Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Old Days on RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭adaminho

Rubbish! :P

I see your lame effort and raise you 3 Intro versions of ....The Paper Chase :D

Beat this ;D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

More US imports

Matt Houston
    Petrocelli
    TJ Hooker
    Dusty’s Trail
    When Things Were Rotten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,217 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

adaminho wrote: »

Beat this ;D

As soon as people started posting theme songs I thought of MASK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Sport Billy

Can't remember if this was shown in Ireland but remember it being on for every Spanish holiday I went on in the 80's
    I remember it being shown on RTE in the mid 1980s for sure.

He had some kind of magic bag from which he produced sports equipment to defeat villains, or some such nonsense.

I remember watching some highlights of the 1986 World Cup around Maradonna's death and Sport Billy appeared on the advertising hoarding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Early-mid 80s kids TV- this will bring a few of ya back in time- of course, brought to you by?????

....the Children's Television Workshop :D

3-2-1 Contact
    That was a children's science show from the US or Canada.

I remember one episode was dedicated to explaining the Sun, including it's eventual death.

They explained how the Sun would expand and eventually swallow up the Earth.

Scared the living crap out of a four year old me, even though they added it wouldn't happen for billions of years.

A billion years was the same as six weeks to me at the time.

Beat this ;D

Sorry now but if you’re going to be a sore loser, then you deserve Ryan on Scratch Saturday :p

The Electric Company was also good fun.

RTE would sometimes broadcast US kids dramas which had amended titles.
    One from the ABC Weekend Specials range was shown here as Camp Whackadoo. Over in the US it was Little Lulu.

The kids of Degrassi Junior High was another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

The theme tune was good but can't remember anything about the show itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    The theme tune was good but can't remember anything about the show itself?

From memory wasn’t she s housewife and he some kind of agent and she used to save him every week or visa versa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭afro man

Hysteria is the Thriller of hard rock. Released late summer 1987; the hits continued into 1989.

Their previous albums are great too. There was an excellent Early Years box released recently

Newbridge I think you getting carried away with Def leppard … Decent band with some good songs.

AC/DC Back in Black was the thriller of Hard rock 2nd best selling album ever I Think only thriller ahead of them and they still going strong today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭head82

Can anyone remember those scratch transfer sets you used to get back in the 80's? I had one for this show!

Weird you should mention these transfer sets. I just found a sealed, unused one for Dempsey & Makepeace yesterday.

head82 wrote: »
    Weird you should mention these transfer sets. I just found a sealed, unused one for Dempsey & Makepeace yesterday.
    she’s a beautiful woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,536 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

From memory wasn’t she s housewife and he some kind of agent and she used to save him every week or visa versa

I assumed at the time they were husband and wife but looking it up yeah that's right she was a divorced housewife . Storylines always about espionage though played a lot for laughs from what I remember. Enjoyable enough series.

afro man wrote: »
    Newbridge I think you getting carried away with Def leppard … Decent band with some good songs.

AC/DC Back in Black was the thriller of Hard rock 2nd best selling album ever I Think only thriller ahead of them and they still going strong today.
    They were massive in the states up to 87 whilst playing smaller gigs in Europe then they hooked up with mutt Lange and hysteria absolutely exploded and that’s when they were biggest on the planet, after that run the mainstream turned away from Rock of that kind :)

Hysteria is the Thriller of hard rock. Released late summer 1987; the hits continued into 1989.

Their previous albums are great too. There was an excellent Early Years box released recently

they were better than their reputation , that kind of " pop metal " became so unfashionable overnight at the beginning of the nineties that Def Lepard got lumped in with all the other LA strip peroxide blonde hair joke outfits

not saying Def Lepard were Led Zeplin or even Metalical but they werent as sh1te as many claim , i do however think if ( too cool for school ) Dave Fanning had not become friends and lived near Joe Eilliot , he would hold them in contempt , he hated that kind of "corporate rock" as he saw it

I assumed at the time they were husband and wife but looking it up yeah that's right she was a divorced housewife . Storylines always about espionage though played a lot for laughs from what I remember. Enjoyable enough series.

