Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World Snooker Championship 2021

raclle wrote: »
    Is it Johnson :D

Yep - guess he's the co-commentator/analyst... Hendon is the 'main man' , so to speak :pac: He does have a lot of 'mares' does Joe :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭tanko

Augme wrote: »
    Basically cheating? Come on now.

The referee felt he was time wasting and had to tell him to get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭DmanDmythDledge

I think it's Johnson but he's doing almost all the talking so not sure if he's the co-commentator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Oof, disappointing one...

Hugely interesting end to the session here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭raclle

Brian? wrote: »
    I'm watching in Dutch. The peace is wonderful

I mute it if I'm forced to watch on Eurosport

Ah I'm only joking really!

I don't mind who wins tbh, I just like to see the best man win on the day, I'm not really a fan of anyone in particular.

Was joking myself.. Ya can support anyone - for whatever reason, and even change your mind.... That's a good thing about snooker... They were talking about it on Eurosport earlier... Even the crowd switch allegiance depending on who's well ahead, or behind... :)

Mon Stewie - you're staring at 13-11 atm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Interesting watch but even I'm getting tired at this stage hah

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

Was joking myself.. Ya can support anyone - for whatever reason, and even change your mind.... That's a good thing about snooker... They were talking about it on Eurosport earlier... Even the crowd switch allegiance depending on who's well ahead, or behind... :)

Mon Stewie - you're staring at 13-11 atm..

One of the biggest reasons I enjoy snooker so much is the fact I have no horse in the race, I don't really ever care who wins, all I hope for is a good game and let the best man win.

Is a player obligated to accept a concession? Otherwise Bingham should keep going til the black is potted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭dobman88

I really hope this is gamesmanship from Bingham. If Selby wants to take his time, grand, just take a break for himself. If its gamesmanship, its genius imo.

If he had an actual "emergency", hope its nothing too serious obviously.

Is a player obligated to accept a concession? Otherwise Bingham should keep going til the black is potted.

He didnt concede. Bingham asked for a "comfort break"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,858 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Just needed a slash:P I thought first they were going for another re-rack...

dobman88 wrote: »
    He didnt concede. Bingham asked for a "comfort break"

I know, but if Selby concedes later when he needs 6 snookers would Bingham have to accept?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭waynescales1

What Bingham should do is put every single one of those reds on a cushion.

all I hope for is a good game and let the best man win.
    I remember the good old days of high scoring and back to back centuries from each player all the way through a match. Don't see it much nowadays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Be nice to cannon a colour safe here somehow

I really hope this is gamesmanship from Bingham. If Selby wants to take his time, grand, just take a break for himself. If its gamesmanship, its genius imo.

If he had an actual "emergency", hope its nothing too serious obviously.

Stewie didn't "hang about" answering nature's call :D He was back in jigtime, after his 'Number One' , as mentioned by Murray :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

This is such an absorbing contest.

I remember the good old days of high scoring and back to back centuries from each player all the way through a match. Don't see it much nowadays

This is the good old days. The quality of this match is unreal.

When was that?

I know, but if Selby concedes later when he needs 6 snookers would Bingham have to accept?

Oh, sorry. I dont know the official rule, but why would you bother playing on and risk a comeback, however unlikely. Wouldnt make sense imo so just accept the concession.

If someone's taking the piss then take the piss right back.

This is the good old days. The quality of this match is unreal.
    I meant in terms of scoring but not denying the quality in this match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,858 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Stewie didn't "hang about" answering nature's call :D He was back in jigtime, after his 'Number One' , as mentioned by Murray :p

The exchange between Bingham and the ref

EXO4p7pdCf9F.gif

^^^^^

:D:D:D

This frame could end up longer than the 65 minute epic earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

http://www.snooker.org/res/index.asp?template=21

Have you ever seen a player get two 134's back to back in a match before?

There was also a 131 a 127 and a maximum attempt....

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Careless to give the touching ball there

If someone's taking the piss then take the piss right back.

Each to their own but I'd rather the frame tbh.

I meant in terms of scoring but not denying the quality in this match

Still no idea then.

If snooker was a sport that had century breaks as often as you stated, no one would watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,841 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The black that Bingham missed for the first 5 inches was straight in the middle of the pocket, then seemed to drift 3 inches to the left...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The exchange between Bingham and the ref

EXO4p7pdCf9F.gif

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

http://www.snooker.org/res/index.asp?template=21

Have you ever seen a player get two 134's back to back in a match before?

There was also a 131 a 127 and a maximum attempt....

Unforunately snooker suffers from the same thing most sports without "objective" scoring (e.g. athletics) do; everyone insists the old players were the best and they'll accept no evidence that says otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

Hendry is a brilliant commentator

And there's not a Granny in the Country switching over to the LLS :pac:

When I posted that - over 3 frames ago - I thought it would finish before RTE1s flagship light-entertainment programme :D

It's nip and tuck now which ends first :pac:

Bloody hell, what a risky shot that was!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

No end in sight.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Bloody hell, what a risky shot that was!

Worked out well though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

No end in sight.

Disregard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,722 ✭✭✭Cartman78

They could market this frame as a mindfulness and meditation tool :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Very unSelby like error

Sighs of relief from across the nation as that went in!

They must be shattered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Jez, I'm loving this match, absorbing all night

Ballrun Bingham

Mac_Lad71 wrote: »
    Hendry is a brilliant commentator

I'm too young to have seen him in his pomp but was he as ruthless a player as he comes across on comms? When he's talking about taking on a pot and almost sighs as a player plays a safety. Would he have gone for pretty much anything in his day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Ah here, playing on....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

5 snookers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Playing on for 5 snookers good lord

What's Selby up to keeping it going?