Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most boring places you've visited

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭snowstorm445

lawred2 wrote: »
    Struggling to understand why so many mentions for Holyhead!? Is it advertising itself as anything other than what it is? A small coastal town with a ferry port? What were people expecting?

Funny seeing it mentioned alongside global cities like Milan and Singapore.

Honestly I can't think of any ferry town that I've been to which felt memorable. Larne in Northern Ireland, Troon in Scotland, Roscoff in France - they were all pretty dull as far as I can remember.

I suppose Dun Laoghaire is an exception but I've never taken a ferry from there and I think they stopped running it a few years ago?

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Fatnacho

Anywhere in Germany on a Sunday. The only things open are the petrol station and the kebab shop.
    Birmingham is very grim. For a 2nd city with such a large population there is very little to see or do. The highlight is an oversized shopping centre attached to a train station surrounded by poundshops and curry restaurants. Convinced the surroundings is the reason why the Brummie accent is so glum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Rustyman101

vriesmays wrote: »
    There are loads to do in Waterford: visit an airport with no planes, join a protest march for a 3rd-rate university, walk along Willkins Street and Summerville Avenue (the Bill Kenneally way).

did someone from Waterford steal your wife,girlfriend or pocket money, you obsessed with the place ! having been banned from said forum your still ranting about the place....counselling maybe...

• Registered Users Posts: 34 IsosKramer

breezy1985 wrote: »
    I really like Dublin. For a big city and a nationxal capital it's very compact and easy for a tourist

In an Irish context Dublin is a very big city alright but it has to do a lot of geographical gymnastics (traipsing around from Ballbriggan to Kilcock to Greystones at the very minimum) to turn its half a million population into 1 point whatever to rival a Uk/European provincial city. Being a capital, however, gives it a certain caché and removes the possibility of it being among the most boring places visited!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

I will say that Irish people are extremely friendly, it's not just a stereotype.
    It's the only country where I regularly strike up conversations with strangers. Literally everywhere.
    If you need help with anything, people are happy to oblige.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Fatnacho wrote: »
    Anywhere in Germany on a Sunday. The only things open are the petrol station and the kebab shop.

Don’t forget the train station! When I was finding my feet there, before I had a girlfriend and friends, I used to go to the train station, buy a newspaper or magazine, and sit in the cafe having a beer or a coffee to pass the afternoon.

Grim, but it was either that or sit at home brooding on life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭batman75

Holyhead is grim though I got my best ever fry there for £5. Strabane is truly a ****hole. Surprised to see Vienna, Stockholm and Salzburg crop up on the boring list. I can see why people might find Canberra boring but I enjoyed it. I thought St Louis downtown had some lovely architecture. Edmonton is very sterile right enough. Coventry is grim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Been in a few boring places over the years

-Bandar Seri Begawan, capital of Brunei, a tiny country about he size of Leinster. Nothing to do there, nothing to see. The highlight of a 2 day stay was going to see the Sultan of Bruneis collection of Ferraris outside his palace- from a distance of about 300 metres away

-Malaysia and especially Kuala Lumper I found boring though that was probably because having just come from a month of hedonism in Thailand anything would be boring. We stayed on the Perhentian Islands and they wouldnt serve us beer after 10pm so we didnt stay long. A few people have said Singpore but I loved it for 3 days after the bore that was Malaysia

-Bratislava, spent 3 days there after a snowboarding trip in Slovakia. Saw all of it on the first day, you can walk around the old city in about half an hour and then thats it. We left after day 2 and went to Vienna which was superb in comparison, bad mistake not spending all our time there in the first place

-Santiago, Chile. Out of all the South American capitals its easily the most boring, its just nowhere near as lively as places like Buenos Aires or Bogota. Santiago is pretty expensive too compared to everywhere else.

