Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish family appeal mandatory quarantine..

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

volchitsa wrote: »
    She wanted a party. She's complaining about "not even" being able to buy a birthday cake when they had planned to be here in time for the kid to have her birthday in Ireland. Doesn't sound like they were just planning on buying a cake.
    It sounds like a good opportunity for some cheap PR by the hotel, which they should embrace. They can make the cake too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

She wanted a party. She's complaining about "not even" being able to buy a birthday cake when they had planned to be here in time for the kid to have her birthday in Ireland. Doesn't sound like they were just planning on buying a cake.

Makes no difference if they are at the hotel or in their own house, there is only one way her girl can get her cake days after arrival: delivered to the place.
    No going out shopping, no visitors.

The mother doesn't seem to get it at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

It's so tone deaf on their part. FFS.
    'Appealing', give me strength.
    People here have been through so much in the past year.

I recently attended a relative's funeral, online.
    And knowing that the person's grandchildren who loved him, and he them, couldn't be there, because of the restrictions in numbers, was heartbreaking.
    That's only one small story. I know there's thousands of others.

Their whining about two weeks in a hotel room makes me sick. Apparently she is now upgraded to a suite in the hotel but 'it's still a litany of disasters'. Her words, not mine.

And she won’t stop whining till they allow her to quarantine in a house. Zero sympathy for them, moaning about no where to put their stuff, too lazy to open cases and put it in the wardrobes. It’s not the perfect situation but we have all sacrificed so much of our freedom over the past year, so suck it up missus and stop moaning.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,527 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Although, I understand that they have upgraded their accommodation now. Why did the hotel not give them the better rooms in the first place?

Nothing wrong with the two rooms to begin with ,hotel shouldn't have upgraded them, only asking for more hassle.

I feel sorry for the husband and kids,she's a daft ****er.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭Curlysue76

yabadabado wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with the two rooms to begin with ,hotel shouldn't have upgraded them, only asking for more hassle.

I feel sorry for the husband and kids,she's a daft ****er.

Just goes to show those who shout the loudest get what they want, great lesson for the kids!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Feisar

Anyone getting three hots and a cot has no right to be complaining. A daft non story.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

Antares35 wrote: »
    Can people really be trusted to quarantine at home at this stage FFS. They're coming from a high risk country. And by her own admission, she wanted to be free to skip off and get a birthday cake.

If gov was doing its job and setup means to check if they are and fine those not following house quarantine, we would be able to trust it. Would be cheaper, more effective and with much smaller impact.

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭gingerhousewife

I think she's in for a shock when she gets out of quarantine and discovers what life is like in perpetual level 5.

I guess without living through the past year in Ireland, it must be impossible to understand what we have all been through, so she's coming from relative "normality" and has no idea how ridiculous her complaints of "hardship" sound to the rest of us.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,359 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

She sounds like she's completely unaware that there's a pandemic...

The lad must be some doormat. That or exhausted with crap like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭sporina

An Ri rua wrote: »
    Are you perhaps expecting the British to issue sanctions for Irish human rights violations?
    If you're not trolling at this stage, you must have drank a sentimentality potion at the local New Age market.

no idea what you on about..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

is_that_so wrote: »
    Is that a VUI or a VOC? There are well over 650K genetic variants BTW.
    I don't know I'm only going off what I'm hearing from over there. I'll bet if you asked that family they will say the government over there did brilliantly with there quarantine. So why not comply with our rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I think she's in for a shock when she gets out of quarantine and discovers what life is like in perpetual level 5.

I guess without living through the past year in Ireland, it must be impossible to understand what we have all been through, so she's coming from relative "normality" and has no idea how ridiculous her complaints of "hardship" sound to the rest of us.
    How do we know for sure she'd be caught at a random check? Or do you propose a check outside every house that these people stay in? Why is it always on the government to police it?

Edit sorry replied to wrong post!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I wonder if in a week or two we will have airlines routing planes to avoid quarantine.

