Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hate crime nonsense

GarIT wrote: »
    I would like to think that I am. If there rather than denigrating those that are doing so for their causes is a reference to this thread, I'm here because I believe this legislation will be used as a weapon against white men to treat them worse and won't be applied fairly when they are the victim.

Examples. "Kill all men" is just the name of a political movement and not a threat, nor a reference to all men. "All Cops Are bastards" isn't a comment on all cops, "men are trash" Is just a joke within the LGBT community and you're the problem if you take it as an insult but state the fact that near 50% of Nigerians in Ireland are unemployed and you are prejudiced against all Nigerians and you are apparently literally Hitler.

This legislation will be used as a weapon against white men?
    Are you actually serious?
    I think you have a persecution complex!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

So in todays world we are led to believe that the experts don't know what they are doing, the government don't know what they are doing, the journalists don't know what they are doing.

Is that it? So how is it all the people who know everything haven't become experts, or don't put themselves forward for government or don't analyse what is happening appropriately or won't advocate for a meaningful improvement but can tell us all what is wrong from anonymous accounts online.

It's like the Frankie Boyle joke about a TV show on how to be successful at business aimed at people who are sitting at home in the middle of the day.

I am clearly referring to the media industry.

And no, just because a media company identifies a personality as an expert doesn't mean you have to....

This week we had the laughable situation where Claire Byrne (media personality) and Sam McConkey ("expert") claim they had no idea who John Ioannidis (one of the worlds leading and most respected epidemiologists on the planet)

I'd be like a Bishop claiming he didn't know who the Pope was!!!

Media....it's unhealthier than fast food!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

bubblypop wrote: »
    This legislation will be used as a weapon against white men?
    Are you actually serious?
    I think you have a persecution complex!

Men already face longer prison sentences for the same crimes in this country, this will only make it worse.

I would like to think that I am. If there rather than denigrating those that are doing so for their causes is a reference to this thread, I'm here because I believe this legislation will be used as a weapon against white men to treat them worse and won't be applied fairly when they are the victim.

Examples. "Kill all men" is just the name of a political movement and not a threat, nor a reference to all men. "All Cops Are bastards" isn't a comment on all cops, "men are trash" Is just a joke within the LGBT community and you're the problem if you take it as an insult but state the fact that near 50% of Nigerians in Ireland are unemployed and you are prejudiced against all Nigerians and you are apparently literally Hitler.

GarIT, all joking aside, go read the current Irish legislation regarding hate crimes.

Then go read the new legislation.

You're getting yourself worked up over absolutely **** all.

You'll still be able to say "ACAB" and you'll still be able to point out whatever statistics you want about Nigerians.

You have a fundamental misunderstanding about what's going on.

GarIT, all joking aside, go read the current Irish legislation regarding hate crimes.

Then go read the new legislation.

You're getting yourself worked up over absolutely **** all.

You'll still be able to say "ACAB" and you'll still be able to point out whatever statistics you want about Nigerians.

You have a fundamental misunderstanding about what's going on.

I didn't say either of those would be stopped. I know the current legislation on hate crimes is useless.

In general legislation on hate crime is pointless unless it is covering new crimes that previously weren't a crime. If it's just increasing sentencing based on motive I disagree with it.

Men already face longer prison sentences for the same crimes in this country, this will only make it worse.

Longer then who? Women?
    Do you think women will not be charged with hate crimes if they commit them?

Longer then who? Women?
    Do you think women will not be charged with hate crimes if they commit them?

Yes, that is what I think. White women doing something on black women might be changed but other than that they wont.

I didn't say either of those would be stopped. I know the current legislation on hate crimes is useless.

In general legislation on hate crime is pointless unless it is covering new crimes that previously weren't a crime. If it's just increasing sentencing based on motive I disagree with it.

You have great trouble with hyperbole.

You said yesterday or the day before that the majority of people didn't know what racism was.

And now you say if you make a particular point about Nigerians you're "literally Hitler."

Yes, that is what I think. White women doing something on black women might be changed but other than that they wont.

This just doesn't make sense.
    You may try to explain that post

You have great trouble with hyperbole.

You said yesterday or the day before that the majority of people didn't know what racism was.

And now you say if you make a particular point about Nigerians you're "literally Hitler."

I can't remember which post you are referring to.

And the literally Hitler bit was a comment on other people's reactions in comparison to stuff against white men.

This just doesn't make sense.
    You may try to explain that post

There is a hierarchy of victimhood in modern society. This legislation will only be used when somebody has done something against someone else with more victimhood points than them.

Women get more victimhood points against men, but they don't get as many as black people.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,081 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I was mugged by travellers. Lost half a tooth and spent 24 hours in A&E. I could Identify the people and they were well known to Gardaí. They barricaded themselves behind this gate and Gardaí just said well we can't do anything about it now we can't get past the gate. Didn't make the news, if I talk about it I'm told that's racist to do so. If someone says "boo" to a traveller, black person or a member of the LGBT community its front-page news.
    That is just absolute nonsense and I am speaking from personal experience I was attacked by two lads while walking home at night "q#eer" etc...slashed in the face with a Stanley knife....it wasn't news anywhere.

The gardai did absolutely nothing, I had to suggest they check cameras etc.
    I was nearly at my door and I lived about 100 metre from a gardai station.

gmisk wrote: »
    That is just absolute nonsense and I am speaking from personal experience I was attacked by two lads while walking home at night "q#eer" etc...slashed in the face with a Stanley knife....it wasn't news anywhere.

The gardai did absolutely nothing, I had to suggest they check cameras etc.
    I was nearly at my door and I lived about 100 metre from a gardai station.

I don't believe you.

