Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭dalyboy

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I heard that as well..not to far off now and a lot better than I thought. I was sure it wouldn't be allowed until September...I'd be a bit concerned with Mid July however and think it might be better to wait until the summer holidays are actually over just in case we get a spike in numbers...

Ahh but if we wait till September sure might as well wait till January (don’t want to repeat last Xmas an all.)

• Registered Users Posts: 857 ✭✭✭PintOfView

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Nope, don't use social media, don't go on to "nonsense websites", I use the BBC, Guardian and the telegraph as news - I see what I see, did that minister say that or not ???

He did.

I know it makes no sense, but it is what it is.

It was your "There is something deeply deeply sinister going on here."
    that made me think you were in the grips of the CT ecosystem.

I can't see anything sinister,
    just different governments trying to deal with this as best they can.
    Australia and NZ seem to have been particularly successful,
    and absolutely nothing sinister as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I heard that as well..not to far off now and a lot better than I thought. I was sure it wouldn't be allowed until September...I'd be a bit concerned with Mid July however and think it might be better to wait until the summer holidays are actually over just in case we get a spike in numbers...

Did you manage to make it to the beach yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

pjohnson wrote: »
    It seems that way given how riled up the regulars here get when things are opened. Doesnt suit the fantasy of Evil Tony locking us down until 2025.

Not sure if they have news where you are Johnson but by the way things are looking we're set to be on a tighter leash with vaccines than without them.

The narrative of an outdoor summer coincided with holohans return so while we might not be locked down until 2025, please tell me when you see things going back to normal? Or are you just going to dodge any post that cant be evaded with a half arsed one liner as usual?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Sure better leave it until November just to be sure. They're planning for 80% for end of June, why in gods name would mid-July be concerning? It should be in June.

anyone in the hospitality sector seeing inter country travel being mooted for mid July might as well just shut up shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

It seems NHPET really don't want to let go of the reins.

They worked all their lives for this position, suppose it brings a huge sense of power and achievement.

Hard for anyone to let that go once they get it.

Mid July for inter County travel, yeah I'm convinced now they just can't accept they won't be needed soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

It seems NHPET really don't want to let go of the reins.

They worked all their lives for this position, suppose it brings a huge sense of power and achievement.

Hard for anyone to let that go once they get it.

Mid July for inter County travel, yeah I'm convinced now they just can't accept they won't be needed soon.

And mid July rolls around and there'll be another cause for concern or variant of concern to roadblock that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,045 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

If its only intercounty travel for mid July that's half of one of the two months for staycations gone

Hospitality sector the sacrificial lambs for NPHET caution and the government rolling over again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,646 ✭✭✭Penfailed

pueblo wrote: »
    Klaus Schwab and the EMF don't think it's nonsense.

https://www.weforum.org/focus/the-great-reset

It's 'WEF' and there's a whole thread about The Great Reset elsewhere on the forum.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES(x2), And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

ray Whaley on newstalk now repeating the Coleman Indian bull**** from this morning and not challenged at all by pat kenny. This is the new narrative. Like wtf is going on here. Disgracefull stuff yet again from the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

7,500 at a football match in the suburbs of Copenhagen on Sunday. Giant screens being erected in the main square of the city for the Euros. 50,000 expected in the square to watch the games.

Meanwhile in Leprechaunland.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Boggles wrote: »
    You're Championing more sickness, overwhelmed hospital systems and death than the UK all ready experienced?

That's perfectly normal.

if you put it like that.
    yes. yes I am.

Because (as stated previously) if you have this mindset that you champion.
    We will never do anything because we will be too busy wetting ourselves over every illness that comes along.

Boggles wrote: »
    This was Sunday. :rolleyes:
    [/IMG]

yes cos lockdowns havent been a feature there for the past 12months or so....nope???
    the cops didn't batter people for breaking rules or call to arrest people for having the wrong opinions on social media?

The government minister and trade unions didn't state that mandatory vaccines were probable. I know it was pre covid but a minister and trade unions had a mantra of "no jab, no job"

all recent history . erased cos of a photo last sunday.
    well done you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭titan18

copeyhagen wrote: »
    the thing about Australians is that they dont really tend to go outside of Australia on holidays do they? not like Europeans do.

so it makes little difference if theyre stuck on their beautiful HUGE island for a couple of months.. they have it all there.