If it wasn't for a layover in dubai this family wouldn't be in the quarantine net.

So fly a different route or don't let people onto the plane during the layover. Might make things easier for some passengers.

Airlines might be charging a surcharge for the service.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

I feel sorry for them - they obviously thought they were returning to the country they remembered, not this bat**** crazy, hysterical society we’ve been turned into. The quarantine system is a futile, senseless joke. Variants will spread worldwide regardless, they’re already here.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

lawred2 wrote: »
    She sounds like she's completely unaware that there's a pandemic...

The lad must be some doormat. That or exhausted with crap like this.

I wouldn’t agree - he’s kept well out of it - hard to do stuck in 2 rooms with a raving self entitled lunatic you’re married to.

Pity the hotel upgraded them - sure its good PR but will cause a heartache when everyone (else) realises they can get more than what they’re entitled to or have paid for by whinnging

I wonder is she related to Margaret Cash in any way?

I pity the husband and the kids.

They are also in for an awful fright when they get to their own ‘holiday home’ in Easky and have to heat the rooms they will be stuck in 24/7 themselves and pay for their own gas/LX. The Sligo public and gaurds will also now recognise them if they wander 5k out - they’ve really put themselves on the map and not in a good way.
    Bad start for the family and worse start for the kids.

Why, being a nurse, would you move your kids from a covid free continent where they grew up in the sun to a rainy dark miserable one that is infested with it? Where schools are closed and they know noone. Why??

Its not as thou she has a positive mental attitude that will help the kids get through it and adjust. i feel so sorry for the husband.

Why, being a nurse, would you move your kids from a covid free continent where they grew up in the sun to a rainy dark miserable one that is infested with it? Where schools are closed and they know noone. Why??

So she can whinge about it.

Antares35 wrote: »
    So she can whinge about it.

She’ll fit right in as a self entitled civil servant so.

Crowne Plaza rooms looks lovely - two big armchairs and a demi couch in the main bedroom - nice. Must bear them in mind when the restrictions are lifted and I finally get to go somewhere.

5 big paper bags of lunch delivered and a tray of something tasty opened on the table - wouldn’t mind a bit of that tlc myself!! I guess as a nurse someone has trained her not to leave bags of food on a floor in a public place & to put them up on the table? Not great hygeine standards for an olcology nurse. She’ll fit right in to the irish hospital system.

Feisar wrote: »
    Anyone getting three hots and a cot has no right to be complaining. A daft non story.

What are three hots?

Oh beds.

I wouldn’t agree - he’s kept well out of it - hard to do stuck in 2 rooms with a raving self entitled lunatic you’re married to.

Pity the hotel upgraded them - sure its good PR but will cause a heartache when everyone (else) realises they can get more than what they’re entitled to or have paid for by whinnging

I wonder is she related to Margaret Cash in any way?

I pity the husband and the kids.

They are also in for an awful fright when they get to their own ‘holiday home’ in Easky and have to heat the rooms they will be stuck in 24/7 themselves and pay for their own gas/LX. The Sligo public and gaurds will also now recognise them if they wander 5k out - they’ve really put themselves on the map and not in a good way.
    Bad start for the family and worse start for the kids.

Its not as thou she has a positive mental attitude that will help the kids get through it and adjust. i feel so sorry for the husband.

Did I not suggest "exhausted with crap like this"!?

However you know as much about the husband as anyone else so I wouldn't necessarily start feeling "sorry" for anyone.

Like you though I just can't wrap my head around leaving Australia right now... Especially Western Australia.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

Fecking Eejits, they should have planned their trip at the very least to not go through Dubai if they wanted to Quarantine at home when they got here. I've no sympathy to be honest its just a sob story instead of just getting on with it. Some basic research or planning would've saved them all this hassle.

What are three hots?

Oh beds.

Three hot meals a day!!!
    Shopped for, cooked, and delivered to your hotel door!

