Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things dat Trivyully Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP* NEW

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

My mother does this thing where you tell her something and then a few days later she repeats it back to you thinking someone else has told her. Eventually I got so annoyed by it that I stopped feigning polite surprise and just started responding, "yes I know, I told you that". Fúck sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,910 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Dial Hard wrote: »
    I'm getting the giant cymbals to clash.

Embrace your inner cat and get a bell collar :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,177 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Antares35 wrote: »
    My mother does this thing where you tell her something and then a few days later she repeats it back to you thinking someone else has told her. Eventually I got so annoyed by it that I stopped feigning polite surprise and just started responding, "yes I know, I told you that". Fúck sake.

OMG..my mam does same :)

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Feisar

Men who refer to their children as buddy. He ain't yer buddy, you're his father.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Slugs. Every night they come out to part on my doorstep. I just remembered that I left my bike outside so I went to bring it in (in my bare feet). Slugs everywhere!!! Had to try to avoid squelching them.

Woman in the shop wouldnt sell me the display item even though they're out of stock of the item.

I asked her why and can't remember what excuse she gave but it was something like 'computer says no' .

• Registered Users Posts: 8,894 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Slugs. Every night they come out to part on my doorstep. I just remembered that I left my bike outside so I went to bring it in (in my bare feet). Slugs everywhere!!! Had to try to avoid squelching them.

The same with snails, you don't see one then you accidentally step on it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,840 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

When faced with a choice between DIY or a calling out a tradesman, you go for DIY and make the problem worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

The crude oil and chippings 'surface treatment' on the roads in full swing.

Like a machine gun on your car, particularly when some dose in a battered Transit from the last century goes flying by at full speed.

Should be made sweep and sweep until all the loose chippings are gone.

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Beffs

Been going out for lunch/brunch for a month now. Outside obviously. Always order a coffee (an Americano) with my grub. Always ask for it in a take away cup & I make the point of explaining that it's because a drink in a takeaway cup with a lid, will stay hot longer outside, than in a regular cup.

Practically every time, the takeaway cup is plonked down in front of me and nothing else. No milk, no sugar sachets, no stirrer stick & quite often no lid. Even though they were expressly told, I want it in a takeaway cup with a lid to keep it hot.

I mean what the actual fcuk !

If you were serving an Americano in a regular cup, no bloody way would you just give the customer the cup, with no milk or sugar. Or if there are none kept at the table, at least you'd bother your arse asking the customer if they wanted either WHEN TAKING THE BLOODY ORDER !

Then got a pissy attitude from the waitress as she had to make a separate trip to bring milk, sugar & the lid. Probably because she also had another separate trip to bring salt & pepper as there was none on the table.

TA at bad restaurant managers/owners who couldn't be arsed training their staff in the most basic of tasks. And I used to work in the industry btw, am not just some crabby aul wan !

Some people in the UK were complaining about Amazon's flimsy packaging on the latest Joni Mitchell box set. As a result some sets were bashed & dented on arrival.

Mine has just been delivered by An Post. Well packaged and thankfully intact.
    Until it got dropped on kitchen tiles when opening it and now has a dent on the top of the box. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 33,619 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

One pair of trainers Size X, fitting me perfectly.

Yet I can buy another pair, also in Size X, and super tight on me.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,711 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

That people manage to be assholes on the most boring, everyday threads imaginable. Like, someone will ask when An Post moved from twice to once daily postbox emptying or something and two dickheads will still manage to turn it into an argument. Is it unique to Boards or is it an Internet thing?

The thread I'm talking about is even more boring than that but people still managed to turn it into a dick-measuring contest.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,778 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That people manage to be assholes on the most boring, everyday threads imaginable. Like, someone will ask when An Post moved from twice to once daily postbox emptying or something and two dickheads will still manage to turn it into an argument. Is it unique to Boards or is it an Internet thing?

The thread I'm talking about is even more boring than that but people still managed to turn it into a dick-measuring contest.

Happened myself yesterday I ended up in a back and forth thread derailed and shut. I was partly to blame admittedly.

It is definitely an internet thing especially when you have a two opposing opinionated gits (of which I was one). And some posters are just skillful at 'pressing buttons' for particular posters. You can see it in many a thread the same posters giving out to each other. Trying to get 'at' each other. Happens in all threads boring or otherwise, particularly if posters have a history of annoyance with each other.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Some people in the UK were complaining about Amazon's flimsy packaging on the latest Joni Mitchell box set. As a result some sets were bashed & dented on arrival.

