Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3 - Threadbanned User List in OP

Mary Lou is not in government and I do not support SF.

Do you not think its disengenous to diss a government decision taken with opposition support and with no foreknowledge of the hindenberg rocket ship effect of the British variant?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

I never did Finty.

Mis-representation and lies again. Glad I didn't waste time debating with you. good luck now.

Back up on the ditch again. Enjoy ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 68,823 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Back up on the ditch again. Enjoy ;)

Yep, away from those who need to mis-represent and lie about what was said to defend.
    Had enough of them, ta very much.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,262 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Do you not think its disengenous to diss a government decision taken with opposition support and with no foreknowledge of the hindenberg rocket ship effect of the British variant?

Nope. This is a government thread. The government took the decision against the advice of NPHET. I dont care what SF thought. The decision has led to 4 months of Level 5. Own it FFGG.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Nope. This is a government thread. The government took the decision against the advice of NPHET. I dont care what SF thought. The decision has led to 4 months of Level 5. Own it FFGG.

Probably would have happened anyway and worse
    At least some of the socialising up to xmas was in a controlled environment
    The public would not have accepted a pre xmas lock down
    You have the benefit of hindsight which is always unreasonable

I never did Finty.

Mis-representation and lies again. Glad I didn't waste time debating with you. good luck now.
    Pandemic spike in every European country at Christmas. Own that FF and FG. Jaysis.

Why was there such a high rate in NI where FG and FF were not in power? Hmmm

Westminster I suppose will be trotted out as the excuse. Not new variants of a a very new novel coronavirus.

Pandemic spike in every European country at Christmas. Own that FF and FG. Jaysis.

On the 1st December we had a 7 day average of 237.

On 8th January we had a 7 day average of 6363 (8227 new cases that day)

A 26 fold increase.

Are you saying other EU countries surged worse than that in relative terms? Did they also have a health system as badly prepared after decades of FFG mismanagement?

Martin himself admitted opening pubs and restuarants for Christmas was a major mistake.

Probably would have happened anyway and worse
    At least some of the socialising up to xmas was in a controlled environment
    The public would not have accepted a pre xmas lock down
    You have the benefit of hindsight which is always unreasonable

Isn't that just typical.

Blame the public. The government were warned that what they were doing was mistaken. Hindsight is not an excuse either.

The public have done all that was asked of them. Didn't the last person making these filthy attacks on the public get shown a poll showing that the public thought the lockdown wasn't strong enough at one point.

All we can do is hope the government have gotten it right this time.

Westminster I suppose will be trotted out as the excuse. Not new variants of a a very new novel coronavirus.

There was a massive spike in NI at Christmas. Monaghan and Donegal and Louth were worst hit in ROI post-Christmas. Maybe cross border contamination had more to do with the ROI issue than a technicality in implementation of measures? That would seem logical, but like many opinions on here, remains devoid of any factual proof.

A 26 fold increase.

Are you saying other EU countries surged worse than that in relative terms? Did they also have a health system as badly prepared after decades of FFG mismanagement?

Martin himself admitted opening pubs and restuarants for Christmas was a major mistake.

He did, and then blamed the media for overstating the relevance of the expert advice given to him that he ignored. Varadkar also admitted that they opened up too quick and too much.

Un-fecking- believable.

A 26 fold increase.

24x in Spain
    15x in Finland
    20x in Czechia
    22x in Portugal
    32x in France
    Irelands health system as measured by morbidity and mortality, coped very well. In relative terms.

24x in Spain
    15x in Finland
    20x in Czechia
    22x in Portugal
    32x in France
    Irelands health system as measured by morbidity and mortality, coped very well. In relative terms.

I will take your first two. Spain & Finland

Spain
    1st Dec - 7 Day Average = 9115
    11th Jan - 7 Day Average = 23087
    A 2.5 fold increase.

Finland
    1st Dec - 7 Day Average = 461
    8th Jan - 7 Day Average = 256
    A decrease :D

I assume you made up the rest too ;)

I will take your first two. Spain & Finland

Spain
    1st Dec - 7 Day Average = 9115
    11th Jan - 7 Day Average = 23087
    A 2.5 fold increase.

Finland
    1st Dec - 7 Day Average = 461
    8th Jan - 7 Day Average = 256
    A decrease :D

I assume you made up the rest too ;)

Whats with the arbitrary choice of dates?

Isn't that just typical.

Blame the public. The government were warned that what they were doing was mistaken. Hindsight is not an excuse either.

The public have done all that was asked of them. Didn't the last person making these filthy attacks on the public get shown a poll showing that the public thought the lockdown wasn't strong enough at one point.