They travel a sh1tload. Similar to the US a lot of it can be domestic but even then they still do a fair amount of outside Australia trips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

titan18 wrote: »
    They travel a sh1tload. Similar to the US a lot of it can be domestic but even then they still do a fair amount of outside Australia trips

Aussies tend to do a lot of travelling abroad but for shorter number of trips but for longer periods due to their relative isolation from the rest of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

PintOfView wrote: »
    It was your "There is something deeply deeply sinister going on here."
    that made me think you were in the grips of the CT ecosystem.

I can't see anything sinister,
    just different governments trying to deal with this as best they can.
    Australia and NZ seem to have been particularly successful,
    and absolutely nothing sinister as far as I can see.

And as for them saying even when they are 100% vaccinated they won't open up ?

This is not just Australia, this seems a genuine trend, and I ask why ...

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Aussies tend to do a lot of travelling abroad but for shorter number of trips but for longer periods due to their relative isolation from the rest of the world.

Ya, I know from my own experiences of travelling, I always run into groups of Australians. It's like how you can nearly always guarantee running into another Irish person. I'd imagine as you said it's that when they do and coming to European cities, much like the US they come for weeks rather than a weekend break like we'd do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

copeyhagen wrote: »
    the thing about Australians is that they dont really tend to go outside of Australia on holidays do they? not like Europeans do.
    so it makes little difference if theyre stuck on their beautiful HUGE island for a couple of months.. they have it all there.

Whaat? Aussies love to travel, as most of them are of European descent and many are young Irish, English and other EU nationals living and working their it must be hell not being able to go back and see friends and families.... Not to mention that the majority of that "huge island" is a desert filled with things that can bite and kill you so traveling is very important to Australian citizens for business and leisure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

So depressing seeing on Instagram nightclubs in the likes of Miami wide open, no masks and everyone enjoying themselves like it was 2019.

Meanwhile the prospect of us socialising indoors THIS YEAR is getting slimmer by the because..........variants or too risky or whatever excuse the Govt are using now to stop us mixing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭mohawk

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    If its only intercounty travel for mid July that's half of one of the two months for staycations gone

Hospitality sector the sacrificial lambs for NPHET caution and the government rolling over again

It also means anyone that booked something for early July probably won’t get any summer break this year as August/end of July is fairly booked out or very very expensive along the coast.

So many people that struggled with the restrictions kept themselves going at thoughts of getting a break away with family in summer. Not everyone can wait until September or October to go.

I vaguely recall Pascal O’Donoghoe saying unemployment would drop by 78,000 by year end. At the time I thought that sounded too low, but if they are keeping hospitality etc closed then it makes sense that many people should expect not to be able to return to employment this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,621 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

paw patrol wrote: »
    if you put it like that.
    yes. yes I am.

Because (as stated previously) if you have this mindset that you champion.
    We will never do anything because we will be too busy wetting ourselves over every illness that comes along.

Championing vast more amounts of sickness and death on top of what the UK have all ready suffered is a pretty sick opinion TBF, it's one of the reasons Boris has categorically denied saying it, again because they are abhorrent.

paw patrol wrote: »
    yes cos lockdowns havent been a feature there for the past 12months or so....nope???
    the cops didn't batter people for breaking rules or call to arrest people for having the wrong opinions on social media?

The government minister and trade unions didn't state that mandatory vaccines were probable. I know it was pre covid but a minister and trade unions had a mantra of "no jab, no job"

all recent history . erased cos of a photo last sunday.
    well done you

Huh?

I think you need to do some research on how Oz have managed the pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Again the worrying thing ...

So, are they admitting they never want to open up ?
    As by the time Australia are vaccinated the rest of the world will be ....

There is something deeply deeply sinister going on here.

Australia have very harsh border restrictions but at least they have and have had more freedom within the country over the past year than most of other first world countries.

Here in Ireland we seem to be next in line after Oz and NZ in terms of harsh border restrictions, have a significant portion vaccinated (25% of adults with a first dose), have harsher restrictions within the country than anyone else, are the longest within our current lockdown and will be the last to exit from lockdown also.

How do we have it so bad from every angle? What are we gaining from our MHQ system or our 2k fines for going abroad? What are we gaining from our intercounty travel bans or not allowed to eat outside until June? What did we gain by being the only country in the world to close construction? I don't know how people still think any of this is still acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    So depressing seeing on Instagram nightclubs in the likes of Miami wide open, no masks and everyone enjoying themselves like it was 2019.

Meanwhile the prospect of us socialising indoors THIS YEAR is getting slimmer by the because..........variants or too risky or whatever excuse the Govt are using now to stop us mixing.

I still find it mind blowing that it's illegal to simply meet someone in your garden. And yet we have people claiming we don't have severe restrictions.

mohawk wrote: »
    It also means anyone that booked something for early July probably won’t get any summer break this year as August/end of July is fairly booked out or very very expensive along the coast.

So many people that struggled with the restrictions kept themselves going at thoughts of getting a break away with family in summer. Not everyone can wait until September or October to go.

I vaguely recall Pascal O’Donoghoe saying unemployment would drop by 78,000 by year end. At the time I thought that sounded too low, but if they are keeping hospitality etc closed then it makes sense that many people should expect not to be able to return to employment this year.

100%

My trip for mid July is under serious jeopardy the way the leaks are going

The same time last year I made the same trip. Intercounty, hotels open, restaurants open

80% of the country meant to have a first vaccination by end of June yet worse restrictions than last summer

Mind boggling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

kwestfan08 wrote: »

Equally depressing and sad are the scenes coming out of India.

But as you said "everyone" in Florida enjoying themselves like it was 2019

Oh and over 40% of people in Florida have now received at least one dose of vaccine.

Good for them...

Ya, I really hope they open inter county by mid June. I can deal with no June bank holiday weekend but mid July would be stupid. What's the point of allowing hotels etc to open in mid June if people can't travel to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

gozunda wrote: »

Oh and over 40% of people in Florida have now received at least one dose of vaccine.

Good for them...

So when we reach 40% of people here with at least one shot we can open up then correct? Seems like it would be safe to given what’s happening in the US?

100%

My trip for mid July is under serious jeopardy the way the leaks are going

The same time last year I made the same trip. Intercounty, hotels open, restaurants open

80% of the country meant to have a first vaccination by end of June yet worse restrictions than last summer

Mind boggling

we're in the same boat

it's staggering the levels of paralysis that's taken hold here... and it's no coincidence at all that the dithering report gatherer Michael Martin is Taoiseach overseeing all of this

titan18 wrote: »
    Ya, I really hope they open inter county by mid June. I can deal with no June bank holiday weekend but mid July would be stupid. What's the point of allowing hotels etc to open in mid June if people can't travel to them.

Also what's the point in hotels being open if you can't have breakfast or dinner in them?

Sure go on a staycation but bring takeaways back to your room

lawred2 wrote: »
    we're in the same boat

it's staggering the levels of paralysis that's taken hold here... and it's no coincidence at all that the dithering report gatherer Michael Martin is Taoiseach overseeing all of this

No coincidence the mood changed suddenly when Tony came back either

Also what's the point in hotels being open if you can't have breakfast or dinner in them?

Sure go on a staycation but bring takeaways back to your room

Who said hotels will open with closed dining areas?

namloc1980 wrote: »
    I still find it mind blowing that it's illegal to simply meet someone in your garden. And yet we have people claiming we don't have severe restrictions.

they wouldn't have been meeting people in their gardens anyway

That's the leaks at the moment

No intercounty travel until mid July
    Intercounty open to encourage staycations
    However government under pressure as you can't differentiate between indoor dining for hotels and restaurants

staycations with leisure centers, pools, bars and restaurants all closed

sounds fab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Intercounty travel re-commenced on the 12th April. Like a lot of their rubbish restrictions, a large cohort are done with it. Gardai have an impossible job stopping travel now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Intercounty travel re-commenced on the 12th April. Like a lot of their rubbish restrictions, a large cohort are done with it. Gardai have an impossible job stopping travel now

My parents (both in their 70's) went off for a drive last week (we live in Cork) and were in Kenmare before they realised that they "shouldn't" have crossed the border :D

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

Good for them...

Like a broken record at this stage.

Bridge93 wrote: »

technically it didn't

and a lot of people will still adhere to that

That's more of an unfounded opinion based on nothing at all.

