Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3 - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 56 ✭✭Is this the end

The Govt had a vote tonight to

Stop vulture funds buying up family homes
    Cut rents with a month's rent in your pocket
    Ban rent increases for 3 years

They voted against it. They dont care, id say the streets will be hit by the end of June. The anger everywhere over this past week will reach the tipping point

The Govt had a vote tonight to

Stop vulture funds buying up family homes
    Cut rents with a month's rent in your pocket
    Ban rent increases for 3 years

They voted against it. They dont care, id say the streets will be hit by the end of June. The anger everywhere over this past week will reach the tipping point

Love this. People have more to do with their time than take part in meaningless protests just to give the workshy an almost free house. Most people are too busy living their lives and enjoying the fruits of their labours to be bothered with supporting those who wouldn’t lift a finger to help themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,766 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Love this. People have more to do with their time than take part in meaningless protests just to give the workshy an almost free house. Most people are too busy living their lives and enjoying the fruits of their labours to be bothered with supporting those who wouldn’t lift a finger to help themselves.

I think this is what happened at the last election. The genie is out of the bottle, the electorate know that the reality think in the power swap is the above. 'Them and us' -'we have and we are gonna hold'.

Keep it up Maryanne until we get back to the polls...you are doing a great job.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

The government parties and their supporters are going to get some land when they realise just how many people, far beyond the handful of people are workshy, are genuinely angry about this housing issue.

The contempt shown for generation rent here will be paid back with interest, not just by the people impacted directly but also their family members and friends, and plenty more who are disgusted with the carry on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,914 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Workshy? I have friends who work but sadly won't able to own property and have to rent. The majority at protests would not be workshy. Have you any data or evidence to back this up?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

The "workshy" who get "an almost free house" are hardly the target audience to protest against the government to not allow vulture funds to buy up complete housing developments, and therefore locking out generations of first time buyers etc, and locking them into an essential never ending rental contract now are they Maryanne?

It isn't mandatory to have to make what you believe to be witty retorts in an effort to offer your subservient defense of the government you know?

Why don't you put some more forethought and care into posts before firing them off?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Nurses, young Gardai, IT specialists are the only ones I'm hearing on the broadcasts speaking about their difficulties in getting housing. Disdain for those people from FFG supporters is really telling and fully illustrates why sweet FA is being done for them.
    I hope ye continue in this vein on pi55ing down on them and get the result at the next election which is justly deserved.

I don’t think it’s the people looking for a free house who are the angry people now. It’s the ones who work and can’t afford to buy one who’s blood is starting to boil. And not even that, the well paid are starting to become priced out of the market.

Election 2021 anyone? 2/1 in the bookies if you want to treble the money

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

That's how out of touch they are. Assuming everyone who is looking for a home wears track suits and come from council estates. Disgusting.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,362 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Election 2021 anyone? 2/1 in the bookies if you want to treble the money

You think mounting public anger will make a general election more likely?:confused: Unless the Greens decide to cut and run I don't see how that works.

This might https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/officers-seize-mobile-phone-in-leo-varadkar-leak-inquiry-wfzxp8stl

I have a feeling we will see Mr Ryan in leaders questions tomorrow and not the leak.

Wont see him again

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Unfortunately this issue affects the hardest working in our society. Those who make the biggest contribution.

:rolleyes: Nice try.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,976 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Yet I'm someone who works in IT outside of Dublin and I'm on 40k a year and I can't afford anything worth living in.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,469 ✭✭✭jmreire

Despite all appearance's to the contrary, FFG, Greens, are very much aware of how a GE would go at this point in time...they will move hell and high water to avoid one. But that does not rule out some unforeseen event making an election unavoidable.

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭Humour Me

The people who are angry are ‘the people who get up early in the morning’, you know, the same people Leo wanted to stand up for. If he tries that line again in the next election, FG will be punished.

They are the same people who pay the majority of taxes, pay the high rents (cos they earn too much to get assistance) can’t save a mortgage deposit (due to high rents), and when they do get mortgage approval, can’t compete with the councils, housing bodies and investment firms.