-Adelaide, a city of 2 million should have good night life but it just doesnt, the population there seem to be mainly elderly people and a friend from there said once you finish school most young people head for Sydney or Melbourne. Darwin too another boring place,its so hot and humid there and you cant ever swim in the sea because of the saltwater crocodiles

Coventry, was visiting a friend who lives there and had 3 hours to kill till he finished work. The highlight of Coventry is the Museum of Transport where you can see the open topped double decker bus that ferried the football team around the town when they won the FA Cup in 1987, thats as good as it gets

Milan, once youve had your strict 15 minutes to view da Vincis Last Supper theres really is feck all else to do. We were so bored we got tickets for the famous La Scala Opera House but because it was an opera that was boring too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,417 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I will say that Irish people are extremely friendly, it's not just a stereotype.
    It's the only country where I regularly strike up conversations with strangers. Literally everywhere.

I hate talking to strangers. My favorite thing about living in London is no one talks to you unless you are friends. Irish friendliness and noseyness are too similar for my liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Truth. Irish people are generally very helpful and obliging.

Not sure about conversations with strangers though. I guess it depends if you enjoy that kind of interaction. Some people aren’t into small talk with randomers. Doesn’t mean that they or the culture is unfriendly.

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭PHG

I've never fancied going to any of these places (apart from the replay in the Hyde in 1998 we'd a great day there ;))

Why did you go to these places when there's hundreds of great places to go?

They were not like weekend breaks all longer.

Pisa - was a base and we did the majority of the west coast of Italy which is unreal and still one of my favourite trips outside Cuba. Should have based ourselves in Florence
    Rejkavik - was a base again. Used it while doing the rest of Iceland which again highly recommend but the town is poor. Remember walking between houses and seeing the tree of year 2016, which looked dead
    Northern Sardinia - was a fund restricted vacation and saw a deal
    Roscommon was explained.
    Cancun was living in London at the time and had to take a rushed vacation as was starting a new job. We it all 5 stars did some unreal trips but Cancun the town is meh and full of American and English chavs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

GT89 wrote: »
    I just don't know what people see in Berlin. Of course it probably depends on what your into but I've been there twice (not by choice) and thought that it was very dull and drab and seemed to lack any decent restaurants and the like everywhere looked like it was geared towards crusties.

Also the locals seem to be very unfriendly and customer service in shops, hotels and restaurants etc. is awful it's like no one can crack a smile they don't even say danke.
    fryup wrote: »
    well they did start two WW's ...it's not like they have a track record in joviality in fairness

Funniest post/reply of this thread :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,867 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Riyadh, there is literally nothing of any interest to recommend it. Spending a month there for work really made me appreciate pretty much everywhere else on earth.

I hate talking to strangers. My favorite thing about living in London is no one talks to you unless you are friends. Irish friendliness and noseyness are too similar for my liking

Over the years with work I've found myself in random pubs and lots of people would start talking to me and inviting me to join them. It's warm and friendly. I've even experienced this in Dublin.

I think we're a relatively safe country with low crime rates so strangers aren't perceived at threatening.

I think in terms of grim, boring cities the cities in Midlands and northern england seem like that. Leicester, Norwich, Ipswich, Bradford, Stoke, Sheffield, Derby, Nottingham etc.

Cork and Galway would be smaller but livelier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭NSAman

Absolutely! I was amazed at some the comments about Athens on this thread. Athens is a pulsating and energetic city filled with life. I do not care about the graffiti! It is pure energy. What kind of pussies are made frightened by graffiti in the 21st century FFS!

While I think Athens is great for a night or two. Living there becomes a drag. The constant attitudes, the mess, the lack of civility, the “can’t do” attitudes, become tiresome.

Do I still Go to Athens? Absolutely!do I like having to go there for a few weeks at a time? Nope..:)

If you check out the immigrant (I hate calling them ex-Pat) forums it’s funny... people thinking the same about the food, the hysteria of finding something other than Greek food. While I agree that it has improved over the last number of years, the simple facts are... feta is king, oregano is a staple. Apart from the new TGI fridays you can rarely find a burger that doesn’t contain oregano...

Hey it’s the small things....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Parts of England are incredibly boring

Over the years with work I've found myself in random pubs and lots of people would start talking to me and inviting me to join them. It's warm and friendly. I've even experienced this in Dublin.

I think we're a relatively safe country with low crime rates so strangers aren't perceived at threatening.