Getting kids ready for school and escaping kidnappers if I recall :)

I loved Barry Langs “the beatbox” that Was my mtv:)

The odd interview with international acts in absolute heaps from playing a gig the night before etc

The last half hour I recall got a bit wild and you might find a megadeth tune or two

they were better than their reputation , that kind of " pop metal " became so unfashionable overnight at the beginning of the nineties that Def Lepard got lumped in with all the other LA strip peroxide blonde hair joke outfits

not saying Def Lepard were Led Zeplin or even Metalical but they werent as sh1te as many claim , i do however think if ( too cool for school ) Dave Fanning had not become friends and lived near Joe Eilliot , he would hold them in contempt , he hated that kind of "corporate rock" as he saw it

I was 11 and went from to bon jovi to def leppard and thought I was great then heard kill em all and that was the end of rock for me :) apart from gnr

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Repeated by RTE not too many years ago (late 2000s/early 2010s). Many will remember Bruce Boxleitner from his later role on Babylon 5 or the Tron films.
    I loved Barry Langs “the beatbox” that Was my mtv:)

The odd interview with international acts in absolute heaps from playing a gig the night before etc

The last half hour I recall got a bit wild and you might find a megadeth tune or two

Later revamped as 2TV with mostly the same format but Dave Fanning as presenter. The odd thing about it was that it was broadcast on the radio too, in the days before digital delay you were suppose to mute your TV and listen in stereo on 2fm. The even odder thing was that the 2fm news bulletins went out during the show, from a small continuity studio with a set that looked nothing like anything else from RTE News at the time.

Jody was fine.

I was a bit too young to realise it when I was watching first time round :D

Kind of show " Smokey and the bandit " fans would dig

Two shows that I had mixed up in my head for years that RTE showed in the early 80s. CJ & The Bear and Me And The Chimp. The latter was a rerun of an early 70s show. Both comedies about fellas with chimp companions.

The Thriller comparison refers to the number of singles released off it. All of side 1 (Women was US only) and the title track on side 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭ErnestBorgnine

Dep Leppard were God-awful lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Children's tv on rte is horrendous at the moment, it is quantity over quality. They seem be showing US sitcoms and soaps now at a time that once was primetime Den.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

icdg wrote: »
    Repeated by RTE not too many years ago (late 2000s/early 2010s). Many will remember Bruce Boxleitner from his later role on Babylon 5 or the Tron films.

Later revamped as 2TV with mostly the same format but Dave Fanning as presenter. The odd thing about it was that it was broadcast on the radio too, in the days before digital delay you were suppose to mute your TV and listen in stereo on 2fm. The even odder thing was that the 2fm news bulletins went out during the show, from a small continuity studio with a set that looked nothing like anything else from RTE News at the time.

I remember Anthony Murnane reading the news wearing a stripey jumper on that. I still see his name as editor at the end of RTE news broadcasts sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭afro man

They were massive in the states up to 87 whilst playing smaller gigs in Europe then they hooked up with mutt Lange and hysteria absolutely exploded and that’s when they were biggest on the planet, after that run the mainstream turned away from Rock of that kind :)

Ash.J.Williams

Don't think I can remember a Time Def Leppard were the biggest in England / Europe never mind the Planet

Led Zeppelin only band I could think that came close to that claim
    Black sabbath / Iron Maiden /Motorhead/ Deep purple / Judas Priest / Saxon all streets ahead of Leppard

US Bands
    Guns n roses /Metallica / Dio

Add AC/DC - Rose tattoo from Down under

God who said Earlier 80s metal music was terrible

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Aglomerado wrote: »
    I remember Anthony Murnane reading the news wearing a stripey jumper on that. I still see his name as editor at the end of RTE news broadcasts sometimes.

He is an editor on Six One now. Haven’t seen him on-air in a long time but he did a long stint on the unfortunately now defunct late news on RTE Two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Ash.J.Williams

Don't think I can remember a Time Def Leppard were the biggest in England / Europe never mind the Planet

Led Zeppelin only band I could think that came close to that claim
    Black sabbath / Iron Maiden /Motorhead/ Deep purple / Judas Priest / Saxon all streets ahead of Leppard

US Bands
    Guns n roses /Metallica / Dio

Add AC/DC - Rose tattoo from Down under

God who said Earlier 80s metal music was terrible

And the stones bigger than the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,359 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

The Lyrics Board - Irish game show around music - from 1992 - 2012. First presenter Aonghus McaNally, then Linda Martin and, finally, a revamped one presented by Pop Idol winner Brian Ormonde. When I saw it all the panels were on the music or entertainment business. I saw a few in the 1990s and that was enough for me - I could only imagine what the later one was like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,516 ✭✭✭✭briany

The Lyrics Board - Irish game show around music - from 1992 - 2012. First presenter Aonghus McaNally, then Linda Martin and, finally, a revamped one presented by Pop Idol winner Brian Ormonde. When I saw it all the panels were on the music or entertainment business. I saw a few in the 1990s and that was enough for me - I could only imagine what the later one was like!

I can't really knock the Lyrics Board a whole lot. I do not like Linda Martin and all those who appeared on the show who see themselves as the big fish in the small pond that is the Irish pop music industry, but the show itself made a lot of older people happy and the format was exported to a lot of countries, so I can appreciate that it was something that RTE did well, even if I'm not personally a fan of the show's content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,991 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Apparently the format was sold to other countries and it did well in Germany

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

The kids of Degrassi Junior High was another one.

