Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ruining a wedding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

At a wedding a few years back in bellinter house. Its fairly late, a heap of (ridiculously expensive, like 7 quid a pint) drink had, Get told food will be served so (shortlived) happy out.

Some cornets of chips and battered fish gaugeons come out but never make it past the hallway. Basically just feeding those in that area. After a while start getting Hangry so go out and ask for some only to be told they'd finished serving. Went back to the table and everyone was raging at the news. Worst part was the misses, whos vegetarian, wanted something also. Ended up negotiating a plain cheese sandwich for herself and noone else got anything. Fu*king ****e end to a wedding, everybody was in a foul mood after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

My cousins wedding where the best man turned up hammered beyond recognition due to nerves...he forgot to bring the rings... he was put lying down in a dark room at the registry office..

My Dad stepped in as best man and they used his and my mothers rings as the symbolic wedding rings...

Another wedding, IMHO, ruined by a shortage of food was in Gahn House in Carlingford. Late in the evening with everybody having a skinfull some chiken curry and rice was put out. A queue formed and about half way through the queue the rice and curry ran out. .. everyone queuing was told that was it, tough luck and they had to just sit back down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Strumms wrote: »
    My cousins wedding where the best man turned up hammered beyond recognition due to nerves...he forgot to bring the rings... he was put lying down in a dark room at the registry office..

My Dad stepped in as best man and they used his and my mothers rings as the symbolic wedding rings...
    :eek: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭JayRoc

At a wedding a few years back in bellinter house. Its fairly late, a heap of (ridiculously expensive, like 7 quid a pint) drink had, Get told food will be served so (shortlived) happy out.

Some cornets of chips and battered fish gaugeons come out but never make it past the hallway. Basically just feeding those in that area. After a while start getting Hangry so go out and ask for some only to be told they'd finished serving. Went back to the table and everyone was raging at the news. Worst part was the misses, whos vegetarian, wanted something also. Ended up negotiating a plain cheese sandwich for herself and noone else got anything. Fu*king ****e end to a wedding, everybody was in a foul mood after that.

So this was a post-dinner snack in the wee hours, basically, and it ran out?

How hungry could people be after presumably having had a full meal only a few hours before???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,295 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

JayRoc wrote: »
    So this was a post-dinner snack in the wee hours, basically, and it ran out?

How hungry could people be after presumably having had a full meal only a few hours before???

#TheMunchies# can be unpredictable ... might have been 'gourmet' portions for the dinner; or the munchies hadn't kicked in yet and they only picked at the meal after a few warm up pints before the dinner.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

odyssey06 wrote: »
    #TheMunchies# can be unpredictable ... might have been 'gourmet' portions for the dinner; or the munchies hadn't kicked in yet and they only picked at the meal after a few warm up pints before the dinner.

That's not a ruined wedding that's bad management of your eating.

saabsaab wrote: »
    That's not a ruined wedding that's bad management of your eating.

Well, maybe not a ruined wedding but if you are going to put a supper \ midnight snack on do it properly or not at all... people who weren't even hungry get the smell of fish and chips or whatever and the munchies kick in and you are going to have some peeved off guests if they don't get any grub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

Well, maybe not a ruined wedding but if you are going to put a supper \ midnight snack on do it properly or not at all... people who weren't even hungry get the smell of fish and chips or whatever and the munchies kick in and you are going to have some peeved off guests if they don't get any grub.

I wholeheartedly agree. One of the priorities for our wedding was that there be loads of grub. There were various hot and cold little bits going around when they arrived at the hotel along with the tea/coffee and scones. 3 course dinner with seconds for anyone that wanted it. Loads of fish and chips during the bands break.
    The last thing you want is people not enjoying themselves because all they can think of is "where can I get some grub".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

didn't exactly ruin the wedding, but i was bridesmaid at my aunt's wedding, got a bad case of vertigo and collapsed in the bathroom, had to go home before the speeches and the meal. my aunt was not impressed and we really didn't have a conversation for a while after that.

