Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭B2021M

True. Effectively the border counties have had lower restrictions throughout, as they have had free choice to choose whichever jurisdiction has the lower restrictions at any given time, as long as within travel restrictions distance of the border. So can now go there to shop, pubs, barbers etc, or holiday there ahead of the other 21 counties Thats simply a side effect of the politics of the island though, and its correct that restrictions on people in non border counties should be restricted from doing the same. If anything, the checks on people from the 21 counties will have to be upped to stop a real surge northwards for the next few months.

Hardly acceptable that people in some counties can do things that others can't just because they happen to be in border counties.

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

B2021M wrote: »
    Hardly acceptable that people in some counties can do things that others can't just because they happen to be in border counties.

In the context of the history of the two countries though, while not ideal, it has to be considered acceptable. Or put another way, it is more acceptable than closing the border, and I dont think people in the 21 would disagree with that, just because they dont have the same option as the other 5.

I think perhaps McEntee should have been silent on it though. It was more or less an endorsement for one group to do things that others can't. As you said though we have bigger issues than that to worry about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭Penfailed

km79 wrote: »
    July is still in summer last I checked ......

Your point is?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES(x2), And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Orbital, Supergrass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Good luck to the government trying to get people to go on staycations with no indoor dining available

thats it. Whats the point of booking a nice hotel if the spa is closed, the restaurant is outdoor only and theres no residents bar till 3am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    McEntee came out during the week and said that they won't be trying to stop people in border counties alright.

Will there be loads of checkpoints on main Dublin to Belfast Road come Thursday?

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

thats it. Whats the point of booking a nice hotel if the spa is closed, the restaurant is outdoor only and theres no residents bar till 3am.
    And the ones with pools all have limits on them along the lines an hour a day. Or 2 hours every 2nd day in centre parcs. And the prices never change to reflect this.

Who would be gouged in the south when there is normality north of the border?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

yes some pubs will be closed here 5km over will be open, pathetic really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    And the ones with pools all have limits on them along the lines an hour a day. Or 2 hours every 2nd day in centre parcs. And the prices never change to reflect this.

Who would be gouged in the south when there is normality north of the border?

thats it, I think ill look at a city break in Belfast , atleast I can have a few pints without going mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

The Europe Hotel and it's sister hotels are only opening up on the 7th of June (no bookings possible for before that point). This coupled with some of the things Leo and Co babble about suggest to me that's when we'll start to have our "outdoor" summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

No point in hotels being open if you can't even use the restaurants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

Graham wrote: »
    Apparently not. Each time I think we've reached peak conspiracy theory someone proves me completely wrong.
    Just because you don't like the statements, doesn't make them a conspiracy.

Fact of the matter is the middle class is now too big. In order to strip back the wealth and make the distinction between upper and lower classes easier to define, huge amounts of taxes and charges are being leveled on us. I say "us" because I presume you're also one of the people earning between 30 and 70k. If you're not, it makes sense that you want to brand it a conspiracy.

Resources are scarce and money is rapidly losing value. How long will it be before average wages fall so far behind cost of living that it's not just pensioners unable to top up their heating oil or drive to see their relatives.

It's happening right now to everyone. The only people it doesn't affect are those rich enough not to feel the impact.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    The Europe Hotel and it's sister hotels are only opening up on the 7th of June (no bookings possible for before that point). This coupled with some of the things Leo and Co babble about suggest to me that's when we'll start to have our "outdoor" summer.

They probably need that time to get staff etc in place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,264 ✭✭✭✭km79

Penfailed wrote: »
    Your point is?

That MM said we are having an outdoor summer
    July is in summer
    No indoor dining . No hotel breaks as they can’t cater for amount of guests for breakfast etc without indoor dining ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

Staycations are a total waste of time if you cant use the internal hotel restaurant. If this is NPHET and the government plan I'll save the staycation money and go abroad later in the year with my digital passport.

As others have said all positivity has been removed thanks to the return of houlihan. IMO he is chasing zero covid without saying it.
    We all know MM wont question or go against houlihan.

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

How long will it be before average wages fall so far behind cost of living

Never. Averages wages are and will always be ahead of the cost of living. They only ever fall behind unrealistic expectations of the cost of living, not the cost of living itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

A few work colleagues were staying in a Dublin hotel last Week, they are essential workers. The bar, which is a large one was apparently packed. Not sure how this can be happening in plain sight. Street drinking seems to have become the norm too for all age groups, quite scanger looking in my opinion but people are doing it. Personally I think we should just open up and let people get on with it asap.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Will they stop with this outdoor crap. It's not viable for most businesses

• Registered Users Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭RoryMac

A few work colleagues were staying in a Dublin hotel last Week, they are essential workers. The bar, which is a large one was apparently packed. Not sure how this can be happening in plain sight. Street drinking seems to have become the norm too for all age groups, quite scanger looking in my opinion but people are doing it. Personally I think we should just open up and let people get on with it asap.