There were 5 different DeGrassi street shows!
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Degrassi

Going back over TV shows I loved as a kid I realised they were on BBC rather than Rte.

Roddy Doyle's Family.

I still try to bounce a couple of chips on the table to test their quality.

There were 5 different DeGrassi street shows!
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Degrassi

Kids Of Degrassi Street was a bit lame but Degrassi Junior High on RTE/Network 2 (possibly Thursday nights) 1987-1989 was ESSENTIAL viewing.

The follow up Degrassi High is ace too. Bought the DVD sets of both when on holidays in the US back in the 2000s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,282 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

really ? , i dont remember Denis o Brien or Tony o Reilly featuring on the show

We had lots of incoming tax exiles availing of Haughey's tax free status for artists - Elvis Costello lived in Stepaside, Jim Kerr in Killiney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,282 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Apparently the format was sold to other countries and it did well in Germany

Aonghus made a fortune from selling the format overseas.

Kids Of Degrassi Street was a bit lame but Degrassi Junior High on RTE/Network 2 (possibly Thursday nights) 1987-1989 was ESSENTIAL viewing.

The follow up Degrassi High is ace too. Bought the DVD sets of both when on holidays in the US back in the 2000s.

Degrassi Junior High is the one I mainly remember. A guy in our class was nicknamed Snake as he was the spit of yer man in it.

Only storyline in Degrassi High I really remember was the school bully who gets Aids and trashed the condom machine in the jack's. I'd largely moved on from it by that point.

briany wrote: »
    Roddy Doyle's Family.

I still try to bounce a couple of chips on the table to test their quality.

He was a fussy eater wasn’t he?

I’ve been nervous around frying pans since

Another thing about a lot of RTE childrens shows from the 70s and 80s is it's never entirely clear when they finished production. The year they started no problem but things get murky about when they actually stopped screening new episodes. The Wiki entry there says it was cancelled in the early 90s but it was probably repeats at that stage. (I'm guessing it finished proper circa 87-88)

Mystery solved on when Fortycoats ended. The last episode was shown on Christmas Day 1987 according to this. A different actress playing Slightly Bonkers also and no sign of Sofar.

https://stillslibrary.rte.ie/indexplus/image/2517/021.html

Mystery solved on when Fortycoats ended. The last episode was shown on Christmas Day 1987 according to this. A different actress playing Slightly Bonkers also and no sign of Sofar.

https://stillslibrary.rte.ie/indexplus/image/2517/021.html

The witch was married to scrote David Kelly I see

Actually come to think of it Rosemary Fine took over Slightly from Virginia Cole so that was three actresses who played her during its run. Who was Lisa Schuster, pictured in the first link? No further info out there on her (Doesnt seem to be American actress of same name)

Edit: it must have been Schuster took over from Cole and then Fine over from her going on the timeline, unless there was someone else in between.

https://stillslibrary.rte.ie/indexplus/image/2525/074.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew

The Famous Five.

Back in the old days on RTE when the Angelus came on, instead of a montage of people looking serenely into the middle distance or images that made us reflect upon creation, we'd get some classic Christian iconography of the Virgin Mary, holding the baby Jesus, replete with halos, and Mary's head bowed at an awkward reverential angle as was the style at the time. Always gave me the creeps.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I remember The Blizzard of Odd (or some other comedy) taking the piss out of that angelus stare thing, with a burgler and also a couple going at it, stopping and looking into the distance when they hear the bell.

Actually come to think of it Rosemary Fine took over Slightly from Virginia Cole so that was three actresses who played her during its run. Who was Lisa Schuster, pictured in the first link? No further info out there on her (Doesnt seem to be American actress of same name)

Edit: it must have been Schuster took over from Cole and then Fine over from her going on the timeline, unless there was someone else in between.

https://stillslibrary.rte.ie/indexplus/image/2525/074.html

I served Virginia Cole in Adare Manor back in 93. A lovely woman and was telling me about a movie she just finished making. Turns out she was Georgie Burgess wife in the Snapper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,991 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I served Virginia Cole in Adare Manor back in 93. A lovely woman and was telling me about a movie she just finished making. Turns out she was Georgie Burgess wife in the Snapper!

I remember her also from The Irish RM playing the much putupon Bridget.

She went onto become a barrister later in life, though still had occasional roles in movies such as Tara Road. Sadly passed away in 2018.

https://superannrte.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=6538&Itemid=104

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Funny we were only talking about this.
    https://twitter.com/LUFC1992_v2/status/1385502917881389056

Heather Thomas, wow, forgotten her, such a stunner in that blue bikini!