Never again did any one ask me to be bridesmaid for their wedding and to be honest i'm thrilled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

I always thought the 10-11 o'clock snack is a bit pointless - I've never been hungry for them, having only had a huge meal 2-3 hours earlier! I think it is a case of people eating it because it is there. Have seen weddings where most of it is wasted, which is a sign of a good dinner I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Strumms wrote: »

and just for a few seconds when he woke up he forgot what happened and then the freight train of the fear thundered in:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Dick Turnip

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    didn't exactly ruin the wedding, but i was bridesmaid at my aunt's wedding, got a bad case of vertigo and collapsed in the bathroom, had to go home before the speeches and the meal. my aunt was not impressed and we really didn't have a conversation for a while after that.

Never again did any one ask me to be bridesmaid for their wedding and to be honest i'm thrilled

Sorry, but your aunt sounds like a bit of a dose. Unless "got a bad case of vertigo" is a euphemism for "drank a full case of prosecco"...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Dick Turnip

I always thought the 10-11 o'clock snack is a bit pointless - I've never been hungry for them, having only had a huge meal 2-3 hours earlier! I think it is a case of people eating it because it is there. Have seen weddings where most of it is wasted, which is a sign of a good dinner I suppose!

My OH's friend was getting married on a Friday a few years back, I skipped the day and headed down after work, said I'd go in after the meal. Stayed out in the resident's bar, and it was after 10pm before the speeches were over and the doors to the function room opened. The speeches were on during dessert and all went on for ages.

By 11pm the staff started bringing out the late snacks. I was delighted as I was starving, and literally had the buffet to myself as everyone else was still on their first drink post-meal. Was an absolute waste of food, I'd say less than 20% of it was eaten - and most of that was me!

pretty much this. If there was no food you wouldn't notice, but when its served it should be enough for all.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,214 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Seeing the mention of food at weddings reminded me of a story from Brian Mc Eniff, owner of a number of hotels countrywide and The Holyrood in Bundoran.
    Brian as well as being the first to manage a Donegal GAA Team to their first All Ireland Senior title also played for Donegal for many years.
    During one Winter Campaign Donegal in which he was playing Donegal were due to play Fermanagh in Brewster Park Enniskillen and drove up in a few cars. On reaching Enniskillen they were informed the game had been switch to a pitch out the country. Headed out to discover there were no dressing rooms so had to tog out on the side of the road. Wet miserable cold day so they were wet through before even going on to the pitch. No sign of the Fermanagh team as the starting time approach and the Donegal team wet and miserable the ref is about to had a walkover just as this large bus pulled up.
    Fermanagh team disembark dry as bones in full kit ready for action. Donegal lads well and truly narked at this stage believing a fast one was being pulled and a few minutes in a scuffle occurred which quickly developed into all hands in and then a general melee including both management teams and supporters. Mc Eniff said he was battling away when he heard this shout from a supporter somewhere within the general melee "Fcuk you Mc Eniff I got bad spuds at a wedding in the Holyrood".
    To this day he says he is unsure if the particular individual turned up to watch the game or if he was there to complain about the wedding dinner spuds.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

Sorry, but your aunt sounds like a bit of a dose. Unless "got a bad case of vertigo" is a euphemism for "drank a full case of prosecco"...:pac:

LOL Nope, don't drink at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

How about an aunt who makes a run for mother for some reason then falls down a few steps and then rolls around the floor saying she’s going to sue the hotel because there should have being a sign warning her about the steps!(She did this in front of everybody)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Le Bruise

How about an aunt who makes a run for mother for some reason then falls down a few steps and then rolls around the floor saying she’s going to sue the hotel because there should have being a sign warning her about the steps!(She did this in front of everybody)

Not a ruined wedding, but this does remind me of the most spectacular fall I've ever witnessed (which also happened to be at a wedding).

Middle aged lady, swanning in to the reception marquee in all her finery, trips on a rogue lip of carpet and starts falling forward.

