Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aggregate for fencing posts

Options
  • 15-04-2021 4:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭

Hi
    I'm putting some wooden fence posts in my garden over the weekend - complete novice!! :confused:

They say to put about 4 inches of gravel. But what exactly can i use? Need to pick it up in Woodies. What can i get?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭u2me

I think woodies might do the post 10 (20kg) quick setting concrete mix which would make it easy for you - 1 to 2 bags per post depending on the size of post and hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Concrete will prematurely rot a wooden post... guaranteed!!!

Smaller gravel easier to pack around post. Whatever is cheapest really

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭u2me

All timber posts rot in the ground - With pressure-treated posts, the rot will be slow....Concrete should be poured around the post - no concrete under the post just compacted gravel to allow the water to seep away. You can put an extra cover of preservative on the base of the post before concreteing and it should be fine for years.

That said the cheapest method is to just use compacted gravel

Guaranteed PREMATURE ROTTED if you concrete around a wooden post.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

The Romans use to burn the ends of posts some still survive (from what I hear) I've experimented with a charred larch pergola but to early to give feedback on how that weathers

• Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Idioteque

peteb2 wrote: »
    Hi