Have you link to the journalist who wrote it? I can't imagine hotels wanting to open without at least some facilities.

Either people getting upset over hearsay will drive themselves mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Foreigndad

As a Danish person living in Dublin for the last few years it is very fascinating to compare the handling here versus Denmark. Ignoring the deaths and hospitalisations, the communication and sentiment is really night and day. It has started to ease here in Ireland in all honesty but the general aura of fear in Ireland is something I really haven't experienced before and that just isn't present in Denmark (or the rest of Scandinavia, have lots of friends and family in Sweden and Norway too). Not sure if Irish people generally are more afraid of death and getting sick, or if it is purely different communication from media and leadership? My guess is the latter. Very surprised though, had not expected this reaction.

Have a teenage daughter in a school in Dublin and the time she has had to be home from school must be 3-4 times the length of her friends and cousins in Denmark (they don't even have to wear masks in schools). It has been tough on her and I can only imagine how tough it must be for kids from underprivileged backgrounds or for kids with poor teachers and parents that can't help. My daughter's teachers really have been fantastic and done the best out of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

What is it with some people here using what’s happening in India to justify our continued lockdown? It’s almost as if they are absolutely delighted with what’s happening. Falling over themselves to make ludicrous comparisons. And they still say that they don’t want this to go on forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭emo72

I booked a weekend away for June bank holiday back in January. I really thought with the vaccines and the front line workers, the elderly, and the at risk groups vaccinated, I though we would easily be in the clear.

All I can see is goalposts running around the pitch.

It's madness lads.

big syke wrote: »
    Like a broken record at this stage.

I'm not convinced that all these lockdown fans are really that depressed or saddened by what's going on in India

Just another somewhere to point at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Foreigndad wrote: »
    As a Danish person living in Dublin for the last few years it is very fascinating to compare the handling here versus Denmark. Ignoring the deaths and hospitalisations, the communication and sentiment is really night and day. It has started to ease here in Ireland in all honesty but the general aura of fear in Ireland is something I really haven't experienced before and that just isn't present in Denmark (or the rest of Scandinavia, have lots of friends and family in Sweden and Norway too). Not sure if Irish people generally are more afraid of death and getting sick, or if it is purely different communication from media and leadership? My guess is the latter. Very surprised though, had not expected this reaction.

Have a teenage daughter in a school in Dublin and the time she has had to be home from school must be 3-4 times the length of her friends and cousins in Denmark (they don't even have to wear masks in schools). It has been tough on her and I can only imagine how tough it must be for kids from underprivileged backgrounds or for kids with poor teachers and parents that can't help. My daughter's teachers really have been fantastic and done the best out of the situation.
    Agree with you completely. My wife is Swedish so I’ve a lot of friends over there and it is nothing like over here. They just get on with things. Irish people are absolutely addicted to misery.

Sure the flagship entertainment show every Friday night has as a rule had at least one slot to discuss death and illness for as long as I can remember

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

lawred2 wrote: »
    I'm not convinced that all these lockdown fans are really that depressed or saddened by what's going on in India

Just another somewhere to point at

I dunno I am sure they are saddened and it is awful.

But my point is at every chance bringing India up where it has no place in the conversation is just a bit crazy to me.

"Ah its **** seeing x place opening up up and having fun"...Response " ye nearly as **** as whats happening in India"

Like honest to god. The mind Boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Intercounty travel has been rumoured in both June and July, so will hold fire until that gets clarified. July would be crazy, anything passed early/mid June would be.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭11521323

We're also unbelievably weak as a population. Most people will accept being bent over perpetually once the man on the television says we need to.

We've restricted our way into poll position within Europe for any statistic you want to look at (relating to Covid-19 suppression) and yet our reward for all that effort is a slower reopening than the rest of the world.

The people's response? "Ah sure hopefully we'll be able to sit inside a restaurant by the end of the year"

It's sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

What is it with some people here using what’s happening in India to justify our continued lockdown? It’s almost as if they are absolutely delighted with what’s happening. Falling over themselves to make ludicrous comparisons. And they still say that they don’t want this to go on forever.

I don't see anything to make me think people are delighted with what's happening.

No one would want any of this to go on forever and to say they do is just being dramatic and over the top with comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭eggy81

Good for them...

What happened in India