Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things dat Trivyully Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP* NEW

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

When you're in a supermarket and there's someone with a trolley dithering directly in front of the item you want to take from the shelf.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,841 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Put something away for safekeeping and not remembering a few months later......

(I did find it eventually after turning the place upside down 😄)

Seven Worlds will Collide

Dont talk to me, I got my insurance disc early last month, need it this week but I can't find it,I should have just left it on the microwave with the rest of the stuff but I put it in a 'safe place '.🙁

• Registered Users Posts: 6,841 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Ah yes the old insurance disc, I changed mine yesterday....so....

TA 1 - why is a rectangular piece of paper called a disc 😄

TA 2 The holder on my car is too small for said 'disc' so I have to fold a bit at the side to make it fit

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,780 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Check the glove compartment! That's where mine was. (or where your scissors are).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I reported a while back about a mouse inhabiting my car. Well thankfully it definitely seems to have moved on. But...

...the brother's GF's car got a similar visitor before Christmas, while we have extracted four of them from my mother's car over the last week. it's only two years old two, so not exactly a skip on four wheels. Some of the car experts I've been talking to have never seen the likes of it, and my poor mother refuses to drive her car until she is sure it is rodent-free.

To me, far more worrying than Omicron 😁

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I hope they have Road-Dent insurance...

Got coat.. Leaving now..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,459 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

It's been years since I've gotten a physical disc or insurance certificate - it's been dowload them and print them myself the last good few times.

TA - having to find / go somewhere with a colour laser printer to print the disc because ink jet print fades very quickly in sunlight.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,780 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Suckit, that's appalling. You should be proud of yourself. 😁

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I was in Lidl recently and after me side stepping to stay out of a guy's way, he then proceeded to step back and block my way.

In fairness when I said excuse me, he was genuinely apologetic.

TA that so many people go around as if there is nobody else in the world but them.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Hope you are better soon.

Am with you all the way on the refusal by some to step out of gloom and doom and references to 'the times we are in' as they hide behind closed doors.

Yep, it's been pretty sh1te, but we have to try to move on, and grab at some kind of normality, imo.

Agreed.

Equally annoying, imo, are those who barge around busy streets and shopping centres as though they are the only ones there.

I posted this on another thread - recently in Dublin city centre, I was walking down Abbey St. I met a woman with three teenagers, presumably a mother and three daughters.

Their amazement that I didn't immediately flatten myself against the nearest wall, to make way for them, was almost palpable. They had to actually give way very very slightly so that I could pass by. 😉

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭MTU

Middle age women taking 3-4 minutes rooting through their bag at checkout to find their cash/card.

Bad enough they talk shite and slow down cashier and then the double whammy ‘oh my card it’s here somewhere’

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

It's the same when getting on a bus. This morning in the bus queue yer wan in front of me was rummaging the depths of her handbag looking for her Leap card. Why couldn't she have done this before the bus came along?

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭honeyjo

TA by mice in a car 😲 I hate rodents. I'm glad I have a cat

• Registered Users Posts: 19,430 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

The fact that most businesses now do not have any phone number for a branch.

When did we, the general public, accept that as being okay?

One of the best pieces of advice I got years ago was to ring a shop to check if they had an item before I went. You can, in theory, do that with some shops online, but the information is not always current.

Seriously, have a landline number and ****ing answer it!

I see both men and women, of all ages doing that, rummaging in wallets or bags. As though it's a surprise they have to pay. Likewise at checkouts.

Another personal favourite, when I used to travel a fair bit by Dublin Bus, someone would get on, hold a ten journey ticket to the validator, ticket used up, out with another ticket, same thing.

This could go on through a cycle of maybe five tickets before the working ticket would finally be produced. Would they drop the used tickets into the receptacle provided on the bus, helpfully marked 'used tickets'? Nope. All carefully folded back onto the wallet for a repeat performance next time. 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Am I the only one to notice that little acts of chivalry seem to be taking a back seat during this damn pandemic?

I was in the shop earlier, and there was an older woman struggling to reach something on the top shelf. She was surrounded by what looked like able bodied people, but did one of them lend a hand? Can't sure because of the rona. She was very grateful when I grabbed it for her.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Chivalry only seems possible now of you have a camera to record it and stick it up on social media.

There was nothing stopping anyone asking her if she would like if they grabbed the item for her..ie would she like help.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

When somebody gets to a checkout just before you, and then sends their partner or child off to do the rest of the shopping and you're left waiting for them to come back while everything else has already been scanned in.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I've become more helpful if anything recently and it's shown me how badly behaved or just plain heedless many have become.. TA it takes nothing out of your day to hold a door or briefly assist someone as you go about your day.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

TA that is a terribly written post

• Registered Users Posts: 25,310 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Still waiting for an installation date for the about 1500 euros worth of fitness equipment which I bought. Almost one month ago now…a treadmill and other stuff..

I was told everything was in stock but there was a wait to get a date from the installation team who were busy, time of the year etc… no problem..

the wait is fine but the approximately 1500 euros spent that’s been sitting in their bank for weeks yet not a single phone call or email to schedule the installation … ?

busy I get, but it’s not beyond the capabilities of somebody in the office to look at their PC, schedule a date and time in the future…pick up the phone and communicate it…you know, basic planning, enabling customer satisfaction through courtesy, efficiency and professionalism ?!

plumbers, roofers, painters, mechanics, etc… can look at a diary, plan a job and tell the client when exactly the job will get done… ie. “be there in xx weeks, Feb 2nd at 9am….” All you need is a diary and half a brain.

no matter how it goes this shower won’t see another cent of my cash…

• Registered Users Posts: 10,735 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

That I’m going to have to listen to, angry, whingers giving out about Dr. Ciara Kelly’s “100 Days of Walking” for the next few months.

Bizarre how something with, obvious, benefits for health, both mental and physical, can anger some people.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

It is common enough as it reminds people that they could be better people if they were more motivated. The same anger is directed at environmentalists, cyclists and vegans. It is irrational.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,497 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Just out of interest where do you find these people?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,430 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

drivers (predominantly men) who drive pieces of sh1t cars and insist on trying to take off like a formula 1 driver, despite the fact that the car clearly has a 1 litre engine and hasn't enough power to pull a sailor off your sister..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,661 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Pricey retailers still being useless.

I ordered a piece of exercise equipment before Christmas and the order was cancelled with no notification.

It was an english retailer that specialises in car parts/accessories and bicycles. I shopped around, and though they were more expensive than some places, I went with them because they promised they had it in stock, and available for click and collect. First of all that was lies. When I put the order through, it told me I could collect it eight days later, but to wait on email notification. A bit annoying, but this was late November and I wanted it for Christmas, so no big deal.

Then they sent me a coupon for black Friday deals, despite me having ticked the 'no marketing emails' box.

The Tuesday it was supposed to be collected, there was a red weather warning due to a storm, so I wasn't surprised when I didn't get an email to go collect it. Weeks went by with me kind of forgetting about it, thinking it must be supply chain issues, and trusting that I'd get some sort of email notification eventually. Nope. Finally went to check on it yesterday and the order was showing as cancelled. Nothing about when, or why. Useless sods.

I thought about complaining, but given my experience with their customer communication I can't be bothered. Instead in the future when I'm shopping around I'll be buying from somebody else, even if they're more expensive and don't have it 'in stock'.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,257 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

I didn’t realise I had stepped in blood and spread it on the carpet walking around. I hate cleaning carpets, but maybe I should be glad it wasn’t wine.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,735 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis