Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Back to the Well-The Late Late Show: Friday 9th April 2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Has there been any conversation about, y'know, The Masters?

Is he not there coz of the Covid?
    Or is he just not good enough ?(genuine question)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,712 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

The ads in the US are pure mad.

You think the ads are nuts, wait til you hear about the NRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

He looks really good for 50 in fairness. Golf is such a head melt sport, you'd wonder how that at least hasn't put 40 years on him alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

Just turned it on. How're yis?

Is that Padraig's gaf or a background yokey?

Man, I'd love a game of snooker. And about 8 pints.
    In that order hopefully 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,855 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

You think the ads are nuts, wait til you hear about the NRA.
    You can actually have an ad saying the sky is red once you hace a disclaimer saying it may be blue.

I like Paddy H I must say. He's a bit on some sort of spectrum, but he's really interesting when you listen to him as he doesn't hold anything back. The lads on Off the Ball love him as he will come on and answer every question they ask without hesitation.

In an era of sports stars being media trained to within an inch of their life, it's refreshing to have a lad who says what he thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

"Catch all cancers early and they are treatable"

Says Padraig during a time when all cancer scans are put on the long finger in lieu of COVID?

Doesn't bother people in his demographic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭saabsaab

no gender balance at all in that. We need to see Constance Markievicz's Bra or something.

Did she carry a pair of 38's?

Is he going to the Olympics for us??

He looks really good for 50 in fairness. Golf is such a head melt sport, you'd wonder how that at least hasn't put 40 years on him alone.

Yeah, I love it, but I'm just not able for the sheer unadulterated rage that goes with a good round being destroyed by a couple of missed putts.

Not one for the mental strength, me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Didn’t he do the voice of telecom eireann’s talking clock?

Really, I missed the start of that Harrington interview. Did they mention the biggest golf tournament in the world is being played literally right now?

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Wishox

Ah here we go ........

tumblr_pglt5fNMlU1rey868o1_500.gif

Yeah, I love it, but I'm just not able for the sheer unadulterated rage that goes with a good round being destroyed by a couple of missed putts. Not one for the mental strength, me.

It's always Van De Velde I think about Donie.

"After Carnoustie, Jean wasn’t the same person. He had changed’"

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/brigitte-van-de-velde-after-carnoustie-jean-wasn-t-the-same-person-he-had-changed-the-joy-had-gone-jsgn9nzqz

It's almost preferable being useless at all sports (i.e. me) than having something like that happen to you.

Didn’t he do the voice of telecom eireann’s talking clock?

What a fecking insane concept when you think of it.....was it designed for blind people or something?
    Or was it so people could get the right time when changing their clocks in March and October??

I worry for Daniel at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Really, I missed the start of that Harrington interview. Did they mention the biggest golf tournament in the world is being played literally right now?
    Get in the hole!!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

A hybrid Dublin/Midlands accent.

I like it!

M

"Forever home", ffs, how I hate that term, same idiots would have candy carts and photo booths at their weddings.

Oh hello

Did you hear that Pat Kenny. JamesEZ Hospital.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Just checked in there during the lance doc,
    There's a surprise, cancer, cancer.
    Ladies and gentlemen
    The cancer cancer show
    Here is your host. Dying Tubridy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Tubs in his element here

M

9,000 people a year die from cancer in Ireland, I thought the figure would be much higher like 100k or so.

No, 100K is the amount of people that die from COVID, if you listen to RTE.

She is speaking well all the same, for someone who presumably does not do this sort of thing all the time she is doing very well.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Can’t get rid of that dub in her
    The dialect still there

jojofizzio wrote: »
    What a fecking insane concept when you think of it.....was it designed for blind people or something?
    Or was it so people could get the right time when changing their clocks in March and October??

Was it for people trying to catch trains boats or planes who feared all the timepieces in their home had failed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

"Forever home", ffs, how I hate that term, same idiots would have candy carts and photo booths at their weddings.

Forever home aka house that will break you
    Rescue dog aka free dog
    Homeschooled aka a little bollix

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭JimmyCorkhill

I find people with a thick Dublin accent come across less intelligent

M

FFS, I see BBC4 has been suspended tonight, reminds me of when Kim Jong-il passed, lord rest him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Lesalare

Macdarack wrote: »
    Just checked in there during the lance doc,
    There's a surprise, cancer, cancer.
    Ladies and gentlemen
    The cancer cancer show
    Here is your host. Dying Tubridy.

I literally just turned it on the RTE player and she's talking and I'm thinking "Jesus, is this another Cancer/death story"?

I'm only back living in Ireland a few years and I don't watch the LL show but anytime I do is it all just cancer and depressing **** on a Fri eve?

I have no clue who Daniel is... or her.

I'm presuming it's just the bog standard weekend 'entertainment' from RTE and I'm expected to pay for a new TV licence to listen to Cancer/Covid/depressing stuff every weekend?

A socky that changed history :P

6f6b48c3e52fcc4672c8e36203b3e1bd.gif

I've got it, finally. Ryan has taken the "late late" part in the title of the show in a different literal meaning of" late at night "I think.

Tubs in his element here

His is so near to putting nipple clamps on and saying sure, sure

Tubridy is just going to use this again to justify the people who told him some home truths when he had the Twitter account.

Estimated 2.9 million deaths from Covid worldwide so far.

saabsaab wrote: »

From or with?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭faolteam

back to Golf

Lesalare wrote: »
    I literally just turned it on the RTE player and she's talking and I'm thinking "Jesus, is this another Cancer/death story"?

I'm only back living in Ireland a few years and I don't watch the LL show but anytime I do is it all just cancer and depressing **** on a Fri eve?

Welcome home friend :-)

M

saabsaab wrote: »

And 9 million will die from starvation.

I find people with a thick Dublin accent come across less intelligent

Speaking of less intelligent Dubs with annoying accents, I see that annoying pj gallagher has been axed from 4fms morning show. What a burner.

From or with?

Which would you prefer. To die of it or with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

she may have lost her husband, but she's not short of confidence

FFS, I see BBC4 has been suspended tonight, reminds me of when Kim Jong-il passed, lord rest him.

That's weird- probably goes to show it takes humans to put push out even pre-recorded shows, assuming all these staff are re-assigned to "London Bridge" duties or whatever the code word is for the death of Philip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Lesalare

Wishox wrote: »
    Welcome home friend :-)

Thanks. I've decided to go back to where I came back from in the coming months.

Who is 'Daniel'? :confused:

Edited to say: I am presuming from end that she lost her husband to esophageal cancer?
    My bother in law sadly did same last June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

She seems lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Nice lady, strong character

She's a really lovely woman, but Ryan's aul kindness schtick grates because of the monotony of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Newbie20

She seems lovely.

Yeah I like her

M

That's weird- probably goes to show it takes humans to put push out even pre-recorded shows, assuming all these staff are re-assigned to "London Bridge" duties or whatever the code word is for the death of Philip.
    Lots of the output today was just repeat after repeat, they would have been better to have focused in on the flag flying above Buckingham Palace for 6 hours.