I think in terms of grim, boring cities the cities in Midlands and northern england seem like that. Leicester, Norwich, Ipswich, Bradford, Stoke, Sheffield, Derby, Nottingham etc.

Cork and Galway would be smaller but livelier.

The midlands ones know they are a bit dull but the worst thing about the Yorkshire ones is they think they are mad craic and way more fun than London.

Milan on a Sunday was the biggest ghost town I've seen. It's cultural I think and they just don't work on Sunday even the corner shops and cafes. Even after the match in the San Siro the place was dead

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭hahashake

Second time I went to Milan, I stayed in Bergamo and spent half the time around Lake Como. Much more pleasant and unique than Milan itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Medjugorje.

Only a whistle-stop visit out of pilgrimage season on the way to Mostar, but it just seemed void of anything to do apart from commercialised Catholic merchandise shops. I know a few people who go over every year (in normal times), and I just cannot see how you could stay any longer than the length of a mass there.

I was impressed by the toilets at the grotto though.

sounds like Knock without the tinkers ?

I haven't really been around the middle east but surely they must be the worst.

Not Lebanon, or Egypt but more like Saudie Arabia, Oman, UAE.

Parts of eastern europe have very low birthrates and very high youth emigration so must be pretty grim. Regional cities in Romania, Bulgaria, Moldova etc.

Croatia in the winter might be Brutal.

I've seen Glasgow mentioned here but it may be grim on the surface but once you know your way around theres loads going on. Lots of students, live music, indie stuff, lots of community organizations etc. If you were just visiting for a weekend you could miss all of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

gmisk wrote: »
    Oh I would also be tempted to change my answer to Bratislava...nothing to do...dreary....dour people, cheap beer was about only positive.
    Porklife wrote: »
    I agree with Bratislava. I remember ordering baked fish and potatoes in some dank restaurant and being handed a full fish on a plate with a dollop of cold potato salad by some sourpuss waitress.

Another vote for Bratislava, aside from the Old Town and Castle, which are nice for a day visit, there is literally nothing else to do there. It's very rundown, the people are dull and depressing plus the national past time seems to be ripping tourists off at every opportunity.

Funniest post/reply of this thread :pac:

For a daily mail reader, perhaps.

• Honestly I can't think of any ferry town that I've been to which felt memorable. Larne in Northern Ireland, Troon in Scotland, Roscoff in France - they were all pretty dull as far as I can remember.

I suppose Dun Laoghaire is an exception but I've never taken a ferry from there and I think they stopped running it a few years ago?

You'd think Holyhead would embrace an opportunity where there is potentially one. To market itseld as a destination for Irish weekend trippers/hens and stags.

Instead they seem to detest everything about us.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,620 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Luxembourg- no wonder 400k people commute in and out daily for work.

Everything is expensive there too as everything is imported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

Luxembourg- no wonder 400k people commute in and out daily for work.

Everything is expensive there too as everything is imported.

None of the "natives, lol" want you to stick around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    sounds like Knock without the tinkers ?

This made me lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

The idea of lockdown in Warsaw makes me shudder. What a ****hole full of miserable looking people and horrible food. There's nothing to do and even the old town is just a facade. Our airbnb host was drinking vodka in the apartment with his mates when we arrived to get the keys. He offered us some and got really offended and borderline aggressive when we said no thanks so we ended up joining him and his mates in a bizzare session.
    I remember the atmosphere being so tense and I worried we wouldn't get out alive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Perth is very boring. And full of Australians :(

personally i loved it, lovely skyline, clean for the most part, great transport system and great beaches with Cottesloe being my favourite :)

btw - is The Brass Money still going??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

4Ad wrote: »
    I was only in Kerala..wouldn't be rushing back to India, noise and dirt.
    Veggie food was lovely..dhosas for breakfast, hmmm !!

Kerala is beautiful but disgustingly dirty.
    Hamachi wrote: »
    I’m afraid I don’t know anybody who really loved India. I have an acquaintance who wanted to go there for his entire life, so much so that he took a 6-month sabbatical from work to really explore.

