Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Qatar v Republic of Ireland - Match Thread 30/3/21 K.O 7.45PM - RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Stephen Kenny celebrating like we've scored against Spain in the semi finals of the world cup.

maybe in his "spaced out" head we did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,603 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Not bad so far. Came out flying and the early goal at least takes the pressure off us. Playing a bit more direct which is no bad thing until we can create chances in a different way. The players look like they are up for it and Qatar are not a bad side so far. Decent game for a friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

tastyt wrote: »
    Well that is refreshing at least . Have to say McLean and Longs pace and intensity has made a difference.

Horgan and O Shea also doing well

I'm a big Kenny supporter, but not starting Long against Luxembourg was a mistake. He tries and tries and has quality. He might struggle to score goals, but what Irish player doesn't! Starting Collins ahead of him made no sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,146 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Stephen Kenny celebrating like we've scored against Spain in the semi finals of the world cup.

So ****ing what?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Not bad so far. Came out flying and the early goal at least takes the pressure off us. Playing a bit more direct which is no bad thing until we can create chances in a different way. The players look like they are up for it and Qatar are not a bad side so far. Decent game for a friendly.

Since they were given the World Cup a lot has gone into Qatar.

Some odd ones like them playing in Copa America. It did end with them winning the Asian Cup against Japan so it’s not the same Qatar we would have played against.

A good side. Not world class but much better than some seem to think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,206 ✭✭✭fyfe79

TheCitizen wrote: »
    I like Karen as an analyst. Does her homework.

Fair play to any pundit who studies up beforehand. They're few and far between. Most are lazy and seem to think the usual boring cliche's will do. I do like Kevin Doyle too, seems very natural.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

Ah look, it could have been worse, could have done a Mourinho!

How's that polar cold snap looking for the weekend?

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭sterz

No, he celebrated like we've scored vs Qatar having scored feck all since he started and not having won a game yet.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

We're attacking well. It's been entertaining so far.

I hope for more in the second half.

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Zico !

Goal off the training ground thats a positive,look a better team with the more experienced heads in there and clarke being on the bench helps a pity of a player .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

That was very frustrating!

Decent performance. A big step up from Saturday.

Not sure where Brady goes from here. He needs to get away from Burnley and get a good six months injury free first team run.

If he has the option of going to the MLS the lad should jump at it. Can't see another premier league team going after him because of his injury issues and you'd assume the championships schedule wouldn't suit his fitness, so would a top championship team take a punt on him and what wages he'd probably look for.

fyfe79 wrote: »
    Fair play to any pundit who studies up beforehand. They're few and far between. Most are lazy and seem to think the usual boring cliche's will do. I do like Kevin Doyle too, seems very natural.

Lisa Fallon is similar, and I think there's another female pundit whose good. The name Marie Crowe sounds familiar but might not be her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,333 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Oh dear

• Registered Users Posts: 9,640 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

noodler wrote: »
    I was being kind, i.e. he looks a bit laboured and sluggish.but there is a reason for it.

Being kind? I think he's saved us on a few occasions with some good challenges. Would be worried about him in a back 3 for the full 90. Hopefully Qartar will tire as the game goes on. Could do with a second goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,069 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,149 ✭✭✭Patser

Sweet suffering jesus

Goal just as I was typing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

A well taken goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,531 ✭✭✭✭noodler

The young keeper doesn't really get down and across well. Not for that one or the Lux goal (tho don't think it would have made a difference in that case).

lol

What's funny?

Good goal.

Do you remember when we beat the Saudis 4-0 and were somewhat disappointed, good times :)

Edit: it was 3-0 obviously I was disappointed it wasn't 4! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,531 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Being kind? I think he's saved us on a few occasions with some good challenges. Would be worried about him in a back 3 for the full 90. Hopefully Qartar will tire as the game goes on. Could do with a second goal.

I think he's a bit off the pace.

What's funny?

Everything's funny to a wum, just report and move on. I would but can't see his posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,417 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

lol

Look at you celebrating like Qatar scored against Spain in a WC semi final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭The White Feather

I missed the goal......What the hell happened?!

noodler wrote: »
    I think he's a bit off the pace.

He's played fine so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,386 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

These Qataris can sure string a few passes together

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users Posts: 8,985 ✭✭✭Soups123

Christie is killing us final 3rd he’s wasted 3 good chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,206 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Qatar are well up for this. They've had plenty of competitive games too. Strangely, even though they're already qualified as hosts, they're in the Asian zone WC qualifiers because those games also double up as Asian Cup qualifiers. Apparently, after the Asian Cup stage of qualifiers is complete, even if Qatar are top of their group, they will simply drop out of the qualifiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,645 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Horgan has been very good.

They are bossing things now it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,069 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Look at you celebrating like Qatar scored against Spain in a WC semi final

I'm not "celebrating", I expect it.

Said it from the start we don't have players to play the style he wants to play.

Sure, you may get the odd move together but over 90 minutes it doesn't work and it will never work.

We are not playing to our strengths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,995 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

We could end up losing again

Soups123 wrote: »

Yep and the chance Long missed was shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,827 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

We look to be fading a bit already.

Soups123 wrote: »

It's why Coleman needs to be playing RWB. He's game intelligence is the best in the squad and wouldn't waste the ball as much as Doherty or Christie in the final third. O'Connor is similar in that he's clever with what he does with the ball, but the lads playing in League Two.

Some poor first touches. Not getting regular games is not helping players,

They are bossing things now it seems

Not really. A bit of composure and Ireland can win

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    We could end up losing again

We could end up winning too :)

We look to be fading a bit already.

You can tell which team have flown around Europe and whose been based at "home" all week.

Do they get to play all their matches at "home"?

Good switches from Kenny. They were getting on top, bossing it and knight is good in midfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Having Hendrick on is like having 9 men, nevermind 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

We are so disjointed. If Qatar were anyway composed they'd be up by a couple.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

I think Qatar were complacent and expected a fairly hand win. They're more like themselves now. I honestly wouldn't be shocked with a 3-1 defeat.

Anyone elses RTE freeze?

My picture is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,211 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Anyone elses RTE freeze?

Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

We've reverted to normal, absolutely useless this half making quatar look like Brazil

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Picture is frozen