I’m in quarrentine over a year now and I havn’t had that kind of service!! Maybe I need a holiday and should check into a hotel for some TLC - o - I forgot - the industry is destroyed because of covid and ****WITS who will not follow the basic quarrentine rules and think they don’t or shouldn’t apply to them which hs us exactly where we are now. Locked Up, Lonely and totally F*****.

But yer wan from Sligo thinks the quarrentine rules don’t or shouldn’t somehow apply to her and her family. ffs.

Entitled much.

I should just stop reading the Irish Times too - a tabloid for left wing ABC1’s. Last week just after the vermin Cash type beggars harassed and stole 120,000 from two elderly widows living alone they ran a story about how the same self entitled cohort were sleeping at the side of roads with no running water or permanent piped sewage. Not a word of the elderly pensioners whose lives they had ruined and terrorised. This weeks its wannabe covid breakers getting too much oxygen. Just boils my blood.

I notice they didn’t run a story on the three thousand babies and toddlers RAPED and depraved pictures and videos found on the computer of that known depraved sex offender prostitute Brazillian pervert living in Dublin who got a cosy 3 year sentence - and recommended as a low risk for reoffending because he had apologised to the court. Our media seriously needs to get a grip in this country. Start with the likes of the rag whose editors thought it acceptable to focus in this self entitled womans ‘story’. Margaret Cash much. More like Typhoid Mary. At least the Americans kept her locked up.

Where have you been quarantined for a year?

lawred2 wrote: »
    Where have you been quarantined for a year?

in my house. You know what I intend to mean I hope. No visitors, no visiting family in hospital or then in nursing homes, no people over, no going to an office to work, no gym, no sport, etc. All the little details of things that nursey missed out when planning her new life in the old sod.

you know what i mean!!

Curlysue76 wrote: »
    This 100%, she really has little to worry about,

She could also ask for one of the double beds to be switched out for a single, or even a sofa that pulls out as a bed at night, many hotels I've stayed in have these. Give them a little more floor space and a more comfortable sitting area.

Take out clothes for two days, then close up the suit cases and stack them up, no need to have them all open, covering the floor. Someone made a good point about stacking them in one of the two bathrooms.

Acknowledged, its not great, but they could do a lot to make it easier on themselves.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Although, I understand that they have upgraded their accommodation now. Why did the hotel not give them the better rooms in the first place?

They shouldn't have. F*ck them. Everyone else has to and thousands have done the same the world over for the last year.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0327/1206518-coronavirus-quarantine-ireland/

"We've come from Australia, where the kids were outdoors, they spend their day on the trampoline or doing handstands or in the garden, or in the pool. My youngest turns nine tomorrow [and] one of her big requests was to get home in time to have a birthday in Ireland. But we hadn't anticipated that I actually wouldn't even be able to buy her a birthday cake".

Leave them there longer, she clearly had no intentions of restricting her movements once she got here.

They shouldn't have. F*ck them. Everyone else has to and thousands have done the same the world over for the last year.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0327/1206518-coronavirus-quarantine-ireland/

"We've come from Australia, where the kids were outdoors, they spend their day on the trampoline or doing handstands or in the garden, or in the pool. My youngest turns nine tomorrow [and] one of her big requests was to get home in time to have a birthday in Ireland. But we hadn't anticipated that I actually wouldn't even be able to buy her a birthday cake".

Leave them there longer, she clearly had no intentions of restricting her movements once she got here.
    Did she think there would be a bakery in the hotel? Or that she'd be allowed leave the hotel to go to one? I'm not sure which assumption is more stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,390 ✭✭✭volchitsa

It sounds like she didn't want to come at all, doesn't it? And I can see why.

I wonder if this was all her husband's project, and she was following reluctantly.

But that really isn't anyone else's fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭Odelay

She should get a bag of cans delivered everyday. Two weeks would fly by.

She’ll fit right in as a self entitled civil servant so.

Just a FYI..

Doctors, Nurses, Gardai, HSE workers, etc are public servants, not civil servants.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Be right back

Then they should have left Perth 2 weeks ago so her daughter could have had her birthday party.