictions in Europe. As a result people are now socialising indoors with others more frequently, people are getting haircuts, nails, tan and even tattoos done in other peoples homes. The lockdown fatigue is directly a result of the complete mismanagement.

This level of restrictions with the obvious incompetence of NPHET and the Government were always going to lead people astray.

If restrictions aren't lifted somewhat next week then I doubt this government will last until the end of the month. My kids school has sent children home with their school boxes because they think they will be shut down again.

Which numbers? Case numbers or positivity rate? Are we not aiming for 0-200 cases a day?

A negative test is good news for the positivity rate, which is a key metric PH teams look at when deciding next steps.
    The 200 cases thing is just a simple target that the public can understand.

Besides, we're not getting to 200 cases any time soon. It's not on the cards at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Listening to the comments today and the HSE presser and it's clear we are under lockdown till at least the end of May, probably longer.

It's the only gig in town for them and to even think we are going to do anything other than lockdown is just going to drive you spare.

Not a thought will be given to the wider economy. It's case numbers and D'Variant all the way baby. Buckle up because it's going to be a very very interesting 2 months coming up. Followed by carnage on the fiscal space front. I hope Paschal uses plenty of lube over the next few years.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 40,228 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Akesh wrote: »
    If restrictions aren't lifted somewhat next week then I doubt this government will last until the end of the month.

What restrictions will need to be lifted in order for the government not to collapse by the end of next month in your own opinion?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Some great insights from Nolan tonight. When more kids are in school, more adults go to their workplace.
    How much are we paying this fella?

The other HSE lady was quite certain that it's adults giving it to children who then go to school. Interesting how they can be so certain when only seconds before Nolan said that correlation does not mean causation around schools opening and cases rising.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Meanwhile in Madrid people are packing the nightclubs and Bars.
    The 11pm Curfew just means they go out earlier.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/abroad/working-abroad/we-ve-a-covid-curfew-here-but-it-hasn-t-stopped-people-packing-nightclubs-1.4516997