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭scottigael

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/irish-politics-is-still-male-pale-and-stale-says-katherine-zappone-9wqk7sx8n

Politicians in Ireland have been “male, pale and stale” for too long, according to Katherine Zappone.

Sounds like hate crime to me. And this is an opinion shared by someone who was at the cabinet table.

I don't believe you.
    Lovely.

I have posted about it before on here you can check my history.
    I have no reason whatsoever to lie.
    Unfortunately have the permanent scar to prove it

• Registered Users Posts: 21,687 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

There is a hierarchy of victimhood in modern society. This legislation will only be used when somebody has done something against someone else with more victimhood points than them.

Women get more victimhood points against men, but they don't get as many as black people.

You're going way into 4chan type stuff at this point GarIT.

More victimhood points against men? Where can they redeem these points? What is their cash value? Do you think all the women who are raped or sexually assaulted and don't see the person who attacked them in this way face any consequences for doing so feel consoled by some bizarre concept of victimhood points?

gmisk wrote: »
    Lovely.

I have posted about it before on here you can check my history.
    I have no reason whatsoever to lie.
    Unfortunately have the permanent scar to prove it

Realistically I do believe you, the gardaí can be useless, but I was replying in kind based on earlier responses.

scottigael wrote: »
    https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/irish-politics-is-still-male-pale-and-stale-says-katherine-zappone-9wqk7sx8n

Politicians in Ireland have been “male, pale and stale” for too long, according to Katherine Zappone.

Sounds like hate crime to me. And this is an opinion shared by someone who was at the cabinet table.

So make a complaint.

I can't remember which post you are referring to.

And the literally Hitler bit was a comment on other people's reactions in comparison to stuff against white men.

cheezums wrote: »
    you and others seem to be having some trouble understanding what racism is.

giving out about a specific person or situation - not racist.

giving out about an entire race - racist.

hope that clears it up a bit for you.
    That's not what the majority believe. I've been called racist many times for complaining about George.

This one.

I'm a libertarian socialist (far left extremist according to some on boards).

One of my favourite pastimes is tearing Fine Gael and Fianna Fail apart.

But this legislation is so very faint. It's like moving the clock from midday to 12:05

As I've said before, if you go to court it needs to be proven that you've attempted to 'incite hatred'.

Just ridiculous.
    Points for 'victimhood ' don't exist anywhere except in your head.
    As pointed out, it is the offenders intent that determines what crime they committed.
    I think the victimhood is strong in you.

So make a complaint.

Exactly.

Everyone is free to make a complaint.

Realistically I do believe you, the gardaí can be useless, but I was replying in kind based on earlier responses.
    Then maybe show some manners and don't take out your frustration on other posters.

You're going way into 4chan type stuff at this point GarIT.

More victimhood points against men? Where can they redeem these points? What is their cash value? Do you think all the women who are raped or sexually assaulted and don't see the person who attacked them in this way feel consoled by some bizarre concept of victimhood points?

Scholarships, promotions, air time, jobs in general is where they can cash them in.

I'm not following you with "don't see the person in this way".

Sure women can eb the victims of awful crimes. But those that aren't the victims still benefit from the victimhood and trying to overthrow male privilege but putting men down at every opportunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭scottigael

So make a complaint.

Nah sure you've got anti racism NGOs on the media and online saying that same stuff everyday. The point of hate crime legislation is not to target a protected caste like them.

Just ridiculous.
    Points for 'victimhood ' don't exist anywhere except in your head.
    As pointed out, it is the offenders intent that determines what crime they committed.
    I think the victimhood is strong in you.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oppression_Olympics First used in the University of California, San Diego in 1993 by feminist scholars. So no, not just in my head.

I disagree that the intent should matter in many cases. And I think intent will be incorrectly assumed in many cases. The mother will use "black bastard" if arguing with a black person "fat ****" if arguing with a fat person, probably just "wanker" if it's a white male. If something somehow ended up in a fight, I'm sure that comment would be taken as intent.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oppression_Olympics

I disagree that the intent should matter in many cases. And I think intent will be incorrectly assumed in many cases. The mother will use "black bastard" if arguing with a black person "fat ****" if arguing with a fat person, probably just "wanker" if it's a white male. If something somehow ended up in a fight, I'm sure that comment would be taken as intent.

You clearly don't know much about law and courts.

scottigael wrote: »
    Nah sure you've got anti racism NGOs on the media and online saying that same stuff everyday. The point of hate crime legislation is not to target a protected caste like them.

Would that be on the predominantly white male media. Or have things really changed in the couple of years since I left Ireland.

I mean around that time, the singular example of a vocal diverse member of the media left her show on Newstalk because she felt that they hadn't handled a particular case correctly and this lady wasn't exactly snapped up by another media outlet or is a frequent contributor to the current public discussion whether via print or television, radio or online media.

All these complaints come across as people feeling aggrieved that they will not be able to express fervent dislike for other people or groups without consequence as they maybe have done in the past.

You clearly don't know much about law and courts.

Not a huge amount but if I am reading things correctly, the intent doesn't need to be proven beyond reasonable doubt like other crimes.

Scholarships, promotions, air time, jobs in general is where they can cash them in.

I'm not following you with "don't see the person in this way".

Sure women can eb the victims of awful crimes. But those that aren't the victims still benefit from the victimhood and trying to overthrow male privilege but putting men down at every opportunity.

How exactly do they benefit from this victimhood? Please be as specific as possible.

They get favoured for hiring and promotions to "improve diversity", they get specific scholarships available only to them, they get more air time to speak about their issues and are listened to more, cared for more, supported more.

We are told to believe them always and not believe others who they may have aggrieved.