Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,482 ✭✭✭✭road_high

The further Mcentee is away from ministerial office the better quite frankly. Rarely have I seen such a senior minister in cabinet with such a poor grasp of her brief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

Having 3 billion in the back pocket. Magic money tree. What he spends it on is irrelevant to the fact that he was able to produce it. We hear 'no magic money tree' when its something, we now know, the government simply don't want to spend money on, like building social and affordable housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,046 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Politics is all about choices.

3000 million for homeless Ukrainians is a choice.

And nothing for homeless Irish citizens is also a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭howiya

Ignoring the link to the refugees because I've no issue with the government supporting them, it's absolutely incredible that on the same day that the Minister for Finance was telling us on the airwaves we'd have to wait till October to see the extent of cost of living supports etc, the Minister who shares the budget day theatrics with him can tell us this information about next year's government expenditure.

When they say 'there's no money' and dismiss it with 'no magic money tree' but then produce 3 billion, says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I'm glad to see she's at least done something with her time in politics. 🙄

And sadly for me I'm in her constituency.

The advantages to FF/FG of taking in so many Ukrainians are as follows:

1 - A pat on the head from Brussels, Berlin and Paris. FF/FG love nothing more than appraisal from the EU.

2 - Possible EU jobs for the boys after they finish running this kip into the ground. It's long rumoured that Varadkar fancies himself (doesn't he always) as President of the Commission post 2025 after he has screwed FG and the country.

3 - 200,000 Ukrainians with votes in future elections dilutes the Shinner vote especially if FF/FG claim it as their success.

4 - An attempt to appear altruistic and humane when FF/FG are nothing of the sort. They hate the Irish people.

5 - I'd be highly surprised if some are not doing financially very well from such a scheme to place Ukrainians in hotels etc. . Many FF/FG are more than happy to take HAP payments from the state to artificially keep rent/house prices high.

6 - Media distraction from the housing crisis with more of a focus on Putin's war.

All about self-interest and self-preservation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,024 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Darragh O Brien tip toeing (badly) around questions on his views of president Higgins recent comments.🙄

News at One

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

More statistics...

Ireland rank 10th in a list of European Countries, for the average annual wages.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/557777/average-annual-salaries-in-europe/

But ranked as joint most expensive country in the EU

I was listening to Claire Byrne today and they had pharmacists on talking about how difficult it is to get pharmacists to work for them/with them. There is a shortage.

One lady owns a pharmacy in the city centre and she was saying that a lot of the foreign pharmacists that were working here, went home during covid, as the wages may be higher here, but the quality of living is better at home for them, for what they can afford and do with the wages from there. She had previously employed an Italian and another from elsewhere (I don't recall exactly where the other was from, I think Spain) and both also went home for those reasons.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,342 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

4 - An attempt to appear altruistic and humane when FF/FG are nothing of the sort. They hate the Irish people.

Top notch political analysis there. 🙄

No need to analyse factual information. I bet Varadkar wishes he was a Brit ffs.

Beggar's belief, no magic money Tree 😳

Yesterday it was reported it would be easier to win the lottery than get a table in a Dublin restaurant.

Mother of God, no supports, reliefs re cost of living crisis and this 😡

There really is no magic money tree. ;)

FF/FG are borrowing from the future to pay for all this as they tell the poor to go **** themselves.

They'll loot every state coffer for their cronies in business and elsewhere before they lose office in 2025.

It's actually beyond disgraceful and outrageous, it's actually disgusting 😡

Who is supposed to go to those events, and who will insure them? There's nowhere for tourists to stay, and if they have an accident while they're here, good luck getting a hospital bed.. 🤣

Then of course there is us.. Who have been told that our drinking is the reason the hospitals are so busy, so they reward the breweries and retailers with MUP, but we really need to, we can still drink in the pubs and nightclubs that now have funded events (not funded by MUP), and may soon be open all night..

Genius.

It's just bizzare, is there any logic to this absurd nonsense, jesus wept, I'm just flabbergasted and I know the sector well 😳

People on their knees, can barely afford to fill their cars, pay utility BILLS, cover childcare costs and they seriously think people either think this acceptable or that folks will find money from hidden magic money trees to go nightclubbing and drinking into the wee hours, FFS 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,960 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Still no yes or no answer from Blanch on President Higgins comments.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭shirrup

Youd have more of a chance finding a table in a Dublin restaurant walk in......