He had great plans to get immersed in Yoga retreats and visit the holy cities like Varanasi. Not only was he robbed of his belongings, he also had the misfortune to contract typhoid and was forced to return to Ireland after a few months to recuperate. Left him feeling very disillusioned with the place.

I’ve never had any desire to visit India, but I work in an industry in which India is a crucial player. I’ve been to Bangalore, which as another poster mentioned, is awful. Hyderabad is slightly better, but I’d happily never set foot there again. Indians are mostly fine, but I always feel very uncomfortable with how deferential they are because I’m European. I’ve also seen the caste system in action in the workplace. One of the most talented engineers was from the Dalit or ‘untouchable’ caste. The way his ostensibly higher caste colleagues treated him, was simply disgusting.

I’ve heard that Southern India, particularly Goa is supposed to be quite pleasant. Frankly, I have no interest in going back there to discover for myself. The squalor, filth, and poverty I’ve seen with my own eyes is not something I wish to experience again.

My sister and her husband love India. They have been twice and last time they bought a motorbike and travelled around.

They can't understand how I hate it. Even Goa, which is beautiful is so dirty. I just hate the dirt and overcrowded feeling. Being followed in shops having things shoved in my face, tuktuk drivers slowing down beside me shouting at me even though have told 4 other drivers seconds before that I don't want one, no sense of personal space etc. The noise. It's just too much chaos.
    luketitz wrote: »
    I normally try and make some kinda fun happen wherever I go and don't bore easily but have been obliged to visit Penang for 3/4 days on various visa runs over the years and it's an incredibly dull place.

The Indian/Chinese food is its only saving grace.

They even have Asia's only Guinness brewery, and that's not even fun.

I love Penang. Wandering around Georgetown looking at the street art, going to the Chew Jetty and seeing living history all over the place. Fascinating place. Then taking the funicular train up Penang hill and watching the monkeys and lizards. Stunning views.

Muah wrote:

-Malaysia and especially Kuala Lumper I found boring though that was probably because having just come from a month of hedonism in Thailand anything would be boring. We stayed on the Perhentian Islands and they wouldnt serve us beer after 10pm so we didnt stay long. A few people have said Singpore but I loved it for 3 days after the bore that was Malaysia.

I get you. I was the opposite. I came to KL from months in Sri Lanka, India and Nepal and felt like a relief to be in a "real" place again. Less noise, chaos and dirt. I'll in love with it and consider it home. But as a tourist city it's not the best. There are a few great things like the Batu Caves, the Botanical Gardens and of course, as I call them, my babies, the Petronas Towers. Shopping, food, nightlife and climate are amazing. Friendliest people, almost all speaking good English and with an almost Irish sense of humour.

It's like Singapore only has more soul, not a rip off and people enjoy the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Muahahaha wrote: »

Milan, once youve had your strict 15 minutes to view da Vincis Last Supper theres really is feck all else to do. We were so bored we got tickets for the famous La Scala Opera House but because it was an opera that was boring too.

What did you expect at an opera?
    A magic show and midgets riding motorbikes in a wall of death?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Witchie wrote: »
    Kerala is beautiful but disgustingly dirty.

My sister and her husband love India. They have been twice and last time they bought a motorbike and travelled around.

They can't understand how I hate it. Even Goa, which is beautiful is so dirty. I just hate the dirt and overcrowded feeling. Being followed in shops having things shoved in my face, tuktuk drivers slowing down beside me shouting at me even though have told 4 other drivers seconds before that I don't want one, no sense of personal space etc. The noise. It's just too much chaos.

I love Penang. Wandering around Georgetown looking at the street art, going to the Chew Jetty and seeing living history all over the place. Fascinating place. Then taking the funicular train up Penang hill and watching the monkeys and lizards. Stunning views.

I get you. I was the opposite. I came to KL from months in Sri Lanka, India and Nepal and felt like a relief to be in a "real" place again. Less noise, chaos and dirt. I'll in love with it and consider it home. But as a tourist city it's not the best. There are a few great things like the Batu Caves, the Botanical Gardens and of course, as I call them, my babies, the Petronas Towers. Shopping, food, nightlife and climate are amazing. Friendliest people, almost all speaking good English and with an almost Irish sense of humour.