If she'd have hit the deck there and then, not many folk would have noticed, but she kept trying to correct herself (a fairly tricky endeavour wearing high heels).

It resulted in her stumbling across the entire marquee in (what seemed like) slow motion in front of all the wedding guests before eventually crashing into a dinner table, ending up underneath it entangled in chair legs.

Only thing injured was her pride thank God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

My very inebriated mate fell down a really steep set of stone stairs to the garden at my wedding. His pint of guinness survived intact until the very last step. Didn't ruin the wedding but he had to be patched up and escorted back to his B&B for the night.

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    My very inebriated mate fell down a really steep set of stone stairs to the garden at my wedding. His pint of guinness survived intact until the very last step. Didn't ruin the wedding but he had to be patched up and escorted back to his B&B for the night.

Thank you for your service, you will not be forgotten. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭Salvadoor

The groom always played 5-a-side astro with his mates on Friday night. The bride warned him not play so the best man (who had flown in from abroad)took his place to ensure the game could go ahead with even numbers.

Best man promptly dislocated his shoulder about 5 minutes into the game and was carted off to A&E, where the shoulder was popped back in around 2am in the morning.

Saturday arrives and the best man, who is generally a nervous enough character, was full of painkillers when he decides to have a few drinks to clam the nerves before his speech.

Prosecco, red wine and painkillers don't mix. The speech was an absolute ****show, he repeated the same joke about the groom going bald multiple times. Slagged off the mother of the groom about her not liking him when they were younger and never even mentioned the bridesmaids. The groom eventually got the microphone off him to allow one of the other groomsmen to finish up with the usual thank yous etc.

We never saw the bestman for the rest of the night or weekend either unfortunately (he changed his return flight and flew back early on the Sunday). It was a shame that his kind act in taking the grooms place in the game led to the disaster the next day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭cml387

Salvadoor wrote: »
    The groom always played 5-a-side astro with his mates on Friday night. The bride warned him not play so the best man (who had flown in from abroad)took his place to ensure the game could go ahead with even numbers.

Best man promptly dislocated his shoulder about 5 minutes into the game and was carted off to A&E, where the shoulder was popped back in around 2am in the morning.

Saturday arrives and the best man, who is generally a nervous enough character, was full of painkillers when he decides to have a few drinks to clam the nerves before his speech.

Prosecco, red wine and painkillers don't mix. The speech was an absolute ****show, he repeated the same joke about the groom going bald multiple times. Slagged off the mother of the groom about her not liking him when they were younger and never even mentioned the bridesmaids. The groom eventually got the microphone off him to allow one of the other groomsmen to finish up with the usual thank yous etc.

We never saw the bestman for the rest of the night or weekend either unfortunately (he changed his return flight and flew back early on the Sunday). It was a shame that his kind act in taking the grooms place in the game led to the disaster the next day

Well of course there was always the option of not playing in the five a side at all. Would worlds have collapsed?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

cml387 wrote:
    Well of course there was always the option of not playing in the five a side at all. Would worlds have collapsed?

Don't be ridiculous.

The wedding should have been brought forward or put back a couple of weeks so as to not clash with the game.

Some matches are more important than other matches!!!

Don't be ridiculous.

The wedding should have been brought forward or put back a couple of weeks so as to not clash with the game.

I honestly have no idea if you're being serious or not...

Don't be ridiculous.

Have the wedding on the friday and invite the players!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Don't be ridiculous.

I honestly have no idea if you're being serious or not...
    "Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude.
    I can assure you it is much, much more important than that."

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Not that it ruined the wedding but in the early hours of the following morning a drinking game was had and the bride thought she was doing so well so when one of the lads lost and had to walk around the dance floor naked, she said she would do the same if she lost.....guess what happend next.

She kept to her word anyway lol

Luckily the older guests had retired for the evening, could have been a few heart attacks lol

Not that it ruined the wedding but in the early hours of the following morning a drinking game was had and the bride thought she was doing so well so when one of the lads lost and had to walk around the dance floor naked, she said she would do the same if she lost.....guess what happend next.

