Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things dat Trivyully Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP* NEW

• Registered Users Posts: 5,764 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

...and when I returned to my own house I discovered a nice hairball from the cat on my bed. 😾

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I'm starting work in a new department today which has a smart dress code of shirt, pants and shoes. It felt like putting on a cumbersome suit of armor this morning compared to the usual laboratory scrubs that I was used to throwing on in the mornings. Also, the belts I bought turned out to be way too big, luckily I found a belt in the closet that fits. The fancy Dube shoes I bought look great but the right one feels a bit smaller than the left one, there's not much wiggle room for my big toe. Anyway despite that it's a new adventure for me, and I can give the oversized belts to my neighbor friend who's a lot bigger than I am.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

• Registered Users Posts: 478 ✭✭Run Forest Run

People who put spaces before and after a full stop or comma , when typing something out . Like wtf is that all about?

I've provided some examples here . I sometimes see a whole wall of text with this craic going on , so it's clearly not some honest typo.

Do these people think punctuation marks require their own safe space or something? 😋

When you get sausage rolls from the deli and they're way over cooked and dry.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,413 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

no space before a full stop or comma but there should be one after them. In the old days you put 2 spaces after a full stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Had a session with work therapist(mandatory given the type of job it is) they said I looked upset and I said yes I was but it was a domestic issue and not much work related.

They say, tell me so I do, I was in a hurry to get something in the post and a sib was going to be just across the road from the po so I asked if they would register the letter(something they do often in their lives) they refused citing the way they were asked for id when they tried to buy a postal order( this person has such a negative outlook that if a person doesn't faun over them they consider it snobby and have a hissy) so I don't put much weight on this interpretation of events(esp as it happens daily in their world)

Therapist tells me sib is sensitive and I have to make allowances for the(sib is rarely sensitive about anything that doesn't impact them), So its ok for him to be sensitive but its NOT ok for me to be upset when it impacts on me! got it!

I really thought this kind of sexist thinking has been eradicated from private practice.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

stopped at traffic lights yesterday,simply gorgeous day,sun beaming,nice breeze,just beautiful...group of cyclists pulls up in front of me,no bother with them,live and let live untill...one of them proceeds to start pulling at the arse of his shorts and seems to pull about 4 feet of stretchy fabric out of himself and has a good root around...suppose wasnt that annoying more hugely puke-inducing...a bit of decorum wouldnt have gone astray though!

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,527 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Moving house. My odious parasite of a landlord has given me the marching orders so he can get another hundred a month. It's all so stressful and tedious.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,527 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Thanks S. To be honest, he's not raised the rent on me in 5.5 years renting from him. That said, he's got this greasy obsession with being considered a good landlord (Another TA). Like, he moved a drunk into the house in April 2020 who went on to tell the neighbours to go back to their own country. A few of us told him we'd be leaving if he didn't. The drunk was booted and we got a message from him telling us what a good and responsive landlord he is. He's then ended our business relationship for an extra £100 a month.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 6,258 ✭✭✭Archeron

I got two of the giant sausage rolls yeaterday, big meaty yokes, lovely puffed up pastry, all perfect. Then the woman behind the counter snapped them both in half (snapped, not cut) so she could put them SIDEWAYS into the bag which was long enough to house them length ways anyway.

When I'm emporer of earth, these people will be punished.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,357 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I mean that does sound a slightly extreme reaction

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Sounds like she was channelling Lorena Bobbitt.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,489 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I've organised to met a friend that I haven't seen in a decade.

I was a tad nervous but I was fine really.

Worst came to worse we could just blabber on about the past.

However now her husband is going to be there I'm an acquired taste.

Post edited by freshpopcorn on

• Registered Users Posts: 12,550 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Your probably meant to go to the Dispute Resolution section to make a complaint about moderation and that is only if you have been banned, infracted or warned about something I think.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,174 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Phrases like 'starter home' and 'property ladder' beloved by the property porn industry.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,938 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I think that was it too , but we’ve kissed and made up . It’s that long time since i had to go there and I got lost and probably posted in the wrong thread . All good now I hope

• Registered Users Posts: 25,296 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Not so trivial..

neighbour and another one of the older folks from our local has died….

a distinctly likeable, friendly, humorous, jolly and very nice man…

the very odd time myself and the chap being neighbours would stroll homeward from the boozer if coincidence would have us departing the pub at the same time….. one of those lads that when sober, a bit merry, quite drunk or in between he was always the same… reliably good humoured, funny, considerate and just a seriously nice bloke… very active in the golf society, always keen to enjoy the craic with his mates, missus and regulars alike… time for everyone, not a soul to say a bad word about him…

Strangely though they are not allowing comments on RIP.ie which is totally peculiar as he was held in very high regard by all who knew him and he is a couple of days dead…. Never seen that before, odd..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,739 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

I think its the rip.ie site. My aunt just died and I cant see the comments but my aunt’s children can - not sure what that is all about.

Not a fan of snooker, or any sports as such but maybe the climate protesters could demonstrate at an oil refinery or big oil HQ instead of ruining everyone else's fun?

I don't think their current schtick is winning them much support. They look like crazy people gluing themselves to paintings and all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I asked my longsuffering friend to help me a bit with my excel revision, he did but it doesn't work with the learning softwear.

Its HORRENDERIOUSLY glitchy and often marks its own solutions as wrong! but Im mandated to use it.

I asked if he could help me breaking down one questions(so I could understand how it works and bypass the memory issue), he said he would and then gave out about the softwear for about an hour.

Maybe he thinks that's helping(he is very good hearted) but nothing about his comments on softwear I cant change helps me!

Ta2 NOONE else in the group is having the same issues so Im being written off as being (insert any phrase denoting stupidity/laziness/whiney)

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,372 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I see their point* in that if they protested outside an oil refinery no one would ever hear about it. Protesting in this manner hits the front pages.

Similarly peaceful protest is easily ignored and is why authorities prefer it.

*not to say I agree

All it does it irritate people who might otherwise be well disposed to the climate emergency and it makes protestors appear unhinged. Rather like that fruitcake priest who liked disrupting sports events.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,413 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

what is the question? maybe somebody here can help.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,372 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Well that is not all it does. It gives them a platform that they would not get with peaceful protest. We are talking about it for example. I have also seen a number of these guys be interviewed on TV shows.

We are talking about it, but it doesn't follow that we are going to glue ourselves to paintings.

The Greta/school strike thing died a death, this will too when it becomes routine and when people tire of it and stops getting reported in depth.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭AxleAddict

Agreed - but getting peoples attention and getting peoples support are two very different things - and it's the latter you really need.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Pubs that have TVs on and music playing.

In fact, TVs in pubs in general. Most of the time they're on for the sake of it.

Well they have peoples support No? Not for what they are doing but for their ultimate message. There are not too many around anymore that don't think something needs to be done for the environment. These guys are trying to keep it in the headlines and they are succeeding. Probably one for a dedicated thread elsewhere though