It's like Singapore only has more soul, not a rip off and people enjoy the craic.

I completely agree about Malaysia. My favourite country in Asia. KL is a great city, it's a real melting pot of cultures.

Penang is a great spot too.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭new92

Ajo, Arizona. Some cool architecture from the old West days, pioneers, mexican/spanish and other than that there's absolutely nothing there.
    A fun experience for a grand total of 15 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

I've read the whole thread so I might as well chime in with my own ones. Most boring would be:

Copenhagen - very bland for a capital city. Reminded me of Dublin in that it was a largely expensive, dull and ugly place but you got the impression the locals had notions and really rated it for reasons I couldn't understand. I did at least feel safer there than you would in parts of Dublin, to be fair.

St. Gallen, Switzerland - like all of Switzerland it was mind-blowingly expensive, but once you had visited the church and library there was honestly nothing else to do.

Milwaukee - a deserted downtown with a rundown appearance that didn't feel too safe late at night - to be fair there are probably loads of US cities like it but Milwaukee is one I have experienced first hand.

Valletta - for a European capital city there just seemed to be little of interest at all.

I usually love to visit new places but those ones stick out as ones where I seemed to have more time than needed to see the places of interest, which almost never happens.

I've been to some of the others listed on this thread - Malmö, Vienna, Brussels and Bratislava have all come up a few times. None of those four were spectacular but I enjoyed my visits to each of them.

In the interests of balance places like Chicago, Rome, Krakow, Bruges, Prague and obviously New York I found to be fantastic and would return to tomorrow if I could.

Glasgow, which has also been mentioned, is where I live. It's a great city to live in but it probably wouldn't be the first place I'd recommend for a city break, it's better as a place to immerse yourself in for a longer period than as a weekend destination I think. Although the shopping and night life are both excellent if that's what you're after.

As for Ireland my usual advice to visitors is that if you ever find yourself more than 20 miles from the coast, you're probably not somewhere that you would ever particularly want to be.

Being honest, our built environment is mostly poor almost everywhere, so the 20 mile thing is mainly because almost all of our natural scenery and attractions are within 20 miles of the sea.

As for the Galway thing, I actually think Galway is a contradiction by Irish standards. Most coastal counties have beautiful scenery, but the towns and cities are a bit drab. Galway as a town/city I actually quite like apart from the traffic, mainly because the centre has a positive, lively atmosphere almost all year round that most towns lack. But I think the city actually does a lot of heavy lifting for the rest of the county, which is actually surprisingly drab compared to most counties along the western seaboard - towns like Tuam, Headford and Ballinasloe seem particularly depressing by Irish standards and the coastal scenery is strangely bland compared to other coastal counties - Kerry, Clare, Mayo, Sligo etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭cagefactor

Bad Boyo wrote: »
    Lockdown life must be like living in strict Muslim country. No drinking, no fun, no music etc.

I did 9 months in Riyadh, was grand, nothing much to do (apart from walking the shopping malls) but really can become a food connoisseur due the large amount of great restaurants - cheap to super expensive.

Lockdown life is worse than strict muslim countries imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

As for the Galway thing, I actually think Galway is a contradiction by Irish standards. Most coastal counties have beautiful scenery, but the towns and cities are a bit drab. Galway as a town/city I actually quite like apart from the traffic, mainly because the centre has a positive, lively atmosphere almost all year round that most towns lack. But I think the city actually does a lot of heavy lifting for the rest of the county, which is actually surprisingly drab compared to most counties along the western seaboard - towns like Tuam, Headford and Ballinasloe seem particularly depressing by Irish standards and the coastal scenery is strangely bland compared to other coastal counties - Kerry, Clare, Mayo, Sligo etc.