“ The public have done all that was asked of them.”. Were the public asked to ignore common sense and mix with all and sundry? Or did the Public do the sensible thing and mix with as few as possible, for the greater good. Our old mate ‘Personal Responsibility’ comes in to play. How many thought it vital to visit granny or grandpa, even though they were happy to stay in isolation? Shur, Twas there right to see nana and grandpa, no matter nana and grandpa’s wishes.

Finland in early March 832. Running higher not lower
    Spain 10th Feb 103,000

Isn't that just typical.

Lol Francie
    Tisn't China we live in
    People are breaking rules right left and centre,your virtue signalling aside
    We can't send them all off to be with the Uighars
    Just like you expect us to believe 44,000 pro SF posts cannot be from a member or employee,credit us with some inteligence as to what went on or is going on in the country minus the virtue signalling
    If we remained locked down in December we would still be now with even less compliance
    Human nature unless you're in China and get imprisoned

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

A 26 fold increase.

I read that. They certainly accepted they made poor decisions. I think they were looking to be popular. I see 'we all partied' is still the popular excuse.
    Going pretty good now. I hope things continue to pick up.

“ The public have done all that was asked of them.”. Were the public asked to ignore common sense and mix with all and sundry? Or did the Public do the sensible thing and mix with as few as possible, for the greater good. Our old mate ‘Personal Responsibility’ comes in to play. How many thought it vital to visit granny or grandpa, even though they were happy to stay in isolation? Shur, Twas there right to see nana and grandpa, no matter nana and grandpa’s wishes.

Your government undermined you Maryanne. Both Martin and Varadkar admitted the mistake. Martin blamed the media for blaming the government, he's a sleeveen, to be expected.

You're blaming the people for a mistake the government admitted. Lovely.

Whats with the arbitrary choice of dates?

:D You are making up data and you are asking me why I picked the 2 dates :D

Classic!

Ah...the government opened shops, hairdressers, pubs, gums in early December hence 1-Dec and 8th January shows the impact including a lag for incubation/testing.

Where did you get your data? ;) I should test a few more of your numbers for the craic.

Lol Francie
    Tisn't China we live in
    People are breaking rules right left and centre,your virtue signalling aside
    We can't send them all off to be with the Uighars
    Just like you expect us to believe 44,000 pro SF posts cannot be from a member or employee,credit us with some inteligence as to what went on or is going on in the country minus the virtue signalling
    If we remained locked down in December we would still be now with even less compliance
    Human nature unless you're in China and get imprisoned

Introduce the shinners when your argument is weak. How typical again.

Shebean wrote: »
    I read that. They certainly accepted they made poor decisions. I think they were looking to be popular. I see 'we all partied' is still the popular excuse.
    Going pretty good now. I hope things continue to pick up.

They had months and months of chaos, confusion and terrible communications (I wont even mention Clifden). Living with Covid, Level this-and-that. Their ineptitude essentially pressurised themselves into giving a Christmas present to the electorate, against NPHET advice. It was a car crash. They were desperate for likes.

24x in Spain
    15x in Finland
    20x in Czechia
    22x in Portugal
    32x in France

Portugal

1-Dec 7 day average = 4545
    8-Jan 7 day average = 8568

2 fold increase...:)

Introduce the shinners when your argument is weak. How typical again.

Lol you virtue signal and accuse me of having a weak argument
    The ironing is strong,you'll burn the shirt :)

Finland in early March 832. Running higher not lower
    Spain 10th Feb 103,000

Random numbers.

Have they moved Christmas now in Finland? Does Santa know?

Lol you virtue signal and accuse me of having a weak argument
    The ironing is strong,you'll burn the shirt :)

Giving credit where it is due is not virtue signalling.

The public in the main did what they were asked to do. November I think the ESRI poll was done that showed the majority thought the lockdown wasn't strong enough, but people like you think they would have been a revolt by sticking a finger in the wind.

Random numbers.

Have they moved Christmas now in Finland? Does Santa know?

Wales didn't open for xmas
    Travel was restricted
    It had a horrendous surge
    People are people
    Blaming governments is just lazy

Wales didn't open for xmas
    Travel was restricted
    It had a horrendous surge
    People are people
    Blaming governments is just lazy

Making up data is lazy.

I don't have the Welsh data but here is UK.

1-Dec 7 day average = 15194
    8-Jan 7 day average = 57851

3.8 times. We'll say 4 fold.

Making up data is lazy.

I don't have the Welsh data but here is UK.

1-Dec 7 day average = 15194
    8-Jan 7 day average = 57851

3.8 times. We'll say 4 fold.

Have a look at the welsh data as it was in countrywide lockdown :)