Or getting the few bob at your local SW office that MM and Eamonn Ryan keep rabbiting on about 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,011 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

I thought it was pretty self-explanatory?

Let me repeat it.

The Dail is not the Cabinet or the Government. You seem to think that because the Dail is in recess the Cabinet don't meet and the government goes on holiday.....

It Doesnt!

Hope that is clear enough for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,415 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Your devotion is acknowledged and accepted. If you want, I can send you revolut details so that you can pay tribute to me.

Target or goal in mind for what? Another pointless, useless statistic? 

OK, so not only do you reject the notion of comparing Ireland using independent international benchmarks and statsitcs, you also don't see the point in creating targets or goals, for example in relation to housing.

So that puts you firmly in the 'Govern by mood and sticking a wet finger up in the air' camp?

Thought as much. Empty vessels and all that. :) :D

... and in that scenario, the Dail can be recalled....

It's so blatant, that they are using refugees to have a go at the government when they admit they don't care one iota for said refugees and would rather those people be murdered and raped by Putin's army than go and actually help them. The usual crew were all for Putin some months back, changed their tune slightly but still singing the same song.

A disgusting sexist comment. Well done for outing yourself.

Ah, so when the stats go in your favour, you like to bring them up.

Odd that? ;) :D

Yes, Ireland is an expensive place for all types of reasons.

You don't like being called out on your over-the-top banal and faux anger at all and anything the government does.

Have a go at government policy all you want, but do it within the context that a) we live on planet earth b) we are a member of the EU c) we have signed up to international treaties with respect to refugees.

No government can just wish away reality because the powers of the Irish government and state are somewhat limited these days with what's going on in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,960 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Actually, I referred to Government clasping for their passports in advance of their holidays and the fact all they seem to care about is insuring said passports in date.

So let's analyse your sillyness.

Government = Politicians

Cabinet = Politicians

Dail = Politicians

Politicians fecking off on extend holidays

Ergo = No Politicians = No Cabinet = No Government

It's not rocket science marko

And there off 🤣🤣

Called out?

You honestly are incapable of calling anyone out, that takes being able to read first. Faux anger is hilarious, especially coming form somebody who has the word "outrage" in their permanent vocabulary.

This government may try to wish away reality, but the reality is they are useless cretins.

Ireland is now the most expensive country in the EU, without the wages to match, we have insurance cartels, high inflation rates, and money being squandered everywhere by the government. Tourists can't afford to come here, and if they could, there isn't enough accomodation, because the government are paying for it to house the refugees we can't accommodate. Pubs and nightclubs are being funded by our money to provide'event's to entice us into them to pay their crazy prices. As if money wasn't tight enough without the government funding them to coax us out. That is without going into any of the other areas that need serious attention. So while you believe you need to defend these and think people are sticking their sticking their wet finger in the air, it beats the hell out of where you lot have your fingers stuck. Regardless, it's time to pull them out, people are sick of looking at these useless eejits, and listening to the likes of you defending them, as funny as it was to begin with. I am surprised Leo hasn't voiced out about the shortage of flakes and tried to help fix it for the ice cream vans. All he'd have to do is point out there are tons of them in Government.

Have you answered any of my questions from yesterday or were they too difficult for you? Any of them? Or are you just going to troll through posts, quote them and write some piece of unrelated useless nonsense underneath, with the intention of getting a reaction and deflecting from the subject and avoiding answering anything .

AKA - Trolling.

You referenced the Dail going on a summer break.

But the Cabinet isn't going on holiday. Its that simple

This shouldn't be that hard for you to grasp, and if you find it tough going perhaps you need to rethink the context in which you post.

Ireland is now the most expensive country in the EU

No its not. Its joint along with Denmark, and Irelands wages are near the top as well by the way.

The rest of your post is just another angry word salad that you seem to reval in.

Semantics, are you seriously, seriously, seriously suggesting members Cabinet not going on extended holidays.