Happening all over the country and has been since last year. I'm lucky enough to have had a few nights away with work, some bar food and pints watching the football is a great break from the norm.

Hotel staff have said guards can be quite thorough when they do their checks and make sure all people in the bar are hotel residents and have letters to confirm they are on essential business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

NPHET:
    ‘We are not a barbecue people and we do not have a barbecue climate. We all know that. Families can meet in gardens, to have a barbecue. Then it rains and they all run into the house. Or at 8pm it gets cold and they go inside. Or they are going in and out to the loo. Much as the intention might be there for people to have visits outdoors, we are concerned that it becomes indoors and we are deeply concerned about indoor transmissions after what happened at Christmas.’

https://extra.ie/2021/04/25/news/irish-news/cmo-holohan-puts-dampener-on-gov-summer-plans-at-nphet-return-meeting

Jesus wept. What are the people in NPHET smoking? You couldn't make it up how out of their depth this 'expert group' are.

It's very clear that several NPHET members are suffering from the lockdown coming out with absolute nonsense like that.

Yet apparently NPHET only advise lol

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭Aph2016

Every town I have driven through this weekend has been packed with people drinking pints, coffee, hanging around socialising, and enjoying the good weather. People are getting on with living their lives, at some point the government need to use some common sense and start opening up quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I blame the government. Should have sacked the CMO in October. When they didnt and stated that government policy will always follow NPHET advice they effectively handed the country over to them. Michael Martin in particular is an absolute embarrassment and after December he will never have the stones to take the country's reign back. He'd rather burden us all with another 50b of debt before he will make a single decision again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,877 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

That vainglorious eejit Corry on again talking rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,931 ✭✭✭Russman

I blame the government. Should have sacked the CMO in October. When they didnt and stated that government policy will always follow NPHET advice they effectively handed the country over to them. Michael Martin in particular is an absolute embarrassment and after December he will never have the stones to take the country's reign back. He'd rather burden us all with another 50b of debt before he will make a single decision again.

Why should they have sacked the CMO ? Presumably because he advised going to Level 5 ? Why would he be sacked ?

Does the Taoiseach deciding to follow the advice of NPHET not count as a decision or is it only deciding to open things up that counts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Akesh wrote: »
    NPHET:

https://extra.ie/2021/04/25/news/irish-news/cmo-holohan-puts-dampener-on-gov-summer-plans-at-nphet-return-meeting

Jesus wept. What are the people in NPHET smoking? You couldn't make it up how out of their depth this 'expert group' are.

It's very clear that several NPHET members are suffering from the lockdown coming out with absolute nonsense like that.

To be honest, I got a bit of a laugh out of that. If they think that people are going to not meet up... Or meet up and not use the toilets... Or go home if there's a bit of a passing shower, then their detachment from reality is staggering.

Holohan and co are dead right about how ppl will completely disregard indoor gathering risks

Especially if alcohol is involved

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Holohan and co are dead right about how ppl will completely disregard indoor gathering risks

What they are completely disregarding is that people will meet up

They need to issue guidelines people can live with

Currently you should not have visitors to your home or garden, but can meet up outdoors

However in Dublin its illegal to drink outside so you've vans of public order police descending in areas to disperse groups

Its moronic

I think Martin means well and has a plan about how to reopen but his communication is appalling. I know he didnt mean it literally but today he said we cant stay sealed off forever 'because we are an island'....presumably we could if we werent one.

I cant understand how there isnt more urgency eg we are doing our best to deal with this crisis and continually considering options for how to reopen as soon as possible. Instead its a 'not before June or maybe August...with a little nervous giggle thrown in as if a mont or two makes no difference to anyone. Extraordinary stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭MOR316

I was told some weeks ago, by someone very close to the situation, that NPHET don't want pubs opened in any capacity, indoor or outdoor until September, at the absolute earliest... Their intention is/was February 2022

Looks like that person is being proved correct...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Time to sack CMO & disband / rebrand NPHET with more representation from other sectors. Dr Holohan coming out with such suggestions as ‘outdoor summer’, no idea if vaccines work, etc despite him and NPHET consistently saying hold firm until the vaccine arrives.
    Incompetence of the highest order, no regard for businesses and people living under lockdown for nearly all of the previous 12 months. If the government don’t grow a pair this week, it will have huge consequences right across society, it will cause huge societal problems going into the summer months. Many businesses will fold, our connectivity as an island could be destroyed, FDI will start to go elsewhere, where sanity reigns rather than worrymeters and fear filled propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Akesh wrote: »
    NPHET:

"Ireland’s most senior doctor said the prospect of indoor dining and of families entertaining friends is not on the cards for May or June."

not on the cards? hate to break it to you Tony...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Cycled through my nearest touristy site today. Its clear people don't care any more. Picnic tables outside the only pub serving takeaway pints absolutely wedged with punters. No Gardai around so bit of a party atmosphere about the place. Not even close to 100mtrs from the pub. Anyone actually still adhering to the restrictions are only kidding themselves at this stage.
    Open up.