They are also the same people the government will be asking to go out and spend money to get the economy back up and running. At what point will these people get a break?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭timmyntc

jmreire wrote: »
    Despite all appearance's to the contrary, FFG, Greens, are very much aware of how a GE would go at this point in time...they will move hell and high water to avoid one. But that does not rule out some unforeseen event making an election unavoidable.

True, but the longer FF remain in coalition the more their vote share will dwindle.
    If they have any hope of remaining a contender and not being wiped out they will need to make a lot of noise about how FG are to blame for housing crisis, "attempt" to propose some fixes which are ultimately shot down by the coalition (i..e its all FG's fault!) and then pull the plug on the whole thing,

However MM is at the helm of the party and I don't think he has ever been proactive in his life - The Minister for commissioning reports to tell him what to do

timmyntc wrote: »
    True, but the longer FF remain in coalition the more their vote share will dwindle.
    If they have any hope of remaining a contender and not being wiped out they will need to make a lot of noise about how FG are to blame for housing crisis, "attempt" to propose some fixes which are ultimately shot down by the coalition (i..e its all FG's fault!) and then pull the plug on the whole thing,

However MM is at the helm of the party and I don't think he has ever been proactive in his life - The Minister for commissioning reports to tell him what to do

I reckon when Micheals time is up as the main man, he will walk away and the current Govt will fall apart.

May fall apart sooner if the Gardai charge Leo

I reckon when Micheals time is up as the main man, he will walk away and the current Govt will fall apart.

And miss out on the extra money? Will he fcuk

• Registered Users Posts: 16,362 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

pull the plug on the whole thing,
    I reckon when Micheals time is up as the main man, he will walk away

This only happens if FF are showing some improvement in the polls. Triggering an election without that is harakiri for FF

catch-22. So long as they uphold the coalition, they are the kicking boys for FG and somehow the Greens too.

And miss out on the extra money? Will he fcuk

Extra money? He is guaranteed his ministerial pensions.

skimpydoo wrote: »
    Extra money? He is guaranteed his ministerial pensions.

As an active Minister you get an extra salaried allowance of ~€81k on top of TD salary.

Martin will never again get it in his lifetime I'd say

• Registered Users Posts: 27,769 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Humour Me wrote: »
    The people who are angry are ‘the people who get up early in the morning’, you know, the same people Leo wanted to stand up for. If he tries that line again in the next election, FG will be punished.

They are the same people who pay the majority of taxes, pay the high rents (cos they earn too much to get assistance) can’t save a mortgage deposit (due to high rents), and when they do get mortgage approval, can’t compete with the councils, housing bodies and investment firms.

They are also the same people the government will be asking to go out and spend money to get the economy back up and running. At what point will these people get a break?

This is the type of populist rubbish that gives economic analysis a bad name.

You are crying that these people can't save enough for a mortgage deposit, but somehow they are supposed to be the same people who saved through the pandemic and are now expected to go out and spend money to get the economy back up and running? That simply doesn't add up.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,769 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Keep dreaming.

Martin may well resign as FF leader when his time as Taoiseach comes to an end, but a new FF leader wouldn't be stupid enough to go straight into an election. That would be especially true if it is Jim O'Callaghan as he has zero Ministerial experience and would need some under his belt before an election.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Keep dreaming.

Martin may well resign as FF leader when his time as Taoiseach comes to an end, but a new FF leader wouldn't be stupid enough to go straight into an election. That would be especially true if it is Jim O'Callaghan as he has zero Ministerial experience and would need some under his belt before an election.

If Leo gets charged FF might pull the plug on the government.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,640 ✭✭✭Floppybits

That won't happen. Firstly I can't see Varadkar being charged and secondly FF are facing annihilation if there was an election in the near future. FF need to stay in government for as long as possible and hope to get in some big wins in that time. In the unlikely event of Varadkar being charged and if he left government then FF could do a Pointus Pilot and wash their hands of it and say it is now an FG matter and hope to continue on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

I don't think so. We already know what he did and Fianna Fail and the greens already shamed themselves. If he goes down an election might be forced but if it is it won't be based on any ethics.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

This reminds me of the Global Financial Crisis from over a decade ago, in the sense that Ireland's domestic problems are being exacerbated even further by a global crisis.

https://www.cnn.com/2021/05/13/business/global-real-estate-prices/index.html