Mine has just been delivered by An Post. Well packaged and thankfully intact.
    Until it got dropped on kitchen tiles when opening it and now has a dent on the top of the box. :(
    Only one thing for it.
    3~Father~Ted~Rover.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Sales reps that do not understand the meaning of no or not interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Some drunk eejit is singing Take me Home Country roads off key about a quarter of a mile away! Expecting Wonderwall any minute...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

Happened myself yesterday I ended up in a back and forth thread derailed and shut. I was partly to blame admittedly.

It is definitely an internet thing especially when you have a two opposing opinionated gits (of which I was one). And some posters are just skillful at 'pressing buttons' for particular posters. You can see it in many a thread the same posters giving out to each other. Trying to get 'at' each other. Happens in all threads boring or otherwise, particularly if posters have a history of annoyance with each other.

I've noticed when you try on boards to give a balanced two sides opinion it gains little traction - zero thanks. Go in all guns blazing on one side of the argument with an extreme opinion and the thanks are flying.

It's a recipe for polarisation but also opinionated aholes to get justification for being opinionated aholes.

Mod

As outlined in the opening post, please do not criticize other posters Trivial Annoyances. It goes against the spirit of the thread. I've deleted some posts, so let's leave it there.

Thanks, BB

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,379 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Some drunk eejit is singing Take me Home Country roads off key about a quarter of a mile away! Expecting Wonderwall any minute...

TA that sniper rifles are illegal

• Registered Users Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    TA that sniper rifles are illegal
    I'd just shoot the amp out, honest!! :D

I noticed the dick waving thing was especially strong recently in a thread about Russia. Posters bickering about which military is the most powerful, courageous and virtuous, yadda yadda. I read through several pages of this when the full horror of it dawned on me... Yes, this is a dick waving competition, but they are waving other peoples' dicks around. It was so irritating and weird that I had to go off Boards for a day and reevaluate my online activities. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,276 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

When faced with a choice between DIY or a calling out a tradesman, you go for DIY and make the problem worse.

Or calling a tradesman who calls out whenever he feels like it. ie never. Usually you get forgotten about in this country unless you're buddies with him or threatening legal action.

Aglomerado wrote: »

Ah, you got a ticket for the Kilmainham festival then? :D

Humans. Jaysus we're a weird oul bunch aren't we? :D just having a quick read of a thread on a particular forum there and I'm sorry but people are so weird but also wonderful because it can be good craic reading these weird bastards musings. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,711 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

When you reply to a post without quoting it and the poster subsequently edits, making it seem like you've completely missed the point.

Humans. Jaysus we're a weird oul bunch aren't we? :D just having a quick read of a thread on a particular forum there and I'm sorry but people are so weird but also wonderful because it can be good craic reading these weird bastards musings. :D

It is great thread. Some of the stuff people are annoyed about. Makes me realise hang on I am annoyed about that as well but I did not think of it. I am a 'happy miserable grump' I suppose!

fussyonion wrote: »
    People who repeat themselves.
    Antares35 wrote: »
    OMG..my mam does same :)

These made me laugh. Because in general I feel bad interrupting if someone is enthusiastically is telling me a story they already told me. And then seeing their face drop. I would feel a bit bad for them then.

But what does annoy me is when someone tells a funny story or anecdote. Has you laughing away. But then not 2 mins later the same person is telling the same story AGAIN almost in review format out loud to themselves.

'Haha yeah they did ...., and ..... Jayus the face of .... . It was very funny'.
    Sometimes the person might do it two or three times in a row. Each time the funniness level gets diluted like one of those 'add water fruit drinks'.

I find it kills the joke or story. Particularly in captive audience situation car or train etc.

Then things start running through my mind. What is the etiquette? Do I feign laughter for the retelling bits? Each time it is told I get a bit annoyed. THE funny bit was back a few minutes ago. Then I don't want to say 'YEAH YOU TOLD ME'.

As for elderly parents and stories. They love retelling events almost reliving others events, bad ones in particular.A road death for instance on the News. If it was on the 6 O'C News. 'Oh turn it up that is terrible. Isn't that terrible?'. More so an elderly mother thing I suppose.

Yet they will have had the same thing said every time they heard the news item earlier in the morning. And will nearly be guaranteed say the same thing again at the 9'O'Clock News time.

I would be thinking by then, it was terrible the first time! And it does not get any more terrible.

People who are constantly late for Zoom meetings. When it's 5 or 10 minutes underway and obvious that they've forgotten, someone has to ring their personal mobile to ask them to dial in. And the excuse is always "The Outlook reminder never popped up".

• Registered Users Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭spookwoman

People who put #bekind in their profiles and then bitch, try to guilt trip and bully people into doing things that suit them.

Just saw one about if you can spend so much on something then you can tip my son. Oh F*ck Off!