Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World Snooker Championship 2021

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

The 'Wilting Weeping Warrior' should be his full new nickname.

I'll say it now it'll be a Murphy-Bingham final...I just have a feeling:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭Genghis

Dennis Taylor would love that. When they first brought in the thing where you could draw lines on the screen he was using it every chance he got.

LOL so true. And usually being way off the mark too!

Was watching last night on Eurosport, neither commentator making any remark about position, when up pops a white circle. I figured Dennis was on duty over on the BBC.

Feeling was confirmed a few minutes later when the crowd spontaneously LOLd. Has to be Dennis.

He's top drawer among the balls.. Some amazing breaks tonight from Shaun; with most of them easy pots, with his excellent positional play... Ran out of luck there though - wasn't easy to clear up from where the reds were

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Cheeky!!!!!

Ink red ee bleh!! Water Plant Double - I made a pun there :P

HON SHAUN :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

What a way to win it fair play to Murphy.
    Maybe he reads boards.ie and all the giving out I was doing about him showing no fight in the past. And been a frustrating player for a fella of his talent.

I must be inspirational! :rolleyes:

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Murphy took 13 out of the last 15 frames, incredible stuff. Anything near that level tomorrow/Monday, he has that overdue second title in the bag.

Impossible he plays that well again has to be some sort of dip.

Oh Kyren on the Murphy celebrations:

'Looks silly not for me, he has to do what he has to do, to try and get to me'

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭mistermiyagi

The warrior gave in.

"Very Gracious" said Hazel :P

Major sour grapes there from Kyren...

The warrior gave in.

That black off the spot Kyren missed was the real killer.
    I think the Chinese up and coming players will end up by passing Kyren if he does not.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Fair F on Murphy for not feeling sorry for emotions good on Trump for backing him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

I at least like that from kyren. "I'm raging," he said, dismissing rob walkers caveat of having a great season, according to rob anyway. "I came here to win." Unlike robbo and judd who were putting positive spins on it. Maybe it doesnt make a huge amount of difference ultimately, but i still like to see the visible hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

They say a single pot can turn things and that memorable long black Murphy slammed into the back of the pocket yesterday was definatly one of them.

I've come round to Murphy in a big way, he speaks with great candour. And rightly says that fist-pumping and emotion are a welcome addition to snooker. More of his type and less automatons please.

Murphy on the fist pump celebrations:

'I think our sport needs it, I was not being disrespectful to Kyren I was celebrating my own shots'

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭B2021M

That black off the spot Kyren missed was the real killer.
    I think the Chinese up and coming players will end up by passing Kyren if he does not.

Jury out on most Chinese players still? Bar Bingtao (maybe!)

Murphy even gave praise to his Irish practising partner pros - Ken and Fergal.

Nice touch.

B2021M wrote: »
    Jury out on most Chinese players still? Bar Bingtao (maybe!)

Fair point not many have looked like making the cream of the crop except Yan.
    I have given up on Ding!

Fair point not many have looked like making the cream of the crop except Yan.
    I have given up on Ding!

Hazel never will...!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭raclle

Great performance from Murphy considering he was 10-4 down

B2021M wrote: »
    Hazel never will...!!!!

God your right she does seem to have a soft spot for him, Sorta mammy's Ding when interviewing him.

I have given up on Ding!
    He's my fav player :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,036 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Chuffed to see Murphy win that.. played an absolute blinder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

The repeated cleaning excuse doesn’t make much sense?

God your right she does seem to have a soft spot for him, Sorta mammy's Ding when interviewing him.

If i was in china i wouldnt send my kid anywhere near that academy of Ding's. Id say only potting is taught in it!

raclle wrote: »
    He's my fav player :)

Ding is very like Murphy (was) all the effortless talent the cue action. But then he would drive you insane with stupid misses and no fight.

Each time Ding played Ronnie he would be going on about his hero - Ronnie. Beaten before he started most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I can't belive there is still such a big deal being made of this fist pump thiing. Was it not the end of the session when he did it, so so what! Fist pumping is madatory in tennis.

AllForIt wrote: »
    I can't belive there is still such a big deal being made of this fist pump thiing. Was it not the end of the session when he did it, so so what! Fist pumping is madatory in tennis.

That's snooker for ya. Has to be up there with golf for stuffy traditions and conventions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

Yep former pool player.

Murphy lives in Dublin though.

Does he not live in Kildare?

AllForIt wrote: »

Exactly...

Unlike Selby's way over the top theatrics, when he got that fluke...

Major touch of smarminess about that - looking at Stuart; I think he felt like the jester was having a dig..

Fair play to Shaun's fistpumping - not as if he was doing it mid-frame.... "Crowdpleasing" is what it is - Like me, they were loving it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Selby looking to put this one away quickly it looks like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,931 ✭✭✭patrickc

I would much rather Stewart in the final. Hes much more fast flowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭dobman88

Addle wrote: »
    The repeated cleaning excuse doesn’t make much sense?

In what way?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭testtech05

Exactly...

Major touch of smarminess about that - looking at Stuart; I think he felt like the jester was having a dig..

Fair play to Shaun's fistpumping - not as if he was doing it mid-frame.... "Crowdpleasing" is what it is - Like me, they were loving it..

Missed this one myself. What was Selby up to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,036 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Agreed..

.. a year with very little sport with an audience permitted. Audience loved it and thrived on it.

Absolutely nothing wrong with it!

patrickc wrote: »
    I would much rather Stewart in the final. Hes much more fast flowing.
    I think it'd be a great final

That Bingham red even got a smile from 'The Jester'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,144 ✭✭✭Augme

Don't know why selby took that red of the side cushion when he played safe after his break ended. Very costly mistake from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

Cmon Bingham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

If Stuart gets over Shelby then the final can be billed as the battle of the bulge.

Gwan the overweight middle aged athletes....

Exactly...

Basq wrote: »
    Agreed..

.. a year with very little sport with an audience permitted. Audience loved it and thrived on it.

Absolutely nothing wrong with it!

As long as Murphy does not lose the run of himself and celebrate each pot the same way. I have no issue with it. Livens things up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Classic Ballrun there!

Mon Bully (Billy, his namesake, with the colloquial pronunciation :pac:) Bingham (Bungam) :D

Wipe that smarmy look off Mark's boat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

The tension is great

Christ the tension

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Selby has been so lucky on the last 2 shots.

Edit: Make that 3 shots. Jammy git!