Oddly enough, it actually won't make the slightest difference, it might actually save money, given they very fond of shaking this mystical magical money tree they say doesn't exist, yet more hand outs to hospitality, €3Billion for Refugees, Grants for Ukranian Students.

Usless shower and the Irony, Marko, if SF pulled even a fraction of the strokes this shower are pulling, who'd be the first to go into a frenzy 🤔🤔🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Irelandsnumberone

Sinn Fein will be able to do alot in Govt that FG or FF in opposition won't be able to hold to account. For example any govt documents can be leaked by any SF leader to a friend and the opposition will have to just say well the precedent is there for nothing to happen, what can we do

It's joint what with Denmark? Most expensive country in the EU... 🙄

Imagine you having to read a newspaper or book. There are a lot of words in those...

Have you answered any of those questions?

Over the top is it?

This is you:

" they don't care one iota for said refugees and would rather those people be murdered and raped by Putin's army than go and actually help them."

Gutter talk you made up. It was FG refused to sanction Putin when the Crimea was invaded.

But we know FF and FG are happy to turn a blind eye and help cover up institutional rape, selling babies and leaving a mass burial ground of infants to lie fallow.

It is quite extraordinary to see the twists in everything you post.

On the one hand this is such a great country that every Ukrainian is busting their gut to get here but this is such a bad country because something something de gubberment.

I don't know about nowadays, but I worked in a Minister's office as a civil servant nearly 30 years ago, and he was in touch daily with the office for the whole year. Just about got Christmas Day off. The idea of Ministers having extended holidays is just silly nonsense.

But we welcome and accept the like of Michael Noonan not knowing about the siteserv deal (within the department he headed) with Denis O'Brien, when convenient.

Post edited by Brucie Bonus on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,158 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

that every Ukrainian is busting their gut to get here

That's quite an obscence exploitation of the situation Ukrainians find themselves in.

Hmmm, 30 years ago, I'd have hoped things we're better back then.

You can accuse of twists and turns all you like, your an expert in the field.

I've made a point, stuck to it, had to break it down due to semantics and here we are again, more twist and turns, it's almost like Dancing on Ice.

So to reiterate Dail recess will see a mass exedos of politicians, Opposition, Government TD'S and members of the Cabinet, they'll return after yearly think ins, Lessons to be learned and government back to the same nonsense until the fireworks commence before budget.

Meanwhile, people left dangling, Queuing up at food banks, calling on SVP for help, inundate MABS (actually has already happening), desperately seek rental accommodation, likely increased numbers in Emergency Accommodation, Struggle to afford childcare, back to school costs, Fuel prices through the roof, struggle to actually live week to week.

Meanwhile, before they go AWOL, more ****ing grants for night time economy when no one can afford to socialise, pre announcement of a magical €3 billion for refugee expenditure.

This is Not makey uppy Blanch, its not even some 3rd world country I'm referring too, all this is happening, in Ireland in 2022, I hope your proud of your hero's.

It's disgusting.

Higher earners always the winner in good and austerity times under FFG, at the expense of low and middle income earners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,482 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Are FG now genuinely panicking after over a decade of destroying the middle earners they supposedly “represent” or taking the piss out of us yet again?

Lots don’t get any bonus or if they do like me it’s very much performance and financially related and fairly modest- and taxed to the fcukin hilt before you see a cent of it.

Budget 2023 may increase tax-free bonus for workers - Varadkar

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2022/06/21/budget-may-increase-tax-free-bonus-for-workers-varadkar/

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,657 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Any more discussing other posters rather than the topic and you can expect a minimum of a threadban

I knew certain persuasions played the fool regarding welfare, pretending you could walk in, claim money and get a house if you liked, but to see ministers suggesting we rock in to the local welfare office because of petrol prices, the cost of a loaf of bread and the like and they'll slip us all a few quid, is gross fantasy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,342 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Semantics, are you seriously, seriously, seriously suggesting members Cabinet not going on extended holidays.

Cabinet members almost certainly have far fewer days off work in the year than you or I. Complain about what they are achieving all you want, but being a member of government is generally a pretty invasive job that leaves little downtime.

I am glad you think so, because that is clearly what posters are saying, that Ukrainians are coming here, not because they are being blown to bits by Russians, but because our gubberment is making it too easy for them.