Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things dat Trivyully Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP* NEW

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

road works! theyve the main road near me dug up over a year now and everyfeckingtime it looks like its getting closer to being finished...they dig yet another hole in it,theres always about 10 lads standing around it,all with either drawings/maps clutched in their hands or tit-feeding a shovel and only one lad actually in the hole doing the work!

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,642 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

The accessories attachments and bits you keep but never use when you buy a new product.

I have a small storage box dedicated to the rawplugs and screws that come with things that need to be mounted on walls and ceilings. I never use them but they are too good to throw away. Similarly I have attachments and accessories that have come with electrical equipment and other stuff. Example I have a bag of bits to use with a wet and dry vac to use when using the vac wet. I never use the vac to suck up water so don't need them but can't bring myself to throw them away. In fact I only use the crevice tool with the particular vacuum so all the other attachments are surplus to requirements. If I ever needed any of them I doubt I could find them easily. Its only that I found them in a press recently that reminded me I had them at all.

Worst of all is being persuaded to buy a product because of all the extras that are included and then finding that you never use all the extras.

The problem all these excess bits may come in useful sometime? So I still can't persuade myself to throw them away.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭blackbox

Amazon haven't yet dispatched the stuff that I ordered a week ago.

I normally select free delivery and it comes only a day later than if I had paid for delivery - usually about 4 days.

I'm convinced they are holding it back so that I'll sign up for Amazon Prime.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,492 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I hate LinkedIn.

Is Ireland in England according to this? Job's in Cork btw.

It's also trying to get me to sign up for premium. It think that one of the best jobs it has for my skillset is Policy Advisor for the Council of First Nations in Western Canada.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

Always happens this time of year after Black Friday and in the run up to Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,652 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

• Registered Users Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Im a quasi ginger myself. There were a few in my beard and hair , they’re all white now but 🥵

• Registered Users Posts: 5,868 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Went into Bank of Ireland today to lodge money into someone's account (yes I could have transferred the money but I didn't want my bank details showing up on their account, nothing nefarious just I don't really know the person)

So get greeted as is the norm these days....say I just need to do a quick lodgement....do you have a bank card...no I'm not with BOI....oh sorry you can't make a lodgement.....eh what...it was only 200 quid so not like a massive money laundering operation.

So ended up coming home and having to do the feckin transfer.

I get their business model is to wean away walk in business, but between the greeter and cashier that's 2 people serving the one customer each time ..FFS just have 2 cashiers!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,167 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Guards hauling harmless auld devils with health problems before the courts for having cannabis plants for their own use.

The amount of media outlets and the over-touchy Israelis giving out about Leo's tweet. Thought it was a little twee but not full on anger fuel.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭thomil

Went grocery shopping after work this evening. 592 different varieties of cheddar blocks all front and centre, but if you want a pack of continental cheese, Emmental in my case, it's hidden away in a corner and massively overpriced... or not even available, looking at you here, Aldi & Lidl.

Cheesed off...

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

Trying to find my dog's poo in a massive pile of leaves.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,258 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The absolute madness of the pre-Christmas rush. For what, when you reach a certain age, amounts to the most interminably long day that drags on and on.

Speaking as a postman, y u need so many parcels?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,255 ✭✭✭Archeron

Kneel down and i guarantee you'll find it by the third attempt.

My TA, sweary bus drivers. Got the bus home from dublin, and as much as i am also partial to the occasional expletive, this dude said fcuk about 50 times, there was a good smattering of cnuts, and even a trollop, which i havent heard in years.

Trollop!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,286 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Our local chipper is normally excellent but they seem to have been grossly understaffed of late…

Today we were left short two bags of chips…. Cod and chips x2, quarter pounder & curry chips x2….the two standard chips….were not in the bag despite being charged for them…

a busy area, a busy Friday yet only two people working behind the counter when we went in….same as it’s been for a while

ended up having to lob some frozen chips 🙄 into the air fryer…

food is really excellent, service was good but considering the money they have to be making there…. Pure böllocks…to have only two people working front of house in a busy chipper..

A relation offered to do my parents a favour, of a legal nature through their work, they’ll get paid for it but when they offered…” I’ll get that fast tracked you won’t have to wait….” not only wasn’t it fast tracked, it’s now fully side tracked…and they’ve gone to ground.

3-4 weeks was their guesstimate but by my calculations it’s 7 weeks as of today or yesterday….since that conversation.

They are very active posting on social media of an evening, so it’s not like there is a rogue chipmunk commandeering their wifi or 5G…

”sorry, X happened you’ll have to give me another X number of weeks”…. That’s grand, just so long as they can plan accordingly…

gone incommunicado, ❌🤌🏻

Because sweet lady Capitalism wants you to buy all sorts of useless shít.

My TA is no one repairs anything anymore. If you haven't bought something from a shop or dealership or whatever, they're not remotely interested in helping you out. Throw it away and buy a new one from us.

• Registered Users Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Nowadays, something that is 5 or 6 years old is classed as vintage and place's that could fix your item before, refuse.

I usually like to buy things that are a few years old already, rather than the latest model, so I can get a better deal but this has been ever increasingly problematic these days.

Needed to replace a charging port on something myself recently because a place refused to fix it for being too old. Not a soldering job or anything, just find a replacement part and plug it into the board.

Had to learn how to take the thing apart, there was about 50 or more steps in the process just to get to the charging port, then obviously I've to put it back together again, which is another 50 steps.

T. A. That it took me probably an hour and a half to complete but I have no doubt that a person who does this for a living could have it done in 30 minutes or less.

To be clear here it's not the technician that I'm annoyed at but rather the company policy that prevents him from fixing it.

Just more stuff ending up in landfill due to corporate greed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,371 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I have a tablet that needs a new charging port. I could do it in 30 mins if I had a soldering iron and the part. I don't though and to pay someone to fix it would be the price of a new tablet so inevitably it will be dumped and replaced but as of now it is still on my to do list:(

• Registered Users Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Yeah everything is getting smaller and smaller these days too, requiring more specialist equipment that your average person wouldn't have in their home.

Peoples' dating profile pics:

Out of focus, blurry, multiple people in one pic, pics taken in public toilets, pic of your kid, pic of your pet, pics with a mask on, memes (live, laugh, love or that Marilyn Monroe quote she never actually said)

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Scipri0

I hate when ones that are taken from afar, They're doing everything except showing what they look like, so you don't even see the person's face clearly in any of the pictures! I automatically skip any that has an Instagram or social media because you know they're only looking for followers, so i skip them no matter what.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,289 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

suppose it's keeping the music alive but very much lining the pockets of Gene And Paul

The ABBA show is great though

• Registered Users Posts: 3,471 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

People who when you ask them how they are reply "not three bad". Proper comedians

Totally…All for attention… the ‘ look I’ve lots of friends and do interesting social things and yes sorry you don’t know which one I am

The ones that used to annoy me too were the fückwits who’d take a selfie in the mirror with the phone obscuring most or all of their face and head…what’s that all about ?

’ you do know the actual reason why you put up the picture Fiona !? not so we can see the back of your phone and your hand….so we know what you look like, to establish an attraction should one exist, to establish if it’s worthwhile messaging you ! ‘

Sticking out your tongue like a naughty child, or a dog is another one. You're a grown adult who works in an office, Eimear.

Also people who still duckface.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

I went to 4 different jewellers in Belfast before trying to get a ring resized. Pretty standard job I thought but every single one said they would only do it if I had bought the ring in the shop. As if you keep receipts when you buy rings? I had to go to an online repair shop to get it resized. So no wonder people are going online for stuff these days.

My TA today is the absolute STATE of the sandwich I got made in the shop. Yer wan was too busy chatting to her mate to pay attention to her job. So I got a blob of sauce in the centre, half of the chicken fillet hanging out and so much salad that I had the makings of another whole sandwich on the paper when I was finished. And she managed to get sauce all over the outside of the bread too.

Have had something in my eye all evening. I won't have an eyelash left on that side from all the rubbing.

Also, set Christmas menus fcuking everywhere for the entire month of December. Get in the sea.

Also, clients.

Also, when you have a long hair in your sock and it wends its way between your toes.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Ballsort , I thought I was a shoe in to complete it but in my cockyness made a

balls up 😡😡