Luckily the older guests had retired for the evening, could have been a few heart attacks lol

Now we're back in business!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Did she have her hair done for the wedding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Did it ruin the Wedding?

Bogwoppit wrote: »
    Did she have her hair done for the wedding?

From memory she'd had some work done to have it nice and tidy for the occasion. Curtains didn't match the drapes though lol.

They're still married, her new husband took it in good humour given there were less than 10 or so of us around by that stage of the night/early morning if memory serves. It wasn't a big wedding to begin with.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭KevRossi

From memory she'd had some work done to have it nice and tidy for the occasion. Curtains didn't match the drapes though lol.

They're still married, her new husband took it in good humour given there were less than 10 or so of us around by that stage of the night/early morning if memory serves. It wasn't a big wedding to begin with.

"Curtains didn't match the carpet" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Jesus, Irish people really have no class.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Jesus, Irish people really have no class.

Bet you're the life and soul of a party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Bet you're the life and soul of a party.

streaking as a woman on your wedding day? that is ok is it?

Among a handful of friends, who really cares.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Yes. Yes it is. Streaking as a woman or a man or a whatever on your wedding day is perfectly fine. If that's what you want to do.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Yes. Yes it is. Streaking as a woman or a man or a whatever on your wedding day is perfectly fine. If that's what you want to do.

For a teenager or early 20s on hols in Ibiza I could see it as a laugh in some circumstances. For a bride or groom on their wedding day I would agree that it is fairly tacky and classless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,589 ✭✭✭baldbear

Was at a cousins wedding and during the speeches the best man, grooms brother was tanked up. He went on saying when he heard his brother was getting married he was shocked and asked was he definitely marrying a woman.
    He went on to tell childhood stories how the groom was golden balls at home & always got away with everything.
    The groom told him to stop talking and sit down.
    Was awkward. My loud laughs didn't help things.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    For a teenager or early 20s on hols in Ibiza I could see it as a laugh in some circumstances. For a bride or groom on their wedding day I would agree that it is fairly tacky and classless.

Yeah, I have to say I'd be a bit shocked if I was at a wedding and that happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,170 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Perhaps, at this stage, we've covered the, "somebody got really drunk", and the "best man/father/groom/bride got really drunk and made an inappropriate speech", stories?

Perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Jeju

From a girl who worked in a small enough hotel. She came in to do the breakfast shift and found water pouring down from the ceiling in the kitchen. She contacted owner / manager who went upstairs and gained entry to one of the bedrooms above the leak. The brother of the bride was tucked away in bed but had puked into the sink blocking it and left the tap on. She said there was no apology and the wedding group were actually complaining about how late the breakfast was.

Perhaps, at this stage, we've covered the, "somebody got really drunk", and the "best man/father/groom/bride got really drunk and made an inappropriate speech", stories?

Perhaps?

Why do you need control over the type of stories that are posted? Scroll on by the ones that don’t meet your standards and stop trying to dictate for others.

Perhaps?

No, we've not even picked up the nail to be sharpened to scratch the surface yet.

Well it wasn't on their wedding day....it was the early morning after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

Probably the best wedding video ever :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭josip

tcawley29 wrote: »
    Probably the best wedding video ever :pac:

"keep the still frames in your mind"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

josip wrote: »
    "keep the still frames in your mind"

one for the **** bank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,274 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Jeju wrote: »
    From a girl who worked in a small enough hotel. She came in to do the breakfast shift and found water pouring down from the ceiling in the kitchen. She contacted owner / manager who went upstairs and gained entry to one of the bedrooms above the leak. The brother of the bride was tucked away in bed but had puked into the sink blocking it and left the tap on. She said there was no apology and the wedding group were actually complaining about how late the breakfast was.

Not quite on the level of the wedding ****ter but the same type of entitled @fsehole.