Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best place to sell a barely used GTX1080?

• 29-03-2021 11:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭

As per my other thread I am probably going down the pre-built route to get my hands on an RTX3080. Once I get the new pre-built and harvest it for parts there will be a cascading effect of the spare parts from it combined with the parts of my current PC and an RTX2060 I bought for MSRP last year, to make a 6700K/RTX2060 VRPC build for my brother and a 4670K based Media Server.

I’ll have a spare GTX1080 that I can sell to offset some of the cost of the new pre-built. Its a Palit Super Jetstream. (2.5 Slot) I’ve plasti-dipped it white and when I was de-lidding my 6700K I used the leftovers and re-timmed the GPU with CLU liquid metal. (Copper heatsink baseplate on nickel die so no dissolving aluminium!) GPU boosts to 2012mhz 24/7 and hits about 60deg with 50% fan at full load.

AfL4cnU.jpg

Life and health got in the way of my VR gaming so this 4.5 year old GPU probably has the ‘mileage’ on it of a 1 year old GPU of a regular gamer. The reason I am selling this GTX1080 GPU instead of the RTX2060 despite them being about the same performance level is that its going into a VRPC for Wired via Oculus Link (USB3) or Wireless VR gaming via Virtual Desktop on a Quest 2 both of which need top tier Video compression hardware which the RTX2060 has with its newer nVENC chipset but the GTX1080 doesn’t.

Who’d have ever foreseen that a 4.5yo GPU might sell for close to what I paid for it in August 2016, but here we are. ‘Sold Listings’ on ebay show these selling for about €500. Downside, is I hear that ebay is a buyers paradise and sellers nightmare with no comeback if buyer scams you out of the card and money.

Anyone got any advice on how to safely sell the card?

• Registered Users Posts: 34,816 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Adverts is always great for unloadings things like this. I use ebay a good bit myself for more obscure items that might not have an Irish market - but anything that will sell within Ireland then try to stick with adverts.

Biggest thing is no fees, you'll be paying ebay a percentage of the final sale price if you go with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,768 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Have not had any issues with Ebay , I was buying and selling on it for years.

However the fees are robbery these days - for Ireland adverts is your best bet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shlippery

Honestly GPU+Adverts and i'm sure that will be gone by the end of the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭Calibos

Thanks for the adverts.ie advice!

Jaysus, I checked GTX970 sold listings on ebay just now as my brother gave me his old Sandybridge 2500K 2011 PC to see if any parts were harvestable for my other plans after he built a new PC for himself a few months ago. It has a Windforce 3 fan GTX970.

Selling for an average of €180!!

The GPU world has truly gone mad!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭Calibos

Ah Here!!

WTF is going on? I was digging deep into a cupboard to find the Windforce G1 Gaming 970 box I knew I had and inside it was the MSI Twin Frozr II GTX580 that was supplanted by the 970. For the laugh I searched Adverts.ie for Sold GTX580's and there was a Twin Frozr III 580 that sold about 2 weeks ago for €85!! Thats a 10 year old GPU!! Why would anyone buy a 10 year old GPU like a GTX580!! I'm going to put that on Adverts.ie too and if someone wants it great, if someone scams me out of it....sure it was due to be Weee Recycled anyway! :D

LOL...and a non functional GTX580 sold for €20. I also have a non functioning 'Twin' of that Twin Frozr II because they were bought for SLI back in 2011.

rRvUEat.jpg

Jaysus, I could make a fair few euro's from selling off all the spare parts I have accumulated. I was going to use some of it for various builds like I said but I thought a lot of it was only fit for the Weee recycling bin but apparently not.

Right so the plan forming in my head is to try and shift pretty much everything by trying to bundle them into full PC's for sale and only break up the parts for sale if no one bites.

ie. I'll keep the brothers cast off Z68 mobo, 16gb 2133mhz DDR3 ram and Sandybridge 2500K for my 32TB+ Media Server in my Corsair Air540 Case.

I'll put my Asus Z170-a, 4.6ghz 6700K with Corsair H115 AIO and 16gb 3000mhz Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 and the RTX 2060 into the brothers cast off Corsair 600T case with a few spare 3.5" 3 Bay Hotswap caddies and some Thermaltake Ring LED Fans with a suitable PSU from my collection. Market it as a Gaming/Media Server capable build.

s-glamour.jpg

Finally put the Z97, with 8gb DD4 and i5 4670K and the GTX1080 in a modified Masterbox Q500L and with a Deepcool Assasin III Air Cooler both of which I bought for the aborted RTX2060 VRPC build for my brother and market it as a small formfactor low/mid end gaming rig.

bd61-cooler-master-q500l-main.jpg

ie. Try and use the in demand GPU's to help shift some of my other parts.

With everything cleared out, the parts for my Media server kept, I then buy both myself and my brother a pair of VR rigs from the likes of PCSpecialist.ie. mine with a i9 10900K or Rocketlake depending on reviews and an RTX3080 and the brothers with something like a 10400 and and a 3060TI or 3070 if I'm feeling generous.

Say I got €800-€900 for the 6700K/RTX2060 build and €650-€700 for the 4670K/GTX1080 build, €180 for the G1 Gaming GTX970 and €100 (€80+€20) for the Working and non working GTX580's, well your taking about €1800. Thats a fair ol' wedge of cash off the cost of the aforementioned 2 new up to date VRPC's.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,753 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Calibos wrote: »
    Downside, is I hear that ebay is a buyers paradise and sellers nightmare with no comeback if buyer scams you out of the card and money.

Anyone got any advice on how to safely sell the card?

Adverts is best. I got scammed on eBay years ago, sold an iPod touch and didn't send it registered post, the buyer said it never arrived, I had already taken the money out of eBay and they sanctioned my account so I am unable to sell, not that I care as I tend to use adverts for most of my buying, don't go near eBay.

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭Adriatic

I sold a 1080Ti in 2 hours last November on Facebook Marketplace and a Dell U2715H monitor in a few days on Facebook too. Adverts didn't work for me since I have no feedback.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,753 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Adriatic wrote: »
    I sold a 1080Ti in 2 hours last November on Facebook Marketplace and a a Dell U2715H monitor in a few days on Facebook too. Adverts didn't work for me since I have no feedback.

Facebook Marketplace is good, any selling site where you can meet face to face is fine in my books, I wouldn't go posting stuff to Adverts users with no feedback mind.