Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Qatar v Republic of Ireland - Match Thread 30/3/21 K.O 7.45PM - RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Good goal but the level of celebrating? It's like when San Marino score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,368 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Beautiful goal :)

Mclean's 11th goal for Ireland

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

We scored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Much better intensity and intent so far about this Irish team

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Two great set-ups from Horgan already.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Penalty!

3 feet outside the square!!!!!

Horrendous decision.

Edit he has gotten the call right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

fyfe79 wrote: »

After all the shiit they've taken it was more relief than anything. Glad to see it.

Oh ffs a penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

NIMAN wrote: »
    I think he is caught between a rock and a hard place.

If he experiments and losses, his job could go. Media will have a field day if they lose to Luxembourg then Qatar.

So I think he is simply trying to win the game, to get the monkey off his back.

Ya i can understand that tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Pen, quatar, FFS 3yards outside box

Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,123 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Them boys love the aul' racism!

Devils advocate... they didn't know the Irish team were going to do it?

Its the Chinese theyre after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,912 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

About 3 miles outside the box.

No VAR they officials are waiting for the TV replays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Well, that positivity didn't last long!

No way is it a pen though, well outside the box.

Not even sure its a foul.

Way outside the box and didn't even touch him. Farce of a decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Jaysus. Where was this the other night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,193 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

That's a disgraceful decision, has to be overturned.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

That isn’t a penalty.

What is Bazunu doing though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,295 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Well done linesman.

Horrendous initial decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Come on, we haven't scored much and after last saturday I would be too!! I said this felt like a cup final.

Phew just avoided the penalty. good decision ref!

These Qatari lads are a pain in the arse arguing with the referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

So I guess Bazunu's a naughty boy rather than the messiah then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

I'd say it's more that a well worked set piece move worked, and from looking at the bench I'd say Barry was behind that given the compliments that come his way with Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,369 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Do we have to find negatives in everything? He scored for his country. Give the guy a break like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭whatawaster81

Still though what was the keeper at there?

Jaysus a referee who changes his mind to give the correct decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Could have been a red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,159 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Do they think this is the wc final?

Pen, quatar, FFS 3yards outside box

Serious dive there. Refs are trying to get on the team for the WC too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Fair play to the officials in fairness, as common sense as it was, you don't actually expect to see those rollbacks made.

What a save

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Great save although he was offside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,193 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

We don't score in games, we complain. We score in games and we also complain. Good grief.

Bazunu seems to have great confidence in himself. Good to see. I know he clipped that guy but at least he was decisive.

Good save there too even tho it was offside

I'd say it's more that a well worked set piece move worked, and from looking at the bench I'd say Barry was behind that given the compliments that come his way with Chelsea.

Yeah, in fairness, after typing I figured it was probably more to do with a specific set-piece working out. Probably after a bit of slagging on the training pitch that it wouldn't work!

Come on lads, wind down the clock now :P

We don't score in games, we complain. We score in games and we also complain. Good grief.

Well, I didn't complain when we scored twice against Serbia.

Is Long playing as a lone striker with Brady and Horgan playing behind him but in front of the midfield, or is one of them playing up front with him?

So close to 2-0, og

Seems to be playing more direct but with a purpose rather than the hoofball days of old.

Malumby can shift. Great speed there.

Faugheen wrote: »
    Seems to be playing more direct but with a purpose rather than the hoofball days of old.

Have shown more urgency tonight in the opening ten minutes than they did all night against Luxembourg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Anyone else missing the crowd noise effect? You'd think RTE would have that sorted by now

Good little game this. Plenty of energy from both sides.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Panrich

These lads like a dive.

No prisoners being taken,

Is it my imagination or are the Qatar players and bench rather loud in their 'outrage' at anything that goes against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Have shown more urgency tonight in the opening ten minutes than they did all night against Luxembourg.

Ya it's really highlighting how flat they were. The luxembourg game felt like a friendly in comparison to this.

He should have tucked that away for 1-1

Duffy needs to be better there. He’s far too close to Coleman and completely out of position.

Luckily he missed.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Anyone else missing the crowd noise effect? You'd think RTE would have that sorted by now

This is an accurate recreation of the Lansdowne Rd. crowd on friendly nights