Cycled through my nearest touristy site today. Its clear people don't care any more. Picnic tables outside the only pub serving takeaway pints absolutely wedged with punters. No Gardai around so bit of a party atmosphere about the place. Not even close to 100mtrs from the pub. Anyone actually still adhering to the restrictions are only kidding themselves at this stage.
    Open up.

This exact example shows why NPHET won’t signal any easing of restrictions

You’ve made the point as well as Holohan would’ve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,113 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

You'd be irrate wouldn't ya

This exact example shows why NPHET won’t signal any easing of restrictions

You’ve made the point as well as Holohan would’ve.

He's wasting his own time. The people generally have had enough of his over cautious rhetoric. Its being ignored as I type this.
    Open up. Let's get back to living and working

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

What the **** is NPHET's actual plan here? Less then 200 in hospital, under 50 in the ICU, and a decent chuck of the population (large chunk of the vulnerable) vaccinated. So lets have more severe restrictions then last summer when we had no vaccines? They seem to be on the zero covid train, cause that's about the only explanation i can think of for them continuing on this path.

The day before the easing of some restrictions, they once again come out with this ****ing bull****! It's a complete ****ing farce at this stage. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,003 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

MOR316 wrote: »
    I was told some weeks ago, by someone very close to the situation, that NPHET don't want pubs opened in any capacity, indoor or outdoor until September, at the absolute earliest... Their intention is/was February 2022

That's because Holohan has an anti-alcohol agenda that he's using the "crisis" to push through.

He's kept pubs closed or limited for most of the last year, minimum alcohol pricing is imminent, and he's really trying to push this idea of gastro pubs replacing traditional pubs going forward.

I don't even go to the pub much anymore (pre-Covid obviously), but the intent is clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,297 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Holohan and Co need to mind their business with what people do in their own homes. This infantilism of people needs to be stamped out post haste.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

For the sake of the country's collective mental health, I am advocating one last very strict month-long MHQ-type lockdown. We all need to hold firm and make sure that this lockdown happens.

For this lockdown, I would like to see all government cabinet ministers and NPHET members quarantined at RTE's very large facility at Donnybrook. An electrified fence should be erected around this facility and guarded by the army. No member of the cabinet, NPHET, and especially RTE should be allowed out of this facility. And we most definitely need to cut off their internet access and deny them their most coveted platform that they use to formulate polices and spread their fearmongering i.e. Social Media.

I predict that this would lead to a resounding success and a very happy citizenry.

Well that's very bleak

Plenty of businesses won't survive that long

So we'd have majority vaccinated yet no hospitality for over a year lol

Some joke from NPHET

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Well that's very bleak

Plenty of businesses won't survive that long

So we'd have majority vaccinated yet no hospitality for over a year lol

Some joke from NPHET

And meanwhile the rest of Europe will be moving on with their lives. As they should.

How would NPHET justify to the government the continued closure of pubs if they had opened everywhere else?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭MOR316

How would NPHET justify to the government the continued closure of pubs if they had opened everywhere else?

Don't know... What I do know is that Tony Holohan is extremely anti alcohol so I'm sure he'll come up with something

He's wasting his own time. The people generally have had enough of his over cautious rhetoric. Its being ignored as I type this.
    Open up. Let's get back to living and working

Thanks. But I’ll take his advice over a randomer on boards and I’d suspect the govt will too.

Muahahahaha, justify you say :)
    That's a good one. Justification beyond being merely concerned is a pipe dream and not required here.
    Prof Nolan's random number generator is all they need to maintain the concern levels. Add in the fact that we have D'Variant (the worst of which hasn't even been discovered yet) and unlike every other country the vaccine may not actually work here, we need an abundance of caution till we get past the possible winter surge.

Don't know... What I do know is that Tony Holohan is extremely anti alcohol so I'm sure he'll come up with something

I dont doubt that you are right. If the government were to follow through on that then serious questions would need to be asked.

"Ireland’s most senior doctor said the prospect of indoor dining and of families entertaining friends is not on the cards for May or June."

not on the cards? hate to break it to you Tony...

The shear arrogance of that statement is something else. This chap actually believes he controls everyone's lives.

Thanks. But I’ll take his advice over a randomer on boards and I’d suspect the govt will too.

You do that, meanwhile, in the real world, families and friends are meeting up every chance they can get.

JRant wrote: »
    You do that, meanwhile, in the real world, families and friends are meeting up every chance they can get.

No they are not. I’ve driven a bit today around my locality and most ppl are following the guidance.