Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things dat Trivyully Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP* NEW

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,379 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I often wonder do some people milk being trolled.
    They could be a 2000 Tweets about them and 1998 might be positive and two might be negative and they’ve a little melt down over it!

I think it is because they are surrounded by sycophants constantly telling them how great they are that they cannot deal with nastiness. If they were that upset by it they wouldn't be logging on

• Registered Users Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

People who'd turn on you as soon as look at you. There's plenty of them about

• Registered Users Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭oneweb

This:
    Screen-Shot-2021-06-29-at-17-11-06.png

And
    "Apple Watch 7 rumoured to have better battery life"

:facepalm:

Basically headlines that aren't.

It is what it's.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,732 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

So, I'd a cancellation this afternoon at work. I manage to fit someone else in and I'm done by 15:15. Ask the boss if I can work from home and she's fine with it. Great, I think as I can now avoid the mass of football fans on the tube. As luck would have it, the match is on at 5pm, not 7pm so I now get to spend over half an hour crammed in a sardine tin with a load of tipsy troglodytes attempting to sing about the IRA and the Luftwaffe. Had I stayed at work until 5, this would have been avoided. Eurgh.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users Posts: 18,778 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I was late to the iphone game - reluctantly because I wanted to change bank (because of extortionate bank charges). Second hand.
    Because to change to the other bank I needed an iphone/smartphone to do online banking. I listed that annoyance before.

But now to add to my annoyance I was perplexed as to why my phone credit was used up so quickly. I was careful to turn off mobile data and use wifi etc. However, on closer inspection all the apps I had in the phone were set to 'on' to use mobile data - despite mobile data being turned 'off'.

Is that Karma? Or maybe it is former my former Bank who is behind this plot?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

To be unloved is the greatest and most bitter sweet of problems

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Every interview with a C list celeb has a bit about them getting insulted by trolls on social media
    Well you could shut off dms or close down your Instagram account
    But then you might lose sponsorship money opportunity's
    That's the Internet X per cent of social media users are trolls or idiots

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Guests of our neighbours talking at full volume past midnight last night as they left the house last night.
    "YEP, BYE NOW SHARON, GREAT TO SEE YOU, WE'LL HAVE TO DO IT AGAIN SOME TIME YEAH? OH MY GOD I LEFT MY PURSE IN THE LIVING ROOM THERE WILL YOU THROW IT OUT TO ME? CHEERS YEAH, NOW DONT FORGET JOHN'S BIRTHDAY IS ON IN 3 WEEKS SO WE'RE GOING TO GO OUT FOR A FEW DRINKS FOR THAT NOW AND YOU HAVE TO COME, I WONT EVEN ENTERTAIN ANY ARGUMENTS, WE DESERVE IT. RIGHT, I'M OFF SO, BYEBYEBYEBYEBYE, BYE, BYE YEAH, BYE."

• Registered Users Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    Guests of our neighbours talking at full volume past midnight last night as they left the house last night.
    "YEP, BYE NOW SHARON, GREAT TO SEE YOU, WE'LL HAVE TO DO IT AGAIN SOME TIME YEAH? OH MY GOD I LEFT MY PURSE IN THE LIVING ROOM THERE WILL YOU THROW IT OUT TO ME? CHEERS YEAH, NOW DONT FORGET JOHN'S BIRTHDAY IS ON IN 3 WEEKS SO WE'RE GOING TO GO OUT FOR A FEW DRINKS FOR THAT NOW AND YOU HAVE TO COME, I WONT EVEN ENTERTAIN ANY ARGUMENTS, WE DESERVE IT. RIGHT, I'M OFF SO, BYEBYEBYEBYEBYE, BYE, BYE YEAH, BYE."

Add to that neighbours who play ****e music in their gardens during warm evenings. Here it's either Disney crap (families with kids), Nathan Carter (middle aged "Hun" who has mirrors in her garden) or Eastern European hip hop (bad - but probably the best of the lot).

It could be a LOT worse here (I live in a nice area with otherwise quiet neighbours, but what's this thread for only trivial annoyances!)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,178 ✭✭✭Be right back

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Add to that neighbours who play ****e music in their gardens during warm evenings. Here it's either Disney crap (families with kids), Nathan Carter (middle aged "Hun" who has mirrors in her garden) or Eastern European hip hop (bad - but probably the best of the lot).

It could be a LOT worse here (I live in a nice area with otherwise quiet neighbours, but what's this thread for only trivial annoyances!)

Or the neighbours who are hammering away at something since about 7.30 this morning! Hope the end result will be amazing!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,910 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

People parking full car on footpath (I presume to stop it being scratched as plenty of room on the actual road to park)

Totally blocking footpath forcing everyone off the footpath onto the road to get past.........I have never been so tempted to key a car in my life*

* Obviously I wouldn't as that be naughty!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,177 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

People parking full car on footpath (I presume to stop it being scratched as plenty of room on the actual road to park)

Totally blocking footpath forcing everyone off the footpath onto the road to get past.........I have never been so tempted to key a car in my life*

* Obviously I wouldn't as that be naughty!

Leave a very strongly worded anonymous on windscreen reminding them of their duty of care to people in wheelchairs/with a buggy/visually impaired.
    Use the shame tactic!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 5,910 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Leave a very strongly worded anonymous on windscreen reminding them of their duty of care to people in wheelchairs/with a buggy/visually impaired.
    Use the shame tactic!