While I definitely agree on the drabness of those towns mentioned and much of east Galway in general, I find that people exclude Conemara as if it's its own entity when talking about Galway county. Surely the scenery there holds its own with anything in Mayo and Sligo at least. Technically if you're including Achill in discussions you should be including the Aran Islands also. I think Donegal beats everything for scenery personally

Definitely agree with your point about Copenhagen as a destination. Expensive and dull are apt

Many US cities are quite boring in the normal sense due to their layout. I found that moreso on the west coast, LA and San Diego in particular. Chicago and obviously NY in contrast seem to have a great buzz and energy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Hajuenau alsace in France borning boring boring,
    best part of that trip was the taxi drive to the airport across the border in Germany, taxi driver told great stories about the War and
    How German troops constructed the road so straight as it could be used as runway during the cold war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,154 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    While I definitely agree on the drabness of those towns mentioned and much of east Galway in general, I find that people exclude Conemara as if it's its own entity when talking about Galway county. Surely the scenery there holds its own with anything in Mayo and Sligo at least. Technically if you're including Achill in discussions you should be including the Aran Islands also.

I think the “issue” with Connemara is more to do with its inhabitants than the scenery. A dark, scowling, people.

Mistrusting of “outsiders” so don’t turn your back on them. And be sure to avoid investigating and thin streams of smoke you see rising up behind any hills you pass, the last thing you want is some moonshiner hunting you down.

Stick to the main roads and enjoy the “sights” but head back to civilisation before it gets dark.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

I think the “issue” with Connemara is more to do with its inhabitants than the scenery. A dark, scowling, people.

Mistrusting of “outsiders” so don’t turn your back on them. And be sure to avoid investigating and thin streams of smoke you see rising up behind any hills you pass, the last thing you want is some moonshiner hunting you down.

Stick to the main roads and enjoy the “sights” but head back to civilisation before it gets dark.

Poitin distiller it's the Wild Atlantic Way not the Wild West. The Clare hills have been known to have a few too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Milan on a Sunday was the biggest ghost town I've seen. It's cultural I think and they just don't work on Sunday even the corner shops and cafes. Even after the match in the San Siro the place was dead

We were in Milan just walking the city early on a Sunday morning and yeah it was like an absolute ghost town- except for one thing- models and photographers out doing fashion shoots up against classical buildings. We saw about four or five modelling shoots within a few hundred metres, they must always do it early Sunday morning to avoid crowds because there was no one else about.

Honestly as someone born and raised in SoCoDu I never really got the appeal of visiting “down the country.” Like it’s just fields and that horrible smell from those fat cylindrical bags of plastics and their accents oh my god they’re terrible.

I prefer to “staycate” within the confines of County Dublin where there’s actually things to see and do and some actual history.

There’s probably history down the country. I’ve heard tales of castles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,154 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Poitin distiller it's the Wild Atlantic Way not the Wild West. The Clare hills have been known to have a few too

Apologies, if these are your “people” but it’s not like they’re the guys who built the railroads here. They’re illicit distillers, or smugglers, of liquor. Moonshiner fits the “bill” quite well.

Sure, I’ll drink their “hooch” but I’d prefer to procure it from a middleman, if it’s all the same to you.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭wpd

anywhere in Ireland over priced food and drink, crap weather, drunks everywhere, dirt and litter thrown all around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,175 ✭✭✭screamer

Inis bloody mor. Stuck there on a school day trip and unless you wanted to cycle to dun aonghus there was literally sfa to see or do except will away the time till the ferry arrived to bring us back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭NSAman

screamer wrote: »
    Inis bloody mor. Stuck there on a school day trip and unless you wanted to cycle to dun aonghus there was literally sfa to see or do except will away the time till the ferry arrived to bring us back.
    See this is why play-stations ruined the world..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I thought Rome was boring. Sights like The Colosseum are actually very underwhelming when you see them up close. Apart from the pizza the food is horrible.

Lisbon is another dull dreary place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,681 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

What did you expect at an opera?
    A magic show and midgets riding motorbikes in a wall of death?

Ntdz05VZOlgRIWEUhn77NY-Qneg=.gif

I thought Rome was boring. Sights like The Colosseum are actually very underwhelming when you see them up close. Apart from the pizza the food is horrible.

Jaysis..........

All this post is wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭chosen1

Ah here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,681 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

giphy.gif