Considering it was at a primary school at home time where alot of parents/childminders would have buggies/ younger kids in tow, plus the kids leaving the school themselves I don't think the driver would have any shame whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

In the past week, two different people in work have told me that there's an old classmate of mine that has just started working with us. After a few days of wondering where he is and why I haven't seen him, I realised that I've said hello to him 2 or 3 times but didn't recognise him! :o He had hair the last time I saw him, and what little he has left now is silvery-grey.

So my trivial annoyance today is the passage of time (and the oldness of us) but mainly face-masks. It was really the the face-masks that were to blame for me not recognising him! :pac: ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Or the neighbours who are hammering away at something since about 7.30 this morning! Hope the end result will be amazing!!

I blame Viagra.😊

• Registered Users Posts: 18,778 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

In the past week, two different people in work have told me that there's an old classmate of mine that has just started working with us. After a few days of wondering where he is and why I haven't seen him, I realised that I've said hello to him 2 or 3 times but didn't recognise him! :o He had hair the last time I saw him, and what little he has left now is silvery-grey.

So my trivial annoyance today is the passage of time (and the oldness of us) but mainly face-masks. It was really the the face-masks that were to blame for me not recognising him! :pac: ;)

It is worse when you half recognise someone, but are not sure it is them. Are hesitant on the approach - is that yer man/yer wan? Looks like them, couldn't be them could it?

Worse still when you someone recognises you from years ago. And you don't, then have to try and hide a look of confusion while you try and figure it out. While addressing the person as 'it's yourself'.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Crows, particularly the really early morning caw cawing fcukers.
    Pound for pound, they must be the noisiest bastards on the planet. I wish they’d
    All piss off back to wherever they came from.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Pound for pound, they must be the noisiest bastards on the planet. I wish they’d

And woodpigeons. Was there ever a more depressing noise.

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Crowatia.

Crowatia.

Coming over here, taking our jobs and our women.😂

• Registered Users Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭4Ad

I was sitting out in the sun in the backyard and I heard a noise...walked around the house..
    The Swallows nest had fallen to the ground from the fascia with three dead chicks..
    Poor things..

• Registered Users Posts: 13,177 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

4Ad wrote: »
    I was sitting out in the sun in the backyard and I heard a noise...walked around the house..
    The Swallows nest had fallen to the ground from the fascia with three dead chicks..
    Poor things..
    Ah no

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Where I grew up, we had a massive Monkey Puzzle tree in our tiny front garden - right in front of my bedroom window. Each year, Woodpigeons and Magpies would alternate in nesting in it. Not only would they be squawking and cooing and cackling from the break of dawn, but the Magpie chicks used to hop onto my window ledge and incessantly tap their beaks against the glass.

Many a shoe was thrown out the window at them at 6 in the morning.

And then I'd have to hop out in the rain and retrieve it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Crowatia.

Murderous comment!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Crowatia.
    Mundo7976 wrote: »
    Murderous comment!

They should keep their beaks out of our business.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

In more Car-Insurance-&-Alia-related annoyances, stupid AA emailed me just before 4AM to tell me they'd auto-renewed my roadside assistance. I'm on the war path.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,096 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I was inundated with those mobile calls pretending to be the guards, something about my password number. Only started today, they must know I'm on the lower point of the food chain.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

First world nerd TA, but I've a Hue smart bulb in the light socket in the home office my wife and I work from. Means we can turn it on or off (or dim or change colour temperature) from our phones/Siri/Alexa without getting up (the room is cluttered and the desk position is awkward).

The idea is that you leave the regular switch on all the time, and then turn the light on or off from the app or voice commands, but I've also put a physical Hue remote switch on the wall in a very prominent position so anyone can turn it on or off. The actual light switch is in behind a wardrobe, and is quite hard to slip your hand in to use.

Yet every time I go to turn on the light, I find that my wife has turned it off from the main switch. To to this, she has to pass her hand over the perfectly accessible smart switch she should be using, and awkwardly put her hand six inches in behind the wardrobe to turn it off. This thing is set up to be as easy as possible to use, and yet she's going to extra effort do undo the benefits with absolutely no advantage.

I'm thinking of gluing a thumbtack to the switch.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭Bredabe

A young family in front of me in a local discount store, Judith was 2.5 and Chloe was a new-born being walked to sleep for her teatime nap. Mum was a keen supporter of the public parenting theory. As they were taking too long in the chocolate section for my cravings, I went to the next section to start my shopping there.

That area was empty and I was scanning the displays to see if I could remember what I was there for, all the time being forced to listen to mum telling Judith to be careful and stay with mum/put that down/be quite as it will wake Chloe etc.

Standing in the middle of the still empty section I felt a hot flush arrive(I have a teeny amount warning about these) as it was so warm in the store and the noise and lights so high, I stared to feel faint or nauseous, my mask felt like it was a hand over my mouth and this caused a slight panic response. As there was no one around, I moved that mask to just under my nose and that helped a lot.

Mum arrived at the top of the section and started calling to me about how ppl have to wear their masks properly if I didn't adjust mine she would call management, despite me still being a deep shade of red faced, she left the kids in the at the top of the section and walked over to me(still trying to figure out if I was going to pass out or vomit) TO POKE ME IN THE SHOULDER WITH HER FINGER, while still talking about management.

FFS if ppl are that worried about catching something from me, don't shout and poke me putting yourself in potential danger.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

I'm in work but I